Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oculus Rift

• Registered Users Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭M00lers

Ok thanks. How do I check if my Rift is up to date, my Oculus home just has Beta at the bottom left.

Should be listed in settings somewhere. Or it's on the bar in Oculus Home when you've the headset on. Turn around and have a look. new update is 1.10 IIRC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

That's the one I have. Thanks.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Has anyone noticed much of an improvement with the update?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

By all accounts on r/oculus it can be miraculous. ie. making what was unplayable in low end GPU's playable and making what was playable on lower graphic settings on mid end GPU's now playable with graphics setting cranked up. I have a GTX1080 so everything was playbable on max settings for me anyway. It means I'll be able to crank up the supersampling even more now though. ASW not available on your 290 though.

TOUCH IN 3 WEEKS LADS. WooHoo!!! :D

Have any of ye sampled the Touch First Contact or Avatar creation environments yet? First Contact is the Touch version of Dreamdeck. (Its kinda like Toybox but we'll have to wait for Oculus to flesh out the Friends and matchmaking functionality before we get a multiplayer version) Without Touch in our hands literally or figuratively we can't do anything in it yet but its a fantastic looking environment. The attention to detail is fantastic. You won't see it in the Library inside the HMD but if you scroll down to the bottom of the Library on the desktop window its there just waiting to be clicked. The Avatar creation environment can actually be played around with with the remote. Its located in the Oculus folder in Program Files. C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-avatar-editor

Is there a way to enable it or what? I'm not sure i'm seeing any difference at all really.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Calibos wrote: »
    TOUCH IN 3 WEEKS LADS. WooHoo!!! :D
    Yep, wont be long now, i ordered an extra sensor too :)

lmimmfn wrote: »
    Yep, wont be long now, i ordered an extra sensor too :)

So did I. Going to mount it to a boom mic stand over the middle of my bed for the time being till I eventually get round to building a Murphy bed to open my usable floorspace. Then I hard mount it to that. Im assuming that swinging it out of the way when not in use wont mean redoing setup. Doesnt need to be done for my current single camera when I move it a few inches at any rate. Tbh though my current 3.5m x 3m playspace is probably plenty anyway.

Also ordered the in-earbuds. Will make wearing my Corsair Void Dolby headset for Virtual Cinema hassle free. The Rift headphones are painful if left on but pushed out of the way alongside the voids and a pain in the arse to remove and refit every time Id want to swap em out. Will only refit them for demoing to others so we dont exchange earwax. Will go back to Rift headphones permanently once spacialised audio for Virtual speakers comes to the various Virtual Cinema apps.

Anyone else downloaded Google Earth VR from SteamVR.

Its incredible!! Even without Touch controllers where one can only visit the featured locations and movement is via spacebar tapping and headbanging until Touch arrives. I even got a helpful chap over on r/Oculus who has dev Touch to create a Bray save file for me to drop into my Earth VR save folder. Bray representin'!! Its one of the only towns in the country 3D scanned by Google so far other than Dublin, Cork, Belfast, Dundalk, Derry City and Tralee???

Once Touch arrives in a fortnight we'll be able to go anywhere and zoom all the way down to human scale and fly around and up and down from orbit like superman.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Anyone else downloaded Google Earth VR from SteamVR.

Its incredible!! Even without Touch controllers where one can only visit the featured locations and movement is via spacebar tapping and headbanging until Touch arrives. I even got a helpful chap over on r/Oculus who has dev Touch to create a Bray save file for me to drop into my Earth VR save folder. Bray representin'!! Its one of the only towns in the country 3D scanned by Google so far other than Dublin, Cork, the Titanic quarter of Belfast, Dundalk, Derry City and Tralee???

Once Touch arrives in a fortnight we'll be able to go anywhere and zoom all the way down to human scale and fly around and up and down from orbit like superman.

hahaha thats brilliant, now i can view the knackers in VR

• Registered Users Posts: 13 slynchy1

Anyone know if an Oculus Rift can be bought in-store anywhere in Dublin?

I see PC World and Harvey Norman have it listed but none ever in stock.
    Gamestop don't seem to have it either...
    Ditto downstairs in Arnotts

Just got my Touch shipping email with an ETA of the 6th. Woohoo!! :D

Any word on the Skyrim SE working with the Rift yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Touch controllers arrived, so excited to go home and try them :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭Darwin

Ordered mine from amazon.fr, to be delivered by iParcel (not anPost) so a long wait ahead :mad:

Mine will probably arrive in January going by Oculus's ability to ship.

Received mine this morning.

EPIC!

Received mine this morning.

EPIC!
    Congrats. I just for Order processing email........

For the extra sensor, lol
    I suppose I can hang **** on it or have symetrical sensors so it looks nice or something

Oculus ordering system is a joke

• Registered Users Posts: 13 smogzy

When did you order your headset?

Oculus are processing touch orders for people who reserved their space in the queue for headset pre-orders orders first. You basically could reserve you place in the queue back if you pre-ordered the rift back in October last year. At first this was an option that you physically had to select but later on in the pre-orders you were automatically resreved a space.

Oculus shipping has come a long way since earlier this year. The headset took 3 months for me to ship. I got touch the day after release.

Good call though on the extra sensor order....worth it. IMO it's needed for 360 deg tracking.

smogzy wrote: »
    When did you order your headset?

Oculus are processing touch orders for people who reserved their space in the queue for headset pre-orders orders first. You basically could reserve you place in the queue back if you pre-ordered the rift back in October last year. At first this was an option that you physically had to select but later on in the pre-orders you were automatically resreved a space.

