Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bought a dud car!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Yawns wrote: »
    When timing belts are changed, generally the mileage at when it was changed is written in tippex nearby. Some people do not write it in tippex so unless your mechanic actually physically checked the belt then I'll wait for receipts if I were you. Some people get receipts for work like timing belts and keep them as proof instead.

Again why did you not sign the VLC at the time? When you bought the car you were happy and drove away with it. Normal circumstances you would have signed it. Did you just give your name so she assumed to write it down?

irrelevant, she was the seller, plus with her background she should of known better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

I'm sure that Garda's superintendent would be quite interested to hear one of the staff under his/her leadership is forging signatures.

I'm doubly sure the Garda in question would think twice about being unhelpful if she heard you intended to report her forging your signature to her superintendent.

She wouldn't be the first person to have sent off a VLC after filling in the buyer's name herself. Many a buyer can go off with the car and forget to sign it. Sellers want that VLC gone asap to avoid fines and toll charges coming their way. Not saying she was right but I could understand why.

irrelevant, she was the seller, plus with her background she should of known better.

Not disagreeing with you, I was just actually curious why it wasn't signed at the time like it normally it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Not disagreeing with you, I was just actually curious why it wasn't signed at the time like it normally it is.

Personally I'd rub off any tipex that was put on any part of my car. I like th eengine bay to be clean. The other side of it is I have a folder for my car with a receipt for everything done in its 12 years.

Sit back and look at it for a moment.

The mechanic reckons the belt wasn't changed because no tippex. It could easily have been changed and not marked in tippex. Not uncommon.

The mechanic reckons it should not have passed the NCT. How many mechanics swear blind that it will / won't pass only to be proved wrong. It happens a lot. Oil leaks can happen at any time just like a blown headlight for example.

The rest of the work we have no idea what needs doing. Is it really bad or is it more of a case of the wear and tear items are showing signs of wear and will need to be replaced soon or maybe the NCT crowd at that center are useless.

The main thing that the guard is in the wrong for is the VLC form. She very well may have the receipts for timing belt or if it gets inspected correctly it may turn out to be changed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

So let me get this straight, you have been using the same mechanic for 20 years but didn't think to get him to look over the car before buying. And you gave someone almost €4000 for a car but you DIDN'T even sign the log book?

Well, good to see people are really being smart with their finances in these recessionary times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

Personally I'd rub off any tipex that was put on any part of my car. I like th eengine bay to be clean. The other side of it is I have a folder for my car with a receipt for everything done in its 12 years.

sometimes those reciepts arent worth the paper they are written on. i remember viewing a car that had a large folder of reciepts. what the seller didnt know was that i worked for the company that the parts were purchased from and recognised the part numbers. and the parts that were bought werent even for the make of car that i was viewing

maiden wrote: »
    Her parents live in the town im from but she isnt based here so she said she had to get it and would get me to sign it in a few days

But who said it was signed? Her parents or the guard herself. For all we know the parents prob think you have it signed and it's sent already so they told you to feck off. She may yet still have the VLC awaiting a signature.

You need to get in touch with her and get the receipt plus logbook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Bloodwing

I'd advise you to contact Shannon and check if they have received the VIC. Given her occupation she'd be well aware of the risk she's taking by forging a signature. There's always the possibility that the parents lied to you to get you off the door step so I certainly wouldn't be approaching the Super as suggested.

As for the NCT she either forged a cert which wouldn't be easy or bribed the tester, or maybe it did pass and it's your mechanic that's wrong.

You need to speak with her about it and not her parents because any time I've sold a car my folks wouldn't have known anything about it. Keep a record of all communications just in case things go south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

She wouldn't be the first person to have sent off a VLC after filling in the buyer's name herself. Many a buyer can go off with the car and forget to sign it. Sellers want that VLC gone asap to avoid fines and toll charges coming their way. Not saying she was right but I could understand why.
    It's not that what she did is strange but it's a very good card to play to get some reasonable resolution.

Agreed it works in the OP's favour if indeed it is forged. However the parents may believed it's been signed and sent when it may not have been. Tho I understand why the op thinks it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

Neilos wrote: »
    I'd advise you to contact Shannon and check if they have received the VIC. Given her occupation she'd be well aware of the risk she's taking by forging a signature. There's always the possibility that the parents lied to you to get you off the door step so I certainly wouldn't be approaching the Super as suggested.

As for the NCT she either forged a cert which wouldn't be easy or bribed the tester, or maybe it did pass and it's your mechanic that's wrong.

You need to speak with her about it and not her parents because any time I've sold a car my folks wouldn't have known anything about it. Keep a record of all communications just in case things go south.

ohh be very carefull what you are saying .....cars can pass an nct and 2 weeks down the road poo poo themselfs in spectacular fashion. youve got to remember that the nct is at least a month old...in that month the owner could have traveled a couple of thousand miles in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭cookie1977

Just on one point. My old cinquecento past an nct and 2 weeks later stopped working. Another friends car passed its nct and it too didn't make it more then a month before it needed extensive work. I wouldn't be putting that much faith in a passed nct. It could quite well have passed it on the day.

