Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Should Page 3 discontinue?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

The innuendo is going to kill me saying this, but it's a bit hard to get their personality across on paper, so they give them a soundbite is all, I don't really think it's meant to patronise the girls or make like they're idiots, and clearly if you read her opinion then at least one person has taken notice of her opinion! ;)

Are they supposed to have a personality? I thought they were just there for their tits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Timfy

If an attractive girl wants to show off her dirty pillows in a newspaper and get paid reasonably well for it I have no problem.

I do have an issue with the creepy paparazzi who hide in bushes miles from their unsuspecting prey and take pictures using military grade telephoto equipment and then use the "Sure, they're public property" excuse. I also do not understand the mentality of anyone who wants to see a grainy, barely visible pair of lady bumps taken from near earth orbit... be it the future queen of blighty or Jedwards mum! :eek:

The interwebs are awash with porn, if you want to shake it around a bit, google is surely your first port of call :confused:

No trees were harmed in the posting of this message, however a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

wilkie2006 wrote: »
    Are they supposed to have a personality? I thought they were just there for their tits?

A little bit from column "a", a little bit from column "b"! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I've always found page 3 so weird and out of place. It's kind of alienating to be reading a paper (when someone puts a gun to my head and makes me read the red tops) and for there suddenly to be this naked girl with the most bizarre blurb beside her.

"Jenny, 21, from Newcastle, supports the people of Syria in their struggle to overcome brutal oppression". It's just weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

They should get rid of the stupid quotes obviously not said by the "models"

Candy, 20 Newcastle
    "I agree with Albert Einstein when he said "No problem can be solved from the same level of consciousness that created it." and try to live by this every day"

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    I've always found page 3 so weird and out of place. It's kind of alienating to be reading a paper (when someone puts a gun to my head and makes me read the red tops) and for there suddenly to be this naked girl with the most bizarre blurb beside her.

"Jenny, 21, from Newcastle, supports the people of Syria in their struggle to overcome brutal oppression". It's just weird.

I'd find it more alienating quite frankly if someone were putting a gun to my head! Do you often get people putting a gun to your head? You might want to report that to the Gardai!

And I'd hardly call it "suddenly" either when the feature itself is called "PAGE 3", clue is in the title! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

omega666 wrote: »
    some people would say durty auld irish women flocking in their droves to buy a book detailing graphic sex acts with bondage and submission is a bit sad. Each to thier own i guess.

I would be one of those people. It's shite. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I don't think it should be banned. Not a big fan or anything but it's not doing any great harm IMO.
    funny that women want page 3 removed yet all their crap magazines like take a break, pick me up, love it ect.... have pages in them dedicated to pictures of naked men
    No they don't. And even if they did, what makes you so sure the women who like them are the same women who want page 3 discontinued?
    Freedom of speech, he should be allowed to print whatever he wants on page 3.
    No he shouldn't. There are plenty of things that are legally and ethically not suitable for being published in a newspaper.

They own the paper and they want it? Thats about the only arguement thats needed. If you owned it youd be free to do as you please with it.

It doesnt need to have a purpose. Even if the editer says he only puts it in so he can have a **** over it every day, thats his choice.

That's a crap argument, tbh (on the side of the hypothetical editor). Why bother having press standards at all if we're going to debase young ones in a newspaper for some cheap and pointless titillation?
    Would you rather keep them poor? It's their choice to follow any career they want. If they want to fly to Holland or Germany and become prostitutes they can.

No, I'd rather they see more options for themselves and focus on a career with longevity that doesn't depend on something as fleeting as their looks.

If it would decrease sales significantly, then there's no point discontinuing

on principle should they be made to? hell no
    private paper, if you don't like it don't read it

s/read/ogle/

Ahh right, ok I can see why you think it's sad. But these little girls as you put it growing up and wanting to be like jordan, hell there were the girls who became Scientists and mathematicians that wanted to be spice girls when they were kids! If you think you have a fight on your hands with page3, perhaps it'd be best you don't consider the amount of pre-pubescent girls that want to become hardcore porn stars!

Two sides of the same coin, IMO. The severity is all that differs.
    There's always going to be horrible creepy fùckers too, in every walk of life, the one's that stare at page3 are just harmless, unsightly but harmless, and creepy, nothing more. There's a hell of a lot worse you could encounter.

