Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bouncers/ Clubs rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,798 ✭✭✭✭kippy

A group of 40 18 year olds most likely tanked up with beer they'd been having while drinking at home earlier arrive in NAAS and every single one of them behave like little angles.
    The OP and his group suffer an injustice worse than that of the Birmingham Six. Give me a break lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

p1nm101 wrote: »
    I'm not saying that all bouncers are like that. All im saying is that these guys were going out of their way to kick my friend out and not talk to him. Melion, you may not be the type that was working their last night, or may not know these type of people but they DID kick him out for no reason...

People do not get kicked out for no reason, it does not happen. You already said that you know why he was kicked out and asked to see the video evidence. What video evidence did you want to see if he didnt do anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

That's the classic excuse, but unfortunately for your assumptions I have no form of criminal record and I could count on one hand how many times I've been ejected from a nightclub in 7 years.

I'd be inclined to agree with you, while realising that my sample size is never going to be big enough to make a generalisation.

But, in my experience - and just my experience only - the vast majority of bouncers act like dicks.

I've never gotten kicked out of a nightclub now, this is just observing them kick out/refuse people at the door. Some, my friends. Some not.

I've been refused twice. The first time was to a gay club, where me and my 3 sober friends (all girls) were refused for no reason. Bouncer wouldnt give us one. But I'd imagine it was because we all looked "too straight". This is a common complaint among feminine looking gay/bi women with gay clubs.

The second time was to a club on Paddys day and, while I was probably no drunker than a lot of people in the club that night, I realise I was quite drunk so in that case the bouncer had his reasons.

But I've been fully sober going into places with friends, and bouncers will act like dicks refusing people - men usually - for no reason. I've never met a polite bouncer. That's not to say that every experience has been a bouncer treating someone unfairly, but just that even on nights where there's no incidences, the bouncer still wouldn't be friendly or polite or anything. T

he most ridiculous, I thought was one night when a bouncer kicked my friend out for being ''agressive''. He was talking to his best friend and they were joking, there was a long running private joke and he said rather loudly to him, with a smile on his face, "Ah but you're just a big prick!!" and the two of them laughed and the bouncer kicked him out for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

@Melion would you agree with my post over the page about a lot of bouncers being extremely obnoxious? Note I didn't say all, I said I can tell the difference.
    As I said, the one who screwed me over doesn't seem to be there anymore and I highly doubt they'd get rid of someone just because one guy complained, they probably got a ton of complaints.

There was a photograph doing the rounds over the summer of a guy with horrific facial injuries after some bouncers beat him up, are you going to tell me "he probably deserved it", as if it's ok for bouncers to greviously assault someone under some circumstances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Melion wrote: »
    So you were refused entry to the club, yet hung around for long enough for this man to be "obnoxious to you for the rest of the night". Then you were allowed in by another doorman for 2 hours and then put out by the original guy?

Why hang around long enough for him to be "obnoxious for the rest of the night" if you were refused entry?

Because I hadn't done anything wrong and all my friends were inside. I asked him for an explanation and he told me to f*ck myself.
    When his shift changed the other bouncer let me in no problem, so clearly the only one with an issue was that guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

The truth is somewhere in between. I've been too drunk to be let in by bouncers once or twice and they've been a dick to me once or twice. But then, I've been out hundreds of times in my life and have probably had 5 interactions with them. That's how it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Bouncers tend to be more cautious of bigger groups of people, cause if one starts acting up and needs to be removed, the rest of his mates could decide to get his back, and then they've got a full one war on their hands.

It's pretty simple. A club is a business that attracts people who want to have a good time, and sometimes arseholes who cause other people to have a bad time (especially when they get drunk). An arsehole is much harder to deal with if they act up in a club - you have to getting them out is more difficult than leaving them out, and they've already ruined peoples' night - people affected drink less, leave earlier. Too many arseholes and the club gets a bad rep and people stop coming.

On the other hand, if you leave someone out who wasn't going to cause a problem, then it's a loss of good money they would've spent that night, and maybe a loss of a customer for good.

So ideally you keep out the people who'll cause trouble and let in everyone else. However, trying to predict the future (who'll cause trouble) is difficult. Some bouncers are better than others.

Honestly, only a small minority of bouncers in my experience are on a power trip. Most just want a drama/conflict free 'day on the job' and go home. Don't believe me? Compare the turnover in security at your local 'knacker' club (generally very high) to the turnover in the local upscale/minimal fights club (generally very low). Bouncers generally prefer to work where there's less trouble.

@Melion would you agree with my post over the page about a lot of bouncers being extremely obnoxious? Note I didn't say all, I said I can tell the difference.
    As I said, the one who screwed me over doesn't seem to be there anymore and I highly doubt they'd get rid of someone just because one guy complained, they probably got a ton of complaints.

There was a photograph doing the rounds over the summer of a guy with horrific facial injuries after some bouncers beat him up, are you going to tell me "he probably deserved it", as if it's ok for bouncers to greviously assault someone under some circumstances?

Ive met plenty who i considered obnoxious, then i worked with them and realised they were sound lads.

