Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Six in the City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Very good. We're making progress. RTE were responsible for broadcasting the programme. Not the participants. Not the programme makers.

Agreed.
    Who was responsible for the behaviour of the participants? Themselves, of course, but that doesn't mean anyone was obliged to broadcast their cavortings.

Agreed.

Did they have any authority to decide what was put out on the air? Not in the slightest, any more than the chimps have a say in a David Attenborough documentary.

Responsibility always rests with the broadcaster.

Damn, we were almost three for three there! I would've thought you'd be more media savvy Bock tbh. This couple certainly had the authority to decide what was put out on air. In fact I'd be pretty sure they signed a contract to that effect. Signing this contract meant they would've given the shows producers free reign over how the show was edited and how they were portrayed on the show. This is certainly more rights than the chimps in a David Attenborough documentary.

RTE's contract was with the producers of the show, not with the participants, so RTE can in no way be held responsible for how the show's participants chose to behave like monkeys that had just escaped from captivity.

I understand that you might say RTE had a duty of care towards the licence payers not to screen this drivel, but it's not really the license payers that get to call the shots in RTE, it's the ADVERTISERS who pull the purse strings, and if RTE decide that this drivel will have an audience, they will broadcast it, because the advertising and sponsorship will bring in much needed revenue.

If you don't like how Limerick City was portrayed, then turning off your TV set will send a clearer message to RTE than a strongly worded letter. Because when you turn off your TV set, it means you're not viewing the advertisements, and if you're not viewing the advertisements, you are cutting off a revenue stream from RTE. Enough people turn off- THEN RTE will sit up and take notice, because as they say- money talks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

Jesus ladies get a room.

Limerick has a bad name. No one thing or person is responsible.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭Bock the Robber

RTE can in no way be held responsible for how the show's participants chose to behave!

Tell that one to Monica Leech.

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Beaver1

look I think they made a show of themselves and they made themselves look like knob-heads, did they make a show of Limerick , no bloody way, there's Tammy and Dannie's all over the country, everyone knows them, Bock I think your blowing this right out of proportion imo.

Tell that one to Monica Leech.

Try to stay on point Bock?

Not sure what your point is in this case actually, or what it has to do with RTE!

From your own site, in your own opinion- unattractive woman sues newspaper for defamation of character? What the newspaper printed didn't actually happen, whereas in this case, Tammy and Danny can't sue anybody because they themselves were responsible for how they were portrayed!

http://bocktherobber.com/2009/06/monica-leech-e1-9-million-defamation-award-explained/

http://bocktherobber.com/2010/03/monica-leech-2/

Try to stay on point Bock!

You're arguing for the sake of it now and I don't have spare time for those sort of shenanigans.

I've said all I have to say for the moment. Take it any way you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭MHalberstram

You're arguing for the sake of it now and I don't have spare time for those sort of shenanigans.

Standard behaviour for that poster, they did the same in another thread about Limerick recently. Frankly their obnoxious attitude is ruining this forum for myself and others.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭Janet1986

The one thing i will say about Tammy and Danny is, they are a happy couple and get on great together.

The other two couples didn't seem to be as happy as Tammy and Danny are in their relationship and the women (Galway and Dublin) are clearly the dominant ones there.

That's a positive image Tammy and Danny did show, they are happy :)

I don't argue for the sake of arguing, I was merely pointing out that your umbrage was misdirected and that you could use your considerable journalistic resources to find the actual people responsible for bringing as you see it Limerick City's reputation into disrepute.

I agree with you at least that I don't think anything further is to be gained from you trying to stir up a bit of an audience for your blog here, it clearly hasn't worked to your advantage, and moreso turned me off ever bothering to visit your blog again when I see how petty you can be as to try and ridicule a public figure worth based solely on her looks!

I'd love to say it's been interesting, but really? It hasn't, and this is what I referred to earlier when I said I would listen to what somebody had to say, despite not having much time for what they said.

Perhaps you'll do us the honor of gracing us with your presence again when you get a reply back from the BCC as chances are I won't be bothered visiting your blog again to see your report.