Oculus shipping has come a long way since earlier this year. The headset took 3 months for me to ship. I got touch the day after release.

Good call though on the extra sensor order....worth it. IMO it's needed for 360 deg tracking.
    Ahh im dealing with Oculus and their dreadful processing/shipping since day 1 man lol, it hasnt changed. As im a Kickstarter backer and got my headset for free( thanks Oculus ), we were told we'd also have a space in the queue but they dropped that so im just a regular Joe soap order, i ordered 15mins after it went live. I can order it on Amazon now and get it quicker but id loose out on that free crap.

But ill have a paperweight for Christmas day at least :)

Somethings not right there then. I was a +41min order.

I feel your pain though...the toys seriously flew out the pram back when I had the 3 month delay.

Somethings not right there then. I was a +41min order.

I feel your pain though...the toys seriously flew out the pram back when I had the 3 month delay.
    Nah you would have been on the priority queue, there's loads of us Kickstarters not processed or just processing in the past day or 2

Lol, great analogy, I got my CV1 mid-end of may, was still pissed at that also lol

processing finally. Extra sensor due next Wednesday. Im just happy if i get Touch before Christmas

lmimmfn wrote:
    processing finally. Extra sensor due next Wednesday. Im just happy if i get Touch before Christmas

That's great news....enjoy!!

Thanks man, it'll be put away for crimbo, but I'll set it up the night before to iron out the kinks

I got the touch bundle event tough I have SPT, but still seems OK value wise. Have a kickstarter key for The Gallery, but I might pickup Arizona Sunshine from humblebundle as itscheap their and can select an oculus key

I've got Arizona Sunshine and it's pretty good although it's one game that does need 360deg tracking with 3 cameras as I've had a few occlusion issues. I'm not going to play it anymore till I get my 3rd camera.

I'd dl the rec room too...paintball in that is one of the best experiences so far. I'd also recommend The Lab too for the archery.

Add me if you want (same for anyone else) Oculus and steam names are smogzy.

Yeah i might pickup Arizona Sunshine before Christmas, its 34euro on HumbleBundle vs 40euro on Home and you can choose an Oculus Home key on HumbleBundle.

Ive pretty much done all of the Lab already with razor hydras and SPT & AudioShield but trying them again with touch will be better.

Cool, ive added you on Friends, mine is turniplord. Ill not be opening touch until Christmas but should be good for a few sessions of Arizona Sunshine, can onnly really game at night though as the young fella will have none of it lol.

Got my earbuds on Friday. Tried then tonight and they sound good but I've taken them back off for a while. Expect to be demo'ing the Rift and Touch a lot to friends and rellies over Christmas and the rest of the family have found a renewed interest in the Rift since I got Touch so it would be 'unhygienic' to leave the earbuds on for the time being.

Third sensor should be with me on Tuesday. Currently have the 2 sensors 3m apart on top of my VR PC and Server on top of the desk in each corner. 3m x 3m playspace. Amazingly getting less tracking issues and occlusion than when I setup one of the cameras in the opposing corner config at the back of the room to try out Valves 'The Lab'. I'd say the front camera setup is exactly what I always said it would be to all the 180º Pffftt naysayers. ie. Its actually more like 300º and I only lose tracking on the Touch controllers when held close to my chest facing away from the cameras. The third camera will fill in that last 60º gap. I expect to have perfect tracking with excellent controller occlusion resistance in every square inch of my 3m x 3m space come Tuesday afternoon.

Theres so much free stuff I still haven't gotten around to playing The Unspoken yet and one round of Dead and Buried. When I saw the Bundle on Launch day, I thought to myself that I was moderately interested in the Climb and Kingspray and the others I'd heard of but would definitely have waited for them to go on sale. Said 'Fcuk It' and clicked BUY. Jaysus its too easy to quickly purchase before one has thought things through.....its lucky then that I am thrilled with the Bundle. The Climb with Touch is amazing! I thought I had developed VR Vertigo legs because the Cityscape scene in Dreamdeck no longer gives me vertigo, I no longer need to gingerly shuffle over to the edge. The Climb dispelled that notion quickly. Holy Fcuk! Superhot is another revelation. Wasn't digging the art style nor bullet time mechanics when watching Youtube videos of it but in VR its another kettle of fish entirely. I was doing John Woo style gun and knife play in no time at all!

Lovin' It so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Howdy fellow Oculus owners - I have 2 spare codes for the Nvidia free game promo, which allows you to pick between 3 games, one of which is the VR game 'Raw Data' which apparently is excellent so I thought Rift owners would appreciate it most! (Or Vive....boo hiss etc).

If anyone wants it just let me know (on thread is probably best) and I'll send it over. It's €36.99 on Steam at the moment so it's a fairly decent freebie :)

http://store.steampowered.com/app/436320/

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭abbir

Howdy fellow Oculus owners - I have 2 spare codes for the Nvidia free game promo, which allows you to pick between 3 games, one of which is the VR game 'Raw Data' which apparently is excellent so I thought Rift owners would appreciate it most! (Or Vive....boo hiss etc).

If anyone wants it just let me know (on thread is probably best) and I'll send it over. It's €36.99 on Steam at the moment so it's a fairly decent freebie :)

I'm an Oculus owner and I'd love to try out a new game :) Really been enjoying the Touch controllers the last couple of days.

Yes please if you still have one going spare.