Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Would you kiss someone with HIV/hepatitis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

pontia wrote: »
    why on earth would you kiss someone with these conditions if you knew beforehand ? i have a lot of sympathy for someone who contracted hiv from a transfusion or something similar, or kid born with it. But from dirty needles or unprotected sex.not so much.very little goodwill towards a lad on hols in spain who gets a std,why should this be so different

Kissing is not the same as using dirty needles or having unprotected sex.

The HIV virus is not transferred through saliva.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Do people have sympathy for people who contract lung cancer from smoking? Some people are very harsh

Hey, never said I was an expert. Merely claimed I have looked into this in detail. All Im saying is, i don't want it. And if that means not touching, not kissing, not having sex with someone who does have it, thats what i would do.

You still haven't explained the content of your 'thesis'. I really hope it was a thesis written from around the 90s, because your lack of knowledge on this topic is astounding.

And this is coming from someone who handles both strains daily. So don't try to BS me.

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

in this life there are plenty of things that will kill you or make you ill,i try to avoid them as much as i can,that includes smoking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Colmustard wrote: »

I remember when this ad first came out, I still think it is the most terrifying ad ever shown. I remember thinking Jaysus did I catch it have I got it already. People back then hadn't a clue about it and we really thought we were into a new black death scenario and by reading this thread some people still haven't a clue about it..

Wow :eek: I was aware of how frantic the situation must have been at the time by reading about it but I wasn't so aware of how grim and morbid the campaigns and ads had perceived it the crisis. I can imagine if I was my age now back then, it would have been a very scary time.

I realise people like me are really lucky to have all the information available to us now to protect ourselves as much as possible but people still do live in ignorance and arrogance of the disease, and some aspects of this thread is proof of that.
    I think the issue of contracting HIV has become a bit more lax in recent times because it's not seen as a death sentence anymore so people take unnecessary risks and play a game of chance, which isn't right.

It makes me wonder why there aren't a few more HIV ads out there because a lot of people are still ignorant about the disease.

I'm a firm believer that if you can educate yourself as best you can about the disease, and cast away the nonsense perceptions, you have the best possible chance at protecting yourself to the fullest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Daisy M

1ZRed wrote: »
    Wow :eek: I was aware of how frantic the situation must have been at the time by reading about it but I wasn't so aware of how grim and morbid the campaigns and ads had perceived it the crisis. I can imagine if I was my age now back then, it would have been a very scary time.

I realise people like me are really lucky to have all the information available to us now to protect ourselves as much as possible but people still do live in ignorance and arrogance of the disease, and some aspects of this thread is proof of that.
    I think the issue of contracting HIV has become a bit more lax in recent times because it's not seen as a death sentence anymore so people take unnecessary risks and play a game of chance, which isn't right.

It makes me wonder why there aren't a few more HIV ads out there because a lot of people are still ignorant about the disease.

I'm a firm believer that if you can educate yourself as best you can about the disease, and cast away the nonsense perceptions, you have the best possible chance at protecting yourself to the fullest.

It was grim and very scary but you have to remember that contracting this illness was a death sentence, any developed medication was virtually ineffective. At the time Vincent Hanley an Irish presenter working for mt usa contracted hiv and died at the young age 32. He appeared to go from healthy to very ill in the blink of an eye. It was denied for a long time that he had this type of illness there was a huge stigma attached to been gay and contracting hiv was seen as some kind of retribution by many ignorant people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Daisy M wrote: »
    It was grim and very scary but you have to remember that contracting this illness was a death sentence, any developed medication was virtually ineffective. At the time Vincent Hanley an Irish presenter working for mtv contracted hiv and died at the young age 32. He appeared to go from healthy to very ill in the blink of an eye. It was denied for a long time that he had this type of illness there was a huge stigma attached to been gay and contracting hiv was seen as some kind of retribution by many ignorant people.

Also the images we seen was a prolonged and agonising death people would go from vibrant fit young people to something a kin to a Bergen belsen victim. I remember a lot of famous people dying on pneumonia Rock Hudson and Freddy Mercury were the first to say what they died of.

