Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your video game regrets.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    People who complain about the cutscenes in MGS make me sad. :(

some of them are excellent, a lot are awful, Kojima isnt nearly as good a writer as he thinks he is, godawful dialogue and clunky exposition all over the place, especially in MGS4

actually, not building a gaming PC for so long.

this for me too, havent had one in a few years, and seeing my housemate able to go nuts on steam sales (I've a macbook so compatibility is an issue) and get loads of great games for half nothing makes me a jealous panda.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

That Enter The Matrix game, ugh.

And my mam selling my SNES years ago... MARIO PAINT, NOOOO!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Buying every game in sight and finishing basically none of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

My biggest regret is buying Conkers Pocket Tales on the Gameboy Colour. It had a few bugs that really annoyed me.

I do love the Wii but I don't know why I ever got a Wii Fit. I've used it maybe 4 times.

I also regret buying "My Fitness Coach" on the ds because it was shoddy and the add on was made of flimsy plastic.

I know my brothers biggest regret was selling off our N64 plus a ton of games (Zelda OT, Majoras mask, Mario 64, Goldeneye, Perfect Dark, Pokemon Coliseum, Banjo Kazooie, Donkey Kong 64, Mario Kart 64, Mario Tennis, Super Smash Bros...) and four controllers for a grand total of €50 on ebay back in 2004. The fool didn't factor in postage costs and since someone in Dublin bought it he decided to deliver it himself. Total costs to him: €45. Total profit: €5. We'd given all our previous consoles to Crumlin which at least comes with a feel good factor!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Never played a SNES. Ever.

Gunmonkey wrote: »

*faints*

rectify this asap.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,383 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Overwriting all my old DOS games diskettes with useless crap (porn, most like) as a teenager since "I'll never use them again, sure". Pity.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,433 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

Gunmonkey wrote: »

The guys on the 8-4 Play podcast recently did a multi-hour retrospective on the SNES. It is spread over two podcasts and it is a really good listen.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Recent one would be buying MW3 and not trading it in after an hour of playing it, and I'm being kind. Could say after 10 mins tbh. A game has never made me so angry before. There was no redeeming feature about it. At least I only bought the standard edition and not the hardened one like so many did.

Sticking with the CoD theme for one more moment. Playing so much CoD for a couple of years solid, as a result I missed out on playing some fantastic games at the time. Like the Uncharted series, only played 1 & 2 last summer, bought 3 at launch, and the Assassin's Creed series. I played AC I at launch, enjoyed it besides it flaws. Was excited for II but never got around to buying it. Only played Brotherhood and Revelation this past summer and thoroughly enjoyed it. Still need to buy II, likewise Red Dead Redemption.

Not buying a gaming PC, though I will do so next year when I move across the pond.

Buying a PSP. Technically my brother bought it, but I bought a few games and movies for it too. Burnout, GTA LC Stories and a couple of movies aside, really didn't get much use out of it. Was no doubt a waste of money. But it doesn't hold a candle to the next one.

Buying a Nintendo Gamecube. Found Mario Sunshine boring and I didn't enjoy Mario Kart anywhere near the level of the previous games.

No regrets as such with the 2600, SNES or N64.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    Sticking with the CoD theme for one more moment. Playing so much CoD for a couple of years solid, as a result I missed out on playing some fantastic games at the time. Like the Uncharted series, only played 1 & 2 last summer, bought 3 at launch, and the Assassin's Creed series. I played AC I at launch, enjoyed it besides it flaws. Was excited for II but never got around to buying it. Only played Brotherhood and Revelation this past summer and thoroughly enjoyed it. Still need to buy II, likewise Red Dead Redemption.

In someways people would pay to have this kind of regret, you get to discover real gems that everyone else has completed :) .

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭ProjectColossus

My major gaming regret is that I got a job and have very little gaming time anymore :(

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Cargin

That I harvested, and did not rescue...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Biggest regrets were probably all this year.