As for what kids are exposed to, perhaps you should skip my post in the "awkward situations" thread then! :pac: Or avoid taking the kids on continental holidays where young women walk topless on the beaches showing their ample assets! We don't have the weather for it here is the only reason that stops many women going topless on the beaches, otherwise we too would have been normalised to it decades ago and not had it hidden away and buried like old "Mickey Masturbator" over there who you'd swear he never saw a tit in his life! :D

I've actually no problem with women going topless on a beach. There's a different context and motivation there; it's not purely for the titillation of socially incapable old pervs to salivate over. The guys I described in the workplace canteen earlier were exactly the same ones who would casually sexually harass the young ones in work and think nothing of it. That's not too long ago either.

Sex is natural; nudity is natural. Parading young ones (as young as 16 less than 10 years ago) alongside news, however tabloid, is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

i couldn't give a toss, i won't be looking at their crap newspaper anyway. if i want to look at tits i have the internet if I'm that desperate

I'm not saying that Page 3 is the most evil, depraved thing in the world but I think that it hasn't evolved along with the rest of society.Is there any real reason for it to be in a newspaper? It's a bit incongruous and weird, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I'm really suprised that, as of this post, its 52 in favor. 50 against. Down the middle.

I cant help but think that the vast majority of people against page 3 feel so because they dont want nudity shown to kids. As it is a news paper that can be easily picked up... (after all, the issue is not about nudity in magainzes just the aspect that its a newspaper)

But what about singers in the public eye like Rihianna and the likes? ;) ... "Come here, rude boy, boy, can you get it up? Come here rude boy, boy, is you big enough?" :pac:

Or is society entering the golden age of "pc" - that nothing is deemed acceptable to everyone ;)

I'm really suprised that, as of this post, its 52 in favor. 50 against. Down the middle.

I cant help but think that the vast majority of people against page 3 feel so because they dont want nudity shown to kids. As it is a news paper that can be easily picked up... (after all, the issue is about nudity in magainzes just the aspect that its a newspaper)

But what about singers in the public eye like Rihianna and the likes? ;) ... "Come here, rude boy, boy, can you get it up? Come here rude boy, boy, is you big enough?" :pac:

Or is society entering the golden age of "pc" - that nothing is deemed acceptable to everyone ;)

Rihanna is in no way suitable for kids. It's shocking the amount of parents who let their kids listen to such explicit lyrics. There are things that are not suitable for kids and it's not a "Won't somebody please think of the children?" rant to point that out.

Western society is far more sexually liberal than it ever was, so no - I don't think we're becoming too pc in this regard.

I cant help but think that the vast majority of people against page 3 feel so because they dont want nudity shown to kids. As it is a news paper that can be easily picked up... (after all, the issue is not about nudity in magainzes just the aspect that its a newspaper)

I think sexual freedom is brilliant. I'm delighted that Ireland's becoming more liberated and that people are able to do what they want with people who want to do it. What I don't think is useful, though, is things like Page 3 that makes sexuality a commodity - something to buy, trade with and appropriate. Sticking a pair of tits in a newspaper, without any context, isn't sexy - it's like looking at a car ad. Obviously people don't all agree but it's just how I feel.

That's one of the things that bothers me about it too that I couldn't quite put my finger on. Thanks! :)

Millicent wrote: »
    Rihanna is in no way suitable for kids. It's shocking the amount of parents who let their kids listen to such explicit lyrics. There are things that are not suitable for kids and it's not a "Won't somebody please think of the children?" rant to point that out.

For me...
    Its just ... well say page 3 ends. There where does it stop? ... It would just be another action taken to "not offend or upset anyone"

For me its just another form of censorship (censorship in this case as page 3 has been established for decades. Its just something that is)

This topic reminds me of other censorships that Ireland and the UK has had in previous years. Examples being, Reservoir dogs & Showgirls being banned in Ireland for ages. UTV butchering up actions movies in the 90s (Die Hard is a great example :pac:) Its like we are told what is appropriate and whats not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

They objectify women, therefore they should be discontinued. But before we discontinue those Page 3s, I think the Chippendales ought to be banned from performing on Irish shore as they objectify men.

You're a woman, right? :pac:

They objectifies women, therefore they should be discontinued. But before we discontinue those Page 3s, I think the Chippendales ought to be banned from performing on Irish shore as they objectify men.