It was a terrifying time for any sexual active person, it did lurk in the back of your mind. It seemed to come overnight, that ad was the first most learned of it. Then the sensational headlines and TV docos got to work claiming millions to billions will die of this and no-one knew any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

If someone told me that they had AIDS or were HIV positive then no, I wouldn't kiss them. I wouldn't even kiss someone that had a visible cold-sore. I'm really not getting why so many here see it as something of a taboo to say that you wouldn't knowingly kiss a person with AIDS. I don't care how small the odds of catching it are, it's a bet that I wouldn't be willing to make with myself.

Personal choice and all that =p
    The main issue is not that people don't want to kiss someone they know to be HIV positive or have AIDS, it's the astonishing amount of incorrect information that is being given about the disease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭xDramaxQueenx

Starla_o0 wrote: »
    You still haven't explained the content of your 'thesis'. I really hope it was a thesis written from around the 90s, because your lack of knowledge on this topic is astounding.

And this is coming from someone who handles both strains daily. So don't try to BS me.

Why should I explain the content of my thesis? And BS you? Come again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

why on earth would you kiss someone with these conditions if you knew beforehand ? i have a lot of sympathy for someone who contracted hiv from a transfusion or something similar, or kid born with it. But from dirty needles or unprotected sex.not so much.very little goodwill towards a lad on hols in spain who gets a std,why should this be so different

Ah, the innocent versus the guilty scenario.

A whole new genre of victim-blaming.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

mattjack wrote: »
    http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=7&ved=0CE8QFjAG&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.health.ny.gov%2Fdiseases%2Faids%2Ffacts%2Fquestions%2Fdocs%2F100questions.pdf&ei=lJdDUKyzKIW5hAeVloD4Bw&usg=AFQjCNGcKWVyZ-ejqs9KiQ3mxPWtLGlyOA&sig2=JWf_KYHT2h94BO0P5nAzQg

This is a good read,

where I work provides services for people with HEP C and HIV.

I'm speechless with some of these posts.I've attended lectures and written a number of assignments on both HIV and the variants of Hep.

It says in that there has been a known case of infection through deep kissing but none through casual kissing. How do the hep variants compare out of curiosity?

I hope you wash those hands before you use a petrol pump!! :D

Why would I kiss someone with HIV?

You cant get HIV from kissing.

I wont even ask would people have protected sex with someone with HIV.

Would you have sympathy for someone with cervical cancer? That is mostly caused by the HPV which is spread by sexual contact. It is also the cause of many oral cancers.

You have claimed to 'examine' HIV and AIDS (although you don't seem to know the difference) in 'detail' for a 'thesis'.

You CLEARLY have very little knowledge of either, regardless of your claims.

• Would you have sympathy for someone with cervical cancer? That is mostly caused by the HPV which is spread by sexual contact. It is also the cause of many oral cancers.

Funny you should ask that. The attitude of a lot of people who found out I had precancerous lesions caused by HPV was disgraceful. As if it was all my fault for being such a slut. I got it from the first person I slept with (with a condom, at the age of almost 21) and of course anyone who's ever had sex is at risk, but people seem to feel more comfortable victim blaming for some reason. I remember when Jade Goody died, a lot of people were saying she should have been more careful and that she deserved it. WTF, like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Fact: We, taxpayers, are paying for the medication of people with HIV, like we are with everyone else that doesn't have to pay for their own. If people want to use dirty needles and have unprotected sex with infected people, that's there business. Contributing towards their healthcare should be enough without you expecting people to put themselves at risk because its not PC to say you don't want it.

Is this about kissing people who are HIV positive or just a general rant about taxpayers paying for the health care of junkies?

I remember the "Dont Die of Ignorance" campaigns - I thought I could catch it if I shared a can of coke with someone.

Funny really, AIDs was one of the scariest, end of the civilisation as we know it diseases, yet when they discovered the medications and treatments to control it, there was no publicity. It was a totally damp squib, as proven by the level of ignorance and hysteria on this thread.

