Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2014 - Results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Great results in the Euro XC today.

Real disappointing that none of the 1500 juvenile athletes who ran in Adamstown today got results of their races yet. These athletes have trained hard for 3 months for this day and very disappointing no results.

Two weeks ago in Meath at the inter-counties, chip timing was used in the older races and was a failure with incorrect results being announced and medals awarded. Real surprising then that the outcome of that wee unand that chip timing used in all the races today.

Agree with you here, however there was results up on the wall in the Community hall for underage races, but I dont know it club and county were up.
    Novice mens and ladies medals were giving out there also..

Great race and well done to Adamstown Ac for a very well organized event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

yes, well one to Adamstown AC, they did a great job on the organisation, seemed to have the whole town involved.
    Individual, club and county results were up on the wall for the under 11s, and I think u13 and u15 too?
    Chip timing was used but there was manual recording too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

RayCun wrote: »
    yes, well one to Adamstown AC, they did a great job on the organisation, seemed to have the whole town involved.
    Individual, club and county results were up on the wall for the under 11s, and I think u13 and u15 too?
    Those results were declared null and void due to the number of errors discovered in them. It was unacceptable that the results were not available but a bad situation would have been made worse if medals were presented and then had to be returned. The timing company have a lot of questions to answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

RayCun wrote: »

u11 boys and girls were up as well as the u15 girls.. but as mentioned above, they were scrapped, not surprised considering a woman mentioned her u11 boy was put down as being in the 80's when he actually came mid 50's..
    Poor kids heading home not knowing if they had medal at all, unless of course you were in top 12 of one of the races..

Ye, hats off to Adamstown, well run alright...even my own lad at one stage ended up playing rugby with the local kids(who even had yellow bibs on, think they were gathering rubbish, everyone did seem to help alright)...my son had not better be asking for rugby ball though at Xmas:D

Under age results are up on Athletics Ireland now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

notsofast wrote: »
    Attention all Sports Editors, now we all know that there was a big important match in Manchester today (as there is every week) and it was all very exciting and all, but an Irish team won the European Championships today. 6 tough Irish women take on the best the continent has to offer and come out on top. Please take this into consideration when deciding what to put on you back pages tomorrow.
    fiddy3 wrote: »
    Well said, but I'm sure most of them would rather drool over the Manchester derby and devote multiple pages to some scumbag throwing a coin rather than give the Irish team the massive credit they deserve tomorrow. Pathetic preview of Euro XC in the Sunday Times today. I strongly believe Fionnuala's achievement today was better than Katie Taylor's Olympic gold, not that many others will agree.

Front page of the Indo and Times, credit where it's due.

Results not up yet
    Prob letting the euro team stay up on website for a day or two!!
    Dermot McDermott won novice men,
    Was a great race to watch. Course and venue excellent. Prob had 7 or 8 different leaders at different times. D McD was a deserved winner on day though. Very good, composed performance
    Novice women from what I say was a procession for Laura Crowe.
    Men's novice team won by Finn valley who had 4 in first 15/16. Quality team in fairness..
    Amazing difference in conditions from rathsallagh!!

Great win by Dermot, well deserved - a man who puts a lot into the sport at many levels. Had to come from behind too after an early fall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

dna_leri wrote: »
    Great win by Dermot, well deserved - a man who puts a lot into the sport at many levels. Had to come from behind too after an early fall.

Any video of the race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

Front page of the Indo and Times, credit where it's due.
    Absolutely, good job they checked this thead last night.
    Avoids me becoming an XC myself (Cross Culchie).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭longjump67

shiibata wrote: »
    Under age results are up on Athletics Ireland now..

Juvenile results were up on AAI website but have been removed again
    Whats going on, maybe there still a problem?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

longjump67 wrote: »
    Juvenile results were up on AAI website but have been removed again
    Whats going on, maybe theres is there still a problem?:confused:
    Some of the team results were wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Obviously a large part of the results issue was with the chip timing and shouldn't have happened I know, but in any case it's always difficult to have all the results correct no matter how careful you are (people hand in the incorrect information etc), would it not make more sense to produce provisional results as soon as possible after the race, then leave an hour or so for people to see them and let any mistakes be known before medals are handed out?

The problem isn't the chip timing, the problem is with the u-11's u-13's they all finish very close together and this causes a build up in the pens.
    then they have to stop the athletes before the finish line, what happens then is that athletes who would have finnished behind the athletes which were lined up run across the line and are placed ahead of the athletes which have been stopped by officials.
    The design of the finnising area is vital, was not at the champs at the weekend but I was at the previous race in Meath and the u-12 boys race this happened with a build-up of athletes in the pens a new pen was opened, if this happened when relying on chip timing then the results will be false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Fair enough, that's a schoolboy error so and should always be accounted for with either a stupidly long finishline chute, or as ya said, more than one chute, very easy to do beforehand when your setting up. But I've seen it happen many times before in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Cant say i was taking any notice of the finish area for underage races, but there was a double shoot at the end of the novice race with 2 no of people manually checking numbers on both shoots, i assume it was he same for the underage races, but cant confirm that.

