Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Doctors look down at public

• 20-09-2012 11:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Here we have it, straight from the horses mouth:
    I'd have treated lip-op girl if I knew she was private.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/id-have-treated-lipop-girl-if-i-knew-she-was-private-3235071.html

.........A LEADING doctor whose two-year-old patient got the wrong operation said he would have carried out the procedure himself, had he known she was a private patient in his care.

Martin Corbally, then a paediatric consultant at Our Lady's Children's Hospital, Crumlin, is before a Medical Council hearing.

He described how it was his policy to operate on his own private patients wherever possible.

Yesterday he told a Medical Council fitness-to-practise inquiry: "If I was aware the patient was private I would have done the procedure myself."................

Unfortunately I've had experience of visiting a few doctors in a few countries around the world and TBH, I find the Irish doctors to be the most self righteous, self inflated, egotistical shower of gobsh1ites that have ever walked in shoe leather.

The only way of getting them to listen to you properly is at the start when you go in and say loudly who the hell is paying who here, while on a different note both my parents would have a unreal amount of respect for doctors...
    To me doctors are no different to a butcher baker or candlestick maker. You pay their wages, they give you a service and sadly that service sucks in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

kupus wrote: »

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/id-have-treated-lipop-girl-if-i-knew-she-was-private-3235071.html

Unfortunately I've had experience of visiting a few doctors in a few countries around the world and TBH, I find the Irish doctors to be the most self righteous, self inflated, egotistical shower of gobsh1ites that have ever walked in shoe leather.

The only way of getting them to listen to you properly is at the start when you go in and say loudly who the hell is paying who here, while on a different note both my parents would have a unreal amount of respect for doctors...
    To me doctors are no different to a butcher baker or candlestick maker. You pay their wages, they give you a service and sadly that service sucks in Ireland.

Doctors paid by public service only personally see private patients:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

The only way of getting them to listen to you properly is at the start when you go in and say loudly who the hell is paying who here.

Wow

TBH i'd tell you to fúck off and die if you spoke to me like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Bit of a generalisation there OP!

While I think OP's approach is ridiculous, it's pretty bad that the parents tell staff "no, he's here for x not y" and get ignored and fobbed off, meaning the poor children have to undergo extra unnecessary surgeries. I mean, how awful for the children and parents, what a waste of money, it's just really mindboggling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Slurryface

All too often it is the taxpayer who is paying.
    Since I have PHI I would expect that going private means I get to see the top guy as oppossed to some registrar. I dont see how giving priority to those of us who choose pay for private care can be seen as looking down his nose.
    I think OP, that a large prescription of cop on is what you need.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

Boombastic wrote: »
    Doctors paid by public service only personally see private patients:(
    Not true. I have the unfortunate privilege of having a long term illness, and I have often been seen by the consultant in the public clinic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

OOOOH looks like we have a few bad a$$es here who are happy with crap service.

I can sense that you never had the misfortune to have to deal with the Irish Health sector. And to that I say well done, you're healthy your family is healthy and your friends are healthy, but there will be a time that you do need them and when that time comes, you will change the tune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

I disagree with you tarring all doctors with a brush as broad as Mary Harney's arse. This man is an especially bad example of the smallest and most well-paid rank in the entire profession. A two-tier health system like ours inevitably incentivises such disgusting greed and disregard for patients. Rather than despise all doctor's a more constructive strategy would be to demand systemic reform of our health service into one along the lines of any of the public health systems in the UK or the Continent that prioritise a nation's health above enriching a small number of insiders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,464 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Looks like it's not only the doctors who look down on people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

My own family doc is outstanding and never fobs any of us off. He always seems to take a personal interest in any problems we've shown up with.

