Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Kenny sacked

• 11-09-2012 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭

That'll do, donkey. That'll do!

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/2979-stephen-kenny

"
    Shamrock Rovers can confirm that the club has parted company with manager, Stephen Kenny.

Assistant manager, Stephen Glass will take temporary charge of team affairs ahead of Friday night's FAI Ford Cup quarter-final against Shelbourne.

Shamrock Rovers chairman, Jonathan Roche said: "We have not taken this decision lightly and we are extremely disappointed with the turn of events. However, the club feels that this is the right decision at this time, and attention now turns to Friday night's FAI Ford Cup game against Shelbourne and identifying the next manager of Shamrock Rovers. We would like to wish take this opportunity to wish Stephen the best for the future."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Gutted :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,592 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Matthews?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Sean McCaffrey next please. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I'm fairly happy, I don't think he was right for the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

CSF wrote: »
    Matthews?

The more you say it the more your dream might come through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Was a poor decision to appoint him in the first place but at least the board have shown the leadership to take the decision that needed to be made.

Magilton would do for me as a replacement and already heard a rumour that he's keen but as long as they cast the net wider than the LoI, I'll be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,118 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Right decision he managed to churn out awful results with last years league winners. Didnt seem to have it in him to steady the ship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Expect them to try to get Mick Cooke.

@DaRealRoddy via Twitter
    I'm in the Sauna so can't answer phone, what's going on as me phone hasn't stopped ringing? Hope it's not about me meeting in Tallaght later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Pep?

gimmick wrote: »
    Pep?

Nah. They should try get DiCanio instead. Imagine the carnage. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Matthews?

But he is a good manager :D

*gets coat*

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Matthews?

I'd be very surprised if this Rovers board would appoint him and the fanbase would be behind him as little as certain sections were to Kenny, but anyway he's busily occupied at Shels :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Isn't Rafa in town this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

I fully expected Rovers to go on and dominate after last season, instead this. Some poor decisions seem to have been made at that club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Paul doolin???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Still think Matthews would be best choice for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

With Rovers not performing like they did last year, how much is it down to the manager, players or club officials .?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

With Rovers not performing like they did last year, how much is it down to the manager, players or club officials .?

I'd say it's mainly down to club officals.

The kitman has been very poor this season and his defending has cost them a lot of goals from set pieces.

The groundsman has been very poor in goal. Very little communication with his back four.

Club treasurer hasn't been chipping in with the goals either when Twigg has been out of form.

dfx- wrote: »
    Matthews?

I'd be very surprised if this Rovers board would appoint him and the fanbase would be behind him as little as certain sections were to Kenny, but anyway he's busily occupied at Shels :)
    I have no doubt Matthews would be willing to leave the great heights of Tolka Park, to take on the job at the club he supports in their time of need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

I'd take Rico on a temporary basis.
    I'd imagine Glass will just have one or two games at the helm.......I hope

No, Rovers don't want to be unkind and trample on any toes. Shels need a stable platform and I'm sure Matthews has many plans for Shels' future..

If I was given free reign in an ideal world to pick anyone, it'd be Magilton. He rescued MON midway through last season by instilling discipline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

No, Rovers don't want to be unkind and trample on any toes. Shels need a stable platform and I'm sure Matthews has many plans for Shels' future..

If I was given free reign in an ideal world to pick anyone, it'd be Magilton. He rescued MON midway through last season by instilling discipline.

But what about Alan Matthews record in the Cup. He would be perfect for returning Rovers into Cup Specialists. How about giving him a trial on Friday?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I'd hope it would be someone from outside the league, O'Neill, Baraclough and Cook have been the most successful in recent years so perhaps that would be the way forward. Couldn't put a name on anyone though, unless you throw Kevin Kilbane into the mix (as he was linked with the Sligo job).

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Kilbane was in the reckoning before Kenny got the job and had met the board, but he's still playing with Coventry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Brian Kerr? it would be a step up from Faroe Islands. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Brian Kerr? it would be a step up from Faroe Islands. :pac:

Exactly, he would miss out on international matches :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

"Sacked in the morning!"

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

"Sacked in the morning!"

I suppose ye were bound to get it right at some stage :pac:

Corholio wrote: »
    I suppose ye were bound to get it right at some stage :pac:
    I suspect rovers fans are wishing we got it right the first time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,083 ✭✭✭DenMan

What happened to Kenny? Once one of the most respected and admired managers in the League of Ireland. Had high hopes for him at Rovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭kksaints

"Sacked in the morning!"

Thought it was more mid-afternoon myself. :D

Hope the Shams get Matthews. Want the downword spiral to continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Should've been gone before now. His signings weren't good enough and he seemed to lose the dressing room.

I suspect rovers fans are wishing we got it right the first time :)

Yous pretty much did...

His position was untenable after that game. Despite good away wins recently, every defeat after that game was going to be exacerbated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

Aren't the posters being sarcastic when they are suggesting Matthews?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Rovers fans should be pleased. Kenny took one of the best passing sides in the league and tried to turn them into Wimbledon. His football made Trap's look attractive.

A positive move for the Hoops if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭devotional1993

I hear Staunton has put his name in the hat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

I hear Staunton has put his name in the hat
    If true would be epic...

grenache wrote: »
    Rovers fans should be pleased. Kenny took one of the best passing sides in the league and tried to turn them into Wimbledon. His football made Trap's look attractive.

A positive move for the Hoops if you ask me.
    Rovers were not afraid to hoof it under MON at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I'd imagine Glass will just have one or two games at the helm.......I hope

Doubt he will last players will see right tru him, he will be shattered after a few games with the step up and will crack with the pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,080 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'll not go back and find my post early in the season that said that SK would fail Rovers!

I'll just say, "I told you so" here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Did Rovers really play hoofball a lot? I've only seen them at the Cross really, and the odd time on tv, but down here a few weeks ago they were the best team I've seen down here this season, especially second half. Passed us off the park and looked a step above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

That_Guy wrote: »
    gimmick wrote: »
    Pep?

Nah. They should try get DiCanio instead. Imagine the carnage. :pac:

He can do nazi salutes with the fans.

Aren't the posters being sarcastic when they are suggesting Matthews?
    No, Rovers apparently have sounded him out about it.

Looking at the odds for next manager on PP, Matthews isn't even an option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

shams_mgt.jpg

Looking at the odds for next manager on PP, Matthews isn't even an option
    All the more reason to get in and request a price before the money comes in

Matthews being appointed would be prize enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Well, there goes our next 2 seasons transfer funds.

Much deserved though, Rico being the only LoI merry-go-round manager id be happy with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Ye can thank Bohs for this one lads ;P