Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What films scared you most as a child

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

This rings a bell with me alright. Freaked me out too. Just googled it there and it was "Young Sherlock Holmes" (1985)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Young_Sherlock_Holmes

I used to have nightmares about this scene too. Think I was about 10 or 11 when I watched it and I was well used to horror movies at the time. Decapitation was something new though and that scene stayed with me for a long time.

Young sherlock holmes had excellent, and very scary effects, for a kids film of that era

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

LennieB wrote: »
    Always remember seeing a film called "Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte" when I was young and it was so creepy and scary at the time...my sister and I still remember watching it to this day. Must check it out and watch it again to see if it really is as scary as we remember!

Hush Hush sweet charlotte scared me senseless as a kid, I cant even remember what its about but I was terrified of the very name for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭deafroadrunner

texas chainsaw, was bout 10 i think me and four of my cousins watched it in the house alone, we turned it off after 15 mins, we got freaked out by your with the penknife in camper van :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

House On Haunted Hill (1959)

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

OneArt wrote: »
    I was about 7 when I saw Indiana Jones and the Ark of the Covenant. The bit where God comes out of the Ark and the rabbi' face melt made me sh!t myself. What didn't help was my mother telling me that that's what happened .

Ehh????? Indiana an de wha???

David Bowie's wife in "The Man Who Fell Too Earth" pissing herself was nasty...but then again I shouldn't have been watchin' the late films on BBC2 on a Sunday night.

But the intro to this kids TV program was worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

The scream films used to kill me and i was 13!ha now theyre considered comedy:)ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

For some reason Mars Attacks was on tv as the 'Big Big Movie' on RTE. I was about 6 or 7 when I watched it.

The part where the alien bit off someone's finger is one thing I remembered from it. I had nightmares of aliens shooting people with ray guns and turning people into skeletons for months after, couldn't sleep properly for ages :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

One that sticks out was that film never ending story ( everyone gasps and say wtf) but the film is basically bout a huge wolf tring to eat a child and at the end the wolf finds him And has a creepy voice and has huge teeth and all ( did I mention huge fcukin wolf)

Had to be escorted out of the Never Ending Story in tears. The book is way better than the film anyway.

IT scared the sh1te out of me, and the tv series 'V'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

The one that I had nightmares about as a kid was a very innocent one. "Annie"

I haven't seen it in years, but as I recall, there was a scene near the end where she was climbing up some series of ladders, trying to get away from some scary person?

I can't even remember the details, I just remember having so many scary dreams about being in that situation. And I do have a fear of heights now. It's not a big deal, as it's not something I have to face in day-to-day life - or ever, really! But I do associate heights with that scene in the movie, and the fear that I felt at the time. It's stupid, yeah, I know. :o

If I had kids, I think I'd be quite careful about what they watched on TV. But, then again, it's a good learning resource.

Having said that, books aren't all that different from movies etc. I read all of the Stephen King books, from around 7-10 years old, and watched the movies, and none of those affected me as much as that "Annie" movie! Weirdly enough.
    Darby O'Gill and the Little People. Those who have seen this in their youth know why. The Banshee, The death car....

this movie is U for Universal. it's not even PG!!!! :eek:

Only saw this for the first time the other day!

Have to agree that it probably shouldn't be U rated ... some kids can be very impressionable.
    Duckjob wrote: »
    Saw "The Omen" (1976) on TV when I was 7 or 8 and was utterly traumatised by the guy getting decapitated by the glass. I really should sit down with my folks and ask some hard questions about their parenting :D

That scene, in one of the Omen movies, where the guy went under the ice and floated along for ages, and everyone tried to break the ice, but they couldn't, and he died! That was another one that still scares me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

My dad taped the original dawn of the dead for me when i was 8, me and my friend watched it after school one day... what followed was weeks of nightmares and sleeping in my parents bed and a lifelong fear of zombies.

I remember seeing some show on TV about a toy under a kids bed that came alive and dragged him under it, turned it off immediately after seeing that scared the absolute bejsus out of me whatever it was called.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭blue note

As regards childhood films that scared me I'd have to say et used. A little screaming alien running around - hated him. And as for films that scared me as a child - alien. I saw it when I was far too young for it and terror is not a strong enough word for.what I felt!

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭ukonline

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

This rings a bell with me alright. Freaked me out too. Just googled it there and it was "Young Sherlock Holmes" (1985)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Young_Sherlock_Holmes

That's the very one :D

Just found a clip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

my brother and his friend made me sit and watch the predator when i was 8 or 9 scared the s**t outta me

labrynth cant look at a picture of david bowie since creeps me out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samina

magher wrote: »
    Remember watching Jacob's ladder on rte when I was about 8. Had to run over to turn tv off after the hospital scene.

