Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Doing a runner

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Like I said, you aren't going to get people slapping you on the back telling you what a great man you are. You know what did is wrong you say. So why post on the internet about it? Doesn't sound like you are in the least bit remorseful or embarrassed about your behaviour.

He is guilty - guilty of being hilarious
    finbarrk wrote: »
    Comical? You obviously have similar tales?
    It's a low act to do a runner from a restaurant.

Doing a runner is the sport of kings!

Good thread OP, sorry about the squares and wet blankets.

• Registered Users Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

Have a good story involving almost e5,000, drugs, chinese, africans, gays, guards, old tough guys, breaking and entering but wont be telling the story because of the gobsh1tes in the first few pages telling the op to be ashamed of himself.

Would say there are a lot of posters with stories that wont post them now. Thread had potential.

R33F wrote: »
    Wow, times have changed.

I thought you had to take a lass out, wine & dine her before you got into her panties (even if they were XXXL). Bruce7, have you ever thought of paying the restaurant back ? Did you keep in touch with the biggun ? I'm interested to know if she became a getaway driver, or another profession that involved low cardio crime ?
    coppers

Scumbags do what the OP did.

I'm not calling the OP a scumbag, but.....

What he did is only thought of as OK/funny
    by filth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

seriously after hours, why is it so fun now to jump on the judgemental bandwagon ?

feller may or may not have done a runner from a restaurant, he may or may not ave had a fat bird in tow.

Nobodys condoning actions, but yeah we all do stupid stuff that at some stage we can turn into a funny story.

I mean, should a person not be able to tell a ****ed up story once in a while without people getting up on their high horses.

bunch of dry ****es, let the man tell his story, tell a story back, keep your thoughts in your head, like you would down the boozer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Bruce7

poisonated wrote: »
    I remember I was with some friends when I was 12. We went to a restaurant and I had gone to the bathroom. One of the lads who I wasn't friends with stole a few packets of sweets from the storage room. I felt really guilty because I didn't want to tell the staff on him and be hated by everyone else. They have a tipping thing at the counter so after I paid for my meal, I put in a tenner.

Other than that, I would never do a runner. I hear about these things all of the time though. I just couldn't do it because I would feel too guilty. I would also tell people if they give me wrong change etc. Amn't I great.

When you were 12, you and your friends were eating out in restaurants, and you were leaving 10 quid tips???

Shove it up your ass.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Couple of months back, it was my daughters birthday, My brother wanted to buy her a gift, but couldn't get his head around the German in Austrian amazon, so he gave me his log in details for me to buy her something.....

Since then, it's been his birthday, his kids birthdays, and I have bought them pretty expensive gifts, earning alot of kudos..... however I was using his own amazon account and credit card :D

He found out yesterday.... called me a prick, then we laughed about how stupid he was, thats how we roll. He'll get me back.

Roll on the you are a sneak thief posts, I can handle em ...... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

R33F wrote: »
    Wow, times have changed.

I thought you had to take a lass out, wine & dine her before you got into her panties (even if they were XXXL).

Bruce7, have you ever thought of paying the restaurant back ?

Did you keep in touch with the biggun ? I'm interested to know if she became a getaway driver, or another profession that involved low cardio crime ?

This was suggested in the first page:-
    And what have you done to make amends?

You can use Google Street View to go down Las Ramblas and find out the Restaurant name and pay them back now.

Or a charity donation of say €50 to some soup kitchen feeding the poor here?

Doubt OP has taken any action on it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Lon.C

Have a good story involving almost e5,000, drugs, chinese, africans, gays, guards, old tough guys, breaking and entering but wont be telling the story because of the gobsh1tes in the first few pages telling the op to be ashamed of himself.

Would say there are a lot of posters with stories that wont post them now. Thread had potential.

Ah dude, you gotta tell this story.It sounds brilliant!! Maybe the assholes will be so offended by it they'll feck off out of AH for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

This is the funniest thread I've ever read on after hours.

The dry shìtes make it funnier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

In Florida years ago we went to the olive garden. WE were leaving the next day and had no toilet roll back in the house.

I went to the toilet, put a roll of toilet paper up my skirt and hobbled out to the car. Probably looked like I pood my pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

to be hones I think somebody doing a runner or assaulting a taxi man is despicable and don't deserve any respect. These guys are out bringing drunks, druggies, and every other type home at night - they have to fight for every fare they get - for some twat to do a runner on them while they are at their job is disgusting. They have mortgages to pay, kids to rear, just like every other decent person. Shame on you. Who do you people think you are thinking that taxi people are there to be abused like that. You'll get your karma for that.

Hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

but the story wasn't funny tho. only the OP thought it was funny

I thought the story was hilarious. Especially the part where he basically used the fat bird as a decoy. It's actually ingenious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Bruce7 wrote: »
    When you were 12, you and your friends were eating out in restaurants, and you were leaving 10 quid tips???

Shove it up your ass.

Yeah I know. I'm great but I don't swing that way unfortunately. These might be the fallas you're lookin for:

http://www.escort-ireland.com/p1/8/dublin-male-escorts.html

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭notsobusy

the_djoker wrote: »
    :d Nice, I had some incidents with cops on J1 summers back in the day too --- never did a runner tho, you are screwed if you are caught - lucky you weren't , it's considered a felony there .... f*cking yanks..

I also hid in cupboards and one time in a cupboard under a sink to hide from them.....

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

Bruce, I agree that a lot of people are going a bit ott about what you did. But I doubt this would have been the case if you'd just got food at the restaurant. Why get a few bottles of wine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I went to an overpriced restaurant in Dublin one time; the bill was ridiculous! The charged me four euro for a tiny class of Coke - I could have purchased 2+ liters for the same price.

