Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bouncers/ Clubs rights

• 29-09-2012 9:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Its saturday night. Im not reading all that. TLDR version please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

p1nm101 wrote: »
    Does a nightclub have the right to randomly kick someone out?
    Yes!
    If they do, do they have to give a reason?
    No,not to you
    If they have CCTV in the bar/seating area do they have to look at it if we ask them, if they are accusing my friend of something he didnt do?
    No, how would they have time to go and do that when there is a club to be watching?
    Do Bouncers have to tell you their name? (for some reason i thought they did but none of them would tell me), They all had a band with a card in it on their arm and i had a feeling their names would be on it (possibly id) so i asked some bouncer, politely, could i look at it and they all said no and took it off and put it in their pockets.
    No, the only person a doorman has to give their name to is a guard. Our names arent on the ID cards

All your questions answered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Welcome to adulthood, most bouncers are arseh0les, get used to it.

1210m5g wrote: »
    Welcome to adulthood, most bouncers are arseh0les, get used to it.

No, most drunk people in a club are arseholes who then try to blame the doorman when they are put out for acting the complete cúnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I don't think there's any chance of you getting justice. Many (but it has to be said, not all) bouncers are macho scumbags who delight in abusing the power they have.

You're best revenge is to give a clear and balanced account of your treatment at the place on a popular public forum, which you have done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Naas,
    the most unfriendly town in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

i was googling on my phone a lot during the night to see what rights my friend had to be told a reason and similarly what rights the bouncer had to kick him out for no reason but couldnt find much info.

Sounds like a cracking night!

Paully D wrote: »
    Sounds like a cracking night!

Trying to impress the ladies by shouting about how they were gonna sue the club/bouncer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Naas,
    the most unfriendly town in Ireland.
    Also the most mispronounced by tourists.:D Sloppy drinkspillers get escorted out why? Because they are sloppy drinkspillers? Next thing there's a claim against the club because someone "slipped on spilt drink".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

So then OP, there was 40 young lads trying to get in a NightClub, you were all well behaved, none of you caused any shit and it was all the bouncers fault

BOLLOCKS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

Last night my friend had an 18th party, rented a bus and all to charter all ~40 of us to a nightclub in naas about 30-45 mins away from where we live, Time Nightclub. Everyone was 18 with id's. 4 people did not get in to the club using their own id's. The bouncers said to 2 of them that they have to have another type of id as well because the passport they used is not enough, only a garda or else a passport+something else. Although I got in with only a passport and on their website they say that they will accept Passport, Garda ID or Driving license.
    As they were recently 18 they have not yet got a Garda ID so i dont think this is really legal? The other 2 just did not get in with no reason. These people were not too drunk, had a couple of cans but nothing much, there was much worse people let in (including myself!).

Next problem was a couple of hours later as none of us were really enjoying our night with the 40 of us + about 20-25 other people in the place! My friend slipped on spilt drink as he was dancing and fell on his back, as we were laughing at him helping him up 3 bouncers rushed over and told him to cop on, as they were walking away one of them rushed back and pointed at my friend who was sitting beside me and said 'oi you come here' and dragged him outside with absolutly no reason told to him. I noticed the bouncer was looking at the ground afterwards with a torch and when i looked at what he was looking at i saw a tablet on the ground half broken to powder. I took a picture and rushed outside to tell my friend and try and ask bouncers/manager what the story was. They were having none of it and just kept saying that my friend (who was outside, not allowed in) had to talk to the bouncer that kicked him out (who was inside), after a lot of talking to the bouncer from a few of us he would not go outside and was very very agressive telling me to 'f@ck off and enjoy your night!' We knew why he was kicked out but no one would actually tell us a reason, we asked do they have cctv, one bouncer said no and one said yes but would not look at it for us.

Does a nightclub have the right to randomly kick someone out?
    If they have CCTV in the bar/seating area do they have to look at it if we ask them, if they are accusing my friend of something he didnt do?
    Do Bouncers have to tell you their name? (for some reason i thought they did but none of them would tell me), They all had a band with a card in it on their arm and i had a feeling their names would be on it (possibly id) so i asked some bouncers, politely, could i look at it and they all said no and took it off and put it in their pockets.

I personally think that these bouncers (there was roughly 8 of them covering about 60-70 people in the place) were just taking advantage of innocent 18 year olds not knowing all our rights fully and just trying to be the big lads.