It should be noted that its perfectly acceptable to show a guys naked ass on tv. But a womens ass classes under female nudity ;)

For me...
    Its just ... well say page 3 ends. There where does it stop? ... It would just be another action taken to "not offend or upset anyone"

For me its just another form of censorship (censorship in this case as page 3 has been established for decades. Its just something that is)

This topic reminds me of other censorships that Ireland and the UK has had in previous years. Examples being, Reservoir dogs & Showgirls being banned in Ireland for ages. UTV butchering up actions movies in the 90s (Die Hard is a great example :pac:) Its like we are told what is appropriate and whats not.

But why keep it? What possible point does it have or need does it serve? I'm not comfortable with the slippery slope argument on this one. Films, books etc. need to be protected against puritanical censorship in the name of art and self expression; splashing a pair of 18-year-old boobs in what's supposed to be a newspaper doesn't need to be.

If one person can give me a cogent argument as to why it's not an outdated and backward practice, I will happily change my mind on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Yes, the world is being deprived or all these great doctors and top level researchers. We'd have no cancer or aids if these girls stayed on to further education.
    I get the very subtle sarcasm in your post but who's to say that they aren't capable girls? Are you assuming because they get their top off that they're inherently unintelligent? Because that just proves one of my problems with Page 3.
    I'm pretty sure that you're still allowed go to college if you've gotten your tits out in the Sun.

Claire Tully is a biochemistry grad of Trinity College. Appears she wishes to forget about her past..
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/irelands-first-page-three-model-erases-the-past-2886883.html

If one person can give me a cogent argument as to why it's not an outdated and backward practice, I will happily change my mind on this.

I won't give you any other argument Millicent other than it gives me a few seconds of a smile in the morning before I turn to the back pages to read the Dear Deirdre letters. I don't think it's outdated by any means, and certainly it has progressed with the times, you've pointed out yourself earlier why we'll never see the likes of Samantha Fox on Page 3 ever again (she was 16 when she made her first appearance on Page 3 back in the 80's, and has made numerous return appearances since!).

Also it is not the practice itself that is backward, but some of the audience that view it! You cannot ban something on the grounds that a minority derive sexual gratification from it! In that case you would have to ban everything on the planet! :confused:

There are far more important things in the world to be worrying about than a girl who chooses to model for page 3! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

It should be noted that its perfectly acceptable to show a guys naked ass on tv.

Thus is the extent to which men have been objectified in the media. It's a disgrace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

This one I definitely don't agree with. Showing tits on Page 3 is freedom of speech?! You're having a laugh! Living in a country that still has blasphemy laws on its books and guarantees no freedom of speech, I think you'd be hard pushed to find sympathy for that position either.

The blasphemy laws are a disgrace too, people should be allowed to print what they want as long as it doesn't violate anyone's rights (such as libel), tbh this country's free speech laws are a disgrace as it is and seriously need to be brought into the 21st century...

I won't give you any other argument Millicent other than it gives me a few seconds of a smile in the morning before I turn to the back pages to read the Dear Deirdre letters. I don't think it's outdated by any means, and certainly it has progressed with the times, you've pointed out yourself earlier why we'll never see the likes of Samantha Fox on Page 3 ever again (she was 16 when she made her first appearance on Page 3 back in the 80's, and has made numerous return appearances since!).

Dear Deidre makes me laugh, I will admit. Not to insult you in any way, but why do you think a national paper should include boobs in it just to give readers a few seconds of a smile? It just seems so very odd to me and out of place. I don't honestly think it's moved on that much since the Sam Fox days either.

The blasphemy laws are a disgrace too, people should be allowed to print what they want as long as it doesn't violate anyone's rights (such as libel), tbh this country's free speech laws are a disgrace as it is and seriously need to be brought into the 21st century...

The right to print boobs in a daily paper does not need to be enshrined in a free speech law though. Boobs have no place in a national newspaper, IMO. It cheapens journalism standards, whether it's Page 3 or grainy pictures of Kate Middleton/whatever other celeb.

Last post for the night, but if ye can get past the title, this article in the Guardian sums up some of my feelings quite well. It's an interesting read, even if not everyone will agree with it.

But why keep it? What possible point does it have or need does it serve? I'm not comfortable with the slippery slope argument on this one. Films, books etc. need to be protected against puritanical censorship in the name of art and self expression; splashing a pair of 18-year-old boobs in what's supposed to be a newspaper doesn't need to be.

Ok. We ban page 3 then ;)

Then what happens? We must both agree that this would be an significant event. One that will make headline news & also open up other doors... So what follows? Because there will be people who will use this as an example to censor other things...

