Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RIRA Man shot dead in broad daylight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nudger

So there was.
    In his 40's.
    Hope he has life insurance.

If he was the shooter, in his line of work he's had a good innings.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Criminal

You'd wanna tell all his disciples putting up tricolors and murals all over the place today.

And what are you on about Reps don't take money off criminals? How else do they make their money?? Extortion, protection rackets...

They take money off Publicans to protect them from drug dealers, then also take money off the dealers.

Scumbags!!
    Sound Republican people. Never.

nudger wrote: »
    If he was the shooter, in his line of work he's had a good innings.

That's true.
    He could be just a patsy though.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Criminal wrote: »
    Sound Republican people. Never.

Somebody could believe that Ireland would be better as a 32 county state. Perhaps they have Republican ideals.

Most of these knackers flying the flags and attending his funeral probably can't even count to 32 or have even the slightest clue about politics or history.

That's true.
    He could be just a patsy though.;)

Or a John Jo.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

Somebody could believe that Ireland would be better as a 32 county state. Perhaps they have Republican ideals.

Most of these knackers flying the flags and attending his funeral probably can't even count to 32 or have even the slightest clue about politics or history.

That's true.
    In an ideal world, even I would like to see Ireland owning it's own counties, but that isn't a realistic goal, it was in 1916 for sure.
    N.Ireland will always be part of the UK, and there is nothing the criminal fraternity freedom fighters can do about it, except kill innocent people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Maybe I shouldn't have used the word donaghmede but I'm talkin about my community the Grang Abbey community within donaghmede where I grew up on the same street as Alan I'm talking about my neighboirs who knew Alan also, who has a totally different portrayal of Alan to what he actually was because Alan portrayed himself to our community as the good guy. My opinion of Alan is the day Alan was arrested in
    Meath at an Ira training camp been thought how to use weapons I learned then he was scum and always new that the day Alan would die it would be through murder and through no fault but his own not his families or the good community we have in grange abbey

Grange abbey is a fine area with a very nice spirit.

Just from what I've seen in the papers, the man did not look like a tough guy, looked tall but not heavelty built.

Was he into MMA or boxing or more the batman.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIr7KABvCk0

The comments under this video are very interesting indeed.

I dont know anything about this Criminal Action Force but I believe their members have continually tried to play themselves up even on this forum, possibly on this thread judging by some new posters. I can understand their motives etc if what we read is to be believed.

All I know is any sane individual would be half way to Mexico if they were in anyway associated with this group. Not posting videos and stuff on the internet.

They either have alot of balls or are very foolish indeed or even both. All I know is I would not want to be a Dublin criminal right now! :eek:

Individual would be half way to Mexico ? First class travel.

Dublin criminal right now! ? You seem to think they fear Ryan's gang.

1. I think their action, speak for themselves.

2. Continually tried to play themselves up ? Why post video.

3. The comments under this video are very interesting indeed. ? Why.

I sure Mexico would be a place hitmen would like.

Originally Posted by Bergkamp 10 View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIr7KABvCk0

Oh, Convenient ?.

Fitting in well with a person's needs, activities, and plans.
    Involving little trouble or effort.

Actions speak much louder than words. bullsh**.

I am sure it will be a paint war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭rubadubduba

he is not the first cardboard so called real IRA head to be shot and he sure wont be the last.
    And i think this thread should get the chop, its going nowhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Real IRA supposedly doesnt exist anymore, they amalgamated with other groups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Wouldn't be the first time the rags made up the details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

he is not the first cardboard so called real IRA head to be shot and he sure wont be the last.
    And i think this thread should get the chop, its going nowhere.
    Kinda like AR

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

The RIRA is a farce brought out by MI5 from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Armaghmagic

Will be interesting to see if there are any ructions at the funeral......I assume there will be a large Garda presence at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

One down a lot more to go.
    Hopefully this is just the start and the rest of these scumbags will be in coffins soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭Lenn Brennan

Just been through Donaghmede, serious amount of people there, even in the shopping centre car park

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

im just after passing donaghmede church there and id say theres a few thousand people around the vicinity of the church

what is this country coming to when a supposed murderer,extortionist,gangster,bigot,terrorist and overall thug gets a send off like this?

people of donaghmede and wherever else the crowd came from makes me lose faith in humanity....and as for the amount of women dressed in mini skirts up to there arses supposedly showing their respects?...dont get me started

it really is a shame all the guarda resources being wasted on this gangsters funeral

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭Lenn Brennan

that smiley face should'nt be there and I don't know how to delete it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I thought you were referring to Andrew Ryan at first :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭Dionysius2

jimpump wrote: »
    im just after passing donaghmede church there and id say theres a few thousand people around the vicinity of the church

what is this country coming to when a supposed murderer,extortionist,gangster,bigot,terrorist and overall thug gets a send off like this?

people of donaghmede and wherever else the crowd came from makes me lose faith in humanity....and as for the amount of women dressed in mini skirts up to there arses supposedly showing their respects?...dont get me started

it really is a shame all the guarda resources being wasted on this gangsters funeral
    But if the dead gangster lived and socialisd in skangerland in accord with his mentality, how could this ever be different ? Just think on some of the Limerick scumbag funerals of recent years. If those are the values you subscribe to then why should you not go down on your last day commanding the attention of those of your own status in life? Isn't that the least any deceased person should have.....to wallow on your last day in the cheap pity of those who know feck all else ?