Noooooooo why would you do that? I had to turn it off as they were putting the clamps on his head.

Mine is salems lot too though I like it now. The exorcist though is something I still can't watch to this day

Also the part in Snow White and the Seven Dwarves where the Queen drinks the potion and starts choking and turns into the hag. Her starts coughing and screaming and hands go all wrinkly... Still gives me the creeps.[/QUOTE]

hated that too scared the crap outta me

Soby wrote: »
    What was that horror film where the kid got sucked into the tv , and the one where the house was invested by tralanchulas (sp)

aracnaphobia still hate it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

That scene, in one of the Omen movies, where the guy went under the ice and floated along for ages, and everyone tried to break the ice, but they couldn't, and he died! That was another one that still scares me!

Yes, I remember that particular scene staying with me for a long time too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Jacobs Ladder was an amazing film, I sometimes still think of it today, the first Sixth Sense Donnie Darko film when the ending turns the whole film on its head.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭crazylady1

Pet Cemetary. The sister scared the ****e out of me! Haven't been able to watch that film again since!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

The original a nightmare on Elm Street freaked the life out of me. I was only a child and had to smuggle the video into the house and watch it because my brother had seen it in the cinema a couple of months before and warned my parents not to let me see it. That not only made me afraid to sleep but completely afraid of the dark, for near on a couple of years. Watched insidious lately, apart from the ending, the build up of the film is not to be watched alone (in my case anyway)!

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭McNulty737

Halloween....have two older brothers so i ended up watching far too many scary films far too young....but michael myers was basically my boogie man throughout my childhood, he was lurking down every dark corridor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Monster incorporated was the scariest film EVER.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

OneArt wrote: »
    I was about 7 when I saw Indiana Jones and the Ark of the Covenant. The bit where God comes out of the Ark and the rabbi' face melt made me sh!t myself. What didn't help was my mother telling me that that's what happened to people when they looked at God because they were full of sin.

wtf??? all people or just the especially sinful? are there degrees of face-melt according to how naughty you've been?

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Tigerbaby

Salem's lot kept the light on for months afterwards.
    Also The House on Haunted Hill.

Suspiria.. now there's a tangled piece of scaryness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

Another one that stuck in my mind was a movie where a group of people in a house told stories to get over their fears. The first one was about a couple whose car broke down late at night during a rainstorm. They take shelter in an old abandoned house. They get separated while walking around and suddenly the guy sees some sort of monster in a doorway. He grabs up a sword he found and attacks. At the last minute the "monster" turns around and reveals its his wife wearing a mask on the back of her head. She's holding a birthday cake and its revealed the whole thing was a set up and she's organised a surprise party for her husband. However, as she turns around, he's still swinging the sword in slow motion and can't stop himself. He slices her head clean off while everyone looks on in horror.

Anyone have any clue what the name of the movie is?

Managed to find this after some googling. It was a 1989 movie called "After Midnight". Just watched this story there now and it's seriously lame. Things are so much scarier as a kid!

• Registered Users Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Shane.C

'Species'. Watched it when i was about 9, really messed with my head.

Had me terrified of women for a period! :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭passatman86

aracnaphobia freaked me - was only on last week, funny looking at it now
    gremlins 1 and 2 scared me a bit
    and belive it or not when ER started on tv i hated if it came on the tv with a operation scene :eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

This: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0092115/ I was 8 watching it, hated IT too but loved all other horror!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Who Framed Roger Rabbit...

The scene where he gets run over by the steamroller in slow motion. I was very young and it was the most disturbing thing I'd ever seen! I'm actually not joking!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

staker wrote: »
    There was an episode of Tales Of The Unexpected about a beekeeper who kept feeding queen bee's honey to his daughter and she eventually turned into a bee herself!!-couldn't sleep right for a month afterwards.
    Used stay up to watch that and Nighthawks, if it wasn't a scare from TOTU it was Kevin Macaleer staring down at me in the bed from the ceiling.
    That's very similar to a Roald Dahl short story called Royal Jelly from the book Tales of the Unexpected.

Anyway, does anyone remember years ago RTE showed a few 3D films - one was a Three Stooges film and another was a kind of horror. In the horror film there was a hive of killer bees living in someone's attic. There was one scene in particular where a metal pole goes through a car windshield. Even with the fairly archaic 3D it really freaked me out.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,152 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Ring (the original Japanese version) scared the bejaysus out of me. The bit where your wan comes out of the tv and the well scene are particularly good.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭One_Armed_Dwarf

crazylady1 wrote: »
    Pet Cemetary. The sister scared the ****e out of me! Haven't been able to watch that film again since!!

Same here, I can't bring myself to watch that film again, the sister with the manky back was creepy as ****!