Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anti-austerity violence Spain Tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

yore wrote: »
    Take what lying down? Those evil discriminatory laws that forbid them from working? Or the fact that society at large might not be able to continue to subsidise them to have the same standard of living as they are accustomed to.

It's bullsh1t. Those Spanish, and 99.99% of Irish people have opportunities and comforts that most of the worlds population could only ever dream about.

Spoilt children. Simple as that.

If you don't want to "take it lying down" then get up off your arse and do something productive. Quit moaning about it and blaming everyone else for all your own personal failings.

Not a mention of the fact that money is being taken out of EVERYONE'S pockets to repay private gambling debts, and corrupt former politicians, and special advisors, and NAMA directors and God knows who else.

Sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

debts incurred by a minority.

The vast majority of the debts are as a result of the reckless borrowing on the part of every tom dick and harry, in asking for a 110% mortgage they could only ever repay if times were only ever sunny.

The economy slowed, they reneged on their mortgages, and the rest is history.

It's extremely unfair to pin all the blame on the politicians/bankers as they are just running around putting out fires created by reckless borrowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Another blow to Spain's image as a place to invest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭fando

Not a mention of the fact that money is being taken out of EVERYONE'S pockets to repay private gambling debts, and corrupt former politicians, and special advisors, and NAMA directors and God knows who else.

Sickening.
    CruelCoin wrote: »
    The vast majority of the debts are as a result of the reckless borrowing on the part of every tom dick and harry, in asking for a 110% mortgage they could only ever repay if times were only ever sunny.

The economy slowed, they reneged on their mortgages, and the rest is history.

It's extremely unfair to pin all the blame on the politicians/bankers as they are just running around putting out fires created by reckless borrowing.

In other words: all those proles should be happy that they were given the opportunity to drive their BMW/wear their 100€ stone-washed jeans for a while. If they didn't see the system was flawed back then - they shouldn't protest now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

Sickening.

Why do people still insist on repeating this disingenuous and emotive rhetorical mantra?

What's your issue with NAMA directors ffs? What so you suggest - firing the current directors and advertising the posts as minimum wage. Penny-wise and pound foolish.

I'll tell you how you can save a few bob Hatrickpatrick, the next time you need to go to the dentist or doctor, come to me instead. I'll only charge you for my work at the minimum wage rate. That'll be a good deal, right?
    (I have zero medical training or study btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Yep. Nothing helps a country struggling to pay its way get back on its feet better than wrecking the place.

To be honest it's hard to see how they can wreck it more than it already is. A country of lazy good for nothings who sucked up billions from the EU and spent it on retiring at 45, paying no taxes and making work an optional extra.

Ireland can be deeply proud that we faced up to our own mess and didn't flinch from realising that only we can fix it. We won't have riots because the vast majority of Irish people know what we are doing is the right thing and Kenny is doing a damned fine job of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

fando wrote: »
    In other words: all those proles should be happy that they were given the opportunity to drive their BMW/wear their 100€ stone-washed jeans for a while. If they didn't see the system was flawed back then - they shouldn't protest now.

Pretty much.

Its not the banks/politicians responsibility to protect you from your own stupidity.

Its amazing how people bet everything on red and they bitch and moan when the ball lands on black. Who made you bet in the first place?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

[URL="http:///fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/557099_515519895141990_1817692334_n.jpg"]http:///fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/557099_515519895141990_1817692334_n.jpg[/URL]

The above pic shows masked men starting the rioting against the riot police, and later on helping the same police to arrest other rioters.

In other words.. the rioting was started by undercover police, more than likely as an excuse to start beating back the thousands of protesters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Mach Lei

Piliger;80957836]To be honest it's hard to see how they can wreck it more than it already is. A country of lazy good for nothings who sucked up billions from the EU and spent it on retiring at 45, paying no taxes and making work an optional extra.

Ireland can be deeply proud that we faced up to our own mess and didn't flinch from realising that only we can fix it. We won't have riots because the vast majority of Irish people know what we are doing is the right thing and Kenny is doing a damned fine job of it.

Kenny doing a fine job? some joke all the broken promises that have being made,the promised deal on the bank debt if we voted yes which seems to falling through, you don,t think there will be riots? with more harsh budgets to come its inevitable a point will come where people can take and will not take anymore then they will start to fight back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Unlimited Bacon

RELEASE THE BULLS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

and where does the money come from to pay them? borrowing and paying interest?

Our lovely friends in the IMF! Sure all they have to do is look at us "Sure it'll be grand":rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Piliger wrote: »

The corpse from "Weekend at Bernies" would have got a better result in Europe than Kenny.

