Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CMS and Hosting

Options
  • 10-09-2012 4:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭

So I know from the charter we are not allowed discuss specifics on hosting and CMS, but as a total noob in this area I would do with some advice which options to look at.

I'm looking to to set up and company web page with all the usual business related details, also I need to set up an on-line shop which would manage payment and details on about 100 + technical products.

What I need to know is which options I need to be looking at in regard to the CMS/hosting and payment options. Apparently from Googling there are lots of options, its a little easy get lost in these and I would appreciate any advice I could get from anyone who is involved in this type of activity.

As per the charter I understand some stuff info related to this topic is not allowed but would appreciate any advice I could get, we have two servers on site, one for company infrastructure so that's not available and another running Windows with XAMPP on it also handling some data management, both servers are near there limits so I would also like to know if were would be better installing another server or just going to cloud/outside hosting with this.

First time stepping into this side of development so any advice would be appreciated, and if anything is not allowed as er charter please feel free to pop me a pm. Some smart people on here so this forum is a great resource :)

Oh and also what are the general costing involved with this type of activity..?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h