Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sunderland V Liverpool 15th September KO 5:30pm (ESPN)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Getting sick of Suarez' shít

So am I. I didn't mind when he was scoring fairly regularly and playing well, but it's getting old now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Front three feeding on scraps for the last 15 minutes. Gerrard and Shelvey are underwhelming to say the least, leaving Allen to cover pretty much all the defensive duties as well as trying to be an outlet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Shelvey and Gerrard awful.

If we're going to do anything Suarez or Sterling will have a part in it.

BorrinI tries hard but achieves little.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

mike65 wrote: »
    Shelvey and Gerrard are both having poor games, Sahin at least needs to come on maybe
    even Henderson.

Would normally say WTF? :confused: but seeing as its his former club...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Oh and Kellys shiote too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

telekon wrote: »
    I wonder how many penalties Suarez would win if he played for United and Howard Webb was ref for every game?
    Probably none as he'd be on the bench.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭JaMarcus Hustle

I wonder how many penalties Suarez would win if he played for United and Howard Webb was ref for every game?

Hard to win a penalty when you'd be on the bench week in, week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,229 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Definite contact knee to knee, not a pen, but not a yellow.

Yeah, Suarez doesn't dive. He just exaggerates contact.

Probably none as he'd be on the bench.
    Hard to win a penalty when you'd be on the bench week in, week out.

Suarez > Welbeck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

We do need somebody to come on in CM, Shelvey looks off the pace today, and Gerard isnt up to much either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

He carries alot of baggage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Jaysus the influx of Utd fans with the trigger fingers, have a look at your own squad before you start posting.

Kess73 wrote: »
    Front three feeding on scraps for the last 15 minutes. Gerrard and Shelvey are underwhelming to say the least, leaving Allen to cover pretty much all the defensive duties as well as trying to be an outlet.

We are so unbalanced it's criminal.

Rodgers took a big risk not getting in a replacement for Lucas while letting Spearing go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

The thing is though, he does himself no favours at all the way he goes down with that minimal contact. Has his name now, and he wont get one sometime he probably should do.

Absolutely agree but when people call him out for diving (which to me suggests no contact) and the ref books for it the ref should be shown that there was actually contact. I said myself I did not think it was a pen, the ball was almost off the pitch when he went over but there was definite contact and contact on the knee when moving at pace can certainly make you go over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

mike65 wrote: »
    Oh and Kellys shiote too.
    Think he's done well against a tough, physical opponent. Far from our biggest problem out there, of which there are many.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Suarez > Welbeck.
    Welbeck would be sitting next to him.

Rooney, RVP > Suarez.

Good chance wasted there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Suarez > Welbeck.

At diving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Shame Johnson is out, would like to see him play this as we seem to be doing well down that side.

Rooney, RVP > Suarez.

Are we talking the Rooney of this season (including Euros) or last?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

rarnes1 wrote: »

Rodgers took a big risk not getting in a replacement for Lucas while letting Spearing go.

He needed to save on wages to be able to sign a target man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭double GG

We come not to play.

Never a truer word said.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Yeah, lets judge him on a game and a half...

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

Gerard doesn't look to keen to get on the ball at all. Allen is always working hard to make an angle to receive a pass. None of that at all from Gerrard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Rooney, RVP > Suarez.

The Rooney of any season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Can we just ban all mentions of Utd in Liverpool match threads?? F*ck sake!

adox wrote: »
    At diving.

If that was the case then Suarez would have got the penalty while Welbeck got the yellow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,229 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I'd take Rooney of any season over Suarez.

Edit: Yeah, what Cambo said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

In pub now, do cant really hear. What happened just prior to the goal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

At diving.

Well who managed to con the ref today, Suarez or wellbeck.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Where's LuckyLloyd? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

monkey9 wrote: »

What about next weekend :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

im trying hard to buy into rodgers system but lately especially after that first half performance i find it a struggle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Well that was exactly what I suspected it would be!

There is soooooooooo much work to be done with this Liverpool squad.

Kelly - lumpy
    Gerrard - too deep too long
    Shelvey - just bleugh today
    Borini and Suarez not playing in their respectively better positions but that's the managers blind spot.

Sterling playing like a lad for whom nothing but air sits on his shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,555 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Sorry but Spearing is not really missed and would not offer anything to this game.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Disappointed that we didn't score after all the attempts...we really have to work on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Decent last 15-20 minutes for us after an awful start to the game where we could barely pass the ball. Been a lot better and more confident after the goal. Still wouldn't rule Liverpool out of this though, we'll no doubt concede at least one.

ush wrote: »
    He needed to save on wages to be able to sign a target man.

That worked out well didn't it!

Last season we had misfiring strikers and never replaced Lucas.

Same story this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

niallo27 wrote: »

It was a joke. Btw it's Welbeck. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

niallo27 wrote: »
    At diving.

That's more a reflection on the referees than the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Lot of work to do at halftime. We can get back in this tho... come on lads!!!

GavRedKing wrote: »
    What about next weekend :pac:

Merseyside Reds vs Manchester Reds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

People need give Rodgers time. He has hell of mess to fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭witnessrenegade

Has Johnson forgot how to defend? Jonjo has been poor, so has Gerrard. Kelly and Sterling are the only players trying to attack. If this is our strong team without Lucas it's depressing, and Suarez? WTF? Quit complaining looking for stuff and f****ing score a goal or at least have a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Bloody awful. At least last season we defended competently for the most part even though we couldn't score. Now we still can't score and we can't defend either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,342 ✭✭✭Ardent

Not looking good for Liverpool in this game. Everyone badly off the pace. Could Shelvey look any more pedestrian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,297 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

monkey9 wrote: »

Bit hard when it's out side forces who bring them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Ah the United fans are in.

I f*cking love the way Shelvey just stops running when he loses the ball.

Opta stat - One goal in this game has been caused by Joe Allen giving the ball away.

Fletcher doing a good job in the Drogba role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Sahin for Gerrard would be one change that might restore some balance. Let Sahin then play alongside Allen.

Would take Shelvey off and bring on Assaidi. Put Assaidi on the left and push Suarez into the centre behind Borini so that he plays in the Support striker/CAM slot and give him and Assaidi the freedom to switch roles as Assaidi can play left wing, right wing, support striker or as a CAM.

Might mean being closer to a 4-2-3-1 than a 4-3-3 but the formations are similar enough in terms of set up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Bloody awful. At least last season we defended competently for the most part even though we couldn't score. Now we still can't score and we can't defend either.

true our defending so far this season has been nothing short of shocking