Do you really believe your own shite.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

nice_very wrote: »
    [URL="http:///fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/557099_515519895141990_1817692334_n.jpg"]http:///fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/557099_515519895141990_1817692334_n.jpg[/URL]

The above pic shows masked men starting the rioting against the riot police, and later on helping the same police to arrest other rioters.

In other words.. the rioting was started by undercover police, more than likely as an excuse to start beating back the thousands of protesters
    Eh, the above picture shows bloody nothing. Three grainy pictures of guys in dark hoodies and blue jeans (I bet no-one else was dressed like that), possibly helping or arresting a guy on the ground.

It's well known that police forces plant people in the crowd to keep an eye, but there's zero evidence in that picture that the guys at the front causing the hassle are police.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

seamus wrote: »
    Eh, the above picture shows bloody nothing. Three grainy pictures of guys in dark hoodies and blue jeans (I bet no-one else was dressed like that), possibly helping or arresting a guy on the ground.

It's well known that police forces plant people in the crowd to keep an eye, but there's zero evidence in that picture that the guys at the front causing the hassle are police.

^^ the bold is a clue

I would be fairly confident that not many groups outside of the police have power of arrest. this was posted/shared by someone I know personally and who was at the protest, is from Madrid and quite clued in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

It will never happen in Ireland, unless the Spanish students decide to give lessons, in return for other lessons.

The fighting Irish lol, if Ireland was a jail, the majority of the population would be bending over, "here take me take me"

Why do people still insist on repeating this disingenuous and emotive rhetorical mantra?

What's your issue with NAMA directors ffs? What so you suggest - firing the current directors and advertising the posts as minimum wage. Penny-wise and pound foolish.

I'll tell you how you can save a few bob Hatrickpatrick, the next time you need to go to the dentist or doctor, come to me instead. I'll only charge you for my work at the minimum wage rate. That'll be a good deal, right?
    (I have zero medical training or study btw)

Comparing the value of work a doctor does to Ye value f work a government advisor does?
    One of them actually benefits people's health.

This is what's so ridiculous about this situation. People aren't getting that we're paying people severance and expenses for doing absoltely nothing whatsoever or the country. Those same people will take any opportunity to attack recipients of social welfare despite the fact that it would take a hundred SW recipients or more to total how much money Bertie for example is getting out of our pockets. Does principle mean nothing to people anymore? :confused:

Bertie Ahern no longer works for this state as a politician. Is anyone hostelry going to try an justify why he's getting a single penny from us APART from his pension(s)?

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Pretty much.

Its not the banks/politicians responsibility to protect you from your own stupidity.

Exactly. That's why I'm arguing that we should be telling those who chose of their own free will to invest in bonds from Anglo Irish Bank to go f*ck themselves instead of forking out 60 odd billion to cover their stupidity ad make sure they don't have to suffer any consequences of their own stupidity.
    Its amazing how people bet everything on red and they bitch and moan when the ball lands on black. Who made you bet in the first place?

Nobody, and I don't bet. The bond holders, however, did.
    Why do you differentiate between one category of gamblers and another? Why should distressed homeowners be left so sort out their own sh*t but NOT people who placed bets on senior bank debt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Sergeant wrote: »
    If you don't curtail the spending to match the incomings, then what do you do?

You should certainly curtail Im not disagreeing with that point. If we keep cutting without stimulus to the economy we are basically fecked. We need to raise tax for upper middle and upper earners. Most of all we need a
    Taoiseach with balls. Currently we have a Taoiseach who considers it a matter of pride that he didnt ask for a write down on our debt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭nachocheese

Mach Lei wrote: »
    Kenny doing a fine job? some joke all the broken promises that have being made,the promised deal on the bank debt if we voted yes which seems to falling through, you don,t think there will be riots? with more harsh budgets to come its inevitable a point will come where people can take and will not take anymore then they will start to fight back.
    No they won't. The middle income earners here are paying for everyone else - the poor and the untouched elite alike - and those are who the Government continues to target because they KNOW they won't do anything.

If there is riots, it'll be from the uneducated and work shy who've no real idea why they're rioting, as they're still getting some of the best social welfare in Europe and nothing is expected of them, not from those who are actually keeping the country running and feeling the brunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

Comparing the value of work a doctor does to Ye value f work a government advisor does?
    One of them actually benefits people's health.

