Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick improvement projects

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭sleepyman

Does anyone know if the Bishops Quay development has commenced?As in the actual building?
    I know the ESB Building was demolished a few months back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Vanquished

sleepyman wrote: »
    Does anyone know if the Bishops Quay development has commenced?As in the actual building?

No sign of anything happening since the construction restrictions were lifted. They were apparently ready to go in January after the final design work was completed but we've heard that many times before in relation to this project. It's now almost 5 years since the original application was lodged!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,848 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Did they not go in with a third planning application to increase the height but not to the original application height?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Vanquished

Did they not go in with a third planning application to increase the height but not to the original application height?

Yes, that was granted last December.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,077 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

sleepyman wrote: »
    The hoarding went up and there were loads of lads in hi-vis around before the lockdown, but I haven't seen any activity in the last week since the restrictions were lifted.

And there's no record of a commencement notice (that I can find) on the National Building Control site.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭coffey87

The Limerick Leader comments on the Cruises Street upgrade is priceless, the negativity of the people who comment on the leader is unreal. If they had their way Limerick with be a massive housing estate for the homeless of Ireland!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭phog

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Depends really. Just saying incentives is nice and easy it can mean anything. What would you actually propose and what would it cost in comparison

Ah here you want me to go to the bother of think through an incentive scheme for you post a post like this as a reply.

If you want someone to entertain then try it with someone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,065 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

phog wrote: »
    Ah here you want me to go to the bother of think through an incentive scheme for you post a post like this as a reply.

If you want someone to entertain then try it with someone else.

Well it's easy shoot down ideas and say incentives with no actual idea what an incentive might be. It's like Brexit means Brexit it actually means nothing

gosh man you really take some leaps in your posts.

I never shot down the idea, in fact, I said hopefully covering the street would revitalise it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,969 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Right folks, back to discussion the topics at hand rather than having pops at each other, attack the post not the poster, if you want to continue the conversation take it to PM any further bickering on thread will result in threadbans.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭sioda

As someone who works on Cruises street I hate to say but this is a waste of time for the street in its current state.

Covered shopping arcades work with a good variety of shops and food outlets. But with the only food being at exact ends this is a pointless exercise, especially when we have places like little Catherine Street and lower Thomas street that are perfect with a good mix of businesses.

I really hope this goes into the same drawer as the bridge up near the the Curragower.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭adaminho

sioda wrote: »
    As someone who works on Cruises street I hate to say but this is a waste of time for the street in its current state.

Covered shopping arcades work with a good variety of shops and food outlets. But with the only food being at exact ends this is a pointless exercise, especially when we have places like little Catherine Street and lower Thomas street that are perfect with a good mix of businesses.

I really hope this goes into the same drawer as the bridge up near the the Curragower.

I worked in Cruises for years and the thing is the units are too small for anything other than niche shops. I've said it before on here that it needs to be re-marketed by concentrating a certain market there. Move the "Fashion Quarter" off Catherine St (What's left there?) and put them on Cruises street. Throw a few more cafe's in there mid street and maybe extend the market up a bit like they used do on a Saturday!

The new Aldi store on Roches St has been given planning permission by ABP. It will be open in 2023. https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/breaking-news/634786/aldi-issues-update-on-new-limerick-store.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭Treehelpplease

Brown cladding instead of blue would be so much nicer

Ya but it's Aldi colours sadly

So the council want to pave the back green of the Peoples park for a public performance space. Whilst I'd love a public performance space this isn't the place for it!
    https://twitter.com/elisaodonovan/status/1395297074334289920

adaminho wrote: »
    So the council want to pave the back green of the Peoples park for a public performance space. Whilst I'd love a public performance space this isn't the place for it!

Is there any info other than the map ?

Because that does not say what you are saying and has no info as to what the space is

• Registered Users Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭sioda

Remove the only decent sized green area in the city centre that is used every day by people this is ridiculous so I fully expect it to happen

sioda wrote: »
    Remove the only decent sized green area in the city centre that is used every day by people this is ridiculous so I fully expect it to happen

The councillor goes on to say

"Nothing proposed beyond a public performance area in a public park. I have been told that People’s Park is the preferred location hence why it is in that drawing."
    Its not set in stone yet and there doesnt seem to be any design plan or mention of paving anything. Everyone should contact the council regardless and keep an eye out for a protest campaign

I would not be a fan of messing with that park either its small enough.

In wet weather it can be a bit boggy there but they'll destroy the park if they pave that area.

