Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is Australia rough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Was there on and off two years in the 90's great country and very tolerant people. The only hassle I ever had was a group of hoons (Australian Joyriders) turning up at a car park and doing hand break spins when I was trying to get some kip in my combi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

There was 5 people killed/murdered in Ireland in the last week.Does that make Ireland rough,OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

There was 5 people killed/murdered in Ireland in the last week.Does that make Ireland rough,OP?
    Yes, yes it does. And it seems to be getting rougher. I've a mate who lives in Finglas and evey day talking to him is like listening to a soap opera - anything happen last night bud? - "Yep, so and so shot so and so, there was a mini riot and two of me windows were put in.." etc etc. That might just be Finglas though.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭JJLongford

I wouldn't count the drug scum in that figure.

Give me the figure where attacked didn't know the attacker. I think that would be a more accurate litmus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I was in Australia for 3 weeks and I would say they are absolute thugs of animals with a drink problem and attitude to match. Racism is rife against Irish people too. Most people I met however were fine but there is an attitude problem there and I have also noticed it amongst the Australians I have met during my Asian travels.

A good example of typical Australisn brutishness is how they carryon in the International Rules Series, they basically turn a game of football into a running pitch battle and then think this is OK? Australian women behaved normally but I think there is a small minority of Australian jackasses as sterotyped by Home and Away as "The Braxtons".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Rough? Yes the outback has a rough and rugged terrain with mountains and rain forests. Not every 'road' in these parts will be tarmacked, if fact more often than not it will be a dirt road. The have the well known urban areas, but a lot of it remains unspoiled and rough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Pottler wrote: »
    Yes, yes it does. And it seems to be getting rougher. I've a mate who lives in Finglas and evey day talking to him is like listening to a soap opera - anything happen last night bud? - "Yep, so and so shot so and so, there was a mini riot and two of me windows were put in.." etc etc. That might just be Finglas though.

Bollocks

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭Toshchiy Imperatritsy Vselennoy

JJLongford wrote: »
    I wouldn't count the drug scum in that figure.

Give me the figure where attacked didn't know the attacker. I think that would be a more accurate litmus.

It seems the Irish are the rough ones who don't respect life universally.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭JJLongford

It seems the Irish are the rough ones who don't respect life universally.

It's not that I don't value life but if one dabbles with mobs and kills a bloke in prison odds are it will come back at you. That's just the way those scumbags work it. You can be sure it will happen regularly.

All the Irish reported lately, it seems, were attacked randomly and viciously. Obviously, this one wasn't of racist motivation that we know of. I'd say the man involved was more sexually motivated. But that still doesn't explain the number of Irish involved in these brutal attacks in a short period...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I think the Australians have as much respect for Rabbits as People.

I should feckin hope so :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

You just calm yourself down.

Murders with hammers and women being raped and murdered are not weekly occurrences.

I already backtracked on the rape thing. But murders in general are a weekly occurence. Do you think they're all genteel painless poisonings like in Murder She Wrote?

So being stabbed with a knife or screwdriver, or kicked to death are so much less rough than the ONE hammer attack you mentioned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,520 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

True, Australia might be dangerous, but being Jessica Fletcher's friend is suicidal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭manlad

I read the Australian and Irish news on a daily basis. For a substantially smaller country Ireland's crime rate looks so much higher, then again I live in Victoria and news stories from other states arent really broadcast here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Actually,

I'm reversing my rape backtracking.

Police recorded rapes in Ireland:

2007: 357
    2008: 348
    2009: 377
    2010: 479

So, no, they're not a weekly occurrence, they're a damn DAILY occurrence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Slunk wrote: »
    Bollocks
    See what I mean?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Seriously, the Wentworth Courier? A local rag/estate agent spam for Eastern Suburb snobs concerned about the price of their property.

I always find it amusing that people whining about the behaviour of other Irish still choose to live and socialise in the same areas populated by young backpackers. Akin to a pensioner moving into a student house and complaining about the parties. Y'know Australia's a pretty big place, there's plenty of places where you can avoid yobbish behaviour, Irish or otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭whatever73

Australia has lots of psychos anyway, just type in Australian serial killers into google

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,903 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Stinicker wrote: »
    I was in Australia for 3 weeks and I would say they are absolute thugs of animals with a drink problem and attitude to match. Racism is rife against Irish people too.

I lol'd, cheers for that.
    A good example of typical Australisn brutishness is how they carryon in the International Rules Series, they basically turn a game of football into a running pitch battle and then think this is OK?

