Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ways to make Ireland great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I believe the things that made Ireland great will keep Ireland great
    Democracy, freedom of choice and alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Invest more in education and research. The rest will sort itself out.

Good grief, imagine if we were ever to have a Government that would do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Invest in basic education, healthcare and security (Gardai, etc.). By basic, I mean invest in actual practical parts instead of endless administration offices and consultants. We obviously need the above, but at the moment, we need to pump money into classroom facilities, hospital wards and on-duty Gardai.The above three sectors would fix a LOT of Ireland's problems if done properly.

We should also lower VAT. I know that means temporarily less money for the government but it'll lead to more in the long run as people can buy more things and tourists will stop seeing Ireland as too expensive to travel to.

Un-related to money, if we could find a way to make everyone friendly again... :P

And change our nightlife to be more like the Spanish, with pubs and cafes open later and families able to walk around later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭MOC88

Every year month week we could get to vote for 2 public figures to fight to death in an arena with armed combat
    2 go in 1 comes out- then every year for new years we could do a hunger games type thing - we could build a stadium for it and call it the bertie bowl
    we could thow it on the tv a Saturday night and stream it worldwide. It's be the job before heading out for a night out on the town
    - it'd bring in money and think of the reactions - ''lets not try and get those Irish to pay back those loans they're ####in crazy''
    it would also clean out the idiots we have running the country

eventually we could tone it down and do it once every 2 weeks ;)

Colmustard wrote: »
    I believe the things that made Ireland great will keep Ireland great
    Democracy, freedom of choice and alcohol.

I think you're forgetting the most important thing of all
    something that defines each and every man, woman and child on this island

thats right Jacobs Biscuits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It is quite true that we really need to move to a more vegetarian diet to prevent serious food shortages in the next few decades.

It takes significantly more land, water and resources to graze and grow cattle than it does to grow vegetables/grains. Western diet is very imbalanced in that we consumer too much meat and not enough vegetables. This put strain on the environment as increasing population increases the demand for meat which increases the demand for land and resources to graze more cattle/sheep etc. And there's also the big health problems of people getting bowel and colon cancers due to a diet rich in red meat and poor in vegetables.

If farmers started to grow more crops and we changed our diets to a more vegetarian diet, then it'll solve lots of food shortages, will be better for the environment and will save money too...
    Of course water is very scarce in Ireland:rolleyes: as for food shortages in the future you really need to stop believing everything you read in the media and see on tv. Half the land in Ireland is under farmed at the moment because of EU regulations ;) Typical vegetarian wants everyone to do like he/she does. No thanks I will continue with the meat diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

How about if we give half the working population cushy jobs for life with big pensions and great perks with little chance of getting fired, give loads of the rest free money every week so they can relax and do feck all, appoint loads of people to be "in Government" with great perks and cars and stuff, save them having to work or worry, and then get any of the small number of mugs that are left over to work themselves to death and tax the bollix out of the stupid eejits! Place would be savage then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Of course water is very scarce in Ireland:rolleyes: as for food shortages in the future you really need to stop believing everything you read in the media and see on tv. Half the land in Ireland is under farmed at the moment because of EU regulations ;) Typical vegetarian wants everyone to do like he/she does. No thanks I will continue with the meat diet.

Its not just water, its also land.

Do you want to convert the whole island into one huge grazing land for rearing cows and sheep? The Brits already chopped down all the tress to make it more convienient...

Also cows farts/burps contribute a good bit to the greenhouse gasses. Sure not as many cows as cars but also Methane is like 4 times more potent greenhouse gas as CO2. Plants on the other hand absorb CO2 from the atmosphere reducing greenhouse gases.

If we grow more crops here, we can export them to other countries and generate revenue. In the near future the demand for food will increase significantly and if we make good use of the land here for farming, we can export all the surplus crops to countries which don't have much arable lands and can't grow enough crops for their population. Ireland has a fairly small population so we don't need as much crops to feed the people here, so we should have plenty we can export.

Its not just water, its also land.

Do you want to convert the whole island into one huge grazing land for rearing cows and sheep? The Brits already chopped down all the tress to make it more convienient...

Also cows farts/burps contribute a good bit to the greenhouse gasses. Sure not as many cows as cars but also Methane is like 4 times more potent greenhouse gas as CO2. Plants on the other hand absorb CO2 from the atmosphere reducing greenhouse gases.

If we grow more crops here, we can export them to other countries and generate revenue. In the near future the demand for food will increase significantly and if we make good use of the land here for farming, we can export all the surplus crops to countries which don't have much arable lands and can't grow enough crops for their population. Ireland has a fairly small population so we don't need as much crops to feed the people here, so we should have plenty we can export.

Grow enough food for ourselves and the rest should be biofuels and forests we grow for wood - export the wood and the fuel much better returns I'd imagine... if not we grow food :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,464 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

We will have to get more intensive farming techniques.There's a huge demand for grain so livestock will need to be intensively farmed in houses,vegetable crops should be grown in greenhouses to make the most of available land,like the Dutch say "if they had Ireland they could feed all of Europe"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Limit the amount of time people are allowed to spend on their computers doing feck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Burn down Lifestyle sports,Champion sports,Elverys and every other clothes store that sells tracksuits.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Festy wrote: »
    Burn down Lifestyle sports,Champion sports,Elverys and every other clothes store that sells tracksuits.:)

Better add Hollister, Canterbury and Republic to the list then so :p

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭BOF666

Ban Alcohol.

People will have more money, won't behave like scum, HSE will have more money, will solve lots of work, social and family problems and everyone will be generally happier once they get used to living without the need to drink.

Other than the public outcry if drink got banned, what about all the bar staff, bouncers, lounge boys etc who would be out of a job?

Plus all the empty pubs, would they all just be left to go derelict, seeing as how nobody would have the money to buy them and turn them into something usefull? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

Heroin and strippers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

yupya1 wrote: »
    People like this..who pay lots of tax on their lots of alcohol to fund the health system thats giving you care. Talk about ungrateful

Ah go away and learn how to troll properly would you? Terrible effort. You ought to be ashamed of yourself. I'm embarrassed for you to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

Legalise weed and also build a huge Disneyland style theme park with proper big rollercoasters and the like :D This would boost tourism or at least get Irish people spending more money. Also, cull all the D4's, junkies, scumbags and wannabe posh people from our population and we'll be the nicest folk in all the world.

So basically just leave Dublin to the culchies then? I like it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

kneemos wrote: »
    We will have to get more intensive farming techniques.There's a huge demand for grain so livestock will need to be intensively farmed in houses,vegetable crops should be grown in greenhouses to make the most of available land,like the Dutch say "if they had Ireland they could feed all of Europe"

I thought our agriculture sector was doing well enough. In regards to livestock and crops we could go gm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Japer

Pottler wrote: »
    How about if we give half the working population cushy jobs for life with big pensions and great perks with little chance of getting fired, give loads of the rest free money every week so they can relax and do feck all, appoint loads of people to be "in Government" with great perks and cars and stuff, save them having to work or worry, and then get any of the small number of mugs that are left over to work themselves to death and tax the bollix out of the stupid eejits! Place would be savage then!

and protect the above scenario with the Croke Park agreement.

Very bad publicity for Croke Park to have their name associated with such an unpopular disastrous "agreement" between the 2 overpaid vested interests - the government and the public sector unions.