Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Zoology into Veterinary?

• 24-09-2012 3:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 42

Hey.
    I'm a current Leaving Cert student, and am hoping to get Veterinary. However, the course has gone up from 565 to 585, and I'm really afraid that I won't get that high. I do work very hard at school, keeping my grades between B2 and A1 and average three hours study + homework during the week and six hours on weekends, but I just dropped to pass maths so I won't receive the extra 25pts. (Still have 6 other honours subjects and LCVP)
    Back to the point, I was told that in UCD it's possible to do Zoology for two years and then convert into Veterinary. I've tried to look for information in handbooks but have found nothing of use.
    Does anyone have any idea if this is true? Anything is appreciated, through answers or PM's.

:D

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭beardedmaster

Never, ever heard of anything like that at all, to be honest. Sounds like a complete myth.
    If you don't feel you'll get in with your LC points, in my opinion, your best bet is to do a degree in Physiology or Animal Science, or something like that, then apply as a graduate veterinary student, for the 4 year postgraduate-entry degree.

And don't forget with the LC, no matter how hard you work/how well prepared you are/how clever you are, there's always the possibility of things not going well on the day, so be sure to keep all your options open. Don't forget about applying to the UK through UCAS too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black