Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Celebrities everyone else seems to hate, but you don't

• 18-09-2012 10:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

The first ones for me I can think of would be Dr Phil and Brian McFadden. Everyone else seems to strongly dislike them. I don't personally see the problem with them.

You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I liked Snooki for a while. Until I realised I was really, really wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭Adhamh

I don't hate any celebrities, I just don't give a sh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Hector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Jedward. I think they're gas & the more they annoy people, the more I like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Adhamh wrote: »
    I don't hate any celebrities, I just don't give a sh!t.

You forgot the :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭nachocheese

OJ Simpson

I'd say he's great craic to have a few pints with.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Jedward..........everyone takes them too seriously, they're just two young lads having fun.

Louis Walsh......I don't know why, I like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Tom Cruise, Scientology bollocks aside I like him as an actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Daniel Craig. Loads of people I know do not like him, especially as the new Bond. I like his movies and the Bond movies he has done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,033 ✭✭✭✭bnt

krudler wrote: »
    You have to admire someone who doesn't hold back and leaves it all up there on screen.

Sarah Jessica Parker. I liked her in movies like LA Story, Mars Attacks! and Ed Wood, long before she got stereotyped as Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City. I thought Carrie was a twit, but I get the feeling some people think SJP is Carrie.

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

bnt wrote: »
    Sarah Jessica Parker. I liked her in movies like LA Story, Mars Attacks! and Ed Wood, long before she got stereotyped as Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City. I thought Carrie was a twit, but I get the feeling some people think SJP is Carrie.

She's amazingly self aware too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Charlie Sheen.

He's getting off his tits with two pornstars in his mansion which he regards as 'winning'. Yet you have all these gimps from american news stations or whatever giving him loads about not being a family man or irresponsible.

He's living the dream every 40+ and middle aged male would want. Not sitting in on the weekends watching ****e tv, with screaming kids going through a mid life crisis.

Hero in my eyes.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭The Master of Disaster

Danny Dyer.

I know he lives up to the geezer act but he's a bit of fun in all the films he's in, which themselves are never meant to be 'good' cinema, and he doesn't seem to take himself too seriously either. Not saying I think he's amazing but have a look on the forums on IMDB and the hatred for him is IMO excessive to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

I've always thought that Jeremy Clarkson seems like a bit of a laugh and an alright bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

MaxSteele wrote: »
    He's living the dream every 40+ and middle aged male would want.

He's living the dream every twenty something man would want, but when you've done 10 or 15 years of that shit, it kinda gets a bit old.

If Sheen wants to party on like it's 1999, then fair play to him, but you're wrong to think that most men would swap their family life for a life of coke and hookers.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Ryan Tubridy and Ray D'Arcy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I saw Louie Walsh a couple of weeks ago driving in a black Maserati Granturismo near the Stephen's Green in Dub. It was a pretty cool looking car.

That's all i've got to say...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Mel Gibson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Dave McSavage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭another question

Grainne fecking Seoige and that dopey sister of hers Sile...both of them drive me mad!...they love themselves, I can't see what all the fuss is about personally...and I hate the way Grainne calls Blanaid Ni Chofaigh....BLANAGED NI CHOFAGEEEE...ugh! And that Rachel Allen...another annoying idiot with a well developed new age Dublin titty accent...she didn't sound like that a couple of years ago.... 'I think I missed the point of the question but I felt like a rant'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I've always thought that Jeremy Clarkson seems like a bit of a laugh and an alright bloke.

Oh and yeah, Jezza is a legend!
    I love the Top Gear trio. They're the best people on TV!

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭BigFatGiant

Nicki Minaj. YES I WOULD.

• Site Banned Posts: 29 road_hog

MaxSteele wrote: »
    Charlie Sheen.

He's getting off his tits with two pornstars in his mansion which he regards as 'winning'. Yet you have all these gimps from american news stations or whatever giving him loads about not being a family man or irresponsible.

He's living the dream every 40+ and middle aged male would want. Not sitting in on the weekends watching ****e tv, with screaming kids going through a mid life crisis.

Hero in my eyes.

he,s a complete loser who just happens to be a millionaire

to answer the OP

bono

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I fucking LOVE Judge Judy. To anyone who thinks she's a shrew/battleaxe/bitch, I say, "Baloney!"

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭superblu

Grainne fecking Seoige and that dopey sister of hers Sile...both of them drive me mad!...they love themselves, I can't see what all the fuss is about personally...and I hate the way Grainne calls Blanaid Ni Chofaigh....BLANAGED NI CHOFAGEEEE...ugh! And that Rachel Allen...another annoying idiot with a well developed new age Dublin titty accent...she didn't sound like that a couple of years ago.... 'I think I missed the point of the question but I felt like a rant'

I'd throw it into the 3 of them though given half a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

Courtney love. But don't get me wrong, it's not for the music, she hasn't a note in her head. I just think whilst being universally reviled, she is one of the most fascinating celebrities of our time, and Icant help but like her .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Jeremy Kyle is a sound lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

JC is about the only "celebrity" I actually have any time for. Love his writing as well. Funny bloke and I tend to think like him/agree with him a great deal. I may be wrong, but I doubt it.

Courtney love. But don't get me wrong, it's not for the music, she hasn't a note in her head. I just think whilst being universally reviled, she is one of the most fascinating celebrities of our time, and Icant help but like her .

I'd be the opposite. I actually like a lot of Hole's stuff but think she's an almighty gobshite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,850 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Kerry Katona,

I'd ride her anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Hitler had a smashing moustache and gave really powerful speeches. When you leave out all the murder and gas and war and stuff he was a well able politician and leader.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Danny Dyer.

