Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭rufuseric82

Yeah it was a bit weird, particularly given the hour it was on.

Compare that to Ken reading it in a Scottish accent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭gluppers

Fed up with these 'banter' filled shows sponsored by x drinks brand

• Registered Users Posts: 37 Dylbag

Anyone know what the story is with Kevin Kilbane...haven’t heard him on in a while...

• Registered Users Posts: 37 Dylbag

double post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Dylbag wrote: »
    Anyone know what the story is with Kevin Kilbane...haven’t heard him on in a while...

It could be that he doesn't have the free time as he's doing a lot of TV work these days. He was on Virgin Media this evening covering the Croatia-England Nations Cup match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Jamie Moore is very full on.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

Dylbag wrote: »

He was on earlier talking about the Irish match

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

Stephen Hunt is dreadful analysing the Ireland/Wales game.
    He thinks were doing grand.....!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,711 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Stephen Hunt is dreadful analysing the Ireland/Wales game. He thinks were doing grand.....!

He's still to close to the current squad to criticize them, his Sindo articles on them are the same

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Stephen Hunt is dreadful analysing the Ireland/Wales game.
    He thinks were doing grand.....!

That’s spot on in Irish terms so

“How’s it going?”

“Grand” - roughly translating as - not good/shįte/hungover/f*ck off annoying me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

It could be that he doesn't have the free time as he's doing a lot of TV work these days. He was on Virgin Media this evening covering the Croatia-England Nations Cup match.

I see him on Bein Sports also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

He's still to close to the current squad to criticize them, his Sindo articles on them are the same

Joe doing his lily-livered take on Paxman trying to break through this wall of discretion: "So I must ask again, do the players support Martin O'Neil's tactics?"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

They had a special "Warning to gamblers" introduction to the section where the gambling shill comes in to studio yesterday. Something like "If you have a problem with gambling then you might be better off tuning in after 5pm".

Can you imagine what Gilroy would be saying if this a competitor put out that message?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,974 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Gary O'Toole and Paul Kimmage on papers today. My personal favorite lineup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Gary O'Toole and Paul Kimmage on papers today. My personal favorite lineup.

The content is still a far more important factor for me than who they have on. What's sort of stuff are they talking?

Patww79 wrote:
    The content is still a far more important factor for me than who they have on. What's sort of stuff are they talking?

Hasn't started yet.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Gary O'Toole: I met Stewart Lancaster at a bar one time...

Paul Kimmage: What did he order?

GO'T: Don't know...

PK: WHY NOT!?

GO'T: (ignoring PK)

PK: Ale?

I know they're quite Marmite but I enjoy them without having to like them.

Kimmage doing his usual Gerry Conlan just released from prison impersonation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

humberklog wrote: »
    Gary O'Toole: I met Stewart Lancaster at a bar one time...

Paul Kimmage: What did he order?

GO'T: Don't know...

PK: WHY NOT!?

GO'T: (ignoring PK)

PK: Ale?

I know they're quite Marmite but I enjoy them without having to like them.

Ended the review with a couple of 4 letter tirades, Molloy had to apologise for him.

Anyone who has to swear like a docker to make his point, particularly a columnist, is letting himself down badly. Distracts from the content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

humberklog wrote: »

Haha, bang on. Kimmage is a gifted journalist and has written some magnificent prose, continues to do so in fact. That said he is one tortured individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Find Gary O'Toole insufferable.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Find Gary O'Toole insufferable.

Has a very apt surname.

Olympic athlete, surgeon. Sure what would he have to say worth listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I could listen to Gary O’Toole for hours. I think he’s a very impressive man and he’s a thoroughly genuine sports fan.

Olympic athlete, surgeon.

Something he never let's us forget. Was funny when both were being introduced Kimmage had to pull Joe up and remind him that he's also an Olympian.

O'Toole is a like a man on the throne with his high moral compass looking down and preaching to all the degenerates.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

O'Toole is a like a man on the throne with his high moral compass looking down and preaching to all the degenerates.