Last complaint about them i have is that my friend (the one who fell) felt guilty that he attracted the bouncers to our table so he went out to my friend and they just sat on our bus till we all left. He brought a bag with him and put it in the cloakroom and 3 of us put our jumpers in his bag. As he left and he was in a big huff with all the bouncers (as were we all) and he never collected his bag and had the ticket with him, the bouncers would not let him back in to collect the bag. We tried to talk to the girl that took the bags because there was very few people in the place and she remembered us putting the bag in but she wouldnt give it to us, fair enough we dont have the ticket but she remembered us putting it in. Anyway, we knew we had to get the ticket off our friend but the very very annoying bouncers, just trying to ruin our night, would not let us out (well they would but they said we wouldnt get back in), or our friend in to give the ticket.

We had the bus booked to leave naas at 3.30 and as that time was approaching we were just trying the whole time to get the bag back and eventually as we waited until there was only 2 or 3 things left she gave us the bag, at about 3.45.

Everything about the night put a real dampner on it but i was googling on my phone a lot during the night to see what rights my friend had to be told a reason and similarly what rights the bouncer had to kick him out for no reason but couldnt find much info.

If anyone could let me know about the questions i asked id really appreciate it for the email im going to write to them and for future reference anyway. Sorry its such a long post but I'm really annoyed at it and couldnt stop myself writing!

You have a lot to learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Pottler wrote: »
    Also the most mispronounced by tourists.:D
    That and Oola(Limerick)
    pronounced ZerozeroL.A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Security staff have to wear an ID badge with their licence number clearly visible. If they hid them they are in breach of legislation.

Write a letter, not an email, to the manager and give him a week to contact you. If he doesn't you would be within your rights to make a complaint to the private security authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Melion wrote: »
    No, most drunk people in a club are arseholes who then try to blame the doorman when they are put out for acting the complete cúnt.

Just my opinion, i used to work as a bouncer, dealing with the big ego's i worked with was harder work that dealing with a lot of the drunk people.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The club reserve the right to refuse entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Go bowling for the next 18th party.

1210m5g wrote: »
    Just my opinion, i used to work as a bouncer, dealing with the big ego's i worked with was harder work that dealing with drunk people.
    I always found the big lads from Ego to be fairly ok, it was the ones from Titch that were a pain in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

Your first mistake was 40 lads on a bus. Your second was going to naas

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

They are by and large complete scum, but you have to consider the certain type of person who wants to be a bouncer. Same breed as the army/police recruits really.

Im quite happy going to work earning more in a night than a lot of people do in a week.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 p1nm101

We definitely made up over half of the club, and 100% definitely not agressive or drunk messy, doing stupid stuff like the stereotype 18 year olds. Realistically if we were the type of group to be messing, abusive, giving out to the bouncers and acting like tossers, would we be on here asking for rights? and googling rights during a night and preparing to write an email that effectively will do absolutely nothing? Somehow i dont think those type of people give a **** about anyones rights.
    No,not to you
    No, how would they have time to go and do that when there is a club to be watching?

But if someone is kicked out do they have to tell that person a reason?

If their reason was what we thought it was, would they not have to show video evidence of him doing what they thought if it meant that he paid to get in and then kicked out?

We've all gone out to a lot of other places from the past couple of years and now when we are all actually legal this **** happens, and in such a bad club with high expectations too. Theres TONNES of bouncers out there who are 100% bang on and dont do this **** but these guys, thinking they are 6'6 tall and 3' wide were just being dickheads no other reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

40+ 18 year olds? cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Nightclubs suck OP, just don't go to them.

Find a bar with live music, have a much better night with decent pints, fair prices and quality music. I wasted years (and tons of money) with nightclubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

A group of 40 18-year-olds is always going to have bouncers on edge because of the potential for trouble and liklihood of sloppy drunkeness. To be honest you're blessed were allowed to enter in the first place but while it can be a downer for bouncers to act like that, it seems to me that it was mostly preventative.

You'll never win an argument with a bouncer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Last night my friend had an 18th (.........)myself writing!

Im quite happy going to work earning more in a night than a lot of people do in a week.
    That's exactly the attitude I'd expect from someone doing one of those jobs.

