Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RIRA Man shot dead in broad daylight

I didnt know him personally but from what I hear about him he wasnt half as bad as the media / druggies made him out to be.

So you're just as clueless as everyone else when it comes to giving an opinion on him.
    Some say he was a gentlemen, some say he was as bad as the druggies themselves.
    The one thing that is clear, he wasn't shot for being a family man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Ah come on. It was well documented what he was into. He was a thoroughbred criminal with a republican mask. Nothing short of scum. Why didnt his family and friends not try and coax him out of this lifestyle if they cared so much for him? If he was as decent as some people say and loved his family as people are saying then he would not have been involved in scumbaggery.

My sympathies go out to the ordinary people that died and are buried either side of his plot!! Now they dont deserve to have this scum beside them for eternity!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

And you're coming to this opinion from reading the herald is it?

independent actually. your point being?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Whatever about whether or not your man deserved the end he got, to suggest that you're happy that a person (anyone) got gunned down in broad daylight in the streets of our capital, makes you look like a complete knuckle-dragging retard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

frag420 wrote: »
    Ah come on. It was well documented what he was into. He was a thoroughbred criminal with a republican mask. Nothing short of scum. Why didnt his family and friends not try and coax him out of this lifestyle if they cared so much for him? If he was as decent as some people say and loved his family as people are saying then he would not have been involved in scumbaggery.

My sympathies go out to the ordinary people that dies and are buried either side of his plot!! Now they dont deserve to have this scum beside them for eternity!!

From what I seem he was trying to rid the place of drug dealers and was at a protest against the budget last year,compared to some scum in this country,not bad things at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,193 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

LordSutch wrote: »
    Was the Queen ever to blame?
    He photographed eyeballin a cop during the queens visit

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

RVP 11 wrote: »
    So you're just as clueless as everyone else when it comes to giving an opinion on him.
    Some say he was a gentlemen, some say he was as bad as the druggies themselves.
    The one thing that is clear, he wasn't shot for being a family man.

He was shot because he didnt take crap from drug dealers, he ruffled a few feathers, He was well loved in republican circles and to take such glee from his death is actually horrible. The papers posting pictures of him lying on the road like that is equally horrible. His family have to wake up this morning and deal with the death of their son/ brother. I wouldnt wish that on anyone.

From what I seem he was trying to rid the place of drug dealers and was at a protest against the budget last year,compared to some scum in this country,not bad things at all.

He was Judge Dredd was he?
    Come off it we all know the motivations they have for putting pressure on drug dealers.....money!!!
    Thats puts him and people like him in the same bracket as drug dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

No loss and i just hope he did not spawn more scum which would grow up just like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He was shot because he didnt take crap from drug dealers, he ruffled a few feathers, He was well loved in republican circles and to take such glee from his death is actually horrible. The papers posting pictures of him lying on the road like that is equally horrible. His family have to wake up this morning and deal with the death of their son/ brother. I wouldnt wish that on anyone.

Where do these "patriots" get their funding from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

And you're coming to this opinion from reading the herald is it?

independent actually. your point being?
    You believe everything you read?

Where do these "patriots" get their funding from?

A bit of extortion? so what, make a bit of money from the drug dealing scum. Maybe if the police were doing their jobs this wouldnt happen, in fact alot of them are on a nice wage themselves from these dealers. It still doesnt take away the fact that a man was shot down in broad daylight yesterday and pictures of him dying are posted the next morning for all to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

A bit of extortion? so what

That really tells you all you need to know about their mindset.

A bit of extortion? so what, .
    Spoken like a true patriot.
    It's funny all those defending him would like you to believe he only extorted Drug Dealers and sure taking their money is ok, even if you have a gentlemens agreement with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

A bit of extortion? so what, make a bit of money from the drug dealing scum. Maybe if the police were doing their jobs this wouldnt happen, in fact alot of them are on a nice wage themselves from these dealers. It still doesnt take away the fact that a man was shot down in broad daylight yesterday and pictures of him dying are posted the next morning for all to see.
    It should be a warning to scum that they all end up with a bullet in the skull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

Yeah, and sure all the legitimate businesses they demand protection money from are asking for it as well. Just because you want to try and justify the actions of murdering scum doesnt mean the rest of us have to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Em, its not just drug dealers they extort money from. They have a massive movement on making sure pubs use their guys to stand on the doors in case there is an "accident". This is where most of their money pretty much comes from.