Standard behaviour for that poster, they did the same in another thread about Limerick recently. Frankly their obnoxious attitude is ruining this forum for myself and others.

This thread is about Tammy and Danny's behaviour MH, not mine, and to be just as frank, without turning this thread into another tete-a-tete, I would encourage you to report the posts you find unsavoury and have the Moderators deal with it in due course as they see fit. I would hate to see this forum ruined for anybody and certainly I would not have anyone made feel unwelcome here. We are all entitled to our opinions and to express them in a manner that follows the forum rules and I have done exactly that. We failed to see eye to eye on some issues, it's not something I'd fall out with anyone over!

Perhaps you'll do us the honor of gracing us with your presence again when you get a reply back from the BCC as chances are I won't be bothered visiting your blog again to see your report.

Us? Are you speaking on behalf of someone else?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

I watched the programme and I was glad that the Limerick couple won.

you had three couples.

the Limerick Couple (with a LIMERICK accent on the girl - what kind of accent would you like her to have - an AMERICAN accent like the girl from Galway show had spent her whole life here, her schooling etc, yet retained her American accent - (how false). or maybe the Drogheda accent like the Dublin one - oh wait, she must have gotten rid of her droghed accent hai).
    The Limerick girl was true to Limerick with her LIMERICK accent. Nothing wrong with a regional accent. You wouldn't want a Ballyfermot person talking like a Dublin 4 person - you would call that ridiculous. Yet slating someone for not changing their accent? really, come on!

The Galway Two - your man was okay - the wife was a pain in the ass. Fairly basic couple really - him knowing that he was run of the mill, her thinking she was "different" (she isn;t except for her pretend strong US accent). She showed her true colours when she seemed drunk, when they were trying to decide the points - your man couldn't get anything right - she had to have the last word and barked at him when he opened his mouth - god help him. Did not see much "chemistry"

The Dublin Two - in my opinion these two were the worst of the lot - the woman (from Drogheda HAI) moaned and had a face to turn milk sour complaining from the start - she said she wasn't used to going to pubs and slated the limerick karaoke pub - yet the partner she had with the gray/green hair wouldn't get off the stage. Also when it was their night they didn't seem to have a problem going to the "pub". She also stated that she was very intimidated when he was bringing her to pubs in Dublin as she was only used to country pubs (as in Louth HAI). Hypocrites. She looked like she had a poker up her a*rse during the whole programme. Everything was atrocious and not up to her Drogheda standard. LOL. Also, found no chemistry about these two - he's a wannabe "celebrity" with green/gray hair and no charisma, and she needs an ice pick to melt her down a bit. She will definitely have to watch your man - he seems to think he is some sort of "jigalo". Not a very nice couple.

All in all, I am happy that these two won - okay, their manners weren't great, they were loud, said what they wanted, got lingered AS A LOT OF YOUNG PEOPLE DO. They looked like they were in the mid twenties - the Galway couple looked like thirties and the dublin couple in their fifties. Of course they are not going to gel.

The Limerick two were the most natural, be it bad or good - it was the "here I am, take it or leave it" that I like about them.

Those Limerick people putting them down for their accent - really, you should know better - its a Limerick accent - thats where They and you come from - there is nothing wrong with the accent. Try having A LOUTH ACCENT. But then again, if they changed their accent ye would probably say that they were acting "above their station"

Hope they enjoy their holiday away. They seemed the happiest of the couples in all fairness. They got on great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Beaver1 wrote: »
    look I think they made a show of themselves and they made themselves look like knob-heads, did they make a show of Limerick , no bloody way, there's Tammy and Dannie's all over the country, everyone knows them, Bock I think your blowing this right out of proportion imo.

Funny they hadn't any Danny and Tammys from Galway or Dublin on it then. I didn't see it, nor do I have any intention of watching it, as to be honest I find such programmes insulting to my intelligience. I heard a clip on the radio and felt annoyed by them. Its issues other than making a show of themselves with such couples I take exception to but that's for another day.

