Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recipe help please

Options
  • 17-09-2012 1:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭

For ages now I've been trying to find a nice recipe for pepper sauce. I have tried countless recipes and I have never found one that I like. I'm looking for something restaurant quality but not overly fussy and I am a competent cook. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

It's one of those things that's just trial and error, imo. I make mine by deglazing the steak pan with about half a glass of red wine, then adding about a tablespoon of coarsely crushed black peppercorns and 250ml cream. Bring to the boil, then simmer until reduced to your preferred consistency. Seemples.

This gives quite a purple sauce, mind you, so you could also deglaze the pan with white wine or brandy if you wanted a paler sauce.

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭all_smilz

I also deglaze the pan by cooking mushrooms and onions in butter until caramelised, remove and toast a good measure of crush peppercorns AND ground pepper (black and white) in the pan
    Return veg to pan and add cream or creme fraiche or 50:50! Yummy with pasta or rice as well! and u dont have to cook steak- u can do this with chicken, pork or lamb!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I'd be the same as all_smilz