Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Priest says priests are often seduced by children?

• 01-09-2012 11:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭

Roman Catholic spiritual leader says ‘youngsters’ often to blame for priest’s sexual abuse

Read more: http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Roman-Catholic-spiritual-leader-says-youngsters-often-to-blame-for-priests-sexual-abuse-168201806.html#ixzz25G8hG9kq

So it was the children all along seducing the poor priests.

“Suppose you have a man having a nervous breakdown, and a youngster comes after him,” 79-year-old Fr Groeschel, said in the interview. “A lot of the cases, the youngster — 14, 16, 18 — is the seducer."

What the ****?, the priest who said that counsel's child molestor priests, and going by his word's I'd say he was seduced by a kid or 2 himself, maybe he's being seduced and molested right now because he seems to be having some sort of breakdown.

Ohh actually there is a reason he said that:
    The Rev. Glenn Sudano, another founder of the Friars of the Renewal, whose adherents take vows of poverty and work extensively with the poor, said the remarks might have been the result of Father Groeschel’s advancing age and failing health, as well as the aftereffect of a near-fatal 2004 car accident in Orlando, Fla.

So a near death experience made him say this:
    "A kid looking for a father and didn’t have his own — and they won’t be planning to get into heavy-duty sex, but almost romantic, embracing, kissing, perhaps sleeping but not having intercourse or anything like that.”
    http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/31/nyregion/in-interview-the-rev-benedict-groeschel-says-abuse-victims-can-be-seducers.html

Maybe it was the kids that didn't have a daddy were the easiest to molest as there was no daddy around to kick the bollox out of the dirty bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I feel something nice should be said since it'll be filled with hate:
    He has a nice beard.

That being said: he's a muppet.
    At first I thought: maybe he's on about how girls about 10-14 "flirt" with older guys in the same way lads try to impress the older girls and just trying to get attention (but in a completely innocent way).
    Then I read the article and wish I didn't ever read it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

true
    i used to get awful horny at mass when i was a kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

"Damn sexy children! "

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,272 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Ahah, asking for it.
    I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Damn those sexy priests.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Pedo's often say this. Wasn't me, the kid wanted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Oh, but some people need a slapping, a really hard slapping. I could say "he wanted it your honour, he seduced me into giving him a ferocious slap in the puss, repeatedly. Enjoyed it he did. I am the victim here...I know he's a priest, but I could'nt resist, he was gagging for it, led me on" To me, this gives a glimpse of what the RCC are like when they accidentally let their guard down.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

author, counsellor to priests and has a tv show. hardly a crazy old man. unforgivable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,661 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users Posts: 11 insu1

stuar wrote: »
    Roman Catholic spiritual leader says ‘youngsters’ often to blame for priest’s sexual abuse

Read more: http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Roman-Catholic-spiritual-leader-says-youngsters-often-to-blame-for-priests-sexual-abuse-168201806.html#ixzz25G8hG9kq
    “Suppose you have a man having a nervous breakdown, and a youngster comes after him,” 79-year-old Fr Groeschel, said in the interview. “A lot of the cases, the youngster — 14, 16, 18 — is the seducer."

Are they still writing the press release with why they f**k 5 year olds ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

3rdDegree wrote: »
    "Damn sexy children! "

Leading cause of pedophilia don't ya know

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

insu1 wrote: »

Are they still writing the press release with why they f**k 5 year olds ?

your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Jesus those poor priests. I never realised they had it so hard.

NSW
    You got warned, link is Not Safe For Work/Kids
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7yMXvsMPsJ8

It explains why it's okay to abuse kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

'The child seduced me'.

The peado's pathetic defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

'The child seduced me'.

Those new "super short wearing" jailbiat..

Their parents should be ashamed etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

“A lot of the cases, the youngster — 14, 16, 18 — is the seducer."

Surely they're all a bit overage for the average pedo priest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

reminds me of the joke by that lad boyle off mock the week

he goes on about peados how they all look the same, beards, anoraks,glasses etc.... then says "what is it about that look that children find so sexy":ee

the church is still full of active peados and sadists imo.

'The child seduced me'.

Technically speaking, it's true.
    Most kids know how to "flirt". Not in the same way a man or a woman would flirt. But kids do it a lot to impress guys/girls.
    It's obviously different to a hot girl/guy trying to chat you up.

