Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Urban legends?

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

summerskin wrote: »
    "A girl had ovary cancer and she was terminally going to die,
    So she was going to have ovary implants surgery.
    When the day came when she was having her surgery,
    She said goodbye to her parents and told her boyfriend she loved him.
    She came out of the surgery and had no cancer because she was cured.
    She saw her family but asked where her boyfriend was.
    Her mom then said "Wait, didn't the doctor tell you who donated the ovaries?".

Like this if you love your boyfriend.""

fúcking genius.

Liek dis if yhoo crie evrtim :'(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

The men in the white van are touring the local housing estates looking for children to kidnap. It's in the local paper again. Just like it was last year. And the year before that. And so on...

Friends from Limerick were on facebook about it during the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Its always a red sports car or a white van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

retalivity wrote: »
    So ur with ur honey and yur making out wen the phone rigns. U anser it n the vioce is “wut r u doing wit my daughter?” U tell ur girl n she say “my dad is ded”. THEN WHO WAS PHONE?

Her mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 toshsat

Aenaes wrote: »
    Her mother.

The postman,,Mother puts it about:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

K-9 wrote: »
    This one is probably replicated up and down the country but in Donegal it's McGroary's Brae, between Letterkenny and Ballybofey, pretty isolated spot. Fella stops to pick up a guy thumbing a lift, they chat away and after a few miles, around Barnesmore Gap the thumber points to the side of the road and says "that's where I crashed my motorbike and died". Driver looks over and the fella is gone.

The phantom hitchhiker stories always really spook me. I actually get uncomfortable driving alone at night in case I experience something like that. :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭blackhound

I swear to feck this is actually true but i have a feeling its one of those stories that is going to become an urban legend in time.

So this girl goes out for the night and hooks up with this Aussie guy. The next morning she wakes up to find the guy is gone, nothing that strange about that only after awhile she realizes her car is gone too.
    She calls the guards who tell her they've found her car crashed a few miles away and that some witnesses had seen some guy running from the car. She rings her insurance company who tell her that they won't cover her because she let the person into her house herself.
    Finding this out she gets a few guys she knows to force the aussie to go to the garda station for questioning before he returns to Australia a few days later. The guy is pleading his innocence and agrees to go, the witnesses say he wasn't the guy they seen at the car.
    Turns out some Knack seen the door of the house was open and took the keys and stole the car.
    I think this is so funny the Aussie must've been thinking the girl was either underage or claiming rape or something, talk about ****ting a brick. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Theres the story of the guy who goes home with a bueatiful girl and sleeps with her. The next morning shes gone and on the bathroom mirror wrote in lipstick is " welcome to the world of aids".

Around the dublin mountains theres always the legend of a phantom black dog. My granny told me that its a huge black dog called a shuck who only some people can see. Then theres the black cat of killikee that was claimed to haunt the ruins of the hellfire club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The thread about the man falling onto the railway track has reminded me of another story. The morning before Abe Lincoln's assassination his son Robert stumbled in front of a train as it approached the station. At the last minute he was pulled back by a person on the platform saving his life in the process.
    The man in question was Edwin Thomas Booth, brother of John Wilkes Booth.

A google search on it suggests that it could be true, with Robert himself acknowledging the incident in an letter he sent to Century magazine in 1909.

A friend of one of my friends once heard a cat wailing in the distance as she headed off to bed. She thought it was just a stray cat, thought nothing of it, and went off to sleep. During the night then, she awoke to see an old woman standing at the foot of her bed who was wailing the same blood-curdling as the cat was. She started to freak out and ran into her Mothers room, her mother thought she was just having a bad dream and when she went back to her own room and saw that the woman had disappeared, she began to doubt herself. Exactly one week later, to the second, her mother receives a phone call from her sister to say that her Grandmother had died. It is at that point that she realises that the ghostly old woman was, in fact, the Banshee who was trying to warn the girl of her Grandmothers impending death :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Have heard this one a few times, from people "who were there":

Local pub/social club/garden society/parents association are having a social evening with a Mr and Mrs quiz, the prize being a holiday/car/cash/speedboat.

