Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First incident today

• 05-09-2012 3:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭

Had Lola down a park rite, wanted to sit for a min and control of her leash. Alls grand then this old gy was running past and lola stood up to say hello.

old man: f**k off
    Me: dont speak to the dog like that ffs she was being friendly
    Old man: Keep controll of it them things bite, it should be muzzled
    Me: Go away outta that ye nutcase shes only a pup wanting to make friends

Did I do something wrong or was I right to give out back to him lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

Dunny wrote: »
    Had Lola down a park rite, wanted to sit for a min and control of her leash. Alls grand then this old gy was running past and lola stood up to say hello.

old man: f**k off
    Me: dont speak to the dog like that ffs she was being friendly
    Old man: Keep controll of it them things bite, it should be muzzled
    Me: Go away outta that ye nutcase shes only a pup wanting to make friends

Did I do something wrong or was I right to give out back to him lol

I would have said... "f*ck off old man you need a muzzle" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

She's only four months like, as friendly as anything. No need to muzzle her. Hes a silly auld b""tard

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Qwerty Dub

I had a man pick up his dog yesterday and run away from my Golden Lab pup (shes 11 months) who strolled over to say hi.

Met him again on the way back. Again he picks up the dog and throws me a dirty look.

Some people :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Maybe the guy with the dog had a dog aggressive pet? Still not the best way to react but maybe his dog, rather than yours was the problem. :)

Whispered wrote: »
    Maybe the guy with the dog had a dog aggressive pet? Still not the best way to react but maybe his dog, rather than yours was the problem. :)

His dog was a yorkshire terrier and was on a lead so i doubt his pet was the issue. If it was a fiesty dog he could have controlled it on the lead. Plus if his dog was the issue then why throw me a dirty look like I had done wrong? He was in a public park where 90% of dogs are off the lead, so it can't have surprised him to see my Lab sniffing around as she pleased.

If his dog was dog aggressive then he probably didn't want your pup strolling over to say hi, doesn't matter what size his dog is. Or maybe his dog is afraid of other dogs etc. I'm not saying he's right. But maybe his little guy is a bit difficult so he picked him up to avoid him snapping at your fella.

Or he might have been nervous to see a large dog off lead, approaching his dog. Even if it was to say hi.

Not all dogs want to meet and greet and not all owners are comfortable with it.

Whispered wrote: »
    If his dog was dog aggressive then he probably didn't want your pup strolling over to say hi, doesn't matter what size his dog is. Or maybe his dog is afraid of other dogs etc. I'm not saying he's right. But maybe his little guy is a bit difficult so he picked him up to avoid him snapping at your fella.

Or he might have been nervous to see a large dog off lead, approaching his dog. Even if it was to say hi.

Not all dogs want to meet and greet and not all owners are comfortable with it.

Totally accept all your points and agree. My main issue is that he brought his dog to a park where most dogs are off lead and then threw me a dirty look when my curious pup strolled over to say hi.

If his dog is scared then fine, if its aggressive then fine..........but why throw me a dirty look like I had done something wrong? If you bring your dog to a public park where other dogs walk off lead they are going to approach his dog. What does he expect?

Maybe he expects people to understand that in a park where 90% of dogs are off lead, that there might be a reason his is one of the few on a lead. It's very unfair to allow any dog, especially one much larger, approach a dog who has nowhere to run if it feels the need. A lot of dogs have problems being on a lead when another dog approaches, even very well socialised ones.

Anyway, just my opinion. I was just pointing out that maybe the man didn't think your dog was a big killer and was more worried about his being a little brat.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

You were right, probably even too kind! People like that really wind me up and it's hard to stay calm but staying calm and answering back without a care is the best approach. Also pisses them off more!

Many years ago I had a pit bull (under a year)l + staffy (about 7) in my garden with my 5 or 6 yr old nephew and everyone was sitting down nice and calm and playing and this woman walked straight up and just screamed "you should be ashamed, having them dogs near that child. It's a disgrace!". Didn't even get a chance to reply, probably just as well! Bitch!