My only issue is the rates GPs charge- given a long term condition, I have to attend more often than average and it's €60 a pop nowadays.

kneemos wrote: »

Untrue, however when you take this oath:

I swear by Apollo, the healer, Asclepius, Hygieia, and Panacea, and I take to witness all the gods, all the goddesses, to keep according to my ability and my judgment, the following Oath and agreement:
    To consider dear to me, as my parents, him who taught me this art; to live in common with him and, if necessary, to share my goods with him; To look upon his children as my own brothers, to teach them this art; and that by my teaching, I will impart a knowledge of this art to my own sons, and to my teacher's sons, and to disciples bound by an indenture and oath according to the medical laws, and no others.
    I will prescribe regimens for the good of my patients according to my ability and my judgment and never do harm to anyone.
    I will give no deadly medicine to any one if asked, nor suggest any such counsel; and similarly I will not give a woman a pessary to cause an abortion.
    But I will preserve the purity of my life and my arts.
    I will not cut for stone, even for patients in whom the disease is manifest; I will leave this operation to be performed by practitioners, specialists in this art.
    In every house where I come I will enter only for the good of my patients, keeping myself far from all intentional ill-doing and all seduction and especially from the pleasures of love with women or men, be they free or slaves.
    All that may come to my knowledge in the exercise of my profession or in daily commerce with men, which ought not to be spread abroad, I will keep secret and will never reveal.
    If I keep this oath faithfully, may I enjoy my life and practice my art, respected by all humanity and in all times; but if I swerve from it or violate it, may the reverse be my life.

Amended Version:
    AT THE TIME OF BEING ADMITTED AS A MEMBER OF THE MEDICAL PROFESSION:

I SOLEMNLY PLEDGE to consecrate my life to the service of humanity;
    I WILL GIVE to my teachers the respect and gratitude that is their due;
    I WILL PRACTISE my profession with conscience and dignity;
    THE HEALTH OF MY PATIENT will be my first consideration;
    I WILL RESPECT the secrets that are confided in me, even after the patient has died;
    I WILL MAINTAIN by all the means in my power, the honour and the noble traditions of the medical profession;
    MY COLLEAGUES will be my sisters and brothers;
    I WILL NOT PERMIT considerations of age, disease or disability, creed, ethnic origin, gender, nationality, political affiliation, race, sexual orientation, social standing or any other factor to intervene between my duty and my patient;
    I WILL MAINTAIN the utmost respect for human life;
    I WILL NOT USE my medical knowledge to violate human rights and civil liberties, even under threat;
    I MAKE THESE PROMISES solemnly, freely and upon my honour.

which is called the Hippocratic oath and come out with a sentence:
    " I'd have treated lip-op girl if I knew she was private."

Then I have every right to pass judgement.

I swear by Apollo, the healer, Asclepius, Hygieia, and Panacea, and I take to witness all the gods, all the goddesses, to keep according to my ability and my judgment, the following Oath and agreement:
    To consider dear to me, as my parents, him who taught me this art; to live in common with him and, if necessary, to share my goods with him; To look upon his children as my own brothers, to teach them this art; and that by my teaching, I will impart a knowledge of this art to my own sons, and to my teacher's sons, and to disciples bound by an indenture and oath according to the medical laws, and no others.
    I will prescribe regimens for the good of my patients according to my ability and my judgment and never do harm to anyone.
    I will give no deadly medicine to any one if asked, nor suggest any such counsel; and similarly I will not give a woman a pessary to cause an abortion.
    I will not cut for stone, even for patients in whom the disease is manifest; I will leave this operation to be performed by practitioners, specialists in this art.
    In every house where I come I will enter only for the good of my patients, keeping myself far from all intentional ill-doing and all seduction and especially from the pleasures of love with women or men, be they free or slaves.
    All that may come to my knowledge in the exercise of my profession or in daily commerce with men, which ought not to be spread abroad, I will keep secret and will never reveal.
    If I keep this oath faithfully, may I enjoy my life and practice my art, respected by all humanity and in all times; but if I swerve from it or violate it, may the reverse be my life.

Is that the lip-op-crap-sh1t-joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Omnipotent consultants look down on doctors as well as members of the public. I don't think that doctors look down on anybody.

What happened OP, they wouldn't let you into Medical School?
    You sure sound bitter about something, maybe if you resit your leaving and study really hard you will get the required points next time.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

.........A LEADING doctor whose two-year-old patient got the wrong operation said he would have carried out the procedure himself, had he known she was a private patient in his care.