So, an elderly couple are drawn out, and the wife has earmuffs put on and sat in a chair faced from the crowd.
    Compere - "first question - what was the best holiday you had together?"
    Husband - "caravanning in Wales"
    Compere - "second question - what is your favourite meal?"
    Husband - "sunday roast"
    Compere - "where's the most unusual place you've had sex?"
    Husband - "errmm, probably the garden shed when we were younger"

So the wife is then asked the same questions:
    Best holiday? - "oooh I think that was the one in Wales"
    crowd all cheer
    Favourite meal? - "oh he loves his Sunday roast"
    crowd are going mental
    Unusual place you had sex? - wife gets embarrassed "I'M NOT SAYING THAT!!"
    crowd are urging her on
    Compere tells her that the correct answer wins a car/holiday/cash/etc.
    husband is nodding, come on, I've told them already
    Compere - "so, for the big prize, where's the most unusual place you've had sex?"
    the wife goes all red, looks around at all the expectant faces and says:
    "up my bum!"

A friend of one of my friends once heard a cat wailing in the distance as she headed off to bed. She thought it was just a stray cat, thought nothing of it, and went off to sleep. During the night then, she awoke to see an old woman standing at the foot of her bed who was wailing the same blood-curdling as the cat was. She started to freak out and ran into her Mothers room, her mother thought she was just having a bad dream and when she went back to her own room and saw that the woman had disappeared, she began to doubt herself. Exactly one week later, to the second, her mother receives a phone call from her sister to say that her Grandmother had died. It is at that point that she realises that the ghostly old woman was, in fact, the Banshee who was trying to warn the girl of her Grandmothers impending death :eek:

I have heard that a lot and even had a creepy (not saying supernatural) experience myself related to that.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I have heard that a lot and even had a creepy (not saying supernatural) experience myself related to that.

I actually did myself. Just the cat wailing thing. But it's most likely all in my head :P

In my cases probrably a fox that was wailing but did it exactly three times and three days later my gran died.

Theres the story of the guy who goes home with a bueatiful girl and sleeps with her. The next morning shes gone and on the bathroom mirror wrote in lipstick is " welcome to the world of aids".

That's AIDS Mary.
    Here's a similar one from 1998:
    WARNING - MUST READ
    Be careful the next time you go to a cinema. These people could be anywhere!! An experience of a friend of my brother's wife left me speechless. Please do send this out to everyone you know. This incident occurred in Bombay's Metro cinema (Among the best in town). They were a group of 6-7 College girls & they went to the theater to see a movie. During the show one of the girls felt a slight pinprick but did not pay much attention to it.

After sometime that place began to itch. So she scratched herself and then saw a bit of blood on her hands. She assumed that she had caused it. At the end of the show, her friend noticed a sticker on her dress and read the caption. It read "Welcome to the world of AIDS." She tried to pass it off as a practical joke but when she went for a blood test a couple of weeks later (just to be sure), she found herself HIV Positive.

When she complained to the cops, they mentioned that her story was one of the many such cases they had received. It seems the operator uses a syringe to transfer a bit of his/her infected blood to the person sitting ahead of him/her. A horrible experience for the victim as also the family & friends. The WORST bit is that the person who does it gains NOTHING where as the victim loses EVERYTHING. So, be careful...

My aunt when she was about 6 woke my mum up in the night to ask if she heard screaming. The noise stopped and my mum went back to sleep. The next day my aunt was so freaked out that she couldn't go to school. Later that day she told her mother why she couldn't sleep. My granny had heard rumours from neighbours that an old man had seen a banshee at his window. She assumed that my aunt had over heard this "silly talk".
    The old man died a few days later. Several other neighbours claimed to have heard the banshee and my aunt still remembers the noise to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

My aunt when she was about 6 woke my mum up in the night to ask if she heard screaming. The noise stopped and my mum went back to sleep. The next day my aunt was so freaked out that she couldn't go to school. Later that day she told her mother why she couldn't sleep. My granny had heard rumours from neighbours that an old man had seen a banshee at his window. She assumed that my aunt had over heard this "silly talk".
    The old man died a few days later. Several other neighbours claimed to have heard the banshee and my aunt still remembers the noise to this day.

