Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More and More job losses - What can we do?

• 02-09-2012 4:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭

So everyday i'm waking up and hearing the dreary news of more and more places closing down/cutting staff etc.
    Take the last 2 weeks for example:
    Masons Bar closing: approx 20 jobs gone directly(plus less work for suppliers)
    Flame Restaurant : 10 jobs lost.(plus less work for suppliers)
    Rigney Dolphin: Close to 20 jobs lost.
    Hibernian Aviva closing: Jobs lost - Not sure how many but its closed in 2 months - Not sure how much notice they have received. (Mods - this came from the agents in the branch themselves in case your wondering)

There is possibly more jobs gone in different places which I myself am not aware of.
    What can be done to turn the employment levels in the city around?
    What is everyones opinions on what can be done to change things and attract new business etc to the city?
    Would university status in the WIT have made much difference to the surrounding areas/businesses?
    What is turning businesses away from the idea of setting up in Waterford?
    In my opinion if we had of gotten rid of one little Galway fecker we'd be thriving.
    Thoughts please :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Flame is closing?

I was in there last week, i thought it was a decent restaurant and was hoping to go back again.

Sad news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Elbows22

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Flame is closing?

I was in there last week, i thought it was a decent restaurant and was hoping to go back again.

Sad news.

Yes unfortunately. Announced on Facebook yesterday(saturday) that it was their last night open. Major pity as you couldn't find 2 nicer people to run a restaurant and nicer staff to work there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

where was this flame restaurant never heard of it??? i agree OP a certain galway person should have been shown the way home and possibly given a job in GMIT or something closer to his home, maybe thats why galway is booming with jobs!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 621 ✭✭✭rude awakening

maybe thats why galway is booming with jobs!!!!
    Agree with this statement 110%.

TBH IMO until the property owners in this city/town lower their costs to a reasonable, realistic, logical cost, no one will be interested in opening business here

How much is a one way ticket to Galway? :)
    Il pay it for him :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 BigCatInJapan

Can't blame Waterford job losses on just one person?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

Can't blame Waterford job losses on just one person?

We can and we will :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Elbows22 wrote: »
    How much is a one way ticket to Galway? :)
    Il pay it for him :)

Please no, we have enough serial objectors here. Wonder if we pool together could we pack them all off to somewhere like Afghanistan?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

We have touched on it in a few threads but I fully blame jobbridge (if that is what its called) for the state of the in employment rate in this country. I think that if the government launched a scheme that supplemented a business €238 a week (188+50) for a new full time job created there would 1000 new jobs by this time tomorrow and it would cost the taxpayers the same money that this internship craic is now.

In any event something has to be done.

ziedth wrote: »
    We have touched on it in a few threads but I fully blame jobbridge (if that is what its called) for the state of the in employment rate in this country. I think that if the government launched a scheme that supplemented a business €238 a week (188+50) for a new full time job created there would 1000 new jobs by this time tomorrow and it would cost the taxpayers the same money that this internship craic is now.

In any event something has to be done.

The idea of job bridge is good - How its implemented is a different though.
    In saying that though ziedth - The rest of the country is just about getting there and Waterford is miles behind. Surely we cant solely blame that on Job bridge?
    Looking at the night life end of things I think these drink offers killed it... It was always going to be survival of the richest :/
    €2 Drinks should never have been allowed...

We have touched on it in a few threads

I think one thread solely connected to the issue might help??

The idea of job bridge is good - How its implemented is a different though.
    In saying that though ziedth - The rest of the country is just about getting there and Waterford is miles behind. Surely we cant solely blame that on Job bridge?
    Looking at the night life end of things I think these drink offers killed it... It was always going to be survival of the richest :/
    €2 Drinks should never have been allowed...

I fully agree, it's a brilliant idea in theory. If I wanted to work in a field where entry level positions aren't readily available then getting 9 months under your belt could do wonders. However, the likes of Tesco and chippers taking them on for what originally have been €9/10 an hour jobs is making a huge impact. If im on the this internship thing for €238 a week stocking shelves or on a production line instead of the €400 i might normally get thats a good €100 differenace that i could spend in the local economy.

Tesco and Chippers taking advantage now???

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭bradknowell

30 jobs in celtec (sp?) gone aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Couple of people have said the ELC is closing in October too :/

30 jobs in celtec (sp?) gone aswell.

Not familiar with either places I'm afraid.
    Hate to sound like Sully ( ;) ) but I think its a good idea that until we have solid proof we don't post ? :/

Tesco and Chippers taking advantage now???

Not just them but it's an example. If you looked at everyone of those scheme's in the last 12months say in Waterford City that have been put in place some Maybe even the majority could be beneficial and not a company taking advantage but even if 3 in 10 are jobs like I mentioned above and we'll say there have been 200 "jobs" created going by my maths above that is well over 300k taken away from the local economy. I'm not saying it's enough to have saved Harvey's, Mason's or Flame but it would definitely help

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭bradknowell

Not familiar with either places I'm afraid.
    Hate to sound like Sully ( ;) ) but I think its a good idea that until we have solid proof we don't post ? :/

Its a factory down in the big estate. Proof would be, there was a meeting a few days ago saying that 30 people are being let go with possibly another 30 eventually.