- Lets put a stop to magazines such as playboy? Make them harder to buy. (kinda like the 80s isnt it?) They objectify women too.
    - Lets do the same to men's magazines? (Like, the 90s isnt it?) Again, objectify women.
    - Lets stop lingerie advertisement? objectify women
    - Censor all sexual content from newspapers. (1950s Ireland is calling)

Ok. We ban page 3 then ;)

Then what happens? We must both agree that this would be an significant event. One that will make headline news & also open up other doors... So what follows? Because their will be people who will use this as an example to censor other things...

- Lets put a stop to magazines such as playboy? Make them harder to buy. (kinda like the 80s isnt it?) They objectify women too.
    - Lets do the same to men's magazines? (Like, the 90s isnt it?) Again, objectify women.
    - Lets stop lingerie advertisement? objectify women
    - Censor all sexual content from newspapers. (1950s Ireland is calling)

I haven't said anything about those other publications. I read porn. I like some nudey mags. I just think that newspapers should be held to a higher standard than Page 3, is all. We can deal with the other arguments when they crop up but there's no point in arguing to keep something because it *might* have a knock-on effect on other publications.

It should be noted that its perfectly acceptable to show a guys naked ass on tv. But a womens ass classes under female nudity ;)
    Meh, an erect penis cannot be shown in mainstream tv/movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The right to print boobs in a daily paper does not need to be enshrined in a free speech law though. Boobs have no place in a national newspaper, IMO. It cheapens journalism standards, whether it's Page 3 or grainy pictures of Kate Middleton/whatever other celeb.

If people choose to print it and others choose to read it that's their business, if you don't want to, you don't have to.
    YOU feel it cheapens journalism values, not everyone agrees. The difference with the Kate Middleton photos, by the way, is that she did not consent to their publication. The two are in no way comparable.

Freedom of speech is freedom of speech, boobies or otherwise. Consenting adults are consenting adults.

I haven't said anything about those other publications. I read porn. I like some nudey mags. I just think that newspapers should be held to a higher standard than Page 3, is all. We can deal with the other arguments when they crop up but there's no point in arguing to keep something because it *might* have a knock-on effect on other publications.

It would.
    I just read wikipedia and seems the first Page 3 (boobs version) was 1970. 42 years old.

Lets think logically. Are the sun really going to end it? or will they be forced to end it? (the latter seems the only way) Be it political or law.

You honestly standing behind the fact it "MIGHT" carry over to other mediums of female nudity? ;)

Madam_X wrote: »
    Meh, an erect penis cannot be shown in mainstream tv/movies.

Yup.
    Nor can a vagina. Only pubic hair.

Millicent. take note :pac:

Dear Deidre makes me laugh, I will admit. Not to insult you in any way, but why do you think a national paper should include boobs in it just to give readers a few seconds of a smile? It just seems so very odd to me and out of place. I don't honestly think it's moved on that much since the Sam Fox days either.

Hmm, do we have all night on this one Millicent? No I actually DO understand where you're coming from, but you give the Sun FAR too much credit calling it a national newspaper. That's as laughable as the Sun calling itself a "family" newspaper! :pac:

Of course it seems odd and out of place to you because you try to make sense of something that makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. You make the mistake of regarding the Sun newspaper as an attempt at any kind of journalism.

I will admit I buy it mainly for those two features alone, (page 3 and dear deirdre), the rest I just consider filler in between, no interest in sport so sometimes it's ok for the odd x factor story.

When I want to read an ACTUAL newspaper then, I'll buy the Sunday Business Post after mass on a Sunday and read it down the park or in the comfort and privacy of my own home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Why would you want to change your mind?
    Outdated and backward really how so? If some girl wants to pose topless for money who are we to say she is wrong and if men want to buy the paper to look at said girl it's their business but I honestly don't see much harm in it myself.

Last post for the night, but if ye can get past the title, this article in the Guardian sums up some of my feelings quite well. It's an interesting read, even if not everyone will agree with it.

I've just read that article Millicent, good lord that Deborah Orr comes across as miserable. Many of her comments I imagined her spitting thru gritted teeth almost, such was the aggression that came across while reading it.