Surprised you can type with that chip on your shoulder.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Olympic athlete, surgeon. Sure what would he have to say worth listening to.

What he did for the protection of children in swimming in Ireland too, at a very young age, makes him a hero in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

elefant wrote: »
    What he did for the protection of children in swimming in Ireland too, at a very young age, makes him a hero in my eyes.

Embarrassed to say I had completely forgotten about that! That was huge thing.

On Sunday he told a story about how he wrote letters to the head lad in Notre Dame. It was funny - Joe goes “did you email or actually write a letter?”, Gary then confirmed that he hand wrote the letter and Joe responded “of course you did!” (I was thinking the exact same thing myself). Gary then announced that he has a special pen that he uses for writing his important letters which moves him up a notch in my estimation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Me too. What his occupation happens to be is irrelevant to me.

Yeah and fair play to him for that, I just find him too preachy.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Me too. What his occupation happens to be is irrelevant to me.

The reason I think it is relevant in this instance is that as an orthopaedic surgeon who specialises in hip, knee and sports injuries, he has a particular insight in to the physiological side of sport performance.

I think I can recall him telling a story of being at a Leinster match and a player was injured with a knee injury and he was the on call Dr at his hospital that day so he ended up leaving the game and helping treat the player at the hospital.

That's fairly relevant in my view.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Ivan got a good dig in on Richie about Off The Ball righteousness while doing that handover.

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

doylefe wrote: »
    Ivan got a good dig in on Richie about Off The Ball righteousness while doing that handover.

What was said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,043 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Whatever happened the whole Cora Staunton saga?

Is it ever mentioned these days?

doylefe wrote:
    redbuck wrote:
    What was said?

Richie said they'd be discussing doping findings in under age in South Africa.

Ivan commented something like "oh I bet your against that".

Ivan always gives Richie a hard time, because it's easy to do it.

NIMAN wrote:
    Whatever happened the whole Cora Staunton saga?

Is it ever mentioned these days?

Went quiet everywhere. OTB, The GAA Hour etc. I too thought it would come up again with Cora's book but it has died away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Richie said they'd be discussing doping findings in under age in South Africa.

Ivan commented something like "oh I bet your against that".

Ivan always gives Richie a hard time, because it's easy to do it.

He also said "keep up the righteousness" sarcastically.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

NIMAN wrote: »
    Whatever happened the whole Cora Staunton saga? Is it ever mentioned these days?

It turned out that Off The Ball backed the wrong horse. And they have pretty much buried the story since them. Pretty pathetic tbh. They should have fully apologised live on air to the Mayo management.

Why did Wooly drop it too oh wise one?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Wooly’s dropped it too as if it didn’t happen, so I look forward to your calls for him to apologise to the footballers involved.

Or, like I said a few weeks back, both of them gave extreme sides to the story when reality is it was something somewhere in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Faugheen wrote: »
    Wooly’s dropped it too as it didn’t happen, so I look forward to your calls for him to apologise to the footballers involved.

Or, like I said a few weeks back, both of them gave extreme sides to the story when reality is it was something somewhere in the middle.
    When did the reality come out?

naughtb4 wrote: »

There is no reality. Only subjective opinions.

But, interesting that both shows (Off the Ball and The GAA Hour) were very vocal on the topic and then it disappeared entirely.

Carnacon were originally thrown out of the Mayo championship (after a 30-2 vote) at a Ladies county board meeting. The players involved were then suspended for 8 weeks (which would have meant they missed the remainder of this years championship) They appealed, and their suspensions were halved, they returned for the semi and the final.

They won the final. 9-10 to 0-4 (no typo). It was their 19th Mayo title in a row.

I wonder how much of this stemmed from a dislike of their dominance within Mayo Ladies football?

When people developed common sense.

What has happened in this thread is people immediately called the footballers liars when the manager gave his (one) side of the story.