Yes they do because AFL and GAA are so far removed from each in terms of physicality it's not even funny. The 'brutishness' you're whinging about is part and parcel of footy. Maybe you're just soft.

Nice rant though (not really)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

It is no different here to anywhere else, every country, city and town has its own dodgy area that you're not supposed to walk down late at night.

It can get rough down here. The area I live in is popular for night life. There is rarely a weekend that passes that I can't look out the window and see guys beating the ****e out of each other at 3am with cop cars or ambulances whizzing by. It's the usual drug and drink fueled nonsense you can see on any major city street on a weekend.

Saying that I haven't had an ounce of trouble since I got here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I've been in Aus for the last six months on a working holiday visa. I've been in Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra, Snowy Mountains and everywhere in between. I'd have to say no, it's not rough. At least not any more than Ireland or any other country I've been in.

By and large, the people here are fantastic. I've been very impressed by how easy-going they are and in general the atmosphere is much more positive than back home.

The thing is, they have a drink culture that's a lot like ours, which is a recipe for trouble if you're in the wrong place at the wrong time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

I've been living in Australia just over a year now and from my experience, it's not rough at all here. Ireland's far rougher imo. I think the staggered closing times of clubs in most of the big cities helps, as people aren't turfed out onto the street at the same time on a Saturday night. All cities have places that you know to avoid but, for the most part, I feel far safer walking down the street in Melbourne than I would in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Australia is a huge place, you can't just ask a question like that.

If those people weren't Irish, you probably wouldn't have given it a second thought.

Every country has rough places and horrible crimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Slurryface

Just wondering why it seems that there's a lot of brutal crime stories involving Irish in Oz. I can think of 3 really brutal attacks off the top of my head...

1. Guy that was punched and died.
    2. Guy that was beaten with hammer recently.
    3. And now Jill Meagher.
    • Is it just that there's a lot of Irish there and chances are a few are unfortunately going to come across this? (But then again you don't hear of similar from the States, Canada or the U.K. where equally there are lots of Irish).
    • Is it that there's racism there towards Irish?
    • Or is it a rough place in general?
    Would love your experiences from Oz if you have any!
    Bearing in mind we had 5 unlawful killings last week it can hardly be any rougher than here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

I would say Ireland has the edge on being 'rough'. At least Australia doesn't have home grown terrorist organisations and political-religious tensions going back centuries packed into a (relatively) small island.
    On a more everyday level, Aussie coppers take far less crap from folks coming out from pubs, street drinking, arguing with bouncers etc than the Guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Seriously, the Wentworth Courier? A local rag/estate agent spam for Eastern Suburb snobs concerned about the price of their property.

I always find it amusing that people whining about the behaviour of other Irish still choose to live and socialise in the same areas populated by young backpackers. Akin to a pensioner moving into a student house and complaining about the parties. Y'know Australia's a pretty big place, there's plenty of places where you can avoid yobbish behaviour, Irish or otherwise.

I was only in Sydney for a few weeks, spent most of my time in Perth

I would say Ireland has the edge on being 'rough'. At least Australia doesn't have home grown terrorist organisations and political-religious tensions going back centuries packed into a (relatively) small island.
    On a more everyday level, Aussie coppers take far less crap from folks coming out from pubs, street drinking, arguing with bouncers etc than the Guards.

One man's terrorist is another man's freedom fighter...

Also have you not heard of there biker grang problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Australians are a bit weird especially their sense of humor.. but they're not bad lads, id feel a lot safer walking around Sydney then back home, as for being racist id say they are very tolerant considering their country is being swamped by foreigners.

The only trouble ive seen is caused by abbos, a bad shower indeed.

One man's terrorist is another man's freedom fighter...

Also have you not heard of there biker grang problems

And what about your neighbours in your home city. Great bunch of lads.

Which ones are you referring too?

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

jugger0 wrote: »
    ....as for being racist id say they are very tolerant considering their country is being swamped by foreigners.

Of course you'd think they were tolerant if you're racist yourself.

Their country is being "swamped" because they need the workforce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

They are generally pretty humble.

While I agreed with a lot of your post this one line i just could not.

I lived there for a year and have met many Aussie's travelling the world, and generally speaking I have actually found them to be the most arrogant of people I have ever met.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

Lived in Oz for 6 months in 2009 and the area we lived was pretty rough. It's not a perfect society by any means and they have a lot of social problems- just like everywhere else.