I have done 1 or 2 races abroad with different type of chip's(attached to number and attached to leg) and they dont seem to have much problems with them and they have results in seconds, and even have teams in secods of them finishing, so why are things so different here,
    As there have been a lot of problems at races i have been at both in Triathlon and Running,
    Is it the system or the operator's ? or both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Who was the chip company :confused:

Well, my lad is in his 3rd year of running XC and the Ulsters have had chip timing every year since he started, their chip is tied to the lace and not 100% sure but I dont think their has been any problems. This year the results I am told were up on niathletics site not long after race finished..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Who was the chip company :confused:

Precision Timing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Here's an interesting one.

An Irish woman was 5th in the Zatopek 10k here in Melbourne last weekend.

Sinead Diver ran 33.55 for the the 10000 on the track. She has also ran a 16.24 5k and a 76 minute half marathon amongst other good perfromances this year. Check out her profile below.

Apparently she took up the sport 2/3 years ago in Australia. These time rank her pretty high up in terms of Ireland. Some serious talent being shown.

http://www.all-athletics.com/node/574146

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭ChickenTikka

Here's an interesting one.

An Irish woman was 5th in the Zatopek 10k here in Melbourne last weekend.

Sinead Diver ran 33.55 for the the 10000 on the track. She has also ran a 16.24 5k and a 76 minute half marathon amongst other good perfromances this year. Check out her profile below.

Apparently she took up the sport 2/3 years ago in Australia. These time rank her pretty high up in terms of Ireland. Some serious talent being shown.

http://www.all-athletics.com/node/574146

Amazing story alright! Lots of Australian news articles on the web about her.

http://www.portphillipreviewlocal.com.au/story/339880/talent-shines-through-for-late-starter/

If she's 35 and only running 2 or 3 years, think what she could have achieved 6 or 7 years ago at her peak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

These time rank her pretty high up in terms of Ireland. Some serious talent being shown. http://www.all-athletics.com/node/574146
    Judging by her recent half marathon time, she'd have been vying for second place in the national half and full marathons this year. Not quite olympic standard, but well up there. There's hope for all of us late bloomers.

Amazing story alright! Lots of Australian news articles on the web about her.

http://www.portphillipreviewlocal.com.au/story/339880/talent-shines-through-for-late-starter/

If she's 35 and only running 2 or 3 years, think what she could have achieved 6 or 7 years ago at her peak.

10K road race she won a year ago

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZIAfRcS7lg

Victoria 5000m. She is in the red and white top

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0je5RRm9BNQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

Back to the Europeans, Britian had a team in each event, junior, u23 and senior, men/woment, so 36 athletes ran, and every one of them returned with at least one medal. Big congrats to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭runjb

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=29413

Excellent racing by Fionnuala Britton yesterday, especially considering the hangup that would occur after winning the European XC title just two weeks ago. She comprehensively beat the likes of Bekele (Belgium) and Coulson (GB).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Thomas Frazer looks to be the sole Irish representative in Houston this weekend. Hopefully he can push on from his 2.18 last year

http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/feature?section=resources/lifestyle_community&id=8857534

Something to keep the sprinting fraternity appeased in the midst of the quiet season;

Colvert kicks of the year with a 34.25 300m race in Gran Canaria

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

ecoli wrote: »
    Thomas Frazer looks to be the sole Irish representative in Houston this weekend. Hopefully he can push on from his 2.18 last year

http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/feature?section=resources/lifestyle_community&id=8857534

No sign of Frazer in results unless I am missing him

http://results.houstonmarathon.com/2013/?page=1&event=MARA&pid=list&search[sex]=M

I see Neville Davey formerly of Mayo , and latterly of Brown Uni ran 2.33, looks like dreadful weather

brutes1 wrote: »
    No sign of Frazer in results unless I am missing him

http://results.houstonmarathon.com/2013/?page=1&event=MARA&pid=list&search[sex]=M

I see Neville Davey formerly of Mayo , and latterly of Brown Uni ran 2.33, looks like dreadful weather

Looks like a DNS was on the elite startlist. Indeed dreadful weather not one for fast times shown by Worku "only" runnning 2.10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

A couple of good international athletes descending on Athlone for the AAI open games: http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/athletics-stellar-international-field-to-test-irelands-best-3350420.html

I can't wait to see how fast the track actually is, and hopefully we can keep the AAI games going as an international grand prix in the years ahead.