The socialist republican patriots are extorting money off the working man, people trying to get by with a small business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

So you don't have a problem with drug dealers if they're paying protection money? So it's the cops fault he was extorting money from the dealers because they didn't catch them? Any evidence at all for the claim about the cops taking bribes? I agree that photos of his dead body shouldn't have been published.

Em, its not just drug dealers they extort money from. They have a massive movement on making sure pubs use their guys to stand on the doors in case there is an "accident". This is where most of their money pretty much comes from.

The socialist republican patriots are extorting money off the working man, people trying to get by with a small business.

I dont agree with that part obviously, but I do agree with extorting money from drug dealers. Anyway alot of people would actually come to these people and ask for help in the community etc.
    mackg wrote: »
    So you don't have a problem with drug dealers if they're paying protection money? So it's the cops fault he was extorting money from the dealers because they didn't catch them? Any evidence at all for the claim about the cops taking bribes? I agree that photos of his dead body shouldn't have been published.
    I have a problem with them alright, anyway I didnt come onto this thread to discuss republicanism, It was simply to say its very sad that a man died yesterday, we all have different opinions on life etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

mackg wrote: »
    Any evidence at all for the claim about the cops taking bribes?

Any evidence at all about this guy being involved in shaking down drug dealers?

it was for the money. So a scumbag robs another scumbag and all is ok.

Robinhood he was not!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Bambi wrote: »

Unlikely.

It's not as if the drug dealers could complain to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I didn't say he was. I was responding to a post that said there was nothing wrong with the practice.

Were you on the fm104 phoneshow last night?
    I think the evidence is in the morgue right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

"You have to pay me a thousand euro a month and not deal to children or I'll kneecap ya"

A modern day hero all right.

He made his choice. He paid the price.

He profited from the sale of illegal drugs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭seiphil

How can somebody be happy over somebodies death when they knew nothing about him and if they did know something about him it more then likely came from the local rag or that muppet Williams.

And to be even happy that a man has been killed in broad daylight is just simply wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

You believe everything you read?

absolutely everything. especially stuff i read online :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Why are people so confused over the fact that this murder happened in daylight? Are you expecting cold blooded, scumbag killers to have ethics? Where were their morals? :confused:

I'm sure we'll hear about how lovely he was at his funeral. A huge loss.

seiphil wrote: »
    How can somebody be happy over somebodies death when they knew nothing about him and if they did know something about him it more then likely came from the local rag or that muppet Williams.

And to be even happy that a man has been killed in broad daylight is just simply wrong.

Paul Williams has more blood on his hands than anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Bullet holes.

absolutely everything. especially stuff i read online :rolleyes:

Nobody is happy at another shooting in broad daylight, but they want us to have sympathy because he is related to other human beings.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Omackeral wrote: »
    The man was also a notorious ladies man, it's unlikely but not impossible, that some jilted lover could've knocked him off! .

A Republican ladies man?

Why am I playing a scene association in my head involving him rigging a milk float with speed activated explosives :pac:

Yeah that's right.
    This poor chap begged Paul Williams to leave him alone that he was putting his life in danger.
    Yet he never once sued williams for slander, go figure.

The Bhoys on the 104 phoneshow last night said the exact same thing, the topic is about a shooting of a known criminal, and yet all his pals wanted it to be about Paul Williams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

It's a damn shame somebody's Volvo was stolen and burnt out. Can we please remember the victim of this crime?

seiphil wrote: »

Its not like he hid any of his misdemeanors. They were reported in every national paper in the land. Did they all get him wrong? Its a wonder he didnt sue them all for making up stories about him the poor wee thing.

endacl wrote: »
    It's a damn shame somebody's Volvo was stolen and burnt out. Can we please remember the victim of this crime?

