Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man Utd vs Galatasary 7:45 Sky Sports 4/RTE 2

• 19-09-2012 8:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭

Rvp will start and Kagawa should also be back in the starting line up. Fergie will probably pick evra or buttner.

Prediction : 4-0 united win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,833 ✭✭✭✭dahat

An auld crest or two would be the job......just sayin like!!!

Solid performance with a good 3-1 result,all roads to Sunday then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

dahat wrote: »
    An auld crest or two would be the job......just sayin like!!!

Solid performance with a good 3-1 result,all roads to Sunday then

on phone sorry :Pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

I think united will win but it'll be no walk in the park, I'm looking forward to watching Kagawa play, lovely player to watch. I think it'll be 2-1 to United.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

English League runners up vs Champions of Turkey should be the title.. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

....and a mention that its on RTE2 as well as Sky Sports....

Anyway, reckon 2-0 United.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭SK1979

My prediction is:

If United win easily there'll be < 300 posts in this thread

But

If United lose / draw / look like losing or drawing / get a dodgy penalty / red card / OG - there'll be > 1000 posts ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

RVD420 wrote: »
    ....and a mention that its on RTE2 as well as Sky Sports....

Done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

RVP with a hatrick.

Kagawa with a hatrick.

Buttner with a hatrick.

Powell with a hatrick.

De Gea with a hatrick.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    English League runners up vs Champions of Turkey should be the title.. :cool:

Should be

"Most Successful Team in English Football VS..."

"Most Supported Team in the World you do know we have 659 million supports right this is true VS..."

SK1979 wrote: »
    My prediction is:

If United win easily there'll be < 300 posts in this thread

But

If United lose / draw / look like losing or drawing / get a dodgy penalty / red card / OG - there'll be > 1000 posts ;)

Expect Sgt Pepper 64 to pop in if things are not going well. He was our lucky charm in the Southampton game after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭jaykay74

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Should be

"Most Successful Team in English Football VS..."

"Most Supported Team in the World you do know we have 659 million supports right this is true VS..."

It should be as it is now. Anything else is a bit lame.

jaykay74 wrote: »
    It should be as it is now. Anything else is a bit lame.

Sarcasm detector fail. Please refer to previous Manchester City/Chelsea match thread titles.

....:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Jesus there are some mighty high horses in here.

Word on the street says Rooney could be fit for the game. I don't think he should be rushed back, we have enough firepower in RVP, Kagawa, Chico, Dizzy Welbz....

Melion wrote: »

We are all excited by our UEFA Champions League game this evening.

EDIT: I do agree some of the scores here are a bit optimistic. 2-0 for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Word on the street says Rooney could be fit for the game. I don't think he should be rushed back, we have enough firepower in RVP, Kagawa, Chico, Dizzy Welbz....

WTF ??

Dont ever use that name again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

4-1 United is my guess, with Dizzy Welbz getting a trizzle fo' shizzle. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

If Doug starts I expect goals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Anderson to score 6

Melion wrote: »

Are there ?

9-0, 3 Bebe hat tricks! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Done.

yuno.gif add English League runners up vs Champions of Turkey to the thread title.. :(

Just messing up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

A Bebe hat trick consists of 4 goals.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Soldie

Fergie will probably pick evra or buttner.

_57c8a1a431a592af806925e57258202f.png

Soldie wrote: »
    _57c8a1a431a592af806925e57258202f.png

unless he picks Evans at LB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,080 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Don't mean to be anti-Utd or anything here, but why do RTE insist on doing this game when the far better Chelsea v Juve game is also on?

I know, I know, advertising money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

NIMAN wrote: »
    Don't mean to be anti-Utd or anything here, but why do RTE insist on doing this game when the far better Chelsea v Juve game is also on?

Yep, I agree that Chelsea vs Juve is a more evenly matched game, but the demand is for United, so RTÉ are meeting that with the supply.

Rte show the Utd game because they get the most viewers. To balance that though they will troll Utd throughout to keep the rest happy. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

3-1 United.

Dizzy Welbz
    Lil' T-Clev
    Shinji Da Ninji

Eboue.

Rte show the Utd game because they get the most viewers. To balance that though they will troll Utd throughout to keep the rest happy. :-)

Yeah they have form in the past covering irrelevant Utd games in the CL when there have been much bigger games on at the same time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Yeah they have form in the past covering irrelevant Utd games in the CL when there have been much bigger games on at the same time.

