Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Doctors Letter

• 12-09-2012 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭

Hey. I've been going to the doctor a fair bit during working hours (if I could go after work I would) and I think they're starting to get a little suspicious of me, but I am genuinely going.
    When I first asked to go it was no problem and I have never actually been asked what's wrong with me or for a letter from the doctor. But I've had to go now 3 times in the last two months and and a manager has been hinting at this being a bit suspicious of me, and I think wanted me to give some details the last time but I was able to sort of skip around the subject.

I really don't want to tell anyone why I'm going and I'm wondering if next time I go, if I have to get a letter to prove myself, will it specify what I'm going in for on the letter or will the department of the hospital or anything like that be on it?

(Sorry, I'm sure there is a more appropriate forum to ask this question but I'm just hoping I can get a quick answer and get an early night)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

The Papa Doc

What in the feck do you need a doctor for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

You're banging the doctor aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭oldat31

It never says whats wrong or why because gthat would brech doctor patient confidentiality....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

nobody answer him until we get some more details.

Is it knob rot?

this should be in Work and Jobs btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

Heh Oh Teddy... Couldn't of posted this in a better forum!

But no, it won't say what's wrong with you on the letter, if it does tell the doctor not to specify it.

As long as the doctor stamps it and has you on record, should be enough proof for your manager. Make sure your doctor signs it also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

oldat31 wrote: »
    It never says whats wrong or why because gthat would brech doctor patient confidentiality....
    Are you sure yea?
    Say for example I was seeing a specialist or something would their letter not include the area they're in?

Are you sure yea?
    Say for example I was seeing a specialist or something would their letter not include the area they're in?

Should only say the name of the practice....

Are you sure yea?

Not if you dont want it to........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Are you sure yea?
    Are you seeing the cock specialist?

Are you sure yea?

Just ask the doctor to give you a letter that wouldn't give away any info that you want to keep private.

I hope the penis enlargement surgery goes well.

Dean09 wrote: »
    You're banging the doctor aren't you?
    Not only is the doctor a man, he's about 50 and frankly just not my type:p

Where theres a will theres a way ( from behind ). :eek:

lee3155 wrote: »
    Should only say the name of the practice....
    So just the hospital name then yea :)

Has anyone had to do this and 110% sure about it?

Well, it's how they do it in my Hospital!

Best way to check is to get the doctors cert, sure if you're not happy with it, throw it in the bin! No loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

eth0 wrote: »
    What in the feck do you need a doctor for?

Probably AIDS, the good type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

well if it's a hospital you'll definitely be grand, the doctor can just use general purpose hospital headed paper and his department won't be on it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

Got a flare up of the ole genital herpes again then Teddy? You're on thin enough ice as it is with that job, without a copy of the letter explaining that going around your place of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

brummytom wrote: »
    Dean09 wrote: »
    Just ask the doctor to give you a letter that wouldn't give away any info that you want to keep private.

The letters after the doctor's name might give the game away.

Dr F O'Connor C.O.C.K.S.P.E.C.I.A.L.I.S.T

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Teddy just tell your gynaecologist that you need a letter to explain your absence from your employment, without using the words "morning sickness".

I think they might cop though when you start showing in another four months! :pac:

Ok thanks a million for the answers.
    Sorry again for posting this here. Maybe it can be locked now.

It's just a bad dose of super Aids :p
    Yis feckers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

brummytom wrote: »

Thats a nurse in most hospitals............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

Hey. I've been going to the doctor a fair bit during working hours (if I could go after work I would) and I think they're starting to get a little suspicious of me, but I am genuinely going.
    When I first asked to go it was no problem and I have never actually been asked what's wrong with me or for a letter from the doctor. But I've had to go now 3 times in the last two months and and a manager has been hinting at this being a bit suspicious of me, and I think wanted me to give some details the last time but I was able to sort of skip around the subject.

I really don't want to tell anyone why I'm going and I'm wondering if next time I go, if I have to get a letter to prove myself, will it specify what I'm going in for on the letter or will the department of the hospital or anything like that be on it?

(Sorry, I'm sure there is a more appropriate forum to ask this question but I'm just hoping I can get a quick answer and get an early night)

Most hospital certs just say X was an out-patient at X hospital today, I have had to get GP letters from work and asked the doctor not to specify the reason, work cant say anything once its signed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

It's just a bad dose of super Aids :p
    Ah, don't mind those doctors, they're just looking for money. Just use a bit of Vaseline and it'll clear in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

If you are not prepared to explain yourself fully for your absences then you should take annual leave for the time off you're taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

yeah the hospitals in dublin just have standard headed letter pages saying the name of the hospital

dr note will just say you were there and signed by the dr

If you are not prepared to explain yourself fully for your absences then you should take annual leave for the time off you're taking.

He is explaining it. He's explaining that he needs to see the doctor.
    There's no need to go into private details.

I don't think I should have to explain my private business with work if I can prove that I genuinely have to visit a doctor during working hours. If they want to deduct pay from me that's fine, but it should be my business.
    If I was being treated for depression for an example and it came to a situation where my company were going to letting people go for whatever reasons, with the stigma that still (wrongly) surrounds the subject. It could become a factor for someone making these decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

some doctors are known for giving you up to a week off when you ask them for a cert and nothing is wrong with you. worked well for a mate who wanted to go abroad on holidays. doctor knew the score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I don't think I should have to explain my private business with work if I can prove that I genuinely have to visit a doctor during working hours. If they want to deduct pay from me that's fine, but it should be my business.
    If I was being treated for depression for an example and it came to a situation where my company were going to letting people go for whatever reasons, with the stigma that still (wrongly) surrounds the subject. It could become a factor for someone making these decisions.

In that case, if you didn't want to inform your workplace of the details of your absence then you can visit a mutually agreed doctor who will adjudicate on your illness in confidence.

The fact that your illness is genuine is irrelevant as illness is not a carte blanche for skipping off work. It is not illegal in Ireland to be fired for being repeatedly absent due to illness despite what people may think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Teddy in that situation I think if you were trying to hold on to your job, you should tell your employers. Yes you have every right to privacy, but then they would be within their rights to terminate your employment for your continued unexplained absence. You would be expected to be somewhat reasonable if you expect your employer to be reasonable with you, and who knows, perhaps if you were to tell your employer that you were suffering from depression, not only would it be one small step towards de-stigmatising mental illness, but you might be surprised that your employer might be more understanding than you give them credit for!

I'm not suggesting you're suffering from depression Ted, I'm merely using your example. I also don't know the legalities around this one but I "think" your employer can request that you see their company doctor for assessment if your continuous absences at work are affecting your productivity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

OMG one of my fellow boarders is all sicky poohs, this breaks my heart, why god WHYyyyyyyyyyyyyy.

If it is cock rot the antibiotics should have worked by now(ehh not that I would know). You went and caught a dose again, didn't yeah..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

You can never be 110% certain about anything Teddy. ;)

Be good!

• Registered Users Posts: 49 kissthesky

Just tell them that you've been feeling a bit rough lately and that its knocked the stuffing out of ya.