I think the crime there was buying a Volvo!!:D

RVP 11 wrote: »
    Yeah that's right.
    This poor chap begged Paul Williams to leave him alone that he was putting his life in danger.

The Bhoys on the 104 phoneshow last night said the exact same thing, the topic is about a shooting of a known criminal, and yet all his pals wanted it to be about Paul Williams.

Well maybe because they knew him and loved him? , and were furious that this little condescending freak was on the radio a few hours after he died talking crap?, It seems everyone that actually knew the man adored him.

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

How's that then? Surely Williams has the same goal (allegedly) re ridding the streets of drug dealers?

Well maybe because they knew him and loved him? , and were furious that this little condescending freak was on the radio a few hours after he died talking crap?, It seems everyone that actually knew the man adored him.

And that is evidence that he was decent?
    Everyone who knew him, knew what he was.
    And in that case, you either hate him or love him.
    Doesn't mean he deserves sympathy.

AEDIC wrote: »
    How's that then? Surely Williams has the same goal (allegedly) re ridding the streets of drug dealers?

Eh no, Its well known the man is fond of drugs himself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Whoever pulled the trigger yesterday should be rewarded for helping to clean up the streets of Dublin.

you of course have evidence of that claim :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Lapin wrote: »
    Whoever pulled the trigger yesterday should be rewarded for helping to clean up the streets of Dublin.

Stupidest post so far

We've been hearing that from subversives and criminal thugs over the years.
    The same types who justify putting bombs under his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭seiphil

Lapin wrote: »

Yea good on those gangsters killing people at will.

Get real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, it's Paul Williams's fault for naming dirty scumbags.

They should be left in peace to be anonymous dirty scumbags.

If you get involved in this stuff, you're going to die young. Blaming reporters or anything else is ridiculous. He has only himself to blame for getting involved in this nonsense.

His family should realise that he has accomplished nothing significant in his life except to cause more pain and suffering and hopefully his children will go off and do something useful with their lives.

seamus wrote: »
    Yeah, it's Paul Williams's fault for naming dirty scumbags.

They should be left in peace to be dirty scumbags.

If you get involved in this stuff, you're going to die young. Blaming reporters or anything else is ridiculous. He has only himself to blame for getting involved in this nonsense.

His family should realise that he has accomplished nothing significant in his life except to cause more pain and suffering and hopefully his children will go off and do something useful with their lives.

You do realise he was responsible for alot of people going into drug rehabilitation ? , Paul Williams is an idiot, he SENSATIONALIZES things. I was reading an article about the deceased and Mr Genius Williams couldnt even get his home county correct.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Capri Man

Leave Paul Williams alone. He's only doing his job and letting ordinary people know whats out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

If there where no end users this sort of stuff wouldn't be happening. The same people who smoke a bit of weed or do a line or two at the weekend are the same people that are horrified by the pictures or story's.

Yet they can't see that by them buying a 'small bag' it's contributing too this.

Buy any sort of illegal drug, laundered fuel or cheap cigs chances are your contributing to this.

Not saying everyone is but just wanted to say that.

Look at the mess the global demand for cocaine is causing in Mexico and South America. When I see people with bags of cocaine on there nights out it makes me sick, not because it's illegal. The story's of family's murdered, and I mean family's, kids as young as 5 and 3 shot dead, it's sick. So if ye smoke a bit of weed or do a bit of coke have a think about underworld your product took to reach you. Unless your making your own but even at that chances are you wouldn't have a supply 365 days a year.

On Paul Williams , there are gangsters, mobsters and scum killing each other all over the world I hardly think he is behind them also. Besides if he talks so much **** then you think every gangster up and down Ireland would take what he says with a pinch of salt at this stage.

It is a shame a man has been shot dead, but we all choose our paths in life. He could have opted out of this lifestyle and tried turning a new leaf. I would imagine it hard but not impossible.

Paul Williams is an idiot, he SENSATIONALIZES things.

Oh the irony...