Im not doubting you at all. :cool:
    Im just saying if there is no solid proof (Like facebook announcements etc) then someone who works in one of the places might be none the wiser to it and give them a shock :/

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭honeybadger

Im not doubting you at all. :cool:
    Im just saying if there is no solid proof (Like facebook announcements etc) then someone who works in one of the places might be none the wiser to it and give them a shock :/

30 been laid off there alrite they lost a contract over cheaper labour been somewhere else like china or something,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

So everyday i'm waking up and hearing the dreary news of more and more places closing down/cutting staff etc.
    Take the last 2 weeks for example:
    Masons Bar closing: approx 20 jobs gone directly(plus less work for suppliers)
    Flame Restaurant : 10 jobs lost.(plus less work for suppliers)
    Rigney Dolphin: Close to 20 jobs lost.
    Hibernian Aviva closing: Jobs lost - Not sure how many but its closed in 2 months - Not sure how much notice they have received. (Mods - this came from the agents in the branch themselves in case your wondering)

There is possibly more jobs gone in different places which I myself am not aware of.
    What can be done to turn the employment levels in the city around?
    What is everyones opinions on what can be done to change things and attract new business etc to the city?
    Would university status in the WIT have made much difference to the surrounding areas/businesses?
    What is turning businesses away from the idea of setting up in Waterford?
    In my opinion if we had of gotten rid of one little Galway fecker we'd be thriving.
    Thoughts please :)

No doubt about it, I find it hard that Mccannt has the nerve to show his head in public.

As for what can we do, buy local, shop in city centre, support these busineses when you can, get off your arse and internet, get in there, buy a coffee, stop complaining about pathetic minute issues such as traffic and queues (it aint bad), drink in the city centre, when you are in the city centre treat it with respect: dont litter, clean up after yourself and your dog. Added to that, if you see any tourists walking around looking at their map in confusion as them if they want directions/help.

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Daffodil.d

The likes of Kilkenny don't seen to be suffering the same ill affects. I think we should be looking at Kilkenny for example. What are they doing that we aren't? One thing I did hear, although it could be rumour is that their rents aren't as high.

Daffodil.d wrote: »
    The likes of Kilkenny don't seen to be suffering the same ill affects. I think we should be looking at Kilkenny for example. What are they doing that we aren't? One thing I did hear, although it could be rumour is that their rents aren't as high.

Opened a can of worms there :D ..... Im just waiting for the reaction to the "Lets look upto Kilkenny " part :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Opened a can of worms there :D ..... Im just waiting for the reaction to the "Lets look upto Kilkenny " part :)

Nothing wrong with that... I couldn't care less about hurling so don't see any rivalry with KK as such. If they're doing something well then that should be admired and be an inspiration, not a source of jealousy or begrudgery. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Jason Todd wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with that... I couldn't care less about hurling so don't see any rivalry with KK as such. If they're doing something well then that should be admired and be an inspiration, not a source of jealousy or begrudgery. :)

Agreed, I think that begrudgery is largely confined to small minded morons. Anyway, a lot of 'talk to joe' complaining about what needs to be done by others and very little people talking about what we can do - more people shop in city, socialise in city, eat in city, dont litter, have respect for fellow drivers/citizens/tourists etc

people seem more than willing to complain about others and other things but do F-all about the situation themselves

Max Powers wrote: »
    Jason Todd wrote: »

Agreed, I think that begrudgery is largely confined to small minded morons. Anyway, a lot of 'talk to joe' complaining about what needs to be done by others and very little people talking about what we can do - more people shop in city, socialise in city, eat in city, dont litter, have respect for fellow drivers/citizens/tourists etc

people seem more than willing to complain about others and other things but do F-all about the situation themselves

I'm a Tipp man- il just leave now :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

I'm a Tipp man- il just leave now :-D

Oh jaysus.

:p

Max Powers wrote: »

Can we still get rid of the Galway lad ? :)

Tbh I reckon if we did a petition to get him out we'd probably get 99% of the city signing it (the 1% being the family) :D:D

Lets see how many places we can name he has already stopped planning permission being granted for :)
    I'm gonna start with one:
    Newgate St Shopping Centre

• Registered Users Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I was (dragged along!) in Waterford a few Saturdays back and have to say the level of customer service in two of the flagship stores was pretty bad...

First was in Debenhams, in the Mens section. I bought something, salesperson was not overly courteous, just adequate, but when I had paid and was walking away she barks "who's next" at the customers behind me!!

Arnotts or the likes would leave it standing.

Second was in Superquinn, a store famed for it's customer service...I had a basket no trolley and there was absolutely no attempt made to help me pack my groceries. In fact, he just kept on that belt thingy going as I tried keep up.

I know these are two very minor things but would hardly encourage me back.
    Sadly there is not a lot in Waterford over and above where I live and to be honest Kildare village or Dublin are far better propositions for a shopping trip. Bought little enough in Waterford, shops seemed expensive. Tommy Hilfigers is a noice store but had no offers or reductions. Last one I was in in Dublin a few months back had lots half price. As had Arnotts.

And just to balance this, customer service was really good in Jack-Jones and Harvey Normans as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Daffodil.d wrote: »

Hard manufacturing has been hit hard in the reccession. Waterford has/had a big reliance on this. It has made a bit of comeback as Ireland has become more competitive so hopefully now those that remain will stay and prosper.
    Kilkenny is more of a services and tourism town and has capitalised on it's location relative to Dublin more I would say.

Grass is greener I would say. Unemployment is at 19% here I think and is slightly above/at the national average. There are vacant shops allover the town and rents are still cripplingly high.