So ignorant!

some people just dont like dogs jumping on them, puppy or not. I just do Damage control in those situations as much as i can and move on. Its not worth getting frustrated over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

You were right, probably even too kind! People like that really wind me up and it's hard to stay calm but staying calm and answering back without a care is the best approach. Also pisses them off more!

Was she just a random strange woman in your garden or did you actually know her?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Tranceypoo wrote: »
    Was she just a random strange woman in your garden or did you actually know her?!!

No idea who she was and never seen her again. She was walking past and its quiet easy to see in and said it continued about her business! Still remember it as clear as day. :mad:

This was a few years back when there was some high profile attacks both here and the UK and of course everywhere I went with the two it was like I had two hyaenas on the leads! Unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

What breed is Lola OP?

Golden Lab

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Golden Lab

Sounds like you bumped into a Victor Meldrew type who must find Andrex adverts a trauma.
    Sometimes that type is just looking for someone to have a Barney with. Next time blow him a kiss.

Kiss? F**ker should have got a smack the way he reacted on her! She quivvered behind my legs like what a b**tard to do than on a pup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Don't waste your breath on them. I've gotten this since day one with my retriever - you get used to it as irritating as it is. Frankly the type of tools who give filthy looks, turn, grab their kids, pick up their dogs etc etc are not the kind of people I want near him. As a puppy I worked on getting him to focus on me when we were approaching people so he didn't bother them. They don't see a 4 month old puppy they see a "big dog" which they're entitled to not want anything to do with for whatever their reasons are. Work on her training/manners to avoid her having a bad experience that could cause you a lot of work down the line trying to sort out.

tk123 wrote: »
    Don't waste your breath on them. I've gotten this since day one with my retriever - you get used to it as irritating as it is. Frankly the type of tools who give filthy looks, turn, grab their kids, pick up their dogs etc etc are not the kind of people I want near him. As a puppy I worked on getting him to focus on me when we were approaching people so he didn't bother them. They don't see a 4 month old puppy they see a "big dog" which they're entitled to not want anything to do with for whatever their reasons are. Work on her training/manners to avoid her having a bad experience that could cause you a lot of work down the line trying to sort out.

Cheers for that tk123 :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Cheers for that tk123 :):)

No probs!! Seriously though just forget them and concentrate on spending time with your puppy! I had something funny happen a few weeks ago that this reminded me of lol - we were in the park and my dog ran ahead to say hello to his friend, I called him back and he came running BUT somebody who didn't like dogs was on the path and decided to stand still rather than keep walking and go by..him he obviosuly got vibes off them because he didn't want to squeeze past them (they had a buggy and child standing beside it) to come back to me - instead he jumped in the river, swam by them and jumped out!! :pac::pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I had never come across as many idiots as I have since I got Rogue(staffie) about 2 months ago. People cross the street if they see her coming, I wouldnt mind but she is tiny and the calmest dog I've ever come across.

Until today anyway, a boxer playfully jumped up on my daughter and Rogue went crazy on the lead barking and growling at the boxer. She took great offense to the boxer jumping at my daughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I wouldn't be able to walk away if someone said that to my dog especially a pup
    Fair enough some people don't like dogs but to say that I'd near hit him over it
    It's a pup and a lab at that are gorgeous pups
    And then come up with that bull about them things bite and should be muzzled
    Even if your dog was muzzled ( which it shouldn't) he still would've said it
    So fcuk em

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Some random lunatic with a dislike for golden labs by the sound of it. I'd hate to see him with a RB dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

stood up to say hello.

It's not clear to me. Was the dog off its leash, and did it jump up on the man?

Or was the dog on its leash and merely stood up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭ClubDead

I think that man completely over reacted, even if he was afraid of dogs to have such a reaction to a puppy is ridiculous. But I would just like to comment about picking up your dog when an off leash dog approaches.

For anyone with an adult small or large dog, yes you might know them, trust them completely and know that they wouldn’t attack another dog or human but how is anyone else supposed to know that. When I first started walking my dog in my local area I regularly picked her up when a much larger dog came running over, for the reason that I didn’t know or trust the dog. Nine time out of ten the dog would come over, have a sniff (Id then put her down to play) and run off again. But on many occasion then and to this day, a dog will run over and growl/bark and on a number of occasion snap at my dog. In the last month alone on two occasions I had small dogs run over and initially appear to be friendly only to get within a couple of feet and attack my own dog. I no longer pick her up when an off leash dog comes up to us but I kneel beside her and in all instances so far have been able to take her out of harms way.

