Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Late Show with Niall Boylan 4fm

123457»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭TBP

marconi2.0 wrote: »
    I think your a bit obsessed tbh why feel the need to listen and critique everything, I'd be commenting elsewhere if I really didn't like the show, think your a closet lover, if you weren't why would you comment all the time

At least I'm commenting on the show itself which to be fair is what I think the thread is about.

If you have a problem with my opinions on the show well then comment on them instead of bringing up why or how I happen to hear or listen to it.

This why do you listen to it or you're a closet lover crap that does be brought up now and again by his fanboi's or possibly people got to do with the show itself is childish.

It might be worth baring in mind as well that I was a fan of the show but up until I found out a few things about how it operates via their deliberate use of trolls to insult and hurt the feelings of certain sections of society I've gone off it big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Big C

trolls, never ?
    John said last night he is " a significant contributor ",

I think he is more of a significant ********

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Greyham

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Proview wrote: »
    For a mod, you can beg really nasty. Not sure about Dublin but in cork, everybody is listening to it........
    He's not being nasty, he's being realistic. Adrian Kennedy did wipe the floor with 4FM's show in the JNLRs, no point in using Cork as a reference cos there's no competition in Cork at that time

Same with the rest of 4FM's output, it's working better in Cork due to the lack of competition, if Q102 was in Cork it would be a different story

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭Proview

marno21 wrote: »
    He's not being nasty, he's being realistic. Adrian Kennedy did wipe the floor with 4FM's show in the JNLRs, no point in using Cork as a reference cos there's no competition in Cork at that time

Same with the rest of 4FM's output, it's working better in Cork due to the lack of competition, if Q102 was in Cork it would be a different story

From what I believe fm104 s show has been there 20 years in some form or another......I have only heard the 4fm show in the last 18 months or so..,... It's going up and 104 is just holding its popularity.......I don't call that wiping the floor...... Rome wasn't built in a day as they say.....

I mentioned I listen to 4fm in cork but to say the only reason they are so popular in cork is they have no comp is bull..... There are other stations here and who cares how you become popular as long as you do it. ..... Cork 96 are still the biggest station but I hear as many talk about 4fm as I do Red fm. .......so there is point in using cork as a reference as they are a national station....... That's a real Dublin thing to say.... Dublin think they are center of the universe.....

I'm just unsure why people in the industry are do nasty and begrudging towards others.......there was people on this board saying 2 years ago that 4fm would be gone on six months and yet I see that they have grown in every ratings book to date..... Those same people still can't bring themselves to say "fair play" . .....

Strange industry.......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭jimmy2flutes

It's going up and 104 is just holding its popularity.......I don't call that wiping the floor...... Rome wasn't built in a day as they say.....

Would this be the same show that went down in Dublin in the latest JNLR's and is now been beaten by Joan Lea, although she has since left the job.

Adrian Kennedy isnt in Cork, but Im sure if he was he would 'wipe the floor' with it.

45,000 listeners versus 2000 in Dublin is a big difference!

• Registered Users Posts: 23 marconi2.0

TBP wrote: »

If you have a problem with my opinions on the show well then comment on them instead of bringing up why or how I happen to hear or listen to it.

This why do you listen to it or you're a closet lover crap that does be brought up now and again by his fanboi's or possibly people got to do with the show itself

I am neither a fanboy nor am I in employment by 4fm, I just think your a bit of a tool, my opinion would be if you have a problem with Boylans show you could always ring in rather than spouting ****e on boards

That's nice. You don't have to reply to my comments on the show you know.

I know I don't but you seem to be a know it all and have a chip on your shoulder,

No more than you by the looks of things.

edit: Whats the story with you deleting your posts?

Comment on the show itself or take your obsession of me somewhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 marconi2.0

TBP wrote: »
    No more than you by the looks of things.

edit: Whats the story with you deleting your posts?

Comment on the show itself or take your obsession of me somewhere else.

All right chill the beans

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Suzie4

look...is there anychance of a "dave is a nob" mug ...or wha?

• Registered Users Posts: 25 tapit54

Is this a "live" or a repeat show tonight?
    I seem to remember the same topic being discussed by the same people in the not so distant past.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Suzie4

havent been able to listen lately...whos been mouthing off like a feckin eejit this week?:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Anyone hear last night's show? Boylan was discussing the events at Slane and a sex act. Then the discussion was stopped as Boylan stated that An Garda had contacted the show to stop talking about it for legal reasons.
    So there you go..

Also John O'Donovan was on again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭ofcork

The one on now never heard of oral sex!