Us? Are you speaking on behalf of someone else?

To quote yourself there Bock:

Try to keep the thread on point. Anything else you might wish to discuss with me personallly you're more than welcome to PM me at this stage so we're not further dragging the thread off topic.

To quote yourself there Bock:

Try to keep the thread on point. Anything else you might wish to discuss with me personallly you're more than welcome to PM me at this stage so we're not further dragging the thread off topic.

I've made my point. You're the one who keeps trolling.

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Beaver1

Roadend wrote: »
    Funny they hadn't any Danny and Tammys from Galway or Dublin on it then. I didn't see it, nor do I have any intention of watching it, as to be honest I find such programmes insulting to my intelligience. I heard a clip on the radio and felt annoyed by them. Its issues other than making a show of themselves with such couples I take exception to but that's for another day.
    good for you,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Maybe they should have had an IT expert from Limerick with a neutral mid west accent. Maybe they could have had the dole heads from Galway? Or maybe even Longford, as I'd imagine there's a fair amount on the dole up there.
    I didn't watch any of it, as I have no time for "reality tv" and especially shows like CDWM etc.
    Why didn't they have some musician from Limerick on? There's a great music scene here.
    It seems if RTE are going to do anything on Limerick, they assume we are all nackers or rugby nuts. Can't win either way........

seachto7 wrote: »
    Maybe they should have had an IT expert from Limerick with a neutral mid west accent. Maybe they could have had the dole heads from Galway? Or maybe even Longford, as I'd imagine there's a fair amount on the dole up there.
    I didn't watch any of it, as I have no time for "reality tv" and especially shows like CDWM etc.
    Why didn't they have some musician from Limerick on? There's a great music scene here.
    It seems if RTE are going to do anything on Limerick, they assume we are all nackers or rugby nuts. Can't win either way........

unless you have seen the programme, your posts are invalid Why would you post on something you haven't seen.

I've made my point. You're the one who keeps trolling.

Trolling Bock?

I was not the poster who initially likened two Limerick citizens to pigs and called them uncouth, uneducated thicks and knobheads.

I was not the one who posted my twitterspat on this thread.

I was not the one who introduced Monica Leech to the thread, completely irrelevant and out of context.

I am not the one who repeatedly says they're taking the ball and going home when the discussion doesn't suit me, then interjecting from the sidelines every so often.

If you refer to two of your own citizens as uncouth, uneducated thicks and knobheads, then it is you yourself who are perpetuating a Limerick stereotype, when what you COULD have done, is used your considerable media influence to approach these people and talk to them and try and get a better understanding of Limerick from their perspective.

I would gather from your dismissal of them as uncouth, uneducated thicks and knobheads that you have no wish to approach them. You think you're going to get any better hearing from RTE?

I've already suggested a solution to your issue with RTE's portrayal of our city. But what you fail to realise is that you need to get from behind the keyboard and go out and meet the people that make up your city, and I for one would extend the invitation to you now, or to anyone else in Limerick, to come for a coffee, meet up for a chat, and maybe you might be surprised!

Or you can sit behind your keyboard and lament what you see as RTE's portrayal of the people of Limerick City as a bunch of uncouth, uneducated thicks and knobheads.

unless you have seen the programme, your posts are invalid Why would you post on something you haven't seen.

I saw an ad for it, and from what I saw, no way would I watch it. I read about it in the last few days, and heard the interview with "yer wan" and her fella on the radio. Really low brow stuff............
    The bigger issue isn't whether I have seen the programme or not though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

I watched about 2 mins and I had to turn it off, utter car crash tv. These people obviously have no shame! An embarrassment to the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

A quick read through this thread would reveal exactly what happened, no need to see it to comment on it. Anyway, how do you think it would be received if the poshos were from Limerick and the..... other end of the spectrum were from Dublin. How do you think that would be received in Dubland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭MHalberstram

Did the I Love Limerick crowd make any comment on this tv show. They usually have something to say any time Limerick is in the media. Surprised Rich Anthon or Richard Lynch or whatever he goes by these days didn't make an appearance himself on the show, he's never far from the limelight after all :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Everhopeful

After reading all the comments about this show I had to have a look and I must say I had a good laugh. Lets face it this country is in s.....te, every time you open a paper, turn on the telly or listen to a chat show on the radio its about the state of the country/economy and its quite depressing. This show was a little fun and e/body knows that "reality" tv is never "real". It was a little diversion from all the crap that we have to listen to.