Diablo3 - Click, click, click, click, click, yawn

Guild Wars 2 - Got bored very fast. Not as groundbreaking as I was led to believe. Stupid amount of bugs. Would have been happier with Mist of Panderia. My breaking point was when I had three unopened chests and had to buy some gems to exchange for a key. Constant balance changes after release also a pain.

Borderlands2 - Not loving the combat at all. I'm missing a lot of the story because it gets interrupted by other dialogue. DLC so soon after release was also a kick in the balls.

Thankfully ive been kept happy with skyrim, Xcom, ftl and walking dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

BopNiblets wrote: »
    That Enter The Matrix game, ugh.

The Matrix: Path of Neo for the ps2 was a much better game

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Sega Dreamcast,

Terrible, just terrible.

Also regret tyrading my xbox360 in for a ps3. In Hindsight, also terrible, just terrible.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Sega Dreamcast,

Terrible, just terrible.

*SLAP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

Sega Dreamcast,

Terrible, just terrible.

you disappoint me not as a gamer, but as a human being :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Sega Dreamcast,

Terrible, just terrible.

dafuq.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Also regret tyrading my xbox360 in for a ps3. In Hindsight, also terrible, just terrible.

There's so much wrong with that sentence, and not just grammatically. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Sega Dreamcast,

Terrible, just terrible.
    wat

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

duke nukem forever

• Registered Users Posts: 33,745 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Traded in so many games that I ended up buying again, rather than just keeping them. I think I've bought The Orange Box about 4 times now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Ok, to you all i say this:

Sega dreamcast had a few good games (Chu-Chu Rocket and sega bass fishing were both brilliant), but as a piece of hardware, it was awkard to use, the controllers were massive and clunky, storage space was crap, etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Buying a PS3 at launch for €625, it was a shambles online when you had to quit to the XMB to read a feckin message.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

One of my recent regrets is starting Spec ops and then playing other games before getting back to it and finishing it.

It's a short enough game (between 4 to 7 hours) so I think it took away from it a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭DredFX

I remember buying Brink on its launch day. It looked amazing, and the previews seemed to be giving it a lot of praise at the time. I made my way to GameStop, forked over €50 for it, and went home eagerly anticipating how awesome I thought it was going to be.

Dreadful A.I, poor level variety, boring campaign, incredibly laggy online servers, and crappy guns.

I've played much worse games than Brink, believe me, but dishing out fifty quid for such an utterly disappointing game was something that I still regret to this day.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

DredFX wrote: »
    I remember buying Brink on its launch day. It looked amazing, and the previews seemed to be giving it a lot of praise at the time. I made my way to GameStop, forked over €50 for it, and went home eagerly anticipating how awesome I thought it was going to be.

Dreadful A.I, poor level variety, boring campaign, incredibly laggy online servers, and crappy guns.

I've played much worse games than Brink, believe me, but dishing out fifty quid for such an utterly disappointing game was something that I still regret to this day.

My Steam account says "56 minutes played" - , and I also paid full price. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Mine might be a little funny: I think my biggest gaming regret is sinking 30 hours or whatever into Dragon Age: Origins. I thought it was, at best, a deeply mediocre game, which had won rave reviews and loads of positive feedback from players. Usually when I play a game that isn't at least 3.5 stars out of five in my own opinion, I stop playing before devoting too much time to it, as my playing time is limited and I've so many unplayed games in my library that have excellent reviews on Metacritic that I'd be better served playing something else. I persevered with DA:O, it never really got better and I was left wondering what all the fuss was about!

Hmm, the fact that I never played System Shock 2 back in the day is a regret too; I loved the original (despite being unable to finish it) but let SS2 pass me by. Someone here sent me a copy of it about five years ago but I couldn't get it to work on my PC at the time, and at this stage I just couldn't live with the retro graphics, no matter the strengths of the gameplay / story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

Swapping my PS1 in 1999 for a SNES.

Not because I got the much older console (i think the SNES blows everything else from the 90s away and got a tonne of use out of - might even try hooking it up later!), but because i couldn't play WipEout 2097 any more and never got to own Wip3out :(