Can't have been a sheep, although I was woken by 2 crying cats one night and it is the most horrible sound I ever heard. I threw things at them and they wouldn't move. Ended up going out to chase them and couldn't sleep after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Local pub/social club/garden society/parents association are having a social evening with a Mr and Mrs quiz, the prize being a holiday/car/cash/speedboat.

So, an elderly couple are drawn out, and the wife has earmuffs put on and sat in a chair faced from the crowd.
    Husband - "sunday roast"

crowd all cheer
    crowd are going mental
    crowd are urging her on
    Compere - "so, for the big prize, where's the most unusual place you've had sex?"
    "up my bum!"
    http://snopes.com/radiotv/tv/newlywed.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

I was woken by 2 crying cats one night and it is the most horrible sound I ever heard.

Terrible sound, been woken up a lot by that sound whenever I'm home on hoildays in my brother's house in the middle of nowhere (not a streetlight anywhere, fecking creepy place when you're on your own at nighttime).

It always sounds to me like a baby crying, now I know in my mind it's always a cat, but I'm always so scared that someone has dumped an unwanted baby on the doorstep, I always try to ignore the sound, but there's this voice in the back of my head saying "you'll never forgive yourself if you wake up in the morning and find a dead baby on the doorstep, who froze to death because I was too lazy/scared to get up and check" so I always get up and check (thankfully it never was a dumped baby ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Thats definitely a BANSHEEP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Due North

leaveiton wrote: »
    Four lads in *American school/college/university* are on a road trip just before some exam. They decide though to extend their holiday a little bit and take a repeat test when they get back.

They get back to the university and say that they'd been on a road trip but couldn't get back in time as one of their tyres blew. The university lets them take a make up test.

The test comes around, and they're all sitting in the exam hall. They can't help noticing how easy the test is - the first page is full of very easy questions but is only worth something like 5%. There is only one other page that makes up the other 95%. So when they're finished with the first page, they turn over to the last question:

"Which tyre?"

Got caught like that in Secondary School. Three of us couldnt be arsed going in for first couple of classes. Told the teacher when we arrived in to class that we had helped a woman change a wheel, had encountered difficulties bla bla. He asked us to simply write on piece of paper; what colour and make was car.:(

MrCreosote wrote: »
    The cousin of a friend of mine was doing the Leaving a few years back. English Paper one.

Write an essay about the biggest risk you've ever taken.

He wrote two words- "This is".

Walked out.

Got a A1.

How cool would that be if it was true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Due North wrote: »
    How cool would that be if it was true

about as cool as if your previous post was true.

summerskin wrote: »
    about as cool as if your previous post was true.

It actually is God's honest truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

"No word of a lie, sir!!!"

retalivity wrote: »
    "No word of a lie, sir!!!"

Suit Yourself:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

MrCreosote doesn't have a cousin, and Due North never went to school, i think its time to move on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Local pub/social club/garden society/parents association are having a social evening with a Mr and Mrs quiz, the prize being a holiday/car/cash/speedboat. Up the bum

That happens on a french TV show too.

When I did my leaving in the 80's a story went around that someone doing Hon LC Art left the sheet blank and called it Snow storm (or something) and the got an A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

sassyj wrote: »
    I have heard this in various forms over several years, every shopping centre in Dublin and beyond. A woman in work insisted this happened in Blanch and it was a bunch of Romanians stealing kids for child allowance, sheer ignorance from a normally sane person. My poor friend is convinced something like this happened, just the straight forward kidnap bit, has her terrified about her kids.

I cn never understand why people never question why something this serious would not have made it onto the news.

bijapos wrote: »
    Reminds me: when I was in school in the 80's the story was that a student went in to do the Leaving. Cracked up looking at the paper, then he.... ....(spoilered bit is NSFW)
    sharpened two pencils, held them in his hands on the table and rammed in head down on the upturned pencils, sticking them into his eyes and blinding himself.

