Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Life after drink...

• 15-09-2012 11:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I think I'm going to stop drinking alcohol after this weekend. It's starting to get a bit boring at this stage and hangovers are resembling the comedown from pills.

Any suggestions for alternative pastimes that don't include listening to drunk people while sober and team sports?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Get out and reconnect with nature. Go climb a mountain or somethin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Any suggestions for alternative pastimes that don't include listening to drunk people while sober and team sports?

Do you live near the sea Sir?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Smoke weed errday.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

I'm in the same boat. There was a time I could be out three or four nights a week & I'd be fine the next day.
    One night out, not even a mad session, has me in bits for two days.
    I suppose something like the cinema?
    I started cooking for friends of a Saturday night if nothing else is going on. Good food, wine & a chat. Still feels like you're out but your pocket & liver will be thankful the next morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Get into Smack instead. I hear it's very moreish.

Everything else...?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Exercising
    Playing sport
    Going to the cinema
    Entertaining friends with dinner or other activities
    Playing a musical instrument
    Attending live musical performances
    Reading
    Writing
    Making smartarsed comments on the internet
    Bowling
    Charity work
    Returning to education
    Choosing to learn something new in your own time, for your own reasons
    Going for walks
    Becoming a vigilante

There's not much else to do apart from the pub really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Try snorting hash.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Do you live near the sea Sir?
    I do indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Robbing Banks. A great passtime for sober lads. Tough enough when drunk, so it sounds like an ideal "time filler". You can fill your evenings with reccees and planning. You need a goal to aim for. Go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

F**kin love the gargle

Smoke weed errday.
    That was ages 17-24.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

F**kin love the gargle

You must spend a fortune on Listerine.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Free-running?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

I think I'm going to stop drinking alcohol after this weekend. It's starting to get a bit boring at this stage and hangovers are resembling the comedown from pills.
    Why don't you just give up the pills and stay on the dhrink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭The Idyll Race

Write shie' on Boards.
    Find a point of view that really pisses you off and take the piss out of it.
    Break the consensus and stick it to the sheeple.

Alternatively you may well find that a vicious hangover may well be preferable to talking to brick wall intelligences.

Why don't you just give up the pills and stay on the dhrink.
    Cause I need to do something. Bloody hell I'm not a monk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

Become a narky boring ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Exercising
    Playing sport
    Going to the cinema
    Entertaining friends with dinner or other activities
    Playing a musical instrument
    Attending live musical performances
    Reading
    Writing
    Making smartarsed comments on the internet
    Bowling
    Charity work
    Returning to education
    Choosing to learn something new in your own time, for your own reasons
    Going for walks
    Becoming a vigilante

There's not much else to do apart from the pub really.

I like the vigilante idea. But bowling?!?!?! Dear Lord, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I do indeed.

Surfing/body boarding.

Coastal or deep sea fishing.

Photography (birds/waves/cliffs/dolphins)

Scuba diving.

Coasteering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Surfing/body boarding.

Scuba diving.

Coasteering.

Maybe some naughty stuff in the sand dunes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Free-running?:D
    Have you seen the price of a good pair of new runners? free?? Me hole:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

There is alot of things to do,but the problem is that most of these things are activities that you do during the day and with other people.

The problem is Saturday night when you are alone at home trying to keep your mind away from the idea of going out.

Yeah sure you can go cinema some weekends,or maybe stay in and get a takeaway and enjoy a good movie,but this can become stale after a few weeks.

You can try going out like you normally do,and just not drink? I find it boring,especially when people start getting tipsy and talking crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

"Sorry Homer. I'm a coward now, like all recovering alcoholics!"

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

Become a vigilante.

Surfing/body boarding.

Scuba diving.

Coasteering.
    Yeah was thinking that myself. Surfing looks like good craic.

Pottler wrote: »
    Have you seen the price of a good pair of new runners? free?? Me hole:D
    Plus running sucks ass.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

What's wrong with going out and not drinking? I get bored of drinking all the time. Sometimes its nice to just sit in cafe/bar places and chatting with friends.

Then again I don't know if you can really do that in Ireland :(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Eh you can do every hobby mentioned above and still go out and get slaughtered or drink moderately after.

At night ? TV and Xbox.