Yet there was never a question of maybe the manager was lying. People believed him straight away and Wooly became a man of the people.

Colm Parkinson is a bitter contrarian who thinks he’s better than he actually is. He backed the management horse to stick it to OTB because he decided to leave them 2 years ago.

Nowadays he has nothing to say but a lot of people here only question why OTB has dropped it, I wonder why that is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Well it is the OTB thread?

Why was everyone talking about Colm Parkinson like he was some sort of hero in this thread when he no longer works for OTB then?

If people are going to be taken seriously, provide balance in your arguments. People were ready to wave a stick at OTB for going quiet on this when the same people supporting Wooly pretended as if he hadn't gone quiet as well.

Where's the stick waving in his direction? There is none. Which is my point.

Someone said OTB should apologise to the management for no reason other than it's gone quiet, so if that's the case should Wooly apologise to the players since he's done the same?

Faugheen wrote:
    Someone said OTB should apologise to the management for no reason other than it's gone quiet, so if that's the case should Wooly apologise to the players since he's done the same?

I asked the question of that poster. I don't expect an answer.

It's the case in virtually every thread about a person, TV show, radio show, celebrity on Boards (and I presume wider internet).

Many who comment do so to suggest the person at the centre of whatever the show is is terrible. We have an incredible capacity to be negative towards others, particularly when anonymous or with the www is between us and them.

I think it stems from a self confidence thing. I think some get their kicks from being in a position to cast judgement on others.

Look at this thread, constant comments about how bad the show and individual presenters are and yet when they won 1st, 2nd and 3rd in sports broadcaster of the year recent awards on national radio, no comments congratulating them or saying it was well deserved.

But if/when their numbers drop, the thread will be full of "I told you so's".

I comment quite frequently defending the show and saying how much I enjoy it and am told I must work on it or for newstalk.

I just like when people give out about the show yet continue to listen to it, and then wonder how it hasn't lost listeners.

Faugheen wrote:
    I just like when people give out about the show yet continue to listen to it, and then wonder how it hasn't lost listeners.

They probably don't listen to it.
    They probably hear a 5/6 minute article once every couple of weeks and deduce from that exactly what the show is like, why it's failing and why other shows with smaller listenerships are better.

Disagreeing/disliking something is fine. When you back it up and discuss it.
    (That's what discussion is)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Sorry to break up the luv in lads but for your information OTB are being criticised for ghosting the Mayo ladies story because the court of public opinion has ruled in favour of the management. OTB got it completely wrong from day 1, or backed the wrong horse as said by someone above. They should acknowledge that.

Parkinson called it right and has nothing to apologise for. If he kept milking it he'd be accused of gloating.

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Sorry to break up the luv in lads but for your information OTB are being criticised for ghosting the Mayo ladies story because the court of public opinion has ruled in favour of the management. OTB got it completely wrong from day 1, or backed the wrong horse as said by someone above. They should acknowledge that.

Parkinson called it right and has nothing to apologise for. If he kept milking it he'd be accused of gloating.

How do you know they backed the wrong horse? Because Colm Parkinson said so?

Do you not realise how ridiculous that sounds?

Why were Carnacon as a club thrown out of the Championship because of the actions of a few? Why were they then reinstated and the suspensions of those few halved?

Does that not suggest to you that management weren't as rosy as they claimed to be?

As I've said, something went on here. It might not be as bad as the players made out but I'm full sure that it wasn't just 'nothing' like the manager told Wooly (who didn't even challenge him) made it out to be.

The fact the Mayo Ladies county board released a statement before listening to the statement read out by the players made the entire situation a ****-show.

Imhof Tank wrote:

You talk about the court of public opinion. What do you think Wooly would say about that? He's early comments on the matter were that the court of public opinion had sided with the girls and that that was a joke.
    But now your perception is that same court is justifying the management.

"For your information".....

Whenever you have it please.