I told my Dad about it, he laughed and said that story was doing the rounds in the 50's when he was in school. Heard a couple of kids talking about it on the bus a few years ago, they swore that it happened that week in some other school in Dublin. Seems the old ones are the best ones!

A teacher told us that story in the run up to our LC and seemed to actually believe it.

Never in my life have I wanted to call out someone for being a fcuking idiot more in my life. It also left me with utter contempt for our education system- why bother studying when we have a system that allows someone who believes that rubbish to graduate and become a teacher :pac:

I heard the pikey "balls and all, no fancy schtuff" story off a few mates who lived together about a bird one of the lds who lived with them pulled (they heard it from the next room)

Seeing as this would mean four lads sitting around and saying "here lads, lets make up a story about yer man bringing a pikey bird home" I am actually inclined to think their story is true and it is just something gypsy women regularly say :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

My brothers girlfrends, friends aunty went on holiday and this little dog kept hanging around her apartment, she fell in love with it and decided to bring it back with her.

When she got home the dog kept getting sick and the woman got worried about it so she brought it to the vet for tests. She was told in fact she didnt bring home a dog but a very large rat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

MrCreosote wrote: »
    The cousin of a friend of mine was doing the Leaving a few years back. English Paper one.

Write an essay about the biggest risk you've ever taken.

He wrote two words- "This is".

Walked out.

Got a A1.

Heard the same story from a teacher a few years back about a guy he knew who did something similar in his thesis and got away with it:pac: Amazing how much bs gets around:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

This one could actually be true.

A UK student living on campus (shares a room) goes to the doctor with head pains and feeling woozy. The doctor examines him and runs some tests.

The doctor tells the man to ease off on the drugs and take it easy with his sex life. The student is confused by this. He is single and doesn't do drugs.

The doc bluntly explains to the student that his rough gay sex lifestyle and use of poppers is damaging his body. Horrified the student sets up camera's in his room.

Sure enough every night the room mate comes in when he is asleep, chloroforms him, and then has his wicked way with him. They had been room mates 15 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

This one could actually be true.

A UK student living on campus (shares a room) goes to the doctor with head pains and feeling woozy. The doctor examines him and runs some tests.

The doctor tells the man to ease off on the drugs and take it easy with his sex life. The student is confused by this. He is single and doesn't do drugs.

The doc bluntly explains to the student that his rough gay sex lifestyle and use of poppers is damaging his body. Horrified the student sets up camera's in his room.

Sure enough every night the room mate comes in when he is asleep, chloroforms him, and then has his wicked way with him. They had been room mates 15 months.
    Funny, the exact same thing happened to a Trinity student back in the mid 1990s!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

One she used tell me was about the pig woman of the rotunda hospital. The story goes that a rich woman was asked by a gypsy woman for money for her child. The wealthy woman who was pregnant at the time said to the beggar "go away you pig". The woman later gave birth to a "pig faced woman" and out of guilt founded the rotunda hospital.

Wasn't there a Seinfeld episode partially based on Kramer looking for a "pig girl/man" in a Hospital?

I've only heard this story once so I'm not sure, but it certainly sounds like a myth. Some chap heads into the Chinese takeaway in one of the nearby towns. He orders some noodles, spring rolls and some chicken balls. He takes a bite out of one of the chicken balls but feels something hard in his mouth while he's chewing. He spits out a small piece of metal which turns out to be a dog tracing device. The device is traced back to poor little local boy Timmy O' Toole who lost his dog 2 weeks previously. (A couple of years later, the boy also apparently happened to fall down a well in an unrelated incident.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Husband - "sunday roast"

crowd all cheer
    crowd are going mental
    crowd are urging her on
    "up my bum!"