I remember going to my GP for a standard set of sexual health tests and asking could I do the test for HIV and she actually laughed at me and said that the chances of contracting HIV was vanishingly small in the heterosexual community in Ireland - particularly among people who practised safe sex and that I must have some kind of holdover from the old ad campaigns, and not only that, but it was a totally treatable disease now and no big deal at all. I was shocked no one had told me! Where were the ad campaigns telling everyone that it wasnt the end of the world?

Because you are using it and your research for it as the basis of your knowledge, which is confusing as the majority of your ideas on the virus are incorrect. I'm wondering what minute details (as you put it previously) you read up on, and where you got it from, to form such ideas. I find it difficult to believe that such a thesis would have been accepted by any educational institute in the past 15 years.

BS is bulls.hit...as in what you are spouting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

It says in that there has been a known case of infection through deep kissing but none through casual kissing. How do the hep variants compare out of curiosity?

There's six main HEP virus's, two are enteric and the other four are blood bourne and parental transmission(not by breastfeeding).

HEP A rarely leads to chronic illness, B and C often lead to chronic long term illness.
    HEP D,E and G aren't as common, D, I think becomes an issue when B is present.

Where were the ad campaigns telling everyone that it wasnt the end of the world?

That won't happen in my opinion. I think the fear among medical professionals would be that de-demonising HIV or other STI's would lead to complacency in condom use, and the number of infections and co-infections would rise.

Instead we have residual hysteria and paranoia, and the resulting stigma and demonisation. Hard to believe, but this might be the lesser of two evils. :(

Funny you should ask that. The attitude of a lot of people who found out I had precancerous lesions caused by HPV was disgraceful. As if it was all my fault for being such a slut. I got it from the first person I slept with (with a condom, at the age of almost 21) and of course anyone who's ever had sex is at risk, but people seem to feel more comfortable victim blaming for some reason. I remember when Jade Goody died, a lot of people were saying she should have been more careful and that she deserved it. WTF, like.

Most sexually active people pick up at least one strain of this virus, condoms offer limited protection because it is transferred by skin to skin contact. If you're lucky your immune system suppresses it, otherwise you may have cervical changes/cancers or genital warts depernding on the strain.

That's an appalling attitude you had to deal with, it justs show the stigma associated with any STI. Most people think you have to be extremely promiscuous to develop any STI. I hope you're fully recovered now.

• Most sexually active people pick up at least one strain of this virus, condoms offer limited protection because it is transferred by skin to skin contact. If you're lucky your immune system suppresses it, otherwise you may have cervical changes/cancers or genital warts depernding on the strain.

That's an appalling attitude you had to deal with, it justs show the stigma associated with any STI. Most people think you have to be extremely promiscuous to develop any STI. I hope you're fully recovered now.

Unfortunately not recovered. Looks like there may well be a genetic component at play - most of my aunts and cousins have a history of cervical cancer or abnormal smears.

I do wish people would educate themselves on the fact that not all STI's are the same. Chlamydia might be easily prevented with condom use, but HPV isn't. As you said, most people get it or have it and don't know. Shaming someone because they have it is like shaming someone for having a cold or flu. People are so ignorant. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Does anyone really believe dramaqueen made it to college?

Giselle wrote: »
    That won't happen in my opinion. I think the fear among medical professionals would be that de-demonising HIV or other STI's would lead to complacency in condom use, and the number of infections and co-infections would rise.

Instead we have residual hysteria and paranoia, and the resulting stigma and demonisation. Hard to believe, but this might be the lesser of two evils. :(

Yes I agree with you. Maybe this is one of those cases where people get a bit of cop on when they get a bit older and wiser. I know I would have been freaked out even by the idea of cold sores, for example, when I was young and the idea that someone could catch a cold sore from someone else would have filled me with disgust and even worry. Of course, when I grew up and copped on, I realised that a mere cold sore was nothing to worry about and in fact, many of the worst diseases are those we inflict on ourselves with our own behaviours like smoking, eating a bad diet, not exercising etc....

When I start my biotechnology course next September and when I hopefully reach 4th year, I hope my thesis will have a lot more factual accuracy and credence than yours for my own sake.

Post it here and we'll review it:D.

And if its any good , we might even kiss it... his thesis I mean.

