Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

PE at the work place

• 13-09-2012 8:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭

30 mins once a week for office jobs and such. Discuss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

No, mossy. Unless it's white-collar boxing and you can hammer the ****e out of people you don't like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

We have a lounge area in our office. Table tennis, table football and x-box. That's my office pe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

mossy95 wrote: »

YOU discuss!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

class idea. bit of craic. be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,595 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Does 30 minutes "personal time" in the jacks count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

ElleEm wrote: »
    YOU discuss!!!!!

He said PE, not a bed sting society.

Fancy a pringle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

No, absolute crap. Work is for work. Join a gym if you don't wanna get fat :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

You have to still be in school to call exercise PE. Discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

My granda smells off pe.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

It's a stupid idea.

Throwing a discuss around would wreck the office in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭mossy95

ElleEm wrote: »

YOU discuss!!!!!
    People are fat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

It's a stupid idea.

It would probably break the discuss too.

Lapin wrote: »
    It's a stupid idea.

It would probably break the discuss too.
    Discuss are made of metal would not break it. Discuss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Discuses or disci? Discuss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭fuerte1976

Aidric wrote: »
    We have a lounge area in our office. Table tennis, table football and x-box. That's my office pe.

Google employee ??:D:D

or not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Who pays??

The company, the worker or who, not the tax payer I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Discus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Grown adults are well able to make time for their own exercise.

Its not up to your office to march ye around like kids.

Dont get me wrong, I love running and sport, but on my own time, not when Im told to do it. You go to work to do a job, not to run around kicking a football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

only if you get to wear the white sneakers ( guthies) not sure how to smell it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

only if you get to wear the white sneakers ( guthies) not sure how to smell it.

Before someone wears them, ideally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Its a stupid idea, my company isn't going to give us an extra half hour a day break away from production, I certainly am not going to stay in work a half an hour extra for fukcen PE.

Its an utter AH classic stupid idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,443 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I really don't think PE is necessary. Most work places usually have facilities like Gyms, or a swimming pool, or some recreational stuff so there's no need for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

In Intel we had to do stretching exercises in the cleanroom corridor at the start of every shift. Only took about 5 mins, so don't think it's really what the op has in mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

30 mins once a week for office jobs and such. Discus

don't think there'd be enough room to throw a discus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

fuerte1976 wrote: »
    Google employee ??:D:D

or not...

Nope. American multinational but not Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

These one line statements and people say discuss, would think they got an assignment for school or something and want others to do the work -.-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Disco. Discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Jonah42

An hour of exercise a day is only 4% of your day. Do it in your own time imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Depends. Compulsory? I wouldn't like that. I'd probably 'forget' my PE gear every week. At 30, I'm probably a bit old to get my dad to write me a excuse note. Plus most PE teachers are twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fobster

Take the stairs instead of the lift, one at a time, two at a time or run up them. I work on the top floor in my place, bragging wha'!, I take the lift but other folks get in and go 2 or 3 floors, not on my watch!

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Lorgach

Excellent idea. . . the big companys in the US do that sort of thing for their employees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

What work????

You and your fancy schmancy job that can do PE instead of working.

Cue time to insert tags : Bertie, Fianna Fail Wasters, Corrupt Government, IMF, Fúck You Kenny, Anglo Irish Debacle, Are Aldi Condoms OK to Use?, Public Sector Robbing Us, Bail Out Deals, Mortgages, Negative Equity, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I don't think I could handle office work but maybe if it was set up like a mix of Takeshi's castle, the crystal maze and robot wars, I'd give it a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

Sorry boss, left me gear bag at home. Sure look I'll sit it out and be quiet and browse boards.

Berns wrote: »
    These one line statements and people say discuss, would think they got an assignment for school or something and want others to do the work -.-
    Guess what... You failed miserably!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Guess what... You failed miserably!

Now that's a self-diagnosis if ever there was one.