You might not be an arse hole. I know a few bouncers who aren't arse holes just like I've met a few guards and those in the army who aren't, but a vast majority of these people are, and it's what attracts them to the job.
    Nightclubs suck OP, just don't go to them.

Find a bar with live music, have a much better night with decent pints, fair prices and quality music. I wasted years (and tons of money) with nightclubs.
    Where in Ireland is this?

In Galway you can get a double vodka red bull for €4 in a club, or a bottle of beer for €2-3. In a pub you would pay €10-12 and €4-5 respectively. Pub culture is slowly being killed off by greedy publicans and greedier governments. It's done under the pretence of looking after us, yet it costs me less money to get absolutely hammered at home before going to a club than it does to go for a few sociable pints in the pub on the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 Michael Scofield

Realistically if we were the type of group to be messing, abusive, giving out to the bouncers and acting like tossers, would we be on here asking for rights? and googling rights during a night and preparing to write an email that effectively will do absolutely nothing? Somehow i dont think those type of people give a **** about anyones rights.

Those are exactly the type of people who know every single one of their rights, unfortunately...

We definitely made up over half of the club, and 100% definitely not agressive or drunk messy, doing stupid stuff like the stereotype 18 year olds. Realistically if we were the type of group to be messing, abusive, giving out to the bouncers and acting like tossers, would we be on here asking for rights? and googling rights during a night and preparing to write an email that effectively will do absolutely nothing? Somehow i dont think those type of people give a **** about anyones rights.
    The stereotype 18yr old?? Whats that exactly? Because from my dealings with stereotypical 18yr olds, its acting the cúnt thinking its funny

No, the person does not have to be given a reason. It is at the doormans discretion. Nobody is put out of a club for NO reason

If their reason was what we thought it was, would they not have to show video evidence of him doing what they thought if it meant that he paid to get in and then kicked out?
    No, you do not have to be shown video evidence. Chances are, the videos and TV's are in the office of the club which would have a substantial amount of cash, they are not going to let a drunk 18yr old in there

We've all gone out to a lot of other places from the past couple of years and now when we are all actually legal this **** happens, and in such a bad club with high expectations too. Theres TONNES of bouncers out there who are 100% bang on and dont do this **** but these guys, thinking they are 6'6 tall and 3' wide were just being dickheads no other reason.

You might not be an arse hole. I know a few bouncers who aren't arse holes just like I've met a few guards and those in the army who aren't, but a vast majority of these people are, and it's what attracts them to the job.

Easy money in this day and age? Whats the problem with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,798 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I have to say generally when the bouncers won't let you or another into a place, or indeed kick you out of a place, they are generally in the right.
    I should know, I've been refused entry and kicked out of places in my younger days. While at the time it may have seemed like the greatest injustice known to man over time you come to realise that they were generally in the right.

If you want to start looking for video evidence, solicitors (the next logical step) you're early adult hood isn't gonna be much fun.

You may want to take a long hard look in the mirror. If you perceive the vast majority of these people to be "arseholes" - you're probably giving them good reason to be....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

How much do you earn in a night ?

Bouncer pay is absolutely crap, so I'm not really believing you on this one. My guess €60-€80 maybe €100 tops a night. BTW my good buddy has c.a 80 bouncers working for him so this is not really a stab in the dark either. For that, you will be handed sh1t and grief, usually by the shovelfull.

kippy wrote: »
    You may want to take a long hard look in the mirror. If you perceive the vast majority of these people to be "arseholes" - you're probably giving them good reason to be....
    That's the classic excuse, but unfortunately for your assumptions I have no form of criminal record and I could count on one hand how many times I've been ejected from a nightclub in 7 years.

moy83 wrote: »
    How much do you earn in a night ?

Depending on hours, more than the basic social welfare payment.

That's the classic excuse, but unfortunately for your assumptions I have no form of criminal record and I could count on one hand how many times I've been ejected from a nightclub in 7 years.

So where does you're vast experience of dealing with these professions come from?
    What's your sample size?

Pottler wrote: »
    Bouncer pay is absolutely crap, so I'm not really believing you on this one.

And you know that how exactly? I dont care if you believe me or not, i know its true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

You're boasting in a boorish and egotistical manner that adds weight to the negative stereotype of bouncers.

kippy wrote: »
    So where does you're vast experience of dealing with these professions come from?
    What's your sample size?
    Going out 1-3 nights a week, multiple premises each night, for 7-8 years. Also working with these people, chatting to them etc

Do the calculations if it has you that interested.

