Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

This grindr app

• 22-09-2012 12:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Due to an ingenious stroke of advertising or a misinformed trollop I heard of this grindr app .
    Now Im all for people doin whatever the jaysus they want once they arnt hurting anyone but the media have me believe its an app specifically for gay men to have sex with gay men who happen to be in the same location as them . It also supposedly can guide them to the nearest convenience to get a bit of privacy . Is it a seedy app or is it just an internet dating app with a bad rep .
    If a man was to start dating a fella and seen he had this app on his phone would he think of him as a bit of a perv or would it be standard for all gay peoples phones to have it?
    I know any mention of homosexuality leads to people shouting or getting defensive and shouting very quickly so can we please keep this a disscussion on the app and not a chance to get a dig in .I am honestly very curious .

Not in that way .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

cloptrop wrote: »
    I am honestly very curious.

No you're not. :eek:

In before the ban.

PS Yes, all gay people's phones have it preinstalled at the factory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

When apps first started I suggest a good one would be a "brothel" app.

Like maps with the local "lady of the night" locations.

Would have made a fortune too I think If I weren't such a lazy c0ck.

I also invented toping up mobile phone from bank machines in the very early 90's while freezing my bollix off one winter. About 5 years before some other person actually put it into action

I really wish I wasn't so lazy :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

That was the angry response I was hoping to avoid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Wish there was a straight version of grindr :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

First there was fast food; food on the go. Now there's fast sex. It's all good. BTW, Stephen Fry has it on his phone so it must be well regarded.

cloud493 wrote: »
    There is apparantly but I dont think its popular . Blendr

There is, it's called blendr or something I think.

What a load of cloptrop

First there was fast food; food on the go. Now there's fast sex. It's all good. BTW, Stephen Fry has it on his phone so it must be well regarded.
    Is Stephen Fry single ? Hes everyones ideal dinner guest . Id be wary of what celebrities endorse though maybe he was paid to announce he has it .

I'd be gay if it got Stephen Fry round to my house.

bluewolf wrote: »
    What a load of cloptrop
    You are a moderator surely you see things wrong with that post .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

There is, it's called blendr or something I think.

It hasn't been much of a success, apparently there is something of a gender imbalance. What a surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Has anyone tried the Bendr app??

Apparently it's the ghey version of blendr??

What a load of cloptrop
    And surely you would have seen something wrong with your username.

What a load of cloptrop
    Way off topic dude the word your thinking of is claptrap . Whats in a name anyway .

How popular is this app in Ireland ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Doop

If you're so curious just get it yourself!

fyi no it does not guide you to the nearest convenience

Doop wrote: »
    If you're so curious just get it yourself!

fyi no it does not guide you to the nearest convenience
    Thanks for that . The media site that was quoted in the paris hilton thread said it did. Seems they are just as bad as her whilst they cimment on how terrible she is.
    Im not getting it myself . If the missus found that on me phone id be looking for a house findr app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Doop

Thanks for that . The media site that was quoted in the paris hilton thread said it did. Seems they are just as bad as her whilst they cimment on how terrible she is.
    Im not getting it myself . If the missus found that on me phone id be looking for a house findr app.

haha

I have and use it for the laugh not everyone on it is after a quickie in the bushes.

I know the guy im seeing at the moment has it on his phone and it doesnt bother me atall either cos I know hes not the type of guy to do those kinda 'hook ups' either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Due to an ingenious stroke of advertising or a misinformed trollop I heard of this grindr app .
    Now Im all for people doin whatever the jaysus they want once they arnt hurting anyone but the media have me believe its an app specifically for gay men to have sex with gay men who happen to be in the same location as them . It also supposedly can guide them to the nearest convenience to get a bit of privacy . Is it a seedy app or is it just an internet dating app with a bad rep .
    If a man was to start dating a fella and seen he had this app on his phone would he think of him as a bit of a perv or would it be standard for all gay peoples phones to have it?
    I know any mention of homosexuality leads to people shouting or getting defensive and shouting very quickly so can we please keep this a disscussion on the app and not a chance to get a dig in .I am honestly very curious .

It doesn't do this.

I presume all member want to be members and no, it's not standard for all gay men to have this on their phones.

I don't see how it's in any way pervy. I've gone out in the past with an intention (not the sole intention) to partake in a casual fling. I suppose this is just a more modern version of the same thing. I don't know why differs from straiight people hooking up for sex on dating websites (the vast majority targeted at heterosexuals). It's much the same thing, no? And I presume not all the men on it are simply looking for one night stands.

I'm guessing it's quite difficult to meet gay men for sexual encounters if you're not into the "gay scene" (which is about one of 3 bars in Dublin, for example). One of my very close male friends used to have problems meeting men as he'd be into going to "normal" bars (bars that attract no specific sexual orientation).

So people just have it as a bit of a laugh ?
    Do you put pictures on it and stuff or is it just chat .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

It also supposedly can guide them to the nearest convenience to get a bit of privacy .