The racism towards the aborigines is disgusting but I must admit I never met an aborigine that did themselves any favours. My interactions with them were never exactly positive, but that doesn't make the white Aussie attitude right.

Didn't notice a problem with Asians per se but then I was friendly with Asians over there.

I remember seeing a man stabbed in the street in Northbridge on a night out and the scariest incident in my life was when a man threatened me while I was trying to carry a drunk friend to a taxi (long story). Only for the fact that a girl was with him and called him away god knows what would have happened.

One thing I will say about Aussie society, it seems much more overtly sexist than Irish society. I met guys over there that would say the things you normally only read in After Hours! :D

Like another poster said, there were FIVE murders in Ireland last week, does that make Ireland "rough"? And I don't know if the murders in Ireland were less violent and shocking than the murders and attacks in Oz (Jill Meagher's death aside).
      Anna Finnegan killed by her ex and her brother stabbed Two men SHOT IN FRONT OF THEIR CHILDREN A man beaten outside a pub in Cork city Eugene Gillespie beaten and left dead for two days
    So I don't know where you're going saying Australia is rougher than Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

65 murders in Ireland in 2005.
    67 the following year.

52 weeks in a year. You do the math(s)

I'm not disputing that there are murders in Ireland and that we get our fair share of violence. You were being very specific though. People are not raped and murdered every week. That's what I was saying, and that is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

People are not raped and murdered every week. That's what I was saying, and that is true.

you're wrong

murder stats: linkage

rape stats: linkaroo

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Ghandee wrote: »
    Definitely not!

I lived there for a couple of years 2003-2005 (why the fcuk did I come home?)

They have much more respect for their country, as in its wildlife and fauna than we have.

Every country in the world has its rough parts, or rough people.

We've had a few isolated incidents from Australia recently, but look at what happened in Norway last year?

Is Norway rough?

That's because most of it appears to be trying to kill them.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

They have much more respect for their country, as in its wildlife and fauna than we have.

Historically they've done far more damage to the flora/fauna of the country than possibly anywhere else. The introduction of the cane toad for example.

It's only in recent years that they have, thankfully, begun to properly respect their natural heritage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

One thing I've noticed when stories about violence are reported is the language and terms used to describe it all. Bashings, king-hit etc. It seems really bizarre to me, like why can they not just report these things as assaults?

Can you imagine RTE reporting a serious attack on somebody as 'A man was battered on Dame Street today'.

Have you forgotten the name everyone gave to the savage killings, beatings, bombings and murders up the North? "The troubles", now that's bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I've never been to Australia & don't want to either. It's not the country per se, but the accent.

It's grand compared to most Irish accents tbh. Especially the Cork and Kerry accents, nasty. I live there for four months and enjoyed it, my girlfriend was there for a year on her own and enjoyed it too. Can't say I saw any violence, but I actively avoided spots where Irish people congregated.
    People are not raped and murdered every week. That's what I was saying, and that is true.

You are badly wrong, people are murdered and raped every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭superblu

Did you never see the animals that used to come over from Australia to play that idiotic compromise rules games. They used to batter the sheight out of the Irish lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

jugger0 wrote: »
    Australians are a bit weird especially their sense of humor.. but they're not bad lads, id feel a lot safer walking around Sydney then back home

Jesus H. Do you actually read what you post? Do you know the history of Australian genocide? Silly question, you obviously don't.
    say they are very tolerant considering their country is being swamped by foreigners.

Wow, your ignorance is total. I'm impressed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭rockclover1

From what ive looked up australia has a lot of missing persons,there were according to austrailas missing persons register 70 missing persons from the state of victoria each year - thats a lot.

The outback is very dangerous,there have been people rammed off roads,cars broken down and abandoned,and burnt out,there is even a hot spot for burnt out cars,and murdered buried in the bush,some tortured to death beforehand.

Some hostels also have a bad rep in oz,so its good to research before you go,is it a drug and drink binge hangout,is there proper supervison?

There have been the snowtown murders and wolf creek murders to name but a few,there is probably a handful of maybe ten serial killers in OZ maybe in the outback,and between them there is an awful lot of missing people.

If you look at the missing persons in OZ there is loads,but my opinion is that it is probably higher due to there being higher concentrations of people in the country.

http://www.australianmissingpersonsregister.com/

..these are attempted abductions of children and teens etc... http://www.australianmissingpersonsregister.com/Abductions.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Have you forgotten the name everyone gave to the savage killings, beatings, bombings and murders up the North? "The troubles", now that's bizarre.