Service was horrible too. Took forever for anyone to take our order, took forever for the food to arrive, and there were little kids yelling and playing inside the restaurant.

But, since I'm not a complete and utter d-bag; I paid and left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

UCDVet wrote: »

But, since I'm not a complete and utter d-bag; I paid and left.

Really? Because you sound like one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

One of the times I went back to Liverpool last year, me and my mate had a fried breakfast in a cafe, then got up and left, we were halfway down the street and then I was like '**** we haven't paid'

Course, we're not arseholes, so we went back and paid, extra tip for the staffs troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

People do not despise a thief if he steals to satisfy his appetite when he is hungry,

Proverbs 6:30

However because you nicked the wine that makes you a scumbag :)

NoQuarter wrote: »
    Really? Because you sound like one.

If expressing my opinion on a public forum makes you think I'm a d-bag; I'd love to know what you'd think of me after I stole the price of a fine meal and wine from your pocket.

its not as if he could have gone to mcdonalds, hoors make you pay in advance.

As far as the wine goes, if you have barely eaten anything for 3 days then you may as well go the whole hog.

What Im wondering is how the fat girl was happy to be used as a decoy?

OP must be a pro with his tounge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Bruce7

I've never heard this term before. What is a d-bag? It sounds like one of those names that black guys have in the ghetto.

Is this a d1ck bag? As in a condom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

leggit wrote: »
    Never done anything like that myself but one of my mates tried to do a legger on a taxi when he was younger. He was beyond drunk and upon leaving the taxi sprinted into a tree about 10 metres away and knocked himself out, woke up without his watch!

Does he have the same username as you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Had to do a runner from a mental taxi driver in Athens before. We were on school trip and had some free time so 4 of us went into the city and got a taxi back to the hotel. He was trying to charge us some extortionate rate and didn't have a word of English. Kept screaming at us in Greek after speeding down loads of old market lane ways, knocking over fruit crates and boxes. It was mid-July and about 35 degrees. Was pretty freaky having some nutcase chasing us around underpasses and up and down hills in the searing afternoon heat. Ended up hiding in the communal hallway of an apartment block til we couldn't hear the engine of his shítty old car anymore. We went to a discount sex shop afterwards and bought a load of extremely cheap pornography and vibrators afterwards to celebrate our escape. (We used the vibrators as coshes later on that night when we were pissed, teachers weren't too happy when they found us baiting the legs off each other with big rubber cocks.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

What I love here is the amount of responders saying "that's a disgrace" or "you should make amends by donating to charity".
    Do these people loose sleep after reading about an injustice on the internet?.
    In my eyes these people are sadder than the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

I went for a walk in the forest. Pretty soon, I came upon a house. I knocked and, when no one answered, I walked right in.

At the table in the kitchen, there were three bowls of porridge. I was hungry. I tasted the porridge from the first bowl.
    "This porridge is too hot!" I exclaimed.
    So, I tasted the porridge from the second bowl.
    "This porridge is too cold," I said
    So, I tasted the last bowl of porridge.
    "Ahhh, this porridge is just right," I said happily and I ate it all up.
    After I'd eaten the breakfasts I decided I was feeling a little tired. So, I walked into the living room where I saw three chairs. I sat in the first chair to rest my feet.
    "This chair is too big!" I exclaimed.
    So I sat in the second chair.
    "This chair is too big, too!" I whined.
    So I tried the last and smallest chair.
    "Ahhh, this chair is just right," I sighed. But just as I settled down into the chair to rest, it broke into pieces!
    I was very tired by this time, so I went upstairs to the bedroom. I lay down in the first bed, but it was too hard. Then I lay in the second bed, but it was too soft. Then I lay down in the third bed and it was just right. I fell asleep.

Some time later, I woke up and saw three hairy boggers ( the youngest of whom looked very upset ). I screamed, "Help!" And I jumped up and ran out of the room. I ran down the stairs, opened the door, and ran away into the forest. And I never returned to the home of the three hairy boggers.

Was I wrong to just run away ?

It depends. Does a bogger **** in the woods? :pac:

its not as if he could have gone to mcdonalds, hoors make you pay in advance.

As far as the wine goes, if you have barely eaten anything for 3 days then you may as well go the whole hog.

What Im wondering is how the fat girl was happy to be used as a decoy?

OP must be a pro with his tounge.

I think that's b.s.

First - we need to stop acting like children. Don't travel somewhere if you can't afford it. If you need a job, find a job. Have a budget. Have a return ticket. Don't put yourself in a situation where you will 'have' to steal. It's not hard to avoid.

Second - surely he could have gotten food without resorting to theft. He could have spent less time eating a fat chicks pussy (as he states) and more time working. He could stand on the street with a hat out and get enough money to afford enough food to stay alive. He could have gone to a charity or church and asked for help. He could have sold something he owned to get some money. And he could have bought much, much cheaper food if it really was a matter of life and death. He could have gone to a McDonalds and started cleaning tables for customers who were leaving (and eaten their scraps). He could have done lots of things.

'Not having any food' is just his excuse. This is just someone who didn't care about others and selfishly treated himself and his date to a nice meal. Then ran out on the bill, and the girl.

I'm sure it was good craic and him and his mates had a good laugh over it.

But let's not pretend it was some poor starving kid choosing crime as a last resort to avoid death.

My family was poor. My parents went well over a decade without going to a sit-down restaurant because we were poor. Not once they did decide to steal.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Young_gunner

I'm beginning to think that the guys criticising the OP here are just trolls...

surely nobody could be that big a muppet