Irrelevant? That word, I do not think it means what you think it means.

I mean when Utd are qualified after Game 4 of the group, yet they show Game 6 v Sturm Graz when there might have been much more delicately balances games in other groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

OP -

copy this code into your opening post :)

[PHP]
    Manchester-United.png-Vs- Galatasaray.png[/PHP]

Manchester-United.png-Vs- Galatasaray.png

Make is look nice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

A Bebe hat trick consists of 4 goals.

His perfect hat trick is one off his head, and one off each of his three legs.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭p.oconnor

2-0, Van Persie, Kagawa.

I expect a difficult enough night though. Any news on whether Darren Fletcher could make an appearance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

They show United because they can troll much more people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Man Utd will wear black armbands in honour of the 2 policewomen who died on Tuesday.

Manager Sir Alex Ferguson said: "We are all deeply saddened by the tragic loss of two young policewomen protecting our community."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Winston Payne

THE MANCHESTER UNITED RTE COVERAGE SWEEPSTAKE -

Eamonn Dunphy to say "No chance Bill" before a quarter of an hour - 6/1

Liam Brady to make a long, drawn out noise like "Ahhhhhhhh" or "Ehhhhhhhh" for more than three seconds at sometime during the evening - 3/1

Johnny Giles to make a long, drawn out noise like "Ehhhhhmmmmmm" or "Ahhhhhhhh" for more than three seconds at sometime during the evening - 2/1

Johnny Giles to utter the phrase "Genuine midfield player" during the evening - 4/1

Incoherent shouting - 7/2

Bill O'Herlihy to say "Loive" in a knowing and humourous fashion - 10/1 [Bit early for this, odds may shorten towards the end of the group stage]

The panel collectively knowing anything about Galatasary's players outside of ex-Premier League ones - 66/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Im going 3-0. A solid professional job. Is there any news that rooney might make the bench? Wouldn't mind seeing him get on about the 70 minute mark if things are going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Des wrote: »
    They show United because they can troll much more people.

Hard to troll an audience that isn't actually tuning in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Renn wrote: »
    Hard to troll an audience that isn't actually tuning in.

what?

you think the "internet generation" are the only people who watch football in this country? lol

RTE will be on in houses up and down the country tonight, with armchair fans lapping up the lads - Pool fans laughing at them slagging the United players, and United fans getting angry at the same thing.

They'll be on in pubs, they'll be talked about in this thread later, around the water cooler tomorrow, and don't you doubt it friend,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

@nickcoppack: Sky Sports news reporting: De Gea, Rafael, Evans, Vidic, Evra, Valencia, Carrick, Scholes, Nani, Kagawa, van Persie. Nothing from UEFA yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Rooney is 4/1 for first goal with sky bet, Welbeck and Chicha 9/2 and Van Persie 5/1. They seem to think Rooney is going to start!

Of course they could just be making the (rightful) assumption that eejits will bet on anything no matter how ridiculous it is if you offer them odds

Vertigo100 wrote: »
    @nickcoppack: Sky Sports news reporting: De Gea, Rafael, Evans, Vidic, Evra, Valencia, Carrick, Scholes, Nani, Kagawa, van Persie. Nothing from UEFA yet.

Looks ok. Rio will play Sunday I guess. Fergie not keen on Rio playing 2 a week I think and Evans needs match practice. Scared it means Giggs to start Sunday though :(
    kryogen wrote: »
    Rooney is 4/1 for first goal with sky bet, Welbeck and Chicha 9/2 and Van Persie 5/1. They seem to think Rooney is going to start!

Of course they could just be making the (rightful) assumption that eejits will bet on anything no matter how ridiculous it is if you offer them odds

I presume odds are based on refund if he doesn't feature ? non runner. could be wrong of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Strongest team possible bar Rio happy with that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

Line up just confirmed as the one I posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Can't really complain about that lineup, it shows we're going to take each game as it comes anyway and not just take a chance with weakened teams like last year, at least until we qualify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,890 ✭✭✭✭klose

Galatasary fans look like right craic :pac: in the stadium already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

De Gea needs a buck up performance tonight or he'll be out of Sunday's war.