Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Kazakhstan v Ireland match thread - 7/9/12 - 17:00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,249 ✭✭✭✭briany

Liam was just starting buck. Match could have waited til he was finished. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Soups123 wrote: »
    Anyone getting the game live on RTE player, I can only get the audio

What browser are you using?.

Grand when i tested it in Chrome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Can't believe I'm nervous over this. Come on Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

bit of everything in that team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭double GG

I always wonder how they get classed as a European country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I`m going to have a crisp sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Soups123 wrote: »
    Anyone getting the game live on RTE player, I can only get the audio

Fine here but give www.aertv.ie a go if you can't get it, all the Irish channels are on there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,249 ✭✭✭✭briany

mike65 wrote: »
    They look Asian!
    They were speaking some strange language. Im pretty sure it was *incomprehensible* Asian!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Robbie could start singing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

double GG wrote: »

They actually played in the Asian qualifiers for the first few tournaments after the split of the Soviet Union.

I wonder are they unpopular with their neighbours or something and that's why they play in UEFA?

Great speech by Robbie:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Ah here, is Robbie doing Karaoke requests now?

kitakyushu wrote: »
    They actually played in the Asian qualifiers for the first few tournaments after the split of the Soviet Union.

I wonder are they unpopular with their neighbours or something and that's why they play in UEFA?

And I'd imagine they'd surely have a better chance playing Asia?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Anything less than a win and qualification is unlikely tbh

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Kazakhstan is the greatest, exporter of potassium. All other countries, have inferior potassium.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,593 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

And I'd imagine they'd surely have a better chance playing Asia?

The continent? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Looks like someone set Whelan's mic to the right level for once.

Anything less than 3 points would be catastrophic.

I know about 10 people in stands fair play to them. Some trip over. One my friends had to leave on Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

What the hell was that about at the start of the match?

Also, what was Hamilton going on about boulders?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Keno 92 wrote: »
    Kazakhstan is the greatest, exporter of potassium. All other countries, have inferior potassium.

K, thanks for that fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

For a team so low in the rankings they have a fine stadium,I was expecting a stadium like Andorra.

3-1 to Ireland. There will be on own goal in the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I feel like I'm watching a replay of a game from the 80s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Is it only my TV where the picture doesn't fit the screen?

For a team so low in the rankings they have a fine stadium,I was expecting a stadium like Andorra.

article-1332356-0C349C35000005DC-622_634x371.jpg

I know about 10 people in stands fair play to them. Some trip over. One my friends had to leave on Tuesday.

What way did their flights go? I can't imagine a direct flight! :D

Possibly to Dubai or Abu Dhabi and onwards from there?

nearly scored, twice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Unlucky McCarthy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

So we have our decent start. When will we score, then hang on for dear life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Looking dangerous from the corners we are

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭kellso81

Is it an artificial pitch? looks bit too perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

As usual we get our 5 minutes of attacking before 85 of boredom. Enjoy!

kellso81 wrote: »

Yeah astro turf.

What way did their flights go? I can't imagine a direct flight! :D

Possibly to Dubai or Abu Dhabi and onwards from there?

They went bit arse ways. Think it was Denmark then Estonia and onto some other place before they got there.

The flights were cheap for that distance. Just glad for them that most them have their own business etc so they can afford to go.:)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

It is

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭TadhgSk

It looks like they're still using the old Soviet cameras.

Yup, astroturf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

SantryRed wrote: »
    Is it only my TV where the picture doesn't fit the screen?

Borat TV is 4:3 only
    antodeco wrote: »
    article-1332356-0C349C35000005DC-622_634x371.jpg

That's Braga's home isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

ALready Kazakhstan look so shaky at the back, we should really hammer these

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

They're in the Eurovision too, just like Russia & Israel :D

i have never seen so many Irish players forward.

mike65 wrote: »
    That's Braga's home isn't it?

One of the weirdest and best looking stadiums I think. Its how I imagined the kazak stadium to look!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

This is bizarre looking. From the score line graphic to the picture ratio to the astro turf. Everything looks odd. :o

Doing ok so far. A couple of half chances.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

You can see when they have possession they pass it better than us. It never ceases to amaze how these types of teams can pass us off the park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

i have never seen so many Irish players forward.

We're all go in fairness! Need to be careful not be caught on a break. They really cannot handle Walters so far though. We're causing havoc with long ball up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Crazy to think we're 4/6 to beat kazak, a team ranked 120 places above us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

That'd be their oil. And potassium apparently :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Playing long ball against feckin Kazakhstan!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Kazakhstan greatest country in the world.
    All other countries are run by little girls.
    Kazakhstan number one exporter of potassium.
    Other countries have inferior potassium.

Kazakhstan home of Tinshein swimming pool.
    It’s length thirty meter and width six meter.
    Filtration system a marvel to behold.
    It remove 80 percent of human solid waste.

Kazakhstan, Kazakhstan you very nice place.
    From Plains of Tarashek to Norther fence of Jewtown.
    Kazakhstan friend of all except Uzbekistan.
    They very nosey people with bone in their brain.

Kazakhstan industry best in the world.
    We incented toffee and trouser belt.
    Kazakhstan’s prostitutes cleanest in the region.
    Except of course Turkmenistan’s

Kazakhstan, Kazakhstan you very nice place.
    From Plains of Tarashek to Norther fence of Jewtown.
    Come grasp the might phenis of our leader.
    From junction with the testes to tip of its face!