Fishy Fishy - you are extremely bitter and nasty with your comments - a little chip on the shoulder I think, also for you to think the Limerick couple were the best and the Dublin couple the worst leaves me to believe you are either friends with them or are one of them, or act like them, because there was no way they deserved to win. I know they were extremely rude and at the end of the day the only people they hurt/embarrassed were themselves. Or, you know the Dublin couple and for some reason hate them, because you really are a nasty bit of work with what you say (and most of what you thought you heard/saw is incorrect)

In my opinion I think the Dublin and Galway couples were lovely. Fishy Fishy, the lady from Dublin did not say she was from Drogheda she only socialised in Drogheda & Navan (these are towns so the pubs would be in these towns not the country). She didn't say she didn't like pubs she said she didn't like karaoke. She spoke very well and to be honest held her tongue very well with all the abuse she seemed to be getting from Tam and Dan. Just because she wasn't vulgar, rude, uncouth and could speak well and pass herself well you think she looked like she had a poker up are butt. Well your comments have well and truly shown me (and hopefully others) what you must be like. Why such nasty comments about Martin - he is an older man and had grey hair - so what - he is also respectable (as was Fiona) and they both spoke very well and had great manners. I suppose because there weren't rotten drunk and making a show of themselves leads you to believe they are "up their own butts". People are different and act differently but no matter how you act socially or otherwise manners should be of the most importance, but I gather you don't think like this.

Regarding the Galway lady and her American accent - I know people from Mayo who went to Chicago over 30 years ago and they never lost their Irish accent and I would commend them for that. If she wants to hold onto her American accent what has it got to do with you Fishy and all you others, you don't have to deal/speak to her so get over it. Tom was a quiet man and where she was a little more talkative that him I wouldn't say she was domineering and I could say the same for Fiona. Just because some women have the confidence to speak out (in a nice manner) doesn't mean they are domineering.... In fact Tammy was far more controlling in the program but no doubt Fishy you are not going to agree as you seem to have some type of mental connection with these people.

Just a note to all of you who are sitting behind your phones/computers writing horrible/hurtful/nasty/ugly/incorrect comments about these people - these people had the balls to do this program knowing the back lash that would follow, but at least they did it. Even Tammy and Danny registered on this site in their own names and didn't hide behind any other name. We saw a 50 minute program which was filmed over 3 nights and it probably took 10-12 hours to film each night. So we saw 30-36 hours of filming condensed into 50 mins and without a doubt it was edited beyond oblivion. Of course the production company is going to show the worst they can show in order to shock - and lets face it, because of e/body's comments on all sites they have got the publicity they wanted.
    These nights were also drink infused and if it's anything like CDWM the contestants were interviewed at the end of the night when there had been a lot of drink consumed - which is evident from the voting done by Tam and Dan on the Galway night.

How in Gods name can any of you think you "know" what any of these people are like after seeing them on TV for 50 mins. If you met them and spoke to them over a long period of time well so be it, but none of us know what these people are really like, what is going on in their lives, what worries and troubles they may have, but at the end of the day they are human beings and have feelings and to read these nasty comments from people who don't know one thing about them must be horrible. I know it's going to be said when you put yourself out there like they did it's to be expected, but some of the comments are really awful. It definitely doesn't make the person making the comments look good, didn't think there were so many nasty ugly natured people in this country.

I would love to see you nasty lot revealing who you are, what you look like, how you talk, how you pass yourself in company, on a TV show and then let the rest of us judge you - bet not one of you would come forward.

