Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Living in a bubble....is it ok?

• 10-09-2012 6:30pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭

Further to a thread on AIB bank charges, i called my local bank and told the girl i hadn't heard of this new 2,500 account limit. She sniggered and said....it's been all over the papers and news, were you living in a bubble?

I was insulted and replied yes, because....yeah, i hadn't heard a dam thing and yeah, i don't read newspapers or watch normal tv. I download all my tv....but the point is after being insulted i felt :o

Maybe it's abnormal to live in a bubble, but then i thought more....know what?, feck it!, there is enough bs and hate and pain in the world, why damage your spirit further by reading or seeing it?

Dunno.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Guess it's the downside to having choice over what you watch and read. I can live with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Are you really living in a bubble if you frequent After Hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,873 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Sh*t i hadn't heard of this either and i'm living in dublin...is dublin a bubble?

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭ThinkAboutIt

Of course it's ok.
    Would you rather be one of those folk who rant and rave on here about nonsense they hear on the news/radio/tv that has nothing to do with them?
    Much happier life living in a bubble.
    They'll say "ignorance is bliss" but it's lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

But...

How do you find out about things? Like the news? I'd consider that somewhat important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I just found out the Moops invaded Spain in the eighth century, not the Moors :(. Boy am I in a bubble!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

tolosenc wrote: »
    But...

How do you find out about things? Like the news? I'd consider that somewhat important.

That's the issue....i've had other incidents whereby people told me of local or international news events and i was like..... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Depends on the size of the bubble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Nerd information.

The bell spider lives in a bubble underwater.

I'll bet they didn't hear of these AIB charges either OP!

SaulGoode9 wrote: »
    Depends on the size of the bubble

32G :p

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,408 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Whats this account limit about? news to me too.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Whats this account limit about? news to me too.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056740910

^ :mad:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,408 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Balls, i should have stayed in my bubble today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Prick!

You don't live in a bubble. You just rather read internet forums than the important things in the news/papers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

She sniggered and said....it's been all over the papers and news, were you living in a bubble?

Cheeky mare

You don't talk to customers like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

I think you are definitely living in a bubble. It wasn't just the traditional media - it was widely discussed here on boards as well. Now, I can understand that someone who's not a customer may have skipped the threads, but as an AIB customer, if someone posts a thread about AIB, I'll take a quick look, at the very least, to see if it is relevant to me.

But a few quid in bank charges are the least of your worries! What else have you missed? What other threads, that could have completely changed your life, have you skipped over saying "nah... looks boring"?

Might you have missed a thread by Jessica Alba looking for a quick shag off a random bloke on the internet? Might there be a thread from some old billionaire with only a few weeks to live, looking to adopt a son so he can leave his fortune to? Might someone on the philosophy forum imparted his/her knowledge regarding the meaning of life? It looks like, if your going to avoid mainstream media, you'll need to just read every single thread that comes along...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

fook this I was expecting someone from fairy to be here, later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

dotsman wrote: »
    Might you have missed a thread by Jessica Alba looking for a quick shag off a random bloke on the internet?

Where?? Can I still sign up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

I've me nice Student account for the last few years. Left college in the summer there so im hoping I get a while out of it with no charges! I'm terrible for spending a rake of cash as soon as i get paid so i'll defo be below the 2500 mark. Not to mention all the times i use the laser, or just take out the odd 20 "just to have". It'll cost me a fortune!

As soon as they start charging me, I'm closing my account!

Bollix actually, when did the BOI charges come in? I've an empty BOI account I keep as well. I've just been paying the tenner a year to keep it open. I hope I don't start getting charged for that too, else I'll have no backup once AIB start charging me!!

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

"Are you living in a bubble" = get me your manager bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

eth0 wrote: »
    Where?? Can I still sign up?

Mods no doubt deleted it and kept her all for themselves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Further to a thread on AIB bank charges, i called my local bank and told the girl i hadn't heard of this new 2,500 account limit. She sniggered and said....it's been all over the papers and news, were you living in a bubble?

I was insulted and replied yes, because....yeah, i hadn't heard a dam thing and yeah, i don't read newspapers or watch normal tv. I download all my tv....but the point is after being insulted i felt :o

Maybe it's abnormal to live in a bubble, but then i thought more....know what?, feck it!, there is enough bs and hate and pain in the world, why damage your spirit further by reading or seeing it?

Dunno.......

I'd have asked to speak to her manager. You don't fúcking speak to customers like that. You've nothing to be sorry for how you go about finding your news. As their customer they should have sent you out a letter to advise you of any changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

You do have to appreciate the audacity.

Customer: Hi, have you arbitrarily started charging me for giving you the use of my money?
    AIB: Haha, yes, and you're a bit silly for not knowing it, even though we didn't tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

She would have **** her pants pretty quickly if you told her you were taking out all your money!

Took out a chunk of my account a while back to put it in the Post Office, yer wan in the bank nearly wet her knickers, wanted to bring me into an office for a 5 minute chat. Immediately I begun thinking about those porn scenes on RedTube but unfortunately she wasn't a hot MILF so I made my excuses and left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

The Boy in the Bubble
    And the baby with the baboon heart

kfallon wrote: »
    She would have **** her pants pretty quickly if you told her you were taking out all your money!

Took out a chunk of my account a while back to put it in the Post Office, yer wan in the bank nearly wet her knickers, wanted to bring me into an office for a 5 minute chat. Immediately I begun thinking about those porn scenes on RedTube but unfortunately she wasn't a hot MILF so I made my excuses and left

Gracias....so the bubble bursting has given me something in return ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Gracias....so the bubble bursting has given me something in return ;)

If you hadn't heard of RedTube before my post then you are living in one serious bubble :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

She sniggered and said....it's been all over the papers and news, were you living in a bubble?

I would have asked to speak to someone who wasn't a cúnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

So the banks expect the media to communicate to their customers for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

I must live in a bubble too if thats the case. I was off work for 4 weeks recently and didn't watch or listen to any news. Its all fekin bad why would i bother.

Back to work with a bang however. Bombarded with "did ya hear about the property tax, did ya hear bout this did ya hear about that"

Fúk off like!!!!

Bad news overload... big time.

Wish I could climb back into my bubble where it was safe and warm... ma ma :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

jessiejam wrote: »
    I must live in a bubble too if thats the case. I was off work for 4 weeks recently and didn't watch or listen to any news. Its all fekin bad why would i bother.

Back to work with a bang however. Bombarded with "did ya hear about the property tax, did ya hear bout this did ya hear about that"

Fúk off like!!!!

Bad news overload... big time.

Wish I could climb back into my bubble where it was safe and warm... ma ma :o

:confused::confused::confused:

It has been around a lot longer than that. *Taps watch*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

Ah you get my drift... all the updates on it etc....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Who is this Aib ye speak of, keeper of the monies?. I've been living in a bit of a bubble there for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Lucky sod! At least bubbles can burst and you can escape. I'm in a nut shell...