Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tips & useful ideas to cut costs in the Recession

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

mackg wrote: »
    BEES???!!!

BEADS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Kwiecien

dont bother turning on the heating, have sex to stay warm :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Kwiecien wrote: »
    dont bother turning on the heating, have sex to stay warm :D

the money you save on heating you'll end up spending (and more) on prostitutes though, it's a false economy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

phasers wrote: »
    brb googling Viz Top Tips

Old people, save on home heating costs this winter by dying in October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,268 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

I had to let the housekeeper go & put my driver on a three day week or was it the other way around...I'll have to check with the butler and get back to you

B0jangles wrote: »
    BEADS.

GOB's not on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭kenmc

zerks wrote: »
    Do you know who makes Lidl/Aldi coffee? Robert Roberts,bet you're happy enough to drink it in virtually every Cafe/Hotel in the country.

instant coffee is still Sh1te, no matter where you buy it, who makes it, or where you drink it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

There's no point saving money, they'll just invent another tax to take it off you. If anything, we should be living as far beyond our means as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Where To wrote: »
    I gave up smoking, drinking, and chasing after women.

I'm still broke :(

"I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest i just squandered".

George Best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

mackg wrote: »
    BEES???!!!

Haha....love how the OP just stuck that in like were supposed to know what da fook he meant. :D And he never came back to explain himself. Brilliant.

Save money on a root canal by only smiling on one side of your mouth.

Like this /:-/\

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Haha....love how the OP just stuck that in like were supposed to know what da fook he meant. :D And he never came back to explain himself. Brilliant.

Save money on a root canal by only smiling on one side of your mouth.

Like this /:-/\

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Ladies - save money on vibrators. Just get an empty cigar case and fill it with angry bees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭dan185

Ladies - save money on vibrators. Just get an empty cigar case and fill it with angry bees.

OP is doing that next year.

• Site Banned Posts: 45 Alan_Curry

Instead of buying women loads of drink when you're trying to get them into bed, pop a Rohypnol in the first drink you buy her and she'll be ready for the Dart.

mod
    banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Alan_Curry wrote: »
    Instead of buying women loads of drink when you're trying to get them into bed, pop a Rohypnol in the first drink you buy her and she'll be ready for the Dart.

Ye but the price of the dart is crazy, better off just getting a bus :pac:

Caveman1 wrote: »
    Ye but the price of the dart is crazy, better off just getting a bus :pac:

How about save money altogether by escorting her to a nearby ditch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

How about save money altogether by escorting her to a nearby ditch?

behind a skip is just as good

make thousands by getting a job at the national mint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

There's no point saving money, they'll just invent another tax to take it off you. If anything, we should be living as far beyond our means as possible.

This.

I've foolishly saved money and lived frugally only to watch people who didn't get support I don't qualify for. The end result is we both have similar standards of living; but I missed out on holidays and luxuries they didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

1.open savings acc put aside 10-50e every week
    2.drive less/give up smoking/drinking which ever suits you.
    3.dont buy items you dont need-like those clowns who stand besides apple store for an iphone :D
    4.Cut down on junk food takeaways as its basically recycled $hit with plenty of E ingredients to taste nice.costing you double that it would cost you to make it yourself and taste nicer and healthier.
    5.theres many more options drop your broadband plan if not downloading movies etc.
    just few ideas of my head :p Basic point is to find where the biggest loop in spending is and trying to decrease it,as most income is eaten by tax/insurance/tv license/heating/rent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Geri Male

Sappa wrote: »
    That's a nice change from 2.70 a cup in a shop and drinking two a day at least I am in the black already.

Black coffee?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

"I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest i just squandered".

George Best
    ...on liver transplants.

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    ...on liver transplants.

No the tax payers paid for that. That's why people were pissed off at George Best when he started drinking again after his transplant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

No the tax payers paid for that. That's why people were pissed off at George Best when he started drinking again after his transplant.

I fink it was more the moral cost of a healthy transplanted liver from a donor who would have appreciated it going to someone who might have made more of a stab at the second chance at life the death of the donor afforded the recipient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,998 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Earn more money.

Reloc8 wrote: »
    I fink it was more the moral cost of a healthy transplanted liver from a donor who would have appreciated it going to someone who might have made more of a stab at the second chance at life the death of the donor afforded the recipient.

That's true and people on the NHS' waiting list would be pissed off that he is ruining second chance at life. A liver is more valuable than money too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Save money on condoms by simply pulling out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Lots of good tips over on this neighbouring thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Earn more money.

Great! If you can get a job in the first fecking place!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

Geri Male wrote: »
    Black coffee?

Racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

vatican roulette could be more costly in the long run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,520 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

zerks wrote: »
    Do you know who makes Lidl/Aldi coffee? Robert Roberts,bet you're happy enough to drink it in virtually every Cafe/Hotel in the country.

His assistant actually does most of the work, he just takes the credit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

As Billy Connoly said, advice like that could only come from people who don't do it. "At the point of ejaculation, withdraw". At the point of ejaculation, not even wild horses could get me to withdraw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

syklops wrote: »
    As Billy Connoly said, advice like that could only come from people who don't do it. "At the point of ejaculation, withdraw". At the point of ejaculation, not even wild horses could get me to withdraw.

He's obviously never seen a proper porno....

UCDVet wrote: »
    He's obviously never seen a proper porno....

Don't understand... :confused:

99% of porn involves the man pulling out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Wrap a blanket around oneself on winter evenings, saving money on heating

99% of porn involves the man pulling out.

Yeah but they're actors, who get paid to pull out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Live in a cave, cutting most expenses over night, eat wild berries and stuff like leaves and that. WINNING.

syklops wrote: »
    I can testify that it does work. No unwanted babies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I can testify that it does work. No unwanted babies.

I note you that haven't mentioned the wanted ones.

None of those either. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

I ditched my Dachshund in favour of a small cat - the Dachshund took 50% longer to stroke and time is money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

I sold my expensive telescope, and now just stand closer to the things i want to look at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Save frugally for about 6 months. Invest all of the savings into a healthy supply of cocaine. Live like a king for the rest of your 3 days on this earth.