Martin Corbally, then a paediatric consultant at Our Lady's Children's Hospital, Crumlin, is before a Medical Council hearing.

He described how it was his policy to operate on his own private patients wherever possible.

Yesterday he told a Medical Council fitness-to-practise inquiry: "If I was aware the patient was private I would have done the procedure myself."................

hmmmm, I think the next time you see your doctor you should get something for that giant chip on your shoulder ;)

Of course people have respect for doctors. It's a very long, difficult training path and a job that comes with huge responsibility (I certainly would not like that level of responsibility where someone might pay with their life if I am hungover or tired or distracted over personal issues going on at home etc) - it's not about one profession being "better" than the other.

Dr. Quinn medicine woman never went on with this non-sense, she'd treat whoever needed it regardless of their salary. Maybe we should stop paying the doctors who also work privately from the public purse, it maybe what's distracting them. No one asked then to run both a public and private practice, just their greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

One of the consultants I see retired from Beaumont Hospital, but continued to see patients in Beaumont Private, for €150-200 an appointment. That's a bit wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

kneemos wrote: »
    Amended Version:
    AT THE TIME OF BEING ADMITTED AS A MEMBER OF THE MEDICAL PROFESSION:
    I SOLEMNLY PLEDGE to consecrate my life to the service of humanity;
    I WILL GIVE to my teachers the respect and gratitude that is their due;
    I WILL PRACTISE my profession with conscience and dignity;
    THE HEALTH OF MY PATIENT will be my first consideration;
    I WILL RESPECT the secrets that are confided in me, even after the patient has died;
    I WILL MAINTAIN by all the means in my power, the honour and the noble traditions of the medical profession;
    MY COLLEAGUES will be my sisters and brothers;
    I WILL NOT PERMIT considerations of age, disease or disability, creed, ethnic origin, gender, nationality, political affiliation, race, sexual orientation, social standing or any other factor to intervene between my duty and my patient;
    I WILL MAINTAIN the utmost respect for human life;
    I WILL NOT USE my medical knowledge to violate human rights and civil liberties, even under threat;
    I MAKE THESE PROMISES solemnly, freely and upon my honour.

Doctors do not take a hippocratic oath. Your point is therefore null and void.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/3159813.stm
    The inventive language created by doctors the world over to insult their patients - or each other - is in danger of becoming extinct.

However, Dr Adam Fox, who works at St Mary's Hospital in London as a specialist registrar in its child allergy unit, says that far fewer doctors now annotate notes with abbreviations designed to spell out the unsayable truth about their patients.
    CTD - Circling the Drain (A patient expected to die soon)
    GLM - Good looking Mum
    GPO - Good for Parts Only
    TEETH - Tried Everything Else, Try Homeopathy
    UBI - Unexplained Beer Injury
    NFN (Normal for Norfolk),
    FLK (Funny looking kid) or
    GROLIES (Guardian Reader Of Low Intelligence in Ethnic Skirt).

Dr Fox recounts the tale of one doctor who had scribbled TTFO - an expletive expression roughly translated as "Told To Go Away" - on a patient's notes.

Rodin wrote: »

Ok then, can you answer this question with a simple YES or NO.

Is it ok for a doctor to say "I'd have treated lip-op girl if I knew she was private"

A simple YES or NO will suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

Anybody actually read the article, or just see the headline and jump straight to 'indignant' mode?

What he said:
    If I was aware the patient was private I would have done the procedure myself.
    Headline:
    I'd have treated lip-op girl if I knew she was private
    consultants had an "unwritten agreement" with the hospital that they operated on their own private patients.
    A public patient is a client of the public health system, the consultant (oddly) provides an expert opinion and recommendation to the patient's doctors. He is not engaged to carry out the actual surgery.

A private patient is a client of the consultant himself. If the consultant were using surgeons paid by the HSE to carry out operations on his private patients, the same people would be screaming about it.
    The inquiry heard Prof Corbally filled out 'tongue tie (upper frenulum)' to book the girl on to the theatre list as the computer system had only one code -- 'tongue tie release' -- for these type of operations.