Replace car tax with a 10c levy on petrol. Think Niall wants to drive his 3ltr tractor on sunday drives for €5. He never mentioned how much revenue the gov wud lose

Mighty too how Niall believes or lets on to believe anyways blatant lies by callers when it suits his side of the argument. Last night he praised a caller that was letting on to be getting a grant called the pot's and pans grant and another one called the McDonalds grant (one for bringing his kids to McDonalds on a Saturday he said) ''why would he lie'' when text after text went in one from someone that works in a social welfare office said Niall, he proceeded to thank the caller 3 times for being so honest. A few weeks ago when someone said they heard or knew of Nigerian taxi drivers getting money for the social welfare to buy new taxi's, ''don't be stupid'' Niall said, ''no way would the social welfare give away money like that''

I've inquired into it today and the caller probably a troll was indeed spouting off crap. There's no such thing as a pots & pans or a flippin' McDonalds grant either.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭Muffinman1

Big C wrote: »
    Replace car tax with a 10c levy on petrol. Think Niall wants to drive his 3ltr tractor on sunday drives for €5. He never mentioned how much revenue the gov wud lose

Just to say they do that in France and it actually brings in a hell of a lot more revenue than when they had a tax set out and helps erase tax evasion by people who try avoid it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

is it true that the adrian kennedy show on 104 is moving to 98fm to a daytime slot? that will be huge for niall boylan and 4fm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

is it true that the adrian kennedy show on 104 is moving to 98fm to a daytime slot? that will be huge for niall boylan and 4fm

It is true. Maybe Niall could move to 104 and replace Adrian.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 comegowithme

Koloman wrote: »
    It is true. Maybe Niall could move to 104 and replace Adrian.

Rumours flying around the ad agencies at the moment that negotiations are indeed ongoing between Boylan and 104...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Does anyone know why there have been no podcasts put online in the last couple of weeks? In fact the entire podcasts page seems to be down so I can't access any of the older ones either.

Have 4fm stopped doing podcasts?

Last night NB told us all how he was bullied, he went on for 10 minutes calling one of his teachers a bollo*. Sounded like niall had a rough time,

On comes Nigel with his idea to toughen kids up and what does Mr Boylan do ? he proceeds to tell nigel how dumb, stupid his idea is, then says poor nigel not the brightest spanner in the box,

Does niall not know that he has now turned into the bully. hope someone points this out to him.

Last night NB told us all how he was bullied, he went on for 10 minutes calling one of his teachers a bollo*. Sounded like niall had a rough time,

On comes Nigel with his idea to toughen kids up and what does Mr Boylan do ? he proceeds to tell nigel how dumb, stupid his idea is, then says poor nigel not the brightest spanner in the box,

Does niall not know that he has now turned into the bully. hope someone points this out to him.

You see the thing about it is Big C as Joe from Limerick would say Niall will have that tone with little Nigel as little Nigel is an obvious troll, it's all part of the circus or act.

That crap they are at now bringing Mike into the scene every half hour or so and a load of phones apparently hopping in the background basically trying to let on how busy they are is a load of tomfoolery as well. For a station that's supposed to be getting hundreds of phone calls wtf is it always the same 9 or 10 planks that end up on the airwaves week after week.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭familystand

Exactly right, The same callers week in week out with the same tired bull**** story lines, The show started out well but has turned in to a complete farce , The callers are mostly staged and they keep re hashing the same stuff time and time again, Some months back they was caught out buying twitter followers for his show profile since when do bolivians and peruvians listen to 4fm
    Apart from NB late show 4Fm is quite good but i would not insult my inteligence listening to the regular set ups that they so blatanly use # rubbish

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Did anyone hear the two "howiyas" arguing live on air tonight? For those who didn't, the topic was whether using a vibrator is considered cheating on a partner. A young wan rang in and spoke of how she uses one, her partner hadn't known, he read porn mags and she doesn't know. Anyway, her "fella" rang in practically effing and blinding that he heard about this in work and his colleagues were having a good laugh and "taking the piss" out of him. It was actually replayed up until the time I started to type this. Now, I wouldn't be surprised if it was set up, but I know when it was on earlier, Twitter went mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭More Music

Talking about porn and mags tonight.

They have a guy called Jimmy on saying it's all the devils work etc. and that Boylan set him up tonight with other callers.

He then comes out with the line......"Yer all Jimmy bashin'"

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭familystand

That show just seems pathetic with the same topics over and over and the same callers week in week out, Utterly contrived rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

it's really boring......same format - someone (fanatical) from 'down the country', 'challenges'(?) a 'real dub from ireland!'.....makes all look like fools, while Niall supposedly is the voice of reason......jeremy kyle pukefest!