That reminds me of the iPhone app that George Costanza invented in Seinfeld/Curb your Enthusiasm: The iToilet - using GPS technology to direct the user to the nearest acceptable public restroom.

I am getting my info from the celebrity paris hilton story and how the media portray things .
    What a terible way for them to poke her with a stick and still do what shes doing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I'm a moderator and I don't see anything wrong with that post.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    If you want pm me and ill explain .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Way off topic dude the word your thinking of is claptrap . Whats in a name anyway .
    El Weirdo wrote: »

There's an awful lot of quoting going on in here.

EDIT: And why not in this day and age everything is seedy, so what's the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I am getting my info from the celebrity paris hilton story and how the media portray things .
    What a terible way for them to poke her with a stick and still do what shes doing .

Man, instead of posting up here, why don't you Google it and do a bit of research yourself? You want to know how it works - the info is on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Maybe you should just report it and I or one of the other mods will deal with it as we see fit.

Eve_Dublin wrote: »

Man, instead of posting up here, why don't you Google it and do a bit of research yourself? You want to know how it works - the info is on the internet.
    Id rather hear from people who use it than the medias spin on it . As already shown the media has mislead me to believe it was different to what it is . I thought it was some sort of cottageing app.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

There's an app for that... :pac:

As there is for pretty much everything else! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I've just finished installing the ibum app, i'll report back with how i get on later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Maybe you should change your name to Nivea. It's more sensitive and has a nice ring to it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

PC CDROM wrote: »
    When apps first started I suggest a good one would be a "brothel" app.

Like maps with the local "lady of the night" locations.
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/09/19/google_escorts_app/
    Google has removed a sex trade app from its Google Play marketplace – but only after pressure from Members of the US Congress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Probably started off as a straight version but only men joined!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,528 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Do they have a Premium Member option?

Not your ornery onager

I signed up for the craic harhar see what I did there. Whats a gloryhole?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Someone should create an app which warns you before you open a thread with a high troll quotient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Just like more and more straight people are using dating websites with less stigma, a lot of gay people use these apps with no stigma at all.

Think of it, how easy is it for a straight guy to meet a straight girl? Pure simple. How easy is it for a gay man to run into another gay man? Not quite as simple.

These apps are no harm and it's just a guy thing regardless of sexuality. If straight guys had these same apps with no stigma, they'd be using them to the point of wearing out their phones. Lads are just horny bastards that way :D

Step 1: Open a new tab in your browser of choice.

Step 2: Type "google.com" in the address bar.

Step 3: Type "gloryhole" in the search box.

Seriously, some people have to be hand-held before they're let loose on the internet! :rolleyes:

Step 1: Open a new tab in your browser of choice.

Step 2: Type "google.com" in the address bar.

Step 3: Type "gloryhole" in the search box.

Seriously, some people have to be hand-held before they're let loose on the internet! :rolleyes:
    I think I know what it is now Ive given it some thought . I dont want gloryhole showing up on my browser history . Id be afraid thered be a mouse trap waiting for me .

1ZRed wrote: »
    Just like more and more straight people are using dating websites with less stigma, a lot of gay people use these apps with no stigma at all.

Think of it, how easy is it for a straight guy to meet a straight girl? Pure simple. How easy is it for a gay man to run into another gay man? Not quite as simple.

These apps are no harm and it's just a guy thing regardless of sexuality. If straight guys had these same apps with no stigma, they'd be using them to the point of wearing out their phones. Lads are just horny bastards that way :D

Actually 1ZRed I think you should be the new "Internet Companion" the way you have of explaining things in a way even a four year old would understand! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

How popular is this app in Ireland ?

You are fifty metres away from me. Wanna bum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Ctrl+shift+n

Covers a multitude of sins ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Captain Graphite

Why bother using Grindr when all the best catches on it have been handily sorted for you on here: http://www.douchebagsofgrindr.com/ (may occasionally be NSFW)

Ctrl+shift+n

Covers a multitude of sins ;)
    Yeah then you have to explain where the history is. You should be able to get a fake history with a load of facebook and news history stuff . Like just get gour history filled with the top 20 clean sites on the web.
    Anyhu im pretty hot if I was gay by the looks of things . Which is **** cause Im pretty average as a straight man .

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Savage924

It's called Tagged...Me and my pals have dubbed it "Slagged" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Why bother using Grindr when all the best catches on it have been handily sorted for you on here: http://www.douchebagsofgrindr.com/ (may occasionally be NSFW)

Ah, you run into the odd lot of these lads on Grindr. I find them really entertaining and it's great craic to just troll and abuse them! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Honestly you just sound jealous that there aren't as many women using Blendr

Sharrow wrote: »
    Honestly you just sound jealous that there aren't as many women using Blendr
    Whho me ? What? My plundering days are behind me thanks.