Keep in mind there were probably 2 cameras on these people at all times, how could any of them be natural and you also forget we DIDN'T SEE the full 30-36 hours so for all we know they had a great laugh/time and were themselves.

TO THE LIMERICK PEOPLE - Looking at the behaviour of Tammy & Danny (and it was the worst I have ever seen on TV) I would not judge all Limerick people by their actions. Of course I would go to Limerick and to be honest I really don't think they would put anybody off visiting Limerick. There is this element in every city/town in the country, it's just unfortunate that it was Limerick that looked the worst.
    Also keep in mind they were a young couple and were pumped with drink which didn't help, they just didn't have the cop on not to keep their very strong opinions to themselves and to act a little for the camera.

So Bock the Robber and Say Who Now please stop the silly argument about who's to blame, RTE, Production Company and the Limerick couple are ALL to blame and if it means so much to you why don't you ask the question *would you visit Limerick after seeing this show" to all the people on this site and see what you get back. One couple in all of Limerick is not going to put people off.

My opinion

Dublin - Older (Fiona definitely not in her 50's - dressed beautifully - great figure - beautiful dresses - lovely speaker - very polite (which was evident when dealing with Limerick) and could pass herself very well. Was funny at times but looked nervous. NB I'M NOT FROM DUBLIN......

Martin - very outgoing, loves the limelight, dresses his age, speaks well and very polite and knows his place. I think they looked lovey together.

Galway - Courtney - very nice, nice dresses, seemed very happy with Tom
    very polite and a quiet type of person.

Tom - a really lovely guy, quiet, respectable, polite and lovely manners - and I think they looked good together.

Limerick - They were suited to each other without a doubt, they were funny, outspoken (to say the least) and lets face it entertained a lot of us.
    They are who they are and really who are any of us to judge any of these people.

All of you be honest with yourselves did any of these people do anything to hurt/embarrass you in any way. Yes, the Limerick couple were embarrassing to look at but it's a show, take it for what it is, I'm sure another reality TV program will be on soon and you can all tear another set of people apart and for some sick reason feel good about it.

Just to finish off, a lot of you who made nasty/personal/derogatory comments about the people on the show (especially Tammy and Danny) makes you no better than the Limerick couple you are giving out about. All of you are being as nasty as they were the only difference is that they were up front about it (fairy play) the rest of you are hiding away. Of course have your opinions about the show and how they were on the show, don't pull them apart i.e. cloths, hair, looks, accents and how they are in general. I bet the majority of you are no oil paintings.

Good luck to the 3 couples and if you are reading the nasty comments try to ignore them, you know who you are as do your family and friends and at the end of the day that is what matters the most.

After reading all the comments about this show I had to have a look and I must say I had a good laugh. Lets face it this country is in s.....te, every time you open a paper, turn on the telly or listen to a chat show on the radio its about the state of the country/economy and its quite depressing. This show was a little fun and e/body knows that "reality" tv is never "real". It was a little diversion from all the crap that we have to listen to.

Fishy Fishy - you are extremely bitter and nasty with your comments - a little chip on the shoulder I think, also for you to think the Limerick couple were the best and the Dublin couple the worst leaves me to believe you are either friends with them or are one of them, or act like them, because there was no way they deserved to win. I know they were extremely rude and at the end of the day the only people they hurt/embarrassed were themselves. Or, you know the Dublin couple and for some reason hate them, because you really are a nasty bit of work with what you say (and most of what you thought you heard/saw is incorrect)

In my opinion I think the Dublin and Galway couples were lovely. Fishy Fishy, the lady from Dublin did not say she was from Drogheda she only socialised in Drogheda & Navan (these are towns so the pubs would be in these towns not the country). She didn't say she didn't like pubs she said she didn't like karaoke. She spoke very well and to be honest held her tongue very well with all the abuse she seemed to be getting from Tam and Dan. Just because she wasn't vulgar, rude, uncouth and could speak well and pass herself well you think she looked like she had a poker up are butt. Well your comments have well and truly shown me (and hopefully others) what you must be like. Why such nasty comments about Martin - he is an older man and had grey hair - so what - he is also respectable (as was Fiona) and they both spoke very well and had great manners. I suppose because there weren't rotten drunk and making a show of themselves leads you to believe they are "up their own butts". People are different and act differently but no matter how you act socially or otherwise manners should be of the most importance, but I gather you don't think like this.