However, the administrator never added in the additional information -- and 'upper frenulum' never appeared on the theatre list. The computer codes have since been changed.
    Admin fùck-up, just for a change.

Gurgle wrote: »
    Anybody actually read the article

yes
    Prof Corbally has previously appeared before the Medical Council after a six-year-old boy under his care had the wrong kidney removed by another surgeon at Crumlin Hospital in 2008 -- despite his parents raising concerns.
    Instead, a more common procedure called a 'lingual frenulum' or a 'tongue tie release' was carried out on April 30, 2010, by a fourth-year surgical registrar, Mr Farhan Tareen.

The child's mother, Siobhan, complained that she had told staff in the day ward that her daughter was not there for a 'tongue tie' procedure.

However, the surgical team went ahead and carried out the incorrect operation

Admin messup or not, there's no excuse for refusing to listen before carrying out a surgery

Is that the lip-op-crap-sh1t-joke?

Dear God, I hope you're working in marketing, that's an amazing play on words! :)

bluewolf wrote: »
    Admin messup or not, there's no excuse for refusing to listen before carrying out a surgery
    Yeah, so we should be bitching about the surgical team that carried out the wrong surgery, the experts who specced the software, and the admin functionary that forgot to put an important detail in.

Not a sensationalist headline that diverts the blame to the consultant by misrepresenting the context of public and private patients.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Omnipotent consultants look down on doctors as well as members of the public. I don't think that doctors look down on anybody.
    They do when they are operating on you.

Is it ok for a doctor to say "I'd have treated lip-op girl if I knew she was private" A simple YES or NO will suffice.

Yes. If he didn't it would be breach of contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,464 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

No system is perfect,mistakes will always be made .

emzolita wrote: »
    One of the consultants I see retired from Beaumont Hospital, but continued to see patients in Beaumont Private, for €150-200 an appointment. That's a bit wrong.
    Working is wrong? It is that mentality that has this country in the mess it's in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Gynecologists tend to look up to their patients.

Ok, is it ok for a doctor (...on a public wage that Irish people pay BTW) to say thats its more important to look after private patients than public patients.

Which doctor said it's more important to look after private patients? Quote please

Is it ok for a doctor to say "I'd have treated lip-op girl if I knew she was private"

YES

Gynecologists tend to look up to their patients.

Do you think they lie on their backs with a torchlight like a mechanic?

Which doctor said it's more important to look after private patients? Quote please
    Rephrase:

This quote can be summed up as....There is a girl needing an operation but shes on the public list, I'll pass her onto my junior assistant....

Is this ok with you is what im trying to ask.

Rephrase:

This quote can be summed up as....There is a girl needing an operation but shes on the public list, I'll pass her onto my junior assistant....

Yes it is, what part of yes do you not understand?
    I pay to be treated privatley, I pay to see the Consultant not the Registrar, I expect to be operated on by the Consultant because I am his patient, not the public heathcare systems patient.
    You pay you get the best, you dont pay you get seen by a qualified medical person, perfectly fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Admin fùck-up, just for a change.
    bluewolf wrote: »

The truth is both are too blame.
    Whilst there are obvious personal and interpersonal failures in this case, the third factor, and the factor that is most often ignored in medicine, especially in Ireland, is that the system failed. Shockingly poor information systems in Irish healthcare - both in the form of poor IT systems and poor management of information flow

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Dr. Ego

I'm a doctor & I can confirm I look down on you all.
    Unless your private of course.

Surgery was done by a consultant's junior assistant?
    You have more information than what was in the indo story.

Please do link.

Slurryface wrote: »
    Yes it is, what part of yes do you not understand?
    I pay to be treated privatley, I pay to see the Consultant not the Registrar, I expect to be operated on by the Consultant because I am his patient, not the public heathcare systems patient.
    You pay you get the best, you dont pay you get seen by a qualified medical person, perfectly fair.