Not the same thing at all really. The Troubles is just a name given to a conflict that lasted for over 30 years, it's not exactly a term used to described the atrocities that took place during that time. What should it have been called? =p

My point was about the somewhat endearing terms used in Oz to describe specific & savagely violent attacks and so on. There's been a lot of research into it, and professionals have called on the Australian media to refrain from using certain terms to describe violence because they normalise and even glorify it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

There have been the snowtown murders and wolf creek murders to name but a few,there is probably a handful of maybe ten serial killers in OZ maybe in the outback,and between them there is an awful lot of missing people.

There was also "The Nutter" in Summerbay circa 1989/90

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭rockclover1

remember the peter falconio murder near alice springs? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Falconio

another tale of a drunken machete murder http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/chilling-tale-of-a-drunken-outback-machete-murder/story-e6frg6po-1225787748107 .. drink and aggro seems to be the factor here...

looked up the summerbay thing it seems to be a fictional thing based around home and away..

I'm not disputing that there are murders in Ireland and that we get our fair share of violence. You were being very specific though. People are not raped and murdered every week. That's what I was saying, and that is true.

This is wrong. The Irish murder rate has dropped til June but going by last week alone, there's certainly a "rough" element in Irish society.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0928/crime-cso-stats.html?3403250,3403250,flash,247

Two girls reported being raped at the Listowel races last week, I can't find a link for this but it was a tiny footnote in the national papers. The RCI say that the numbers reporting rape are decreasing, and most rapes are never reported to the Gardai. So I would hazard a guess that rapes are happening every week, we just never hear about them.

The Aussie crime rate may be higher because a. it's a bigger population (20m v 5m) and b. it's a more urbanised society, most people in Oz live in cities.

In those CSO stats the rate of burglary has shot up. Most rural people know of an elderly person who has been violently burgled (I know I do). A society in which it is common for elderly people to be terrorised and beaten in their own homes can hardly judge another country as "rough", imo.

The outback is very dangerous,there have been people rammed off roads,cars broken down and abandoned,and burnt out,there is even a hot spot for burnt out cars,and murdered buried in the bush,some tortured to death beforehand.

I'm not disputing that there have been murders and killings in the outback (I remember hearing recently that there was serious problems around Alice Springs?) but you're forgetting the number one reason why people go missing in the outback- they're completely unprepared for the terrain, the car breaks down, they leave it and get lost and die of dehydration. This article says that of the 40 people who die in the Outback every year, most of them die in car crashes or other accidents.

http://www.outback-australia-travel-secrets.com/australian-outback-survival.html

Hate to break it to you....... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wolf_Creek_(film)#Basis_in_reality :D

Quizzing an Aussie who spent a lot of time in the Northern Territory, acoording to him the worst tourists are, wait for it, not Irish....Germans and Austrians!
    Going out in the bush overconfident, unprepared and with not enough water.
    Time after time, locals are approached for water who hardly have enough for themselves.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/travel/2008/nov/12/australia-outback-desert-simpson

+above post: Wolf Creek is a work of fiction, very loosly based on a variety of actual events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

Definitely not!

Is Norway rough?

Yes,but only in the wrong places;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭petersburg2002

Just wondering why it seems that there's a lot of brutal crime stories involving Irish in Oz. I can think of 3 really brutal attacks off the top of my head...

1. Guy that was punched and died.
    2. Guy that was beaten with hammer recently.
    3. And now Jill Meagher.
    • Is it just that there's a lot of Irish there and chances are a few are unfortunately going to come across this? (But then again you don't hear of similar from the States, Canada or the U.K. where equally there are lots of Irish).
    • Is it that there's racism there towards Irish?
    • Or is it a rough place in general?
    Would love your experiences from Oz if you have any!

Don't forget alcohol was a common denominator in all three of the above. I'm not for a minute saying any of these people (especially Jill Meagher RIP) brought it on themselves, but as we know a lot of assaults in Ireland etc. tend to occur around weekends in the early hours of the morning after pub closing when certain individauls get hyper and aggressive towards others. I think it's just the fact that the Irish tend to socialise more and therefore find themselves in such situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think the Australians have as much respect for Rabbits as People. There a bit like the Irish I think.
    Australians hate rabbits, rabbits are running rampant destroying local ecosystems.