Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First build for a complete beginner

Options
  • 09-09-2012 7:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭

Hi Guys

I have been thinking of building my own PC for awhile will be a nice wee project and at least will give me the ability to change any part of the PC later or upgrade as and when I want. If you could have a look at what I am thinking and perhaps tell me if am on track or way off it would be appreciated. I am very new to this and my research is limited to what I have read on the stickys and posts on this forum which is very impressive and informative so thank you for the help so far.

1. What is your budget? 600 to 700

2. What will be the main purpose of the computer? browsing the internet, HTPC- would like to have RAID setup, and a system that will also act as a NAS so I can stream to my smart TV, or access files on my laptop, working on Office docs

3. Do you need a copy of Windows? NO

4. Can you use any parts from an old computer? NO

5. Do you need a monitor? No - have a 42 in LED TV and a 15inch LG studioworks Monitor and I will like to connect to both

5a. If yes, what size do you need. N/A

5b. If no, what resolution is your current monitor and do you plan to upgrade in the near future? Res is 1024 x 768 but will upgrade in the future

6. Do you need any of these peripherals? yes need a card reader and an optical drive DVD CD read write

7. Are you willing to try overclocking? yes would be interested to give this a bash if it can be done my the CPU I chose

8. How can you pay? [Bank Transfer/Credit Card/Laser] any of these