I could understand they using a mesh matting grass protector if they're hosting events there

phog wrote: »
    In wet weather it can be a bit boggy there but they'll destroy the park if they pave that area.

I could understand they using a mesh matting grass protector if they're hosting events there

Was the Paddy Expo down there back in the mists of time ?

Statement from the council.
    Limerick City and County Council wishes to clarify the situation in relation to proposals circulating for the People’s Park. The People’s Park is one of Limerick City’s greatest assets and public amenities and it is the Council’s intention that this remains. At this time we can confirm that Limerick City and County Council has no firm proposals for any changes in the People’s Park.

The Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media has announced that there is grant funding available for developing outdoor performance spaces as part of their post Covid supports. Limerick City and County Council is at the very early stages of a putting a proposal together to win some of this funding.

One proposal under consideration would be to locate an outdoor performance space (either temporary or permanent) in a City Centre location and the People’s Park is one option, subject to consent.

The Council has sought expressions of interest for a specialist to advise the Council on putting a proposal together and to consult with the public and all stakeholders.

If the funding application is successful the Council will engage further with the public in a consultation process to determine the most appropriate project and to take the project through the planning process.

I don't really understand what changes there will be to the road. Is it just the junctions to Patrick St. will be moved a bit ?

Just sounds to be a rehash of the plans announced a few years ago. Straighten the road between Liddy St and Rutland St through Arthurs Quay Park and replace the lost parkland with the Sarsfield house site when it's demolished. That's a minimum of 5 years away though (and probably a lot more).

Also the Arthurs Quay development mentioned is pie in the sky. It was announced in July 2019, with plans supposed to be announced within a few months and completion by 2022. So far absolutely nothing has happened. And there were 8 months between the announcement and the pandemic hitting, so that's not an excuse for at minimum plans being released.

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭somespud

Don't know if this has been covered elsewhere but if its true what I'm reading it absolutely stinks, to grant this to a Dublin firm over established local businesses is totaly wrong.
    https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/news/635392/questions-emerge-over-selection-of-dublin-based-company-for-bike-hire-scheme-on-limerick-greenway.html?fbclid=IwAR1lBOKMvq_Mpuq3tJlxDHaSB_jHN4989X5KrsjDeDsMlye6H8Gt7rf70q0

somespud wrote: »
    Don't know if this has been covered elsewhere but if its true what I'm reading it absolutely stinks, to grant this to a Dublin firm over established local businesses is totaly wrong.
    https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/news/635392/questions-emerge-over-selection-of-dublin-based-company-for-bike-hire-scheme-on-limerick-greenway.html?fbclid=IwAR1lBOKMvq_Mpuq3tJlxDHaSB_jHN4989X5KrsjDeDsMlye6H8Gt7rf70q0

Local business applied but we're rejected so it would be interesting to see the report as to why this Dublin one was deemed to be a better choice. Lack of transparency it seems as usual

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Bicyclette

A similar thing happened in Lough Boora in Co Offaly. A local guy had started it, created the business from start. Basically created the opening. And then he was turned down. The contract was given to a Dublin Company who had a prominent GAA player involved in it
    https://extra.ie/2021/05/05/news/irish-news/lough-boora-boycott-business-bike-hire

I can't understand why local businesses can't get these gigs. Why does everything have to be DublinCentric. Its almost like colonialism all over again except this time the centre of power emanates from Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,524 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Are the last two posts serious? They're public contracts issued on a lowest cost basis. The region of origen of the contractor isn't considered and rightly so, this roots out gombeenism. You must like the healy raes hoovering up all the public money in kerry. Could you imagine if every construction contract in Dublin excluded culchie contractors. Half the non Dublin households in the country would go bankrupt.

cgcsb wrote: »
    Are the last two posts serious? They're public contracts issued on a lowest cost basis. The region of origen of the contractor isn't considered and rightly so, this roots out gombeenism. You must like the healy raes hoovering up all the public money in kerry. Could you imagine if every construction contract in Dublin excluded culchie contractors. Half the non Dublin households in the country would go bankrupt.

Low cost basis I thought this was a cycle hire scheme where a shop hires out bikes. What cost is there to the council ?

Maybe I have this completely wrong but I thought there was already people renting in the area and I honestly don't see why the local business that applied in the first round can't be told why one was picked over the other.

It's lack of transparency over the issuing of contracts that leads to backhanders and jobs for the boys so you are very wrong to assume I am barring a Dublin company from coming down I just want to know it's fair