Regarding the Galway lady and her American accent - I know people from Mayo who went to Chicago over 30 years ago and they never lost their Irish accent and I would commend them for that. If she wants to hold onto her American accent what has it got to do with you Fishy and all you others, you don't have to deal/speak to her so get over it. Tom was a quiet man and where she was a little more talkative that him I wouldn't say she was domineering and I could say the same for Fiona. Just because some women have the confidence to speak out (in a nice manner) doesn't mean they are domineering.... In fact Tammy was far more controlling in the program but no doubt Fishy you are not going to agree as you seem to have some type of mental connection with these people.

Just a note to all of you who are sitting behind your phones/computers writing horrible/hurtful/nasty/ugly/incorrect comments about these people - these people had the balls to do this program knowing the back lash that would follow, but at least they did it. Even Tammy and Danny registered on this site in their own names and didn't hide behind any other name. We saw a 50 minute program which was filmed over 3 nights and it probably took 10-12 hours to film each night. So we saw 30-36 hours of filming condensed into 50 mins and without a doubt it was edited beyond oblivion. Of course the production company is going to show the worst they can show in order to shock - and lets face it, because of e/body's comments on all sites they have got the publicity they wanted.
    These nights were also drink infused and if it's anything like CDWM the contestants were interviewed at the end of the night when there had been a lot of drink consumed - which is evident from the voting done by Tam and Dan on the Galway night.

How in Gods name can any of you think you "know" what any of these people are like after seeing them on TV for 50 mins. If you met them and spoke to them over a long period of time well so be it, but none of us know what these people are really like, what is going on in their lives, what worries and troubles they may have, but at the end of the day they are human beings and have feelings and to read these nasty comments from people who don't know one thing about them must be horrible. I know it's going to be said when you put yourself out there like they did it's to be expected, but some of the comments are really awful. It definitely doesn't make the person making the comments look good, didn't think there were so many nasty ugly natured people in this country.

I would love to see you nasty lot revealing who you are, what you look like, how you talk, how you pass yourself in company, on a TV show and then let the rest of us judge you - bet not one of you would come forward.

Keep in mind there were probably 2 cameras on these people at all times, how could any of them be natural and you also forget we DIDN'T SEE the full 30-36 hours so for all we know they had a great laugh/time and were themselves.

TO THE LIMERICK PEOPLE - Looking at the behaviour of Tammy & Danny (and it was the worst I have ever seen on TV) I would not judge all Limerick people by their actions. Of course I would go to Limerick and to be honest I really don't think they would put anybody off visiting Limerick. There is this element in every city/town in the country, it's just unfortunate that it was Limerick that looked the worst.
    Also keep in mind they were a young couple and were pumped with drink which didn't help, they just didn't have the cop on not to keep their very strong opinions to themselves and to act a little for the camera.

So Bock the Robber and Say Who Now please stop the silly argument about who's to blame, RTE, Production Company and the Limerick couple are ALL to blame and if it means so much to you why don't you ask the question *would you visit Limerick after seeing this show" to all the people on this site and see what you get back. One couple in all of Limerick is not going to put people off.

My opinion

Dublin - Older (Fiona definitely not in her 50's - dressed beautifully - great figure - beautiful dresses - lovely speaker - very polite (which was evident when dealing with Limerick) and could pass herself very well. Was funny at times but looked nervous. NB I'M NOT FROM DUBLIN......

Martin - very outgoing, loves the limelight, dresses his age, speaks well and very polite and knows his place. I think they looked lovey together.

Galway - Courtney - very nice, nice dresses, seemed very happy with Tom
    very polite and a quiet type of person.

Tom - a really lovely guy, quiet, respectable, polite and lovely manners - and I think they looked good together.