I'm not condoning anything child molestors do or anything like that.
    I've already had enough experience with one as a kid.
    But I do understand where they're coming from.
    To a lot of child molestors what kids do is actually flirting, in the same manner you or I would call someone throwing themselves at you as flirting.

The thing is though, they're generally messed up to actually think that the playful "flirting" (again, I'm using it very loosely) is a sign they want to actually engage in something physical.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

“A lot of the cases, the youngster — 14, 16, 18 — is the seducer."

And to try fend off the young seducers, the priest says "If only you we're 10 years younger".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

What's true?
    Most kids know how to "flirt". Not in the same way a man or a woman would flirt. But kids do it a lot to impress guys/girls.

To a lot of child molestors what kids do is actually flirting, in the same manner you or I would call someone throwing themselves at you as flirting.

The thing is though, they're generally messed up to actually think that the playful "flirting" (again, I'm using it very loosely) is a sign they want to actually engage in something physical.

I'm out of my depth here ^^.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Oh yeah look at him there being far too small and weak to stop me raping him. Just no.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭EZ24GET

He (this priest)also had great empathy for convicted child molester Jerry Sandusky. I believe he apologised said he was getting older and was confused, sort of tried to make it sound as if He were suffering from senility. I hope he is removed as any sort of spokes person If you are that confused perhaps you need to be under someone's care, Obviously you are losing your grasp.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

Your statement is a bit confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

sweet motherfcuking jesus , this is the best excuse yet.

unreal.

mackg wrote: »
    Oh yeah look at him there being far too small and weak to stop me raping him. Just no.

No, not what I was getting at.
    A lot of child molestors do actually believe this kind of stuff.
    You ever have a little girl come up and "flirt" *basically just try to get you to notice her) and all that that kids do?
    Well it's the same thing with pedophiles except they really do see it as a sign of "they want me sexually*
    stuar wrote: »
    Your statement is a bit confusing.

I was the one abused and not the abuser :)

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭MusicalMelody

****ing ridiculous they will actually try anything to try and sound less like monsters, which at the end of the day is all they are. They stole the innocence from these young children... Gained their trust and then abused their power.. they should all be locked up for what they did. If they weren't in the priesthood they'd be locked up! Protected by the very institution they shamed! Ugh makes me sick!

No, not what I was getting at.
    A lot of child molestors do actually believe this kind of stuff.
    You ever have a little girl come up and "flirt" *basically just try to get you to notice her) and all that that kids do?
    Well it's the same thing with pedophiles except they really do see it as a sign of "they want me sexually*

I was the one abused and not the abuser :)
    Keep it that way.:) You know what they say, history repeating and all that. Glad you are ok and are breaking the cycle. Sorry for what you suffered, abusers have a lot to answer for. I still think Fr Grossfeck needs a serious slap and hereby voulenteer to be Irelands emmisary in the queue.

Pottler wrote: »
    Keep it that way.:) You know what they say, history repeating and all that. Glad you are ok and are breaking the cycle. Sorry for what you suffered, abusers have a lot to answer for. I still think Fr Grossfeck needs a serious slap and hereby voulenteer to be Irelands emmisary in the queue.

Ah no, it wasn't by a priest or anything. TBH it was some random fella that just well... had his way with me :pac:
    I just laugh about it now. I got over it I think since I did tell someone I was really close to and I know the fact I'm joking about it probably does disgust some people but I think in my own little mind, that it's my way of getting over it, you know?

Ah no, it wasn't by a priest or anything. TBH it was some random fella that just well... had his way with me :pac:
    I just laugh about it now. I got over it I think since I did tell someone I was really close to and I know the fact I'm joking about it probably does disgust some people but I think in my own little mind, that it's my way of getting over it, you know?
    Shit happens. It's how we deal with it that makes the difference. You were probably flirting wildly anyway, according to Fr Grubscrew.:D

Well uh... those shorts were from my job in a strip club. Some kids are forced to work full time you know! :D

Harridan!

Harridan!

Now, if only there was a term that described the victim seducer, you could do with defending these lads in court!

Jesus sorry to hear that, glad you got over it and hope they caught your man.

sorry to hear that, glad you got over it and hope they caught your man.

I had a little convo with Millicent a while back in the thread about yer man caught looking at cartoon child porn.