What a strange coincidence - I just watched this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Theirs always the one kid in the local village...the wham bar kid:rolleyes:, The first year who gave a handjob for a wham bar down the back alley during the summer. Its funny because it didn't happen, if it did no one would laugh:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭TheFisherKing

Bono and Bruce Springsteen in a Dublin restaurant paying for the meal of a fellow patron. There's different versions of this it usually goes that the person in question approaches the pair seeking Bono's autograph while not realising who the other man is, in the end Bruce picks up their tab or something along those lines.

Some twat actually had that cheek to tell that story (yet again) last week on Graham Norton. Was surprised Graham Norton hadn't heard it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Some twat actually had that cheek to tell that story (yet again) last week on Graham Norton. Was surprised Graham Norton hadn't heard it tbh.

I saw that! You could tell the guy was an absolute bullshítter, "I'm a director of Sales" Was disappointed that Norton believed him and yer man told it very very poorly!

If it wasnt plastered all over the news that woman in Limerick dying from shagging an alsation has all the makings of an urban legend, if someone told me it and I had not read about it I would tell them it was rubbish :pac:

I do feel sorry for the family but it is nevertheless the funniest news story....ever.:pac:

Don't know if anyone has mentioned this one yet, its one of my mothers...during the famine a poor tenant could not pay his rent and went to the landlord to beg him not to evict him, the landlord shot the poor tenant dead on the front steps of his house and forever after they could never wash the bloodstains stains from the steps as every time they washed the steps the bloodstains reappeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I saw that! You could tell the guy was an absolute bullshítter, "I'm a director of Sales" Was disappointed that Norton believed him and yer man told it very very poorly!

I didn't see it- but did he say it was a friend of a friend? It always seems to be...

If it wasnt plastered all over the news that woman in Limerick dying from shagging an alsation.
    Whaaaaaa!!?

Edit: just googled it there.. Wish i didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

I didn't see it- but did he say it was a friend of a friend? It always seems to be...

No! Said twas him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭EDDIE WATERS

I heard that one alright

two from off the top of my head are..
    the 2 guys going shooting one day, and one of them goes to ask the farmer permission to shoot on his land, farmer says ok but could they do him a favour and shoot a sick cow so he could save on the vet's fee etc. Guy returns to his hunting partner and as a joke, says the farmer had refused and shoots the sick cow as if to spite the farmer. His hunting partner follows his example and shoots a nearby perfectly healthy cow.

The other is the one about giving a lift to a ghost hitcher

The first one was in Man about Dog

Squ wrote: »
    Whaaaaaa!!?

Edit: just googled it there.. Wish i didn't.

Ah come on, tbh I was still laughing days after seeing it :pac: Mainly thinking of the convo the paramedic must have had when his wife asked him what the day had been like "well, we had an old woman slip on some ice, another oul one we had to treat for some chest pains, and oh yeah, we got called out to a woman who died dressed in PVC gear after she had been having a threesome with an alsation dog and a stranger she met off the internet".

And having google imaged for a photo of the woman involved, the poor dog is the biggest victim in the whole case :eek:

As said, awful for anyone with the misfortune of being related to her, but the story itself is comedy gold, just thinking of the excuses they must have tried to fob off the paramedics with like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

This one is actually true, happened to a close friend's cousin's girlfriend-she moves into a new flat, nothing in the fridge so she goes to the local Spar ( might have been Centra,or even Supervalu, although now i think of it, there's a new Aldi down that way too...but anyroad....), she buys a few things for the dinner, including a bottle of milk and a bit of liver-leaves all the gear in the fridge, gets up the next morning, as you do, goes into the kitchen,goes to the fridge, opens the fridge, and , I swear, and I wouldn't believe it only my pal's cousin's girlfriend is fairly honest, the liver WAS WRAPPED AROUND THE BOTTLE OF MILK!!!!!!!!!!:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭ShiftStorm

My friend's great aunt used to tell her "When you're pregnant, have two tablespoons of cod liver oil a day and your baby'll SLIDE out"

Are old wives tales and urban legends the same thing?

If so, back when i was a spotty teenager, my gran used to bury a rasher out the back garden on a certain day each week to get rid of them.