Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland v Oman match thread 11/09/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Hard to get excited about this one. Oman are a team we should be out playing comfortably, but in reality, I expect them to out play us. At least some of the young lads are getting a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

What channel is match on tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I don't particularly see the problem with that.
    With no European or South American opposition available, then you might as well get the friendly with the most positive financial impact.

Or CONCACAF, OFC, CAF (of any reasonable standard). So Oman and Qatar were the best available opposition. Slim pickings.

Edit: Finland, the Faroe Islands, Ireland and the above two Arabian countries are the only countries still in contention for WC qualification that are not playing competitively on this matchday.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

ollie1 wrote: »
    What channel is match on tonight?
    Setanta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Is it sad im looking forward to this game more than last Fridays. Looking forward to seeing the new faces.

I am too.
    Looking forward to seeing Coleman and Wilson at full back...need someone to step in for Ward.

Interesting to see how Meyler will get on in cm. Hopefully this game the backs might think of giving McCarthy the ball when he goes looking for it instead of hoofing it over his head like they did on Friday. The amount of times he dropped back in space wanting the ball but didn't get it was terrible.

Brady should be interesting to see too, looks like a serious talent.

Most of all I'm delighted to finally see our best striker Long get a start. He has been treated like crap by Trap, usually ends up being 5th choice.

Really hope he bangs in a couple this evening and gets himself a start in the Germany game. But get the impression even if he scored 5, he'd still be left on the bench the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Stevecw wrote: »
    Interesting to see how Meyler will get on in cm. Hopefully this game the backs might think of giving McCarthy the ball when he goes looking for it instead of hoofing it over his head like they did on Friday.

I hoping the midfielders demand the ball rather than allowing the defenders to launch it.. :eek:

There flag is tiny and there national anthem sounds like something out of superman

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭delad

I hoping the midfielders demand the ball rather than allowing the defenders to launch it.. :eek:

if a midfielder was to demand the ball he would never play for Ireland again, its traps way or the highway

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Rega

Jesus, what's the attendance?

I'm guessing around 400.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

That was Oman's national anthem?!?! Sounds like the A-team or something.

lol i thought the anthem was over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Oh what a cock up. I assume they intended on playing the Omani national anthem but they just replayed that terrible intro music....

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭*Hank Scorpio*

what the hell is going on?

What the **** is going on with the anthems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Haha that was brilliant!

Amateur hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

This is like a bad dream or something. What the fukc is going on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    That was Oman's national anthem?!?! Sounds like the A-team or something.

Deadly isn't it :pac:

Edit:crap knew it was too good to be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

How embarrassing this is for all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Great idea hosting this game in England on the same day England are involved in a crucial World Cup qualifier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Embarrassing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭JamBur

this is a demoralising way to earn a first cap

Haha here's there anthem now, preferred the Superman one

Haha they messed up that nicely!! Hardly anyone there it seems, unless there is a big crowd here where camera is based.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Sin City wrote: »
    As does Keogh or Key O as the Brits would say
    Parts of Ireland they pronounce it Key-ho. Not a British thing at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Saha's playing number 11 for Oman.

this is going to be good, we're going to hear every insult from the crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Trap has just blamed McClean for the anthemn **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭JamBur

was the ref counting players on the pitch, or crowd attendance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

This could be a rout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Patsy fyre wrote: »
    This could be a rout.

Ah come on we're not that bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

Patsy fyre wrote: »
    This could be a rout.

for Oman? we never rout anyone...

Dodgy stuff from Forde.

Bad start by Forde, that was nervy looking

Great to see somone decent at left back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

What's the craic with these games being played in England? Would the stadium not need to be rented, all the policing and stewards paid for?

Wisesmurf wrote: »
    for Oman? we never rout anyone...

......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Nice.

Goal!

Nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

3-0 I reckon.

Replays!

Well headed across by St Ledger, nice finish by Long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Oman aren't very good, are they?

Would still be cheaper then having it at Lansdowne I'd say.

What's the craic with these games being played in England? Would the stadium not need to be rented, all the policing and stewards paid for?

Would have been a perfect game to play at Thomond. Could have gotten a half decent crowd.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Who's on the bench?

Is Robbie Brady still at United or is he out on loan again?

After 12 minutes it's fairly obvious that Wilson is much more of a footballer than Ward. I know he's not up against much but he has a decent first touch and is confident enough to pick out a pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Brady is still at United. I believe players can still be loaned to the Championship. Open to correction on that though.