So let me get this straight, you have been using the same mechanic for 20 years but didn't think to get him to look over the car before buying. And you gave someone almost €4000 for a car but you DIDN'T even sign the log book?

Well, good to see people are really being smart with their finances in these recessionary times.

some joe soaps are not fully clued in, they tend to believe the person they are talking to, especially if they respect who they are and the profession they are in,

while we do not know, if the OP was in a different situation (buying from someone with no profession) there is a good chance the OP would of taken the steps you mention,

but we can all be guilty of looking at the stripes and believing what is being said to us, learning lesson for sure.

ohh be very carefull what you are saying .....cars can pass an nct and 2 weeks down the road poo poo themselfs in spectacular fashion. youve got to remember that the nct is at least a month old...in that month the owner could have traveled a couple of thousand miles in the car.

After 're reading my post I've realized it's not as clear as it sounded in my head. I seriously doubt she forged it or bribed any one, the point I was making is that it's much more likely that the mechanic is incorrect when he says it couldn't have passed an NCT back in august.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭maiden

I dont think the girl herself signed the form, i think she left the paperwork with her parents etc to deal with it.

The reason i didnt sign the form was because she was a guard and had no reason in the world not to believe her!!

Im assuming that Shannon will think its my signature and its being processed as we speak

I dont think the girl herself signed the form, i think she left the paperwork with her parents etc to deal with it.

The reason i didnt sign the form was because she was a guard and had no reason in the world not to believe her!!

Im assuming that Shannon will think its my signature and its being processed as we speak

Stop assuming things and find out for certain ring Shannon tomorrow and find out if they have it. If they do and your signature is forged then cease all communications with her and her family and go down the correct route with regards to that.

As for the condition of the car your going to have to prove she dishonestly sold you a lemon and intentionally defrauded you out of your money.

Stop assuming things and find out for certain ring Shannon tomorrow and find out if they have it. If they do and your signature is forged then cease all communications with her and her family and go down the correct route with regards to that.

As for the condition of the car your going to have to prove she dishonestly sold you a lemon and intentionally defrauded you out of your money.

and posting here will help the OP to determine that.

Determine what exactly? I never said the OP shouldn't post here for advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

There's a an awful lot of speculation and inference here, with very little known facts.

Please be careful what you say.

dudara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

As for the fact its a Gard and you reckoned she'd tell the truth? A Gard is a normal person, aside from any lieing about work that is done she most likely knows about as much about cars as you do (if you happen to know nothing), so unless you feel capable of checking the car out yourself, bring a mechanic

At this stage you'd have to wonder if she really is a Guard, & that wasn't made up to lull the OP into trusting her.

The logbook thing is fairly shocking

Any update on this OP?

Did you manage to get in contact and verify about the log book. Have you brought the car to another mechanic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Did you check here?

https://www.motortax.ie/PSE/start.do?page=welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Really there is lots of speculation and pretty ridiculous suggestions here.

Things like going to the superintendent about her signing the form? That's just crazy. The OP agreed to buy the car. The first rule of buying a used car privately is buyer beware. You basically assume it's a heap of junk until you prove otherwise. It's unfortunate but it's a lesson you'll never forget.

As for the actual issues... To be honest there is as little evidence for the belt not being changed as there is for it being changed. Tippex is used by some mechanics but not by others. If there was a genuine attempt to fake a belt change then tippex-ing the cover is the first thing someone would do.

The next thing if you want advice is to post the list of problems the mechanic suggested. On any used car there are going to be things less than perfect. That list is vital really before anyone can comment. Oil leak could be nothing, could be serious. Need lots more info really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Moving this to the Motors forum

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

If that log book lands in your letterbox sue the **** out of that Guard for forgery.

A lot of stories lately of guards thinking they are above the law. No sale until that logbook is signed by you.

Keep us updated please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I thought being a garda that sold it to me they might be telling the truth, but there u go, lesson well learned!!
    I know! I went to my car dealer there last week asking to get him to call around and arrest a burglar, and he was crap at it! Not a clue. Who knew?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

In summary...caveat emptor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

somone bought a car of me a few years back privately and txt me with his name and address later on for me to write it on the log book and send to shannon- not sure that this is such a big deal

there was nothing on the log book to ask for a sig, just the details

if you bought a car of her and handed over money, I dont think her filling in your details and sending them on is somthing she did wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

She doesn't have to do a thing, you bought the car without checking.

She can just continuously tell you to feck off, and there's nothing you can do about it!

Only questionable thing is how serious Shannon take forged signatures, but I'd imagine it's fairly common, and if you were driving the car, you didn't steal it from the seller!