Well here is another problem then slurryface, these operations are taking place on public property using public resources involving public staff....All funded by the taxpayer.
    Why should people on trollies in the middle of the night have to wait around for private patients to get preferential treatment in a public hosptial that taxpayers have and continue to overpay for.

Private patients in a private hospital fine,
    Private patients in a public hospital creating even more waiting lists. Not fine.

Build a private hospital for private patients or is that too forward thinking for our esteemed consultants.

Rephrase:

I think you're making up your own quotes, attributing them to someone else and blaming them for it.
    Private patients pay to be treated by a consultant. without them, the public hospitals would have a whole lot less money for public patients.

Private patients in a public hospital creating even more waiting lists. Not fine.

Build a private hospital for private patients or is that too forward thinking for our esteemed consultants.

In fairness you can blame Mary Harney & Bertie Ahern for that one really

I think you're making up your own quotes, attributing them to someone else and blaming them for it.
    Private patients pay to be treated by a consultant. without them, the public hospitals would have a whole lot less money for public patients.

Who pays the nurses, junior doctors, porters, radiologists, physiotherapists etc etc etc who are also involved in treating the private patients ? Not the consultant thats for sure

The private patient pays for his own healthcare. Generally he has an insurance policy to cover it, and the hospital bills the patient / insurer at a massively inflated premium for any scans, tests, consultations or other care provided by the public system.

This quote can be summed up as....There is a girl needing an operation but shes on the public list, I'll pass her onto my junior assistant Co-worker.

FOA GURFLE AND RODIN^^FIXED^^Instead, a more common procedure called a 'lingual frenulum' or a 'tongue tie release' was carried out on April 30, 2010, by a fourth-year surgical registrar, Mr Farhan Tareen.....My apologies I took him for a Jr assistant.

Quote is there and my reading of it still stands,that he cares much more for the fee paying nixers than that of the public taxpayers.

Well here is another problem then slurryface, these operations are taking place on public property using public resources involving public staff....All funded by the taxpayer.
    Why should people on trollies in the middle of the night have to wait around for private patients to get preferential treatment in a public hosptial that taxpayers have and continue to overpay for.

You just dont get it do you, as a taxpayer I paid for the right to use public hospital, however I choose to go private so my PHI PAYS Consultant to do the operation and pays the hospital (a second time since I have already paid my taxes) for the use of the facilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Dr. Quinn medicine woman never went on with this non-sense, she'd treat whoever needed it regardless of their salary.

What a line :D

Do you think they lie on their backs with a torchlight like a mechanic?

Well when you get your first smear it feels like a fúcking torchlight going up there :eek:

The private patient pays for his own healthcare. Generally he has an insurance policy to cover it, and the hospital bills the patient / insurer at a massively inflated premium for any scans, tests, consultations or other care provided by the public system.

Did I say scans ? I'm talking about the staff costs for people other than consultants. AFAIK they don't bill for that stuff. There are consultant fees and there is an overnight rate charge (about €1000) - but it is NOT broken down for the services each individual might use as it should be. So depending on how sick someone is they may well be loss making - if a private patient spends an uneventful week on a ward getting scans etc the Hospital may make a profit on it. If a private patient spends a week in a CCU having lots of complications the hospital most certainly lose alot of money on them. Hell the meds alone could easily cost a grand a day.

Also - some services are ONLY available under the public system regardless of insurance status

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

After reading this story in the papers I am looking for peoples views if this is right or wrong and should this be allowed any longer?

Story:
    A LEADING doctor whose two-year-old patient got the wrong operation said he would have carried out the procedure himself, had he known she was a private patient in his care.
    I have no problem with the two tier system per say. Money talks so if you have it you are always going to be able to afford better care anywhere you go, what I do have an issue with is the Doctors / Consultants that work in Public hospitals but also treat their private clients there.

Should we not have the two separated? Should we not demand these consultants have their own premises to practice privately?

Basically the above story highlights that it is acceptable for public patients to receive sub standard care. After all, should we not demand the same attention to public patients in public hospitals?

What are your thoughts?