I'm hoping to specialise in backwards notions and general ignorance, so I'm expectin' some controversy from all ye fancy educated folks and yore precious "facts"
    mattjack wrote: »
    And if its any good , we might even kiss it... his thesis I mean.

You disappoint sir :(

I'm hoping to specialise in backwards notions and general ignorance, so I'm expectin' some controversy from all ye fancy educated folks and yore precious "facts"

You disappoint sir :(

Sir,

I've adjusted my monocle,drank my last drop of brandy and now I'm of for some repose.

Good eve' to you all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I'm not going to get into all of Darmaqueens post because it came off as nonsensical to me.
    What I am shocked at is the "pozzing" she referred to.

Holy ****balls :eek:

I have lots of gay friends and would consider myself worldly but I had to google that to see if it was for real, and it is:eek::eek:

What in the hell is wrong with some people????

That seems to be the way to approach it, Redzer:p.

Perhaps Dramaqueen will post her thesis on Google docs and link it here, then you can use it for reference.

mishkalucy wrote: »

They say danger is a turn on, but that's some crazy extreme.:(

I'm not going to get into all of Darmaqueens post because it came off as nonsensical to me.

I have lots of gay friends and would consider myself worldly but I had to google that to see if it was for real, and it is:eek::eek:

Its very uncommon though

I know, it's shocking. I didn't know about it either until I saw this post in the NOPE thread in CVP&Ls thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80362609&postcount=757

efb wrote: »
    Its very uncommon though

Not from what I have just seen and that was just a very basic google search.
    I can only imagine if I dug a bit deeper.
    I really thought DQ was making it up, hence the search.

I know, it's shocking. I didn't know about it either until I saw this post in the NOPE thread in CVP&Ls thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80362609&postcount=757

Words fail me.

Every sexual perversion you can imagine, and many you cant, exist. Pozzing is shocking, but as mentioned, its very uncommon.

Deborah Jack, chief executive of the National AIDS Trust said: "There is very little evidence of people trying to get infected with HIV.

Jebus did you read some of those on that jpeg?:eek::eek:

The one where the guy when he was 12-14 used to take his dads used condoms out of the bin and drink the contents:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

BTW what was the CVP&L thing?

could you post your link.

Jebus did you read some of those on that jpeg?:eek::eek:

The one where the guy when he was 12-14 used to take his dads used condoms out of the bin and drink the contents:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

BTW what was the CVP&L thing?

It's the Cool Vids, Pics and Links forum on here. The NOPE thread is where I got that link. Full of stuff that make you go NOPE!!!! Don't check out the rest of it if you're squemish. Some good other threads in that forum though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Woah. Always good for me to see that I'm not the craziest person on the internet. I never heard of that before, it never even entered my mind that someone might try to do that to themselves.

could you post your link.

I just put in pozzing into google search and then went through the first couple of pages.
    On page 1, the last one is tribes.net
    Have a look at that one:)

I just put in pozzing into google search and then went through the first couple of pages.
    On page 1, the last one is tribes.net
    Have a look at that one:)

doest refer to the commonality though

MMMkkkkaaay

Its page 1 on a search and there are a lot of guys on there.

That's a very basic search.
    That tells me its common enough within it's community of people who are into it.

MMMkkkkaaay

Its page 1 on a search and there are a lot of guys on there.

That's a very basic search.
    That tells me its common enough within it's community of people who are into it.

of 7 billion people on the earth???. I'd go with what the professionals say.

Can I put that in my thesis? Google returned alot of hits so its very common...:rolleyes:

I had a feeling this was where you were going to go with this.

My comments about pozzing was not a reflection of my opinion of the gay community but of the severely sexually deviant community.

You can put that in you thesis.;)

Also, 7 billion people on Earth are gay?
    I had no idea:rolleyes:

I had a feeling this was where you were going to go with this.

My comments about pozzing was not a reflection of my opinion of the gay community but of the severely sexually deviant community.

You can put that in you thesis.;)

Also, 7 billion people on Earth are gay?
    I had no idea:rolleyes:

Did I say they were?

You said it within the context of the discussion about pozzing.