It just something to think about, yes you know your off leash dog wont attack but how is anyone else to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Some people are afaid of dogs.

You should keep control of your dog around strangers, as you don't know how they are going to react.

The next person you let your dog jump up on might decide to give it a kick or something. Better safe than sorry.

Some people are afaid of dogs.

You should keep control of your dog around strangers, as you don't know how they are going to react.

The next person you let your dog jump up on might decide to give it a kick or something. Better safe than sorry.

She didnt jump ON him she just jumped near. And for your info she is controlled on a leash and harness, she never got near the guy at all just his vicinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭FoxyVixen

Some people are just afraid of big dogs. It's really as simple as that. It was probably a knee jerk reaction on the man's part seeing your pup (ie a much bigger dog than what he owns) jump up. It could have been viewed as aggressive by this man, because let's face it, not many people are clued in to what canine body language means :rolleyes:.

ie. Large dog on two hind legs = potential attack in his eyes.

I wouldn't let it bother you too much. But I would work with the pup on meeting random men in the park. You said she quivered behind you after his verbal onslaught. You'd be surprised how the dog will relate this to every man now ;) Had to work on my akita when she was a pup on account of an appalling man slating me for bringing a wolf for a walk :rolleyes: - alongside his stupid terrier biting the heels of her. People can be ignorant the majority of the time.

FoxyVixen wrote: »
    Some people are just afraid of big dogs. It's really as simple as that. It was probably a knee jerk reaction on the man's part seeing your pup (ie a much bigger dog than what he owns) jump up. It could have been viewed as aggressive by this man, because let's face it, not many people are clued in to what canine body language means :rolleyes:.

ie. Large dog on two hind legs = potential attack in his eyes.

I wouldn't let it bother you too much. But I would work with the pup on meeting random men in the park. You said she quivered behind you after his verbal onslaught. You'd be surprised how the dog will relate this to every man now ;) Had to work on my akita when she was a pup on account of an appalling man slating me for bringing a wolf for a walk :rolleyes: - alongside his stupid terrier biting the heels of her. People can be ignorant the majority of the time.

What kind of work did you do with the Akita? (if you dont mind me asking)

She is very interested in strangers, especially kids.

ClubDead wrote: »
    I think that man completely over reacted, even if he was afraid of dogs to have such a reaction to a puppy is ridiculous. But I would just like to comment about picking up your dog when an off leash dog approaches.

For anyone with an adult small or large dog, yes you might know them, trust them completely and know that they wouldn’t attack another dog or human but how is anyone else supposed to know that. When I first started walking my dog in my local area I regularly picked her up when a much larger dog came running over, for the reason that I didn’t know or trust the dog. Nine time out of ten the dog would come over, have a sniff (Id then put her down to play) and run off again. But on many occasion then and to this day, a dog will run over and growl/bark and on a number of occasion snap at my dog. In the last month alone on two occasions I had small dogs run over and initially appear to be friendly only to get within a couple of feet and attack my own dog. I no longer pick her up when an off leash dog comes up to us but I kneel beside her and in all instances so far have been able to take her out of harms way.

It just something to think about, yes you know your off leash dog wont attack but how is anyone else to know.

Cheers for the reply. Like i said above, i totally understand that someone doesnt know my dog at all, but she is a Labrador pup and not even 1yr old. She really isnt that big. Small enough for her age to be honest.

Anyway my issue was not with him picking up his dog. My issue is that my dog never even went near him, just in his general direction and yet he felt the need to throw me a dirty look because HE felt he had to pick up his dog.

If he wants to pick his dog up then go ahead. But dont throw me a dirty look because my pup is curious and sniffing about the place no more than 20ft from me at anytime.

What does he expect in a public park where 90% of dogs are off lead. Id say he spends more time carrying it than walking it. Maybe he should get himself a carrier for his back or a pram perhaps. :-)