I found it hard to take her comments seriously, I could see where she was coming from, but she's reaching for something that just isn't there, in the paper I mean. She is allowing her feminist perspective to color her judgement and I don't think her contempt stops at Page 3, I think she has a problem with the whole of the Sun newspaper.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

I don't feel too strongly about it either way to be honest however I would like to understand the reasons for people wanting the removing of Page 3. It has been there for 42 years. The women are doing it of their own free will (deluded or not, they DO actually make the choice to do it).

If they were to have a topless man for the ladies every day alongside the Page 3 girl, I wouldn't bat an eyelid. Go to the beach on a summers day along the Med and you will see all the topless blokes in the world.

Funny that we are supposedly moving into a more liberal and accepting society but some people want to ban Page 3? And make nudity (even more) taboo? Sometimes it seems like we're actually moving AWAY from liberalism

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

In today's climate with everything freely available on the Internet, page 3 as a little redundant, but this hullabaloo is all over one of the so called elite getting photographed topless. The world has moved on my friends.

Even in the celebrity world, that no longer is a big deal. Even secret sex tapes are now run of the mill.

I see the focus on the page 3 modelling as severe opportunism by militant feminists, in which I find more offensive than a pretty young ones ample assets, so I voted kelp em in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

The Sun would never drop page 3. There is no other reason to buy it. Additionally if you look at the names that appear on it. A large majority seem to be from liverpool. This is not a co incidence. I dont believe that its true either. Its not as if you can here there accent.

The sun is a rag. Its complete and utter rubbish. I stopped buying it when i was 20. I figured if i wants to see good tits i would buy loaded or nuts

Watch this space.... Ipones and android phones will do away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I wouldn't demand it banned, but the whole thought process behind the tabloid "glamour" model industry is not at all harmless, and it's depressing as hell. At least outright porn is honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

There was a thread on here recently about a poster being outraged by a woman breastfeeding her child in a restaurant. It's amazing the amount of people that agreed with her, it was disgusting, inappropriate etc. Yet the majority seem to feel that tits being displayed on page 3 is ok :confused:

Honestly there must be something wrong with society if a woman using her breasts for their intended purpose is frowned upon. A girl aspires to display said breasts in a national newspaper so a few blokes can get their jollies and that's fine?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Also it is not the practice itself that is backward, but some of the audience that view it! You cannot ban something on the grounds that a minority derive sexual gratification from it! In that case you would have to ban everything on the planet! :confused:

There are far more important things in the world to be worrying about than a girl who chooses to model for page 3! :(

I read a study before that found when men look at attractive breasts it has a soothing destressing effect caused by a release of chemicals of some sort in the brain.

Eesh, I really think there's no point in carrying on a discussion when its patently obvious only a few posts in that some posters are absolutely and vehemently opposed to page 3. It really IS all down to the individual's perception whether it is harmless fun or as some like Jill might suggest- outright porn!

I certainly think in the article that Millicent linked to, the author, with all due respect, was talking out her rear end to suggest that a man couldn't have a healthy relationship with women if he viewed these girls. I can quite easily view these pictures and not objectify and sexualise these girls. You'd be hard pressed to view it as sexual, but I understand that some do. As long as it sells papers, the Sun has no interest in whether page 3 is misogynistic or not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    There was a thread on here recently about a poster being outraged by a woman breastfeeding her child in a restaurant. It's amazing the amount of people that agreed with her, it was disgusting, inappropriate etc. Yet the majority seem to feel that tits being displayed on page 3 is ok :confused:

Honestly there must be something wrong with society if a woman using her breasts for their intended purpose is frowned upon. A girl aspires to display said breasts in a national newspaper so a few blokes can get their jollies and that's fine?

Breasts have many purposes, attracting the opposite sex and signalling fertility included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭LeBash

The fact some people think there is news in it is the only shocking thing.

Page 3 is there, get over it. If page 3 offends you don't buy it, the same way you wouldn't buy a playboy.

The Sun sells newspapers and they do it well. If page 3 does turns people away they will react and continue to sell newspapers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I can't believe people are trying to say the page 3 stuff is harmless... I inadvertently saw a pair of boobies in the Sun back in 2001 and I've been on a vicious rape rampage for the past 11 years because of it. What else was going to happen? It's a pretty girl with her tits out, I mean after seeing that how else was I going to see all other women everywhere as anything other than inhuman objects that I could do whatever I wanted to? It's just basic science, people!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Couldn't give a damn about it, rag of a newspaper with or without boobies.

That above.
    Just get rid of the garbage complete.