Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Poshest posh product you ever spent money on

• 14-09-2012 12:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭

Last week I was looking to do a bit of wood filling. So I bought a 50ml tin of 'Duchy originals' organic wood filler from Waitrose. Made from a tree cut down by Prince Philip himself there last year or so on Balmoral estate when he was showing a bunch of girl scouts how to fell a tree with his Stihl MS880. Pulverised using traditional methods and donation to the prince's charities from every tin sold. Only cost me 15 quid.

When I was finished I had a cured salmon sandwich and washed it down with some Duchy Originals organic cider in a Waterford Crystal glass I paid 48e for a couple of years back.

A few years ago I also bought a few litres of Aspen petrol and Bioplus chain oil that cost 2x more than ordinary chain oil. Mostly because I was doing demonstrations for a few scouts at the time and wanted to impress them how I'm always doing the right thing and buying organic healthy stuff that doesn't pollute the environment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

some french letters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Quilted bogroll!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Probably an 18 year old bottle of Glenmorangie...

TBH, I preferred the 10 year old Cellar 13 which was about half the price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Molton Brown shower gel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

IPhone 4 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

Goose fat for the roast potatoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,353 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

A string vest and a can of Stella to match it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

bottle of Hennessy XO cognac and a box of 25 Cohiba Robusto Cuban cigars to celebrate a family occasion.

Or possibly the humidor I bought a couple of years earlier to store my cigars in.

Or my watch. Hard to say really. The watch cost more, but somehow doesn't seem as "posh".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Bottle of Bollinger Champagne so i could pretend to be like James Bond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Do posh **** count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Ivory back scratcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Jo Malone bath stuff and perfume

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

A bag of kopi luwak coffee for a few hundred dollars. I love coffee and I had to taste it. Spent almost 2 grand on the coffee machine as well. Only area I'm a bit of a posh snob in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Truffle oil, fugou, foie gras, lobster, squid guts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

A Lexus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Six 330ml bottles of the world's best beer for €50. Worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I bought a small tin of expensive caviar one time just to see what all the fuss was about. It tasted fcukin manky so I gave it to the cat

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Jake the dog

Cigars, Champagne, Designer suits from Louis Copeland. Needless to say I'm skint now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Cheese, wine, make up and meat are things I always spend a lot of money on.

Not really posh in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

For some strange reason i once splashed out something like 100 quid on a pair of suede gloves, being entirely un-used to the wearing of gloves i promptly left them behind in some pub or other after about a week:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Cigars, Champagne, Designer suits from Louis Copeland. Needless to say I'm skint now.

But no doubt looking sharp, Jake!

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭Stretchryan

Just got myself a Volcano Vapouriser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

One spent a frightful amount on updating my wine rack with the finest Bordeaux money can buy.

Despite the oakiness of the red '87 on the whole I jolly well enjoyed it old bean!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

LOL

You loaded loon.

I bought a painting of an artist in a studio once, 280euro, I do like the painting and you never know. She could be a potential picasso. Years from now it could be in an auction for 100 million.

OK it wont be, but i had to justify buying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

A f*ckin boat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

A very nice expensive watch. One of my co-workers robbed it from my locker the next summer which made me sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Bought a bucket of drink for 6 euro in a nightclub Wednesday.... I looked posh spending 6 euro on a drink on a student night out

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

A winerack for my Buckfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

irish-stew wrote: »
    Do posh **** count?

They're so over rated too. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,715 ✭✭✭Feisar

Hugo Boss Leather Jacket

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

A lobster. Not to eat, just as a pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The cheapest thing I could find in the Harrods food court, just to get a Harrods bag.
    Well posh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭VictorRomeo

A cashmere sweater by an Italian company called Loro Piana for.... for more than I'm prepared to admit to here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Horsemeat.
    a Fedora.
    a chanel handbag for the woman.
    an espresso maker.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

a duffel coat. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Oh and I've bought Chanel stuff for other people a good few times, never for myself though, I'm a fairly extravagant present buyer.

rain on wrote: »
    Oh and I've bought Chanel stuff for other people a good few times, never for myself though, I'm a fairly extravagant present buyer.

ooh, well hello there.... ;);) I loves me some Chanel pressies.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

Airplane Ticket - it's the potential

A cashmere sweater by an Italian company called Loro Piana for.... for more than I'm prepared to admit to here...

googles Loro Piana for price....;)

Jaysus!!!!! for a bleedin jumper????

FOOK Me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I spent 400 euro on a crystal lamp for my parents 25th wedding anniversary this year. They're worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I spent 400 euro on a crystal lamp for my parents 25th wedding anniversary this year. They're worth it.

Your parents might be worth €400, but is the lamp worth it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Confab wrote: »
    Your parents might be worth €400, but is the lamp worth it?

Yeah, actually it was worth it and they love it which is all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Ivory back scratcher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭gara

Does a €180 pair of pyjamas count?

Dancor wrote: »
    Ivory back scratcher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I once clubbed a baby seal and had him made into a coat for my dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭xDramaxQueenx

andrex toilet paper with the aloe vera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

My Royal Doulton with hand-painted periwinkles. My sister Violet has a mercedes and room for a pony.