Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quitting my PhD - thoughts?

Options
  • 14-09-2012 9:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭

Hey everyone.

I've been studying for a PhD in biology for the past six years (yes, six :eek: ) and I've decided to throw in the towel. I have enough data for two results chapters, but the stuff for the 3rd just never worked and I asked just about every PI in the department for help and no one could figure it out.

I take part of the blame myself. I never got over my second year blues and I probably could have pushed myself harder, but mostly I blame my supervisor. I know that's an easy thing to do, but this particular person has been in trouble with the department before for being abusive towards pgs and has really bullied me and belittled me since I arrived. My self confidence and self esteem are really on the floor thanks to this woman.