Exactly right, The same callers week in week out with the same tired bull**** story lines, The show started out well but has turned in to a complete farce , The callers are mostly staged and they keep re hashing the same stuff time and time again, Some months back they was caught out buying twitter followers for his show profile since when do bolivians and peruvians listen to 4fm
    Apart from NB late show 4Fm is quite good but i would not insult my inteligence listening to the regular set ups that they so blatanly use # rubbish

Oddly enough you made that point at least 5 times on the thread..... You said it started out well and yet all you do is moan about it and yet you know so much about it:) .....the people who are moaning about the show here seem to know more about it, which seems like a really odd phenomen to be honest. ......it's obvious there is a personal agenda and you don't like the guy for some reason......he was only talking about the stuff on boards the other night and the losers that post nasty stuff all the time and the fact they are actually the best listeners:)..........he's right judging by your knowledge of the show and the amount of posts you and one or two others here post all the time........at least I admit I post about the show all the time because I like it ............

I think John brought the show to a new low last night (if that was possible). He was doing his usual babble about something he knew f all about (pregnant women drinking), He got into his tirade and then abused another caller saying "If I wanted to talk to an imbecile I would go to the crc"

I think the only imbecile in the CRC would be John himself. When a listener complained to Boylan his reply was "well he is in a wheelchair" as if that excused the comment, I think an apology to CRC, users of CRC and persons using wheelchairs, and arsehole John shud be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

I think John brought the show to a new low last night (if that was possible). He was doing his usual babble about something he knew f all about (pregnant women drinking), He got into his tirade and then abused another caller saying "If I wanted to talk to an imbecile I would go to the crc"

I think the only imbecile in the CRC would be John himself. When a listener complained to Boylan his reply was "well he is in a wheelchair" as if that excused the comment, I think an apology to CRC, users of CRC and persons using wheelchairs, and arsehole John shud be banned.

That guy John has an awful grudge against the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Mykola

Boylan fancies himself as irelands Howard Stern, I have no idea why, He is hosting a show that after 2 years is still getting the same 10 callers night after night. before that he was on Dublins country mess 106.8.

What else would you expect from Bolyan to be fair. One wouldn't have to be an Einstein to figure out how uneducated, narrow minded and ignorant he is when it comes to certain topics. Talking ****e to the same 9/10 callers and trolls on a late night talk show is his level.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

Used to listen to the show he used to do on Sunday night/Monday morning in the early 2000s. Used to have Des Bishop on a lot and a New York cabbie. Good times.

Remember the cabbie - he was brilliant!

He was and i have not heard him on in a long time...... He was on last year i think when the show was on sunday nights......Wonder is he still on the go... used to hear him on Gerry Ryan as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

He was and i have not heard him on in a long time...... He was on last year i think when the show was on sunday nights......Wonder is he still on the go... used to hear him on Gerry Ryan as well.

Why that's Peter Franklin, the "Gabby Cabby"... his web site is here: http://gabby.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

john is a great caller, i agree with a lot of what he says all though of course people won't and don't like or want to hear what he says because its true for some people

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭ofcork

Was the show a repeat last night,heard the first hour or so about some woman who went to a female doctor and she felt her clothes were too short/revealing pretty sure I heard the same thing before.

ofcork wrote: »
    Was the show a repeat last night,heard the first hour or so about some woman who went to a female doctor and she felt her clothes were too short/revealing pretty sure I heard the same thing before.

Nothing beats tonights sludge!- Spirits/ghosts - 'da whi on me face Niall - me friend never saw nothin' like it' :D:D

Niall was discussing a topic about whether or not a bad upbringing is an excuse for crime when he received a call from his wife to say that his house had been violated.
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/03/19/smashie-and-not-nicey-2/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

heard him last night for a while talking about the burglary at his house. had some proper yoke on who said she bought stolen stuff ll the time. he wasnt holding himself or other callers back about what they thought of her or the thieving scum. he cant be accused of being a pc fence sitter unlike another highly over paid radio host in rte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭squonk

That sounded like a publicity stunt to me when I read about it yesterday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

squonk wrote: »
    That sounded like a publicity stunt to me when I read about it yesterday.

Me too.

I don't say it lightly either. Absolutely horrible thing to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭house45

Hi anybody downloading the podcAsts??? Is there a problem with them? Can't seem to download for a week now? Is it happening to anyone else? Thanks

BsaLHHWIUAAKc0f.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭goulders

boylan will have something to talk about for next two years,