OneArt wrote: »
    What's wrong with going out and not drinking? I get bored of drinking all the time. Sometimes its nice to just sit in cafe/bar places and chatting with friends.

Then again I don't know if you can really do that in Ireland :(.
    Not when I'm sober and they're all drunk. Hell naw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Take a visit to this place below and you won't need alcohol again.

Skydive and you will have a major moment of clarity and a feeling of absolute well-being. The ultimate high. http://www.skydive.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

This:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056749663

or

You could collect as many back issues of magazines like Hello and OK as you can and make scrapbooks devoted to the life and times of all your favourite celebs. Even better use the cuttings to create elaborate comic book style stories of your own creation. Think about it! The unlikely hero Russell Brand trying to save the Damsel in distress Bill Cullen from the dastardly Nazi Prince Harry.

Whichever one you choose let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭a fat guy

I just head out anyway and drink orange juice...

Seriously, it's not that hard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

The vigilante option seems popular, all you need is a snooker ball in a sock.How about stalking random people ?

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭sailing

Save the money you would normally spend on a night out and do things you normally wouldn't with your life.

Seeing the sun rise on the summit of Killiminjaro beats waking up to a mid winter Sunday morning hangover anyday. Just remember in a few years time you will have forgotten all your wasted nights out. Do things you never thought you would and you'll bring the memories of them to your grave.

It dosen't mean you have to live like a monk either. Life dosen't stop just because alcohol has.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭The Master.

dont ditch the drink just yet. lately i have become dissilusioned with it also but i have been trying stronger beers now and spirits instead of getting bagged up with low strength lager and not really getting pissed.
    Warka is a polish beer with 5.6% and a good way to start your new drinking habits. i wont touch anything less than 5.5% now even for refreshment purposes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'm drinking a pina colada right now, on a rainy Sunday in Dublin. But if you feel as though you have a problem OP, stop. I rarely drink to get drunk, I don't enjoy being drunk. But I do like the taste. That reminds me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,338 ✭✭✭Archeron

You could recreate this beautiful Spanish galleon in your own home. Week by week, be amazed as your very own large pile of small random plastic pieces gets even bigger, and marvel as you realize that Time after time, you receive bits that dont connect to any of the bits you already have. Complete in just 2,000 issues, this is an incredible way to waste time and money. Issue one comes with a small plastic cannon and this long flat piece you wont need for months and will probably lose.. In shops now, only 9.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

a fat guy wrote: »
    I just head out anyway and drink orange juice...

Seriously, it's not that hard!

I do that, as well as slur my speech and act the dick, and no-one knows the difference, people think that I was already drunk when I arrived. It saves me a feckin fortune.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

i guess if ya had a few good mates who thought the same, stay in and dont drink and every 6 weeks or whatever head off somewhere and play golf or something, and get on the lash afterwards with the monday off work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭passatman86

join adverts.ie and post the sh1t out of the free adds section
    once you have this done - stay at home and wait patiently for updates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Quorum

Not when I'm sober and they're all drunk. Hell naw.

Yep, from the nights I've been out and haven't been drinking, I know that all drunk people are insufferable. Repetitive, overly effusive, just plain annoying. And yes, I include drunk me in that assessment. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Don't be weak, you have to drink through the boredom.

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

Run around your neighbourhood naeked at 4am while slapping your ass.
    No one will see you and its most liberating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭beeroclock

Don't be weak, you have to drink through the boredom.

What the hell kind of advice is this?

Actually it damn god advice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

beeroclock wrote: »
    What the hell kind of advice is this?

Actually it damn god advice :D

Drink has never given up on you because it was bored, and lets be fair, you aren't all that interesting until you are combined with booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭beeroclock

Drink has never given up on you because it was bored, and lets be fair, you aren't all that interesting until you are combined with booze.

words of wisdom sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

Confab wrote: »
    I'm drinking a pina colada right now, on a rainy Sunday in Dublin. But if you feel as though you have a problem OP, stop. I rarely drink to get drunk, I don't enjoy being drunk. But I do like the taste. That reminds me.

Lol,you posted this at 10.33am ya alco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Sex. It's free, it's great and it's better without drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭talla10

Aidric wrote: »
    Sex. It's free, it's great and it's better without drink.

Beer is helping ugly people get sex since 1889