I know he lives up to the geezer act but he's a bit of fun in all the films he's in, which themselves are never meant to be 'good' cinema, and he doesn't seem to take himself too seriously either. Not saying I think he's amazing but have a look on the forums on IMDB and the hatred for him is IMO excessive to say the least.

Funny interview with him, the interviewer takes acid before hand.

http://www.vice.com/en_uk/shorties/danny-dyer-on-acid

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

Courtney Love; Rebecca Black; Kirsten Stewart.

That girl who does the psycho girlfriend memes is hilarious!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Victoria Beckham. There is an obsession about why she never smiles despite her saying in numerous interviews that she is very self conscious when it comes to her smile, she apparently hates her dimples. People seem to have a real hatred for her for forgiving David Beckham of his infidelity. People also seem to hate her for becoming a fashion designer without putting in the hard graft of most, she's Victoria Beckham, of course she was going to just walk into whatever hobby she fancied. I think herself and David are very intelligent people and have created a massive brand out of their image and names. David for some reason doesn't seem to attract the same venom.

Kristen Stewart. I do laugh at the whole "one expression" pisstake but I don't hate her. I like her in films. She comes across the way any girl her age would when doing interviews. Bit of a fool with the cheating scandal thing. I definitely don't hate her though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Jade Goody :o

She had a tough life growing up with her mum, but became a smashing mum herself. Her heart always seemed to be in the right place, even if she wasn't the sharpest tool in the box at times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Victoria Beckham. There is an obsession about why she never smiles despite her saying in numerous interviews that she is very self conscious when it comes to her smile, she apparently hates her dimples. People seem to have a real hatred for her for forgiving David Beckham of his infidelity. People also seem to hate her for becoming a fashion designer without putting in the hard graft of most, she's Victoria Beckham, of course she was going to just walk into whatever hobby she fancied. I think herself and David are very intelligent people and have created a massive brand out of their image and names. David for some reason doesn't seem to attract the same venom.

Yea, I like the Beckhams. I dont understand why people think they are stupid, they seem to be anything but.

Jade Goody :o

She had a tough life growing up with her mum, but became a smashing mum herself. Her heart always seemed to be in the right place, even if she wasn't the sharpest tool in the box at times!

Ah now, she was a bit of a racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Millicent wrote: »
    I fucking LOVE Judge Judy. To anyone who thinks she's a shrew/battleaxe/bitch, I say, "Baloney!"

She should run for the US presidency.

If she won she'd be firm but fair, and all that political waffling would be silenced with a "Shhsh!" and a glare from the bailiff.

She's a legend.

I LOVE Betty White in everything I see her in. She's about 300 years old and still funny as hell.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Eamonn Dunphy.

Love his honesty and the fact he's never afraid to tell it like it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

krudler wrote: »
    bnt wrote: »
    You have to admire someone who doesn't hold back and leaves it all up there on screen.

Well said. Not only a really good actor but he seems like a nice guy off screen too from what I can see. Success breeds envy and you can be sure people have been waiting to jump on him for years and they did. The way the media reacted to the whole couch jumping thing was crazy and nothing short of a witch hunt.

I remeber C4 doing a show about the worst celebs of the decade or something and they had Toms couch jumping ahead of Jacko dangling his baby out the window on the list. He jumped on a couch out of excitement of a new realationsip and the press reacted like he knocked down school children and had gone mad.

Born on the fourth of July is one of the most heartbreaking and best performances you will see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 574 ✭✭✭bdoo

Vincent Browne - if he's a celebrity?

What a dickhead - I love him, torments the ****e out of his guests.

Ah now, she was a bit of a racist.

She made one stupid remark, which was a pun on an Indian word during an argument.There's certainly no evidence other than that to prove she was in any way racist and she was extremely upset about that incident. Truth be told, the other two witches sitting next to her during the argument said far worse.

I'd never defend racism of any sort - I honestly think that was one stupid remark from a girl who often put her foot in her mouth without thinking. Other than that, I though she came across as someone with a big heart, who was just a bit naive and I never got all the hatred for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Adam Sandler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

You're doing the thread wrong :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Justin Bieber, can't understand all the hate, nowhere near as bad as Pitbull or Nicki Minaj, he's living the dream doing what he wants, can laugh at himself - see the CSI episode where he gets shot multiple times and killed.

I though she came across as someone with a big heart, who was just a bit naive and I never got all the hatred for her.

I think a lot of that is to do with the phenomenon of people being famous for being famous. Especially people that don't seem to have a talent of any sort. I wasn't fond of her besides the Shilpa-gate stuff anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Justin Bieber and One Direction. Fair play to them.

I think a lot of that is to do with the phenomenon of people being famous for being famous. Especially people that don't seem to have a talent of any sort. I wasn't fond of her besides the Shilpa-gate stuff anyway.

That's fair enough, although she was pretty honest in the last year of her life about taking on every job opportunity she was offered in order to provide a nest-egg for her boys after she'd gone. She was definitely overexposed for a while alright (which she admitted herself :))

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭TheBoss!

Good call - last Christmas our annual family row was about Clarkson and I was the only one on the guy's side about the strikers and his comments regarding them.

I really had to question the intelligence of what appeared to be millions of people who felt his comments were offensive and aimed at the strikers, they weren't. I know the media led the march of indignation on him but from the polls at the time of people that had seen the show and read his comments (where context was included) something like 90% of people were calling for him to lose his job, madness! It just goes to show that the vast majority of people believing something is true means naff all really, as was quite obviously the case in his situation.

He was taking the p*** out of the fact that the BBC have to be constantly impartial in such matters and nothing else.

Plus he punched Piers Morgan in the face, top bloke for that if nothing else surely :p