Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What simple things fill you with joy?

• 26-09-2012 11:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭

For me:

The opening chord of A Hard Day's Night.

Runner's High.

Crisp, bright winter mornings.

Looking up at night and seeing the ancient light from incredibly distant stars.

When my MP3 player plays two songs from the same album in order when it's on shuffle.

Knowing I've done my job well, and enjoyed doing it.

Chocolate.

The English language put to beautiful use.

What little things put a smile on your face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭rogieop

waking up naturally on my day off, no noise, no alarm, just coming around, then going downstairs making a coffee and chilling out knowing ive the whole day to myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭another question

Good food and a couple of glasses of wine and sex of course!

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

Pink floyds wish you were here.
    Crisp autumn mornings.
    Puppies.
    Kittens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

I was going to simply say " Sex" .. but that would be a a lie ...

Good sex !! on the other hand would not be a lie .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

Today seeing my daughter walking for the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Quorum

Oh let me see... something about the cool side of the pillow...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Tunnocks Tea Cakes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

Serotonin
    Dopamine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

For me:

The opening chord of A Hard Day's Night.

Runner's High.

Crisp, bright winter mornings.

Looking up at night and seeing the ancient light from incredibly distant stars.

When my MP3 player plays two songs from the same album in order when it's on shuffle.

Knowing I've done my job well, and enjoyed doing it.

Chocolate.

The English language put to beautiful use.

What little things put a smile on your face?

The first page of a new book that draws me in so much I know I'll be up all night reading it.

The smell of coffee in the morning.

Noticing the first leaves bundled in the gutters and on the ground under the trees in the autumn.

My new boots. :)

Crackling fires on a cold day.

Phone calls from old friends.

Being told by someone I admire that I've done excellent work.

The period between October and Christmas. My favourite time of year.

Wind and rain against the window on a day off.

Hot chocolate.

And so many more :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Putting on a clean, fresh pair of white socks twice a day.. Satisfys my OCD :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Manc-Red wrote: »

Ah that's brilliant, congratulations!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I don't how much of a child I still am but some of the stuff they get away with on "kids" shows has me just thinking about it, grinning like an idiot and puts me in a great mood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Manc-Red wrote: »

my son will be taking his first steps any time now.

for me it happened last week. it was actually the very first time me and my son shared a laugh together. he was sitting in his buggy watching the telly when he let a massive massive fart. i started pissing myself and he looked at me then started laughing too. it was so cool that we were laughing together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

A bath when you come in cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

My 15yr old son hugging me, kissing me and telling me he loves me every nite before he goes to bed. Oh and I love his hugs when he comes home from school. Just so nice to have loving children. That is the biggest blessing in my life.

Being loved by the man I love. Pure (and not so pure!) joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

When you run for a bus and make it just in the nick of time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

For the past ten years i couldn't smile properly because i had really ****ty teath and that was 3 weeks ago I cant stop smiling all the time :D... Genuinely cost me a fricken fortune but being honest being able to smile properly just makes every day awesome..

Thats what fills me with joy knowing I can smile confidantly :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Fresh jocks
    Fresh socks
    Fresh sheets
    Long warm showers with lots of shower gel
    A warm hug when you're cold
    A new hoodie
    The electric blanket on a cold winters night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Cuddles and holding hands.

The bass during the second half of Bend Shadows Towards The Light.

Animals being friends.

Kim Deal during Where Is My Mind?

Cold glass of water when it's hot.

When I get really, really salty crisp, the type that literally melts in your mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭another question

TheComeUp wrote: »
    Fresh jocks
    Fresh socks
    Fresh sheets
    Long warm showers with lots of shower gel
    A warm hug when you're cold
    A new hoodie
    The electric blanket on a cold winters night

Ah thee electric blanket, nothing like cosy toes and a warm bum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

The *pop* sound when you uncork a bottle of wine, followed swiftly by the soft *bloop bloop bloop* of the wine pouring into the glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Floating on my back in the sea and looking up at the sky.

Looking at the sunrise.

Both these activities are completely free and fill you with such an overwhelming peace, feels good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

Walking behind a hot girl wearing those tight black leggings.

Accidentally getting 2 bars from a vending machine.

Arriving at a luas/bus stop and seeing there's a tram/bus due in 1 min.