This is what's so ridiculous about this situation. People aren't getting that we're paying people severance and expenses for doing absoltely nothing whatsoever or the country. Those same people will take any opportunity to attack recipients of social welfare despite the fact that it would take a hundred SW recipients or more to total how much money Bertie for example is getting out of our pockets. Does principle mean nothing to people anymore? :confused:

Bertie Ahern no longer works for this state as a politician. Is anyone hostelry going to try an justify why he's getting a single penny from us APART from his pension(s)?

Ah sure right. Lets focus all our frustrations on the bankers/politicians/developers. Any scapegoat will do. If we kill them all then we'll surely be better off. We can ask the Robert Mugabe how he brought peace and prosperity to his country by blaming and seizing wealth from evil white farmers. Or take a leaf from Chairman Mao's book and persecute the educated and wealthier.
    Sure lets do it right and throw the jews in there into the list like they did in 1930s Germany. Lets "rabble rabble" and stir up a frenzy. All we need is a minority to focus our anger onto.

Most of the looney left rants remind me of the stupid yank rantings about Iran/Russia/Al-quaida etc. As Michael d called them ->"**** whipping up fear"

So Bertie get equivalent to the dole of a hundred people? About 20k a week plus 100 times all their other rent allowances and medical cards etc. That's mad. Sure why not claim a thousand while you are at it.

String up Bertie if you want to. It won't make any difference to yours or anyone else's pocket. And isn't that what the moaners are crying about? Money money money.

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

I wonder what the Irish riots will be like?

Bunch of knackers attacking other Irish people, robbing and wrecking Irish businesses as they go without a moment of thought of what they're actually doing most likely.

If it came to riots here I would hope to see examples being made. Rubber bullets being used at the very minimum.

true enough it seems almost all we have for civilians, let alone "infantry" which sounds about right in a different context

n a load of what appears from eastern bloc circa 1994 on is most defo not how I want us to be broadcast to the world, it's bad enough. This is the lowest time in our history financially and culturally but willy can swim; ta fcuk. I am not going under we should see it as an opportunity to wipe the slate n rebuild, sow some seeds n start afresh. Too many gombeens with only a degree in cute hoorism

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭Toshchiy Imperatritsy Vselennoy

Ah sure right. Lets focus all our frustrations on the bankers/politicians/developers. Any scapegoat will do. If we kill them all then we'll surely be better off. We can ask the Robert Mugabe how he brought peace and prosperity to his country by blaming and seizing wealth from evil white farmers. Or take a leaf from Chairman Mao's book and persecute the educated and wealthier.
    Sure lets do it right and throw the jews in there into the list like they did in 1930s Germany. Lets "rabble rabble" and stir up a frenzy. All we need is a minority to focus our anger onto.

Most of the looney left rants remind me of the stupid yank rantings about Iran/Russia/Al-quaida etc. As Michael d called them ->"**** whipping up fear"

So Bertie get equivalent to the dole of a hundred people? About 20k a week plus 100 times all their other rent allowances and medical cards etc. That's mad. Sure why not claim a thousand while you are at it.

String up Bertie if you want to. It won't make any difference to yours or anyone else's pocket. And isn't that what the moaners are crying about? Money money money.

NOW YOU ARE TALKING :cool:

Seriously when we do political violence we do it seriously.

The socialist marxist SF types would take us to a whole new level. Thats why people don't riot.

Look at NI ......you cannot say the two movements might not get connect....

I think that is why we don't do it..we don't want the reputation..

Interestingly if there were a revolution..i think we would just accept it too..

Anyway..seriously

The EU is over ..i mean look..it's getting to the point of no return...they can't bing this under control and keep it that way fo the many long long years that austerity needs..

They can't keep a lid on it forever....especially with Spain..Catalonia wants out..and erm the Basques....it really can't keep it up

A letter from German Finnish and Netherlands confirmd all bailout fuds are to be considered public sovreign debt ....this would affect Ireland

It is Austerity for 30-60 yrs...not 5 or 7.....

Think about that....we will be living like an eastern European country by standards by then...your pensions gone....your health insurance sky rocketing...taxes high..

Is the Iceland option looking so bad???

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

Never even used a bank. always felt the smart money was under the matress even so tell me why the **** am I being made forward my money to a bank with no return.

No; don't actually.. I fear an formal response from some brainwashed motherfcuker who doesn't know any better. aka our "best & brightest"

Real blouses now wear pink; shocking pink like I couldn't spot them before. n these are shocking times n I'm sorry it's come to this but i might have to summon some of the anarchos from around the uk because fcuking la la land, here in 2012 cannot provide.