What photograph? Was there 100% evidence that doormen did it? I know in my years working doors that i have never punched or hit anyone, anybody that i have had to put out has been restrained properly and made to leave.

Going out 1-3 nights a week, multiple premises each night, for 7-8 years. Also working with these people, chatting to them etc

Do the calculations if it has you that interested.

Any more excuses?

I'll give you my sample size now.

Remembering being 18, knowing the kind of wankactery that 18 years olds can get up to, knowing that things definetly haven't changed in that respect. Realising the OP was with another 39 18 year olds tanked up from cheaper drink at home (most likely). Knowing that at that age you sometimes think the whole world is out to "ruin" your night out with your mates.

I know lots of people in the professions that you believe are full of arseholes, have been going out a lot longer than you have, indeed have been escorted from premises on occassion and indeed not given entry on occasion. I've worked in bars and clubs all over the shop as well as deal with members of the traffic corps on a regular basis.
    They are all trying to do their job within environments that are not always the best.

cafecolour wrote: »

Honestly, only a small minority of bouncers in my experience are on a power trip. Most just want a drama/conflict free 'day on the job' and go home. Don't believe me? Compare the turnover in security at your local 'knacker' club (generally very high) to the turnover in the local upscale/minimal fights club (generally very low). Bouncers generally prefer to work where there's less trouble.

This^^^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I'm surprised most of the 40 even got in.

When I've gone on group nights out in a town with a hired bus we always split into two and threes and even then not everyone would get into the same place.

The bouncers talk to each other and a large group is going to make them wary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Faolchu wrote: »
    Your first mistake was 40 lads on a bus. Your second was going to naas
    And the third: heading over to Time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

kippy wrote: »
    Then you know what you are talking about.
    The VAST majority of those in those professions are arseholes.
    You've heard it here first on boards.ie from a person who knows it all.

Well you haven't "heard it here first on boards.ie", have you? Because most people irl would tell you the same. Your mistimed use of sarcasm is embarrassing.

A portion of drunk people act like nobs. A portion of bouncers act like nobs.

In my experience (discredit it all you want) the latter portion is far, far larger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I've been asked, realllyyy nicely, to leave a fair few nightclubs, I used to love a fight tbh, never thrown out, just asked nicely and quietly, many times would I mind going out the back door as the guards/police were coming in the front, Mr Pottler, sir, and it is a wonderous thing just how differently all the obnoxious, tough bouncers act when they know they will get their 4rse handed back to them. I actually do not like bouncers, per se, I don't like their attitude, I don't like their rudeness and I don't like the way they look at people and throw their weight around when they can. My wife hates nightclubs, because when the Bouncers get snotty or act tough, she knows there will be possibly be a row, mainly because I've stood where they do, and I was genuinely nice to everyone, never acted the dick with customers and always ensured that lads who were just out for a row or to bully the "normal" customers got a smack and a quick exit. So, some bouncers are dicks, but so are some clubbers. Ahh well. I also managed to get shot, stabbed, sliced and beaten to a pulp quite a lot, I still have a round lodged in my leg and a tooth lodged in one of my knuckles as well as some lovely scars and a finger cut off and re-attached, so really, no matter how well paid the job might seem, and how snotty they might come across as, it's a crap job in many cases.

Well you haven't "heard it here first on boards.ie", have you? Because most people irl would tell you the same. Your mistimed use of sarcasm is embarrassing.

In my experience (discredit it all you want) the latter portion is far, far larger.

So throughout the entire island of Ireland tonight you think that more doormen will act the cúnt than drunk people will?

Pottler wrote: »
    I've been asked, realllyyy nicely, to leave a fair few nightclubs, I used to love a fight tbh, never thrown out, just asked nicely and quietly, and it is a wonderous thing just how differently all the obnoxious, tough bouncers act when they know they will get their 4rse handed back to them. I actually do not like bouncers, per se, I don't like their attitude, I don't like their rudeness and I don't like the way they look at people and throw their weight around when they can. My wife hates nightclubs, because when the Bouncers get snotty or act tough, she knows there will be possibly be a row, mainly because I've stood where they do, and I was genuinely nice to everyone, never acted the dick with customers and always ensured that lads who were out for a row or to bully the "normal" customers got a smack and a quick exit. So, some bouncers are dicks, but so are some clubbers. Ahh well.

Jesus you must be rock hard :rolleyes:

Embarrassing, really?
    I'm not the kind of person that's easily embarrassed to be honest, particularly in settings such as this.

I would have agreed with you ten or twelve years ago. I've grown up a lot since in that time however and can see things from various perspectives now.

So throughout the entire island of Ireland tonight you think that more doormen will act the cúnt than drunk people will?
    The comparison was meant relatively, seeing as at a guess there would be 30 times as many people out as there are bouncers. This figure is a complete estimate and only intended to illustrate a point.

I could draw you a pie chart but I can't be arsed, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I'd also add that as time goes on, IMHO, the good bouncers get better at telling who might be trouble, and some get more paranoid and worse - they can see 20 