Rineanna wrote: »
    A couple of good international athletes descending on Athlone for the AAI open games: http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/athletics-stellar-international-field-to-test-irelands-best-3350420.html

I can't wait to see how fast the track actually is, and hopefully we can keep the AAI games going as an international grand prix in the years ahead.

For all the slating that the AAI gets I think this is one where they deserve credit for a very positive move and assembling good quality fields right through the meet

Am strongly considering missing my own race to go watch this:o

Anyone know if there will be any streaming available? I know sometimes AIT events provide a stream (Might be able to catch some of the meet on the warm up:D)

NCAA Indoor season coming into action.

Few results:

Shane Quinn second in the URI invitational mile in 4.12.97

Anthony Lieghio 4th in mile in Texas A&M Triangular meet in 4.14.87

John Travers 3:42.52 for 1500m in Athlone.

Which meet?

Brian Gregan tweeted that he ran 21.27 for the 200m last night in Athlone

In training?

Same for Travers?

I believe that there was a small number of athletes there to test the track, timing etc..

Note the time on the clock 3.42.53

https://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=4626601860679&set=a.4626601020658.2160486.1161773449&type=1&theater

more pics up today

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151365313837692.505075.86357212691&type=1

I believe that there was a small number of athletes there to test the track, timing etc..

Note the time on the clock 3.42.53

https://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=4626601860679&set=a.4626601020658.2160486.1161773449&type=1&theater[/QUOTE]

Thanks.

Can't seem to see that link.

O Lionaird on the start list for the Wannamaker Mile. Looks like a very solid line up to should be interesting to see how he is getting on.

Dave McCarthy will be in action today in the mile up against a very good field including Galen Rupp, Dorian Ulrey, Riley Masters and a a few others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭endswell

Dave McCarthy will be in action today in the mile up against a very good field including Galen Rupp, Dorian Ulrey, Riley Masters and a a few others
    same one as o lionaird?

endswell wrote: »
    same one as o lionaird?

No O Lionaird is racing the Milrose Games (16th Feb) This is the BU Terrier Invitational

Lieghio had a solid DMR split with 2.54 for the 1200. indicates solid 1.48 shape

Rupp 3.50.92, McCarthy Second in 3.57.22

Very good run for season opener

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Rupp 3.50.92, McCarthy Second in 3.57.22

Very good run for season opener

Rupp soloed a 3.50 mile indoors??!

Yup absolutely sick run splits were 56.7,1.54.6, 2.54.84

Given that him and Centrowitz have been training nearly exclusively together and he has come out saying he is running fastest sessions of his life makes me think Centro can perhaps run even faster in two weeks time

(I know he ran 3.40 today but looked like he was in middle of a heavy block of training)

Cant see Centro running near 3.50 in 2 weeks time
    he is a championship runner but not a guy I think that can run closeto 3.50 in 2 weeks time.

Cant see Centro running near 3.50 in 2 weeks time
    he is a championship runner but not a guy I think that can run closeto 3.50 in 2 weeks time.

With Rupps time last night nothing would surprise me with that group especially as he is able to run fast and proved that last summer with a 3.31

Some results from Athlone:

Gregan hit Euro qualifier with a 46.08

Siofra Clerigh Butler with an unofficial Junior record in 2.04.75

Alberto Sanchez won the 3k in 7.58

Heffernan only three seconds off the Irish record in the walk

In Raheny Mary Cullen with a super come back run in tough conditions to run 25.55

On mens side Sweeney (23.53), Fitzpatrick and Maher top 3

Some results from Athlone:

Gregan hit Euro qualifier with a 46.08

Siofra Clerigh Butler with an unofficial Junior record in 2.04.75

Alberto Sanchez won the 3k in 7.58

Heffernan only three seconds off the Irish record in the walk

In Raheny Mary Cullen with a super come back run in tough conditions to run 25.55

On mens side Sweeney (23.53), Fitzpatrick and Maher top 3

Think it was Higuero not Sanchez who won the 3K, Alberto 4th.
    Matt McLaughlin set UK Junior record 1500m record there in 3:42.88
    Zac Irwin set Irish youth record in 60m in 6.98s tbc

Think it was Higuero not Sanchez who won the 3K, Alberto 4th.
    Matt McLaughlin set UK Junior record 1500m record there in 3:42.88
    Zac Irwin set Irish youth record in 60m in 6.98s tbc

Right you were (bad source of info) Higuero won in 7.52 Sanchez was 4th in 7.59