Limerick - They were suited to each other without a doubt, they were funny, outspoken (to say the least) and lets face it entertained a lot of us.
    They are who they are and really who are any of us to judge any of these people.

All of you be honest with yourselves did any of these people do anything to hurt/embarrass you in any way. Yes, the Limerick couple were embarrassing to look at but it's a show, take it for what it is, I'm sure another reality TV program will be on soon and you can all tear another set of people apart and for some sick reason feel good about it.

Just to finish off, a lot of you who made nasty/personal/derogatory comments about the people on the show (especially Tammy and Danny) makes you no better than the Limerick couple you are giving out about. All of you are being as nasty as they were the only difference is that they were up front about it (fairy play) the rest of you are hiding away. Of course have your opinions about the show and how they were on the show, don't pull them apart i.e. cloths, hair, looks, accents and how they are in general. I bet the majority of you are no oil paintings.

Good luck to the 3 couples and if you are reading the nasty comments try to ignore them, you know who you are as do your family and friends and at the end of the day that is what matters the most.

prize for THE most self contradictory post in the thread - fairy play! :o:o

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Fishy Fishy - you are extremely bitter and nasty with your comments - a little chip on the shoulder I think...

Well your comments have well and truly shown me (and hopefully others) what you must be like...

In fact Tammy was far more controlling in the program but no doubt Fishy you are not going to agree as you seem to have some type of mental connection with these people...

It definitely doesn't make the person making the comments look good, didn't think there were so many nasty ugly natured people in this country...

I would love to see you nasty lot revealing who you are...

I'm sure another reality TV program will be on soon and you can all tear another set of people apart and for some sick reason feel good about it...

I bet the majority of you are no oil paintings...

Take a week off, and remember to post a little bit more respectfully when you come back. The above comments are not of a suitable standard for decent discussion on this forum.

People are different and act differently but no matter how you act socially or otherwise manners should be of the most importance...

I completely agree with you that manners should always be of the utmost importance, but then you go and contradict yourself by congratulating this couple for being so upfront about being nasty.

I already made an open invitation to posters to meet up for a coffee so you are more than welcome to judge me in person as you see fit-
    you need to get from behind the keyboard and go out and meet the people that make up your city, and I for one would extend the invitation to you now, or to anyone else in Limerick, to come for a coffee, meet up for a chat, and maybe you might be surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

I should have gone on the show.

My Scouse/German accent would have messed with a few heads if I was introduced as being Limerick born.:D

Righto, just watched the show. I can't believe the basic lack of manners from the Limerick couple. The came across as very rude, and a bit thick. They couldn't even hold a conversation.
    At least the others had basic bloody manners....
    The "American" was a right dose though. She came here when she was 4, and was schooled here. These are the formative years. No way she would have kept her American accent. No way.
    it's different when you emigrate as an adult or young adult.

We have been stitched up again.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 Popz

Okay so I saw this show last week, and yes I was embarrassed slightly by Tammy & Danny and their behaviour on the show. But let's get one thing straight, Tammy is a Limerick person through and through, she may not be your cup of tea, but should she be hidden away and not allowed on a television show because some of you feel she helps to portray a negative image of our city. SHe is as entitled to go on a show as anyone, and her and Danny form a part of our mixed and vibrant city and I think some on here have been extremely rude in your comments both to "them" and about them!

Tammy & Danny, ye won! I would say fair play but ye had a strategy and ye stuck to it, But ye won for yourselves and that is fair enough.

Also the other thing that annoys me is the way a lot of people in Limericl get so wound up by the Dublin "Meja's" portrayal of our great city, it is an outdated stereotype and all RTE and other outlets do is show themselves up by repeatedly going back to it.
    But we as a city and county only let ourselves down everytime we jump up and down and start a hissy fit about it. Let them off! Instead of us focusing on the negative and giving out about it, lets use our energy to promote the city in a positive light - it would be a much more productive use of our time and energy!
    Instead of hounding BAI/ RTE giving out about this negative spin hound them about all the great things happening in and around Limerick!