Long story short: I didn't know him at all since I was about 6 or 7 at the time and it was literally a one off and it's a lot of bollocks to explain; I was a kid so you can understand why I didn't come forward with it :)

Basically I'd rather your man be cured of what he needed to do (what he did to me) and I'd be happier than seeing the poor fecker in jail.
    But that's just me; I'm sure thousands would scream for his head.
    Just difference of opinion and all :)

I had a little convo with Millicent a while back in the thread about yer man caught looking at cartoon child porn.

Long story short: I didn't know him at all since I was about 6 or 7 at the time and it was literally a one off and it's a lot of bollocks to explain; I was a kid so you can understand why I didn't come forward with it :)

Basically I'd rather your man be cured of what he needed to do (what he did to me) and I'd be happier than seeing the poor fecker in jail.
    But that's just me; I'm sure thousands would scream for his head.
    Just difference of opinion and all :)

Way I'd see it, cure away but he committed a crime and should do his time for it. He has urges but he still has willpower. Whatever they do with him if he's attacking kids he needs to be off the street. I'm not the sort that wants to see him killed/castrated with a spoon/raped in prison either.

Difference of opinion :)
    Honestly, I get entirely where you're coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

The quicker Irish and World society is rid of the kiddie fiddling scum from Rome the better. The governments of the world would do better to out law this sick lot and distribute their wealth to the countries of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

what I found more unbeleivable in this interview, the priest says that he feels first time abusers should not be given jail., as they did not mean to do the abusing.

In my opinion if first time abusers were given heavy heavy sentences, then there would be no second time.

The 'oh lets wait and see does the poor fellow do it again' is exactly why people like Cardinal brady should be locked up along with all the abusers who were alolowed to perpetrate crimes to children over and over again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

What's even worse about this attitude is how the Church and the scumbag Pedo protecting lawyers who defend them have used this, Child seduced the Priest, defense in court.

Someone plucks up the courage to take their abuser to court seeking justice and then they get put through that. The priest abuses them and then lawyer attacks them.

"My mind and my way of expressing myself are not as clear as they used to be.”... that near fatal car crash wasn't near fatal enough Mr Groeschel.

Still, not too worry, father time will finish that job soon enough and when it's done, may you be greeted in person by the Devil himself at the gates of hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

His example was a man having a nervous breakdown. Were all priests having nervous breakdowns throughout all the years they abused children? Remarkable that they could still continue with their duties in the midst of such prolonged breakdowns.

The sad thing is that this might well be the opinion of many in the RCC. It might explain why they felt justified in silencing victims for so long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

The lot of them should be lined up and shot.....simple solution .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 348 ✭✭Actor

If you said that about Jews, you'd be banned instantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Rev. Benedict Groeschel. Chris Hansen and Dateline are coming to get you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Actor wrote: »

If you said that about Jews, you'd be banned instantly.

What on earth does that have to do with anything? The discussion is about priests who commit or attempt to excuse child sexual abuse. Can you really not tell the moral difference between child rapists and Jews?

The reason I highlight it is that it demonstrates that anti-Catholicism is par for the course on boards.ie.

Do you think all priests should be "lined up and shot"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Actor wrote: »
    The reason I highlight it is that it demonstrates that anti-Catholicism is par for the course on boards.ie

It's more an anti-paedophile sentiment.

That being said, the RCC knowingly covered up years of extreme child abuse so it is open to criticism and rightly so.

There is a difference between criticising the RCC as an organisation and criticising an individual's religious beliefs.

You just edited your post after I quoted - I think people are calling for the punishment of all those involved in clerical abuse - the perpetrators and those who helped cover it up, not all priests.

It's more an anti-paedophile sentiment.
    Let's ask the poster to make that very clear then, shall we?
    That being said, the RCC knowingly covered up years of extreme child abuse so it is open to criticism and rightly so.
    Not all priests and bishops are paedophiles. And not all paedophilia is restricted to the Catholic Church (most paedophilia occurs within the family home).
    There is a difference between criticising the RCC as an organisation and criticising an individual's religious beliefs.
    The comment was inappropriate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

I think the priest is awkwardly pointing that children have a sexuality also. It doesn't just appear when they are of the legal age of consent. Referring to them as a seducer when they have had contact with a paedophile is obviously ridiculous though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

He is only making more excuses for this cult of evil.