Any more excuses?

humbert wrote: »
    You're boasting in a boorish and egotistical manner that adds weight to the negative stereotype of bouncers.
    The "I have no qualms with what I do as long as I make money" attitude completely vindicates the stereotype. By not even realising this he's almost vindicating another bouncer stereotype...

Anyways it's time to stop posting here as apparently not agreeing with someone is "trolling". lolboardsie

humbert wrote: »

Im not boasting in the slightest bit, i know im lucky to have the job in the current climate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Depending on hours, more than the basic social welfare payment.
    A couple of fellas I know reckon its hard to get more than 50 squids a night but they like the social aspect of it :rolleyes:

The "I have no qualms with what I do as long as I make money" attitude completely vindicates the stereotype. By not even realising this he's almost vindicating another bouncer stereotype...

Anyways it's time to stop posting here as apparently not agreeing with someone is "trolling". lolboardsie

I know i am very good at my job, i earn the money without too much hassle. I am not vindicating anything, im probably using too many big words for a doorman anyway, we arent supposed to be in any way educated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Bullsh*t. I go out often enough to know bouncers all over Dublin, and I can tell you that some are decent people and some are pr!cks. Sadly, the latter is far more prevalent.

I was refused entry to a club I'm a weekly regular of by a bouncer one night, I had no drink whatsoever that night, he gave me no reason except some BS about me being kicked out the week before (I wasn't) and was extremely obnoxious to me for the rest of the night. Later on a different bouncer let me in no problem. Was in the club for 2 hours and the original bouncer saw me and threw me out, again for no reason whatsoever.

Went home very angry, sent a strongly worded email to the company which owns the club, telling them I'd have no problem telling the world about the incident on their Facebook page if they didn't cop themselves on (another nightclub in Dublin had closed down the week before due to a massive Facebook boycott over some kind of drink promotion advertising thing).

Got a full apology, free in the following week, they told me they'd investigate and take action, and I have never seen that particular bouncer there since (this was ages ago and I'm still a regular).

Some bouncers are very pleasant to deal with, some are assh0les. Being a doorman is just like any other customer service job involving direct interaction with people - if you're a douche, you shouldn't be working there. In this case the club valued their customers more. Proper order.

And you know that how exactly? I dont care if you believe me or not, i know its true.
    I know that because I was a Bouncer in Londons west end and I'm friends with some of the people who run Galways doors and a fair few who run a lot of Dublins doors. Funny who you meet on the internet.:) Unless you are a supervisor and a very talented one at that, you're on c.a €80-€100 if it's a good club. To me, the rest is suspect/bull. You can feed pigs with Bouncers, especially since the influx of larger Eastern European lads. Scarce they are not.

moy83 wrote: »
    A couple of fellas I know reckon its hard to get more than 50 squids a night but they like the social aspect of it :rolleyes:

Well they need to leave wherever they are working. Although no doubt they love the sexual favours, i know lads like that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

oh to be 18 again.

Going out 1-3 nights a week, multiple premises each night, for 7-8 years. Also working with these people, chatting to them etc

Do the calculations if it has you that interested.

Any more excuses?

Then you know what you are talking about.
    The VAST majority of those in those professions are arseholes.
    You've heard it here first on boards.ie from a person who knows it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 p1nm101

I'm not saying that all bouncers are like that. All im saying is that these guys were going out of their way to kick my friend out and not talk to him. Melion, you may not be the type that was working their last night, or may not know these type of people but they DID kick him out for no reason...

I was refused entry to a club I'm a weekly regular of by a bouncer one night, I had no drink whatsoever that night, he gave me no reason except some BS about me being kicked out the week before (I wasn't) and was extremely obnoxious to me for the rest of the night. Later on a different bouncer let me in no problem. Was in the club for 2 hours and the original bouncer saw me and threw me out, again for no reason whatsoever.

So you were refused entry to the club, yet hung around for long enough for this man to be "obnoxious to you for the rest of the night". Then you were allowed in by another doorman for 2 hours and then put out by the original guy?

Why hang around long enough for him to be "obnoxious for the rest of the night" if you were refused entry?