Waking up early on a Saturday morning, momentarily forgetting it's Saturday and then remembering.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

My sons wanting cuddles. When the youngest farts he points to himself smiling saying I farted as if he's proud of himself. The other night my oldest decided he wanted to read his own bedtime story and it came to the word follows and he pronounced it correctly on his first attempt. My fiancé holding me in my arms too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Coming home after a long, hard day to a silent empty house.

When the cat comes and sits on my lap for cuddles, especially the sound of her purring.

Just having my dog around me.

Waking up early on a weekend morning and realising that I can turn over and go back to sleep.

Going to bed with a hot water bottle.

Having a much needed smoke.

Listening to great music in the car with the window rolled down the whole way on a nice day.

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Opening a new jar of coffee.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 conorc94

Sleeping.

And tea.

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

A long, long walk certainly lifts the mood and revitalizes wee willy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

My son. Even when he's driving me crazy:)

Cuddles and chats with my OH. I love that we can tell each other anything.

Walks on a crisp, dry day.

Crunchy leaves on said walk.

Buzz from running.

Being close to, or in the sea.

My furbabies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭chasm

I don't have children myself but i have 8 nephews and nieces and at the risk of sounding soppy i would have to say that a lot of the simple things that fill me with joy would probably have involved them. Things like the first time each of them said my name, gave me a hug or kiss, actually this list could go on and on lol It's just silly little things sometimes but they brighten my day all the same :)

Another would be when 2 of my nephews decided to break ranks from their chelsea supporting parents and siblings and come over to my team-Liverpool :D
    All my siblings support Chelsea so that was joyous to say the least lol

Also in there would have to be waking up to the sun shining through your window, can't beat that feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

The smell of fresh cut grass.
    The scent of my bfs hair.
    Talking to my best friend about something we love.
    That first cup of tea in the morning.
    Lighting a fire and turning the lights off in the room and just watching it.
    And spooning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

The smell of a new Ferrari, tickets for the Orient express and the gleam off a small stack of gold bars. Simple is best. So right Op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Jelly 292

My Huskies

My Guitar

My Bong (occasionally)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭God...

A good big heafty ****e.... no jokes, when your dying for it and then that big devastating plop, pure joy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I love putting on a freshly pressed shirt before I go out for a beer with the lads or on a date with my bird.

Nothing beats a freshly pressed shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Heroin...oh and when I give my kids heroin and they fart...it's so cute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Seeing old couples holding hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭nua domhan

A creamy pint in a warm pub with the lads having the craic on a sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

That's the cutest thing ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Or good-looking women walking past them, wearing tight jeans, stylish shoes and a good sweater. With good hair. Mmmm.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Heroin...oh and when I give my kids heroin and they fart...it's so cute!

Tried it once when young, mislead and stupid. Ecstatic as it was, it's not worth the risk and I'd well more advise holding your poo in as long as possible and then releasing it all at once.

A seriously joyous achievement.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

That first cup of tea of the day. *aaaahhhhhhh*

God... wrote: »
    Tried it once when young, mislead and stupid. Ecstatic as it was, it's not worth the risk and I'd well more advise holding your poo in as long as possible and then releasing it all at once.

Hummmm, I'm sensing a theme.

Also, standing on top of Ben Bulbin at Dawn ( taking a mountain man ****e)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Washing my hands. Washing my hands. Washing my hands. Washing my hands.

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

Whenever I'm looking to get really gay its some MDNA that hits the spot good golly miss molly!!!

oh joy.... a man should never know happiness. Or at least, not recognize it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

God... wrote: »

So you do exist...what's heaven like?

Whenever I'm looking to get really gay its some MDNA that hits the spot good golly miss molly!!!

oh joy.... a man should never know happiness. Or at least, not recognize it

You really love Madonna that much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

I love when you plan to meet a few friends for one or two drinks in the afternoon and the craic is so good that you stay on for hours. Not getting hammered drunk or anything, just enjoying the banter. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I love when you plan to meet a few friends for one or two drinks in the afternoon and the craic is so good that you stay on for hours. Not getting hammered drunk or anything, just enjoying the banter. :)

Some of the most fun times are in the pub with friends and not drinking, just laughing and acting the eejit. Thats what the beer garden in An Poc Fada on a Sunday afternoon is for! Bliss.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    So you do exist...what's heaven like?

It's euphoric, kind of like having a big poo.