I'm surprised at the comments here tbh, everyone from that area thought he was a hero for taking drugs off the streets. Maybe people here know something I don't but I would say fair play on that point alone.
    Is it because people are pro-drugs or anti-republican?

http://i45.tinypic.com/w2dfzl.jpg
    http://i45.tinypic.com/2lveoeq.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭rock whore

everyone from that area thought he was a hero for taking drugs off the streets. ]

sorry can't let this slide. Don't want to get into a big 'Republican' debate but he may have been a 'hero' to you or to your mates but he was not a hero to the people of Donaghmede.

rock whore wrote: »
    sorry can't let this slide. Don't want to get into a big 'Republican' debate but he may have been a 'hero' to you or to your mates but he was not a hero to the people of Donaghmede.

Why not? Anyone with a negative opinion doesn't have a reason other than their different politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I'm surprised at the comments here tbh, everyone from that area thought he was a hero for taking drugs off the streets. Maybe people here know something I don't but I would say fair play on that point alone.

How by his actions has he taken any drugs of the streets ?? Don't see or hear of any drop in consumption or the supply of drugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Donaghmedegirl

I personally didn't go to the funeral but I did see the crowds.some just there because they have never seen anything like it and a lot of Grange abbey folk there to pay there respects to the family not Alan especially his mother and younger brother and sister who work like everyone else in a regular job and pay there taxes like us.they are well known in grange abbey as been nice people who couldn't help what there family member turned out to be, they get the sympathy and respect in my view not alan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Your post has mental issues.

realies wrote: »
    How by his actions has he taken any drugs of the streets ?? Don't see or hear of any drop in consumption or the supply of drugs.

Since the creation of An Garda Síochána drugs consumption has increased exponentially...
    I think that any attempt to target drug dealers is good for the community and that he was trying to do good for his area.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Donaghmedegirl

Since the creation of An Garda Síochána drugs consumption has increased exponentially...
    I think that any attempt to target drug dealers is good for the community and that he was trying to do good for his area.
    He lined his own pockets with the money he hardly built playgrounds and community centers with .he didn't stop it he supposedly taxed them to allow them to sell in our area if they didn't pay they got beat up or killed as Alan has been a suspect in at least 3 murders of drug dealer it was allll about the money

Hope your not blaming the garda for drug consumption increase as I put it down to living in a western style democracy with its warts and all ;);)

Do you honestly think by targeting drug dealers with violence is helping the problem go away,We have been down this road before with the provos in the 70,s & 80,s, It did nothing to eradicate the drug problem what so ever then nor will it do so now.

Criminals/drug dealers today haven't got the fear factor in them like the older generation of criminals had of the Provisional IRA,The people who killed AR have to expect a backlash and maybe are well prepared for one ? Its coming full circle now with the crims having as much firepower and probably a lot more money than any Dissentent organisation,The only outcome of this will be people getting murdered and most likely innocent ones at that.

Hope your not blaming the garda for drug consumption increase as I put it down to living in a western style democracy with its warts and all ;);)

Do you honestly think by targeting drug dealers with violence is helping the problem go away,We have been down this road before with the provos in the 70,s & 80,s, It did nothing to eradicate the drug problem what so ever then nor will it do so now.

Criminals/drug dealers today haven't got the fear factor in them like the older generation of criminals had of the Provisional IRA,The people who killed AR have to expect a backlash and maybe are well prepared for one ? Its coming full circle now with the crims having as much firepower and probably a lot more money than any Dissentent organisation,The only outcome of this will be people getting murdered and most likely innocent ones at that.

My point about the Garda is that statistics do not tell the full story when it comes to combating drugs.
    Republicans and other direct action groups had some success dealing with hard drugs in the north and in areas like Tallaght however they are never going to be able to solve the problem totally, neither are the courts and garda. I know of several dealers who were put out of town, resulting in dealers and addicts travelling 15 miles to get their stuff - that is a significant impact.

My point about the Garda is that statistics do not tell the full story when it comes to combating drugs.
    Republicans and other direct action groups had some success dealing with hard drugs in the north and in areas like Tallaght however they are never going to be able to solve the problem totally, neither are the courts and garda. I know of several dealers who were put out of town, resulting in dealers and addicts travelling 15 miles to get their stuff - that is a significant impact.

Sorry I was around when the Concerned parents were at its height in the 80,s ,All they/we did in hindsight was move the problem from one area to another and in hindsight again,actually helped create ghetto type areas that we have today,btw by putting dealers out of town never stopped drugs it just created new drug dealers.Anyway were going of topic here,The point is that by shooting dead drug dealers will not make them go away and will only create a tit for tat situation which is what happened to AR.imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,307 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I too remember CPAD in the mid to late '80s and it was the action of an exasperated community. The Guards appeared to spend more time confronting the CPAD people than the dealers which lost them support in the areas were Heroin was a real problem.

I do not know what is going on in Domaghmede area with regard to Alan Ryan and if reports that he was extorting money from the drug dealers to allow them to continue pushing and he lined his pockets well that is just wrong. However, I cannot see that it is right that the drug dealers took him out and people are applauding it.

capturegel.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

The IRA were fantastically effective in keeping heroin out of nationalist areas.

Not in Dublin and as Nationalist areas at that time where more or less a war zone at that time,and the control BA/PIRA had on everybody and there movements it made it a very restrictive place.There is heroin in nationalist areas now is there not ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

This is the problem, all the knackers that think he took drugs off the streets are deluded. All he did was control where the drugs were sold and took a slice of the drug dealers profits.

So, for example, he wouldn't allow drugs be sold openly in a pub somewhere in Donaghmeade. It just meant the dealers dealt 5km away, with the drugs making there way back there anyway.

He played off the stupidity of the locals who thought he was doing something decent.

If drug dealers stopped dealing where else would he get a substantial % of his extortion income.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,805 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Check Points in and out of Finglas Village at present too.
    The Wake is in the Bottom Of The Hill.

keire wrote: »
    Check Points in and out of Finglas Village at present too.
    The Wake is in the Bottom Of The Hill.

Wonder why there and not over Donaghmede way ? Unless they own that pub ?

Not in Dublin and as Nationalist areas at that time where more or less a war zone at that time,and the control BA/PIRA had on everybody and there movements it made it a very restrictive place.There is heroin in nationalist areas now is there not ?

The dissidents don't have the respect or strength of the provos so drugs have creeped into nationalist areas again. Nationalist areas are much more drug free than loyalist or neutral areas thanks to people like Alan and whatever about his alleged money making activities we have people like him to thank for that.

There was a fundraiser held in the pub a while back for the free Marian Price campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

Omg, go to the 32 country sovereignty movement website - there's a big memorial on it. Who could support this scum. Whoever tries to deny that they're the political wing of the RIRA is an idiot.

I have sympathy his family and the fact that they had to put up with him but you have to think about all the lives and families this guy has effected/ruined too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Red About Town

Omg, go to the 32 country sovereignty movement website - there's a big memorial on it. Who could support this scum. Whoever tries to deny that they're the political wing of the RIRA is an idiot.

I don't think anyone does to be honest. They share the same political views as the Reals and are part of the same 'Republican Movement'. Much in the same way, Sinn Fein were part of the same movement as the Provos.

To be honest, I think it's great that drug dealer scum and IRA scum are killing each other off. In the long run, it'll free up prison space and take a load off the Gardaí constantly trying to pursue these low lives. Something interesting to watch on the news too.

*Eats popcorn*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 esf2012

He was shot because he didnt take crap from drug dealers, he ruffled a few feathers, He was well loved in republican circles and to take such glee from his death is actually horrible. The papers posting pictures of him lying on the road like that is equally horrible. His family have to wake up this morning and deal with the death of their son/ brother. I wouldnt wish that on anyone.

His family are every bit as bad as him, it was his mother that got him and his brothers into this **** and it will be Vinny that takes over as leader now until a bullet finishes him.

He WAS a drug dealer himself sure wasn't the bloody boozy they used as a den found loaded with drugs? Yes, yes it was.

He was also involved directly or indirectly in at least two murders not too mention all the other ****e that he was into that didn't make the papers.

and yes, I did know him but I'm no criminal wrapped in a flag pretending so wont try and defend him, nor is this a court of law so I can state what I and the dog on the street always knew.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/real-ira-man-executed-for-informing-about-drugs-2080659.html

http://www.sundayworld.com/columnists/sw-irish-crime.php?aid=11292

http://www.sundayworld.com/columnists/sw-irish-crime.php?aid=5669

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/dublin-pub-owned-by-dad-of-celtic-striker-gutted-in-blaze-2837151.html

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/celtic-stars-father-facing-additional-assault-drugs-and-firearms-charges-519899.html

The dissidents don't have the respect or strength of the provos so drugs have creeped into nationalist areas again. Nationalist areas are much more drug free than loyalist or neutral areas thanks to people like Alan and whatever about his alleged money making activities we have people like him to thank for that.

lol.

The only way gangland violence centered around drug dealing is going to be cured is when the government makes all drug legal, then these low lives will be put out of business. If anything the RIRA were only making the situation worse - violence begets violence.

lol.

The only way gangland violence centered around drug dealing is going to be cured is when the government makes all drug legal, then these low lives will be put out of business. If anything the RIRA were only making the situation worse - violence begets violence.

Agree with you to some extent but if you want drugs out of your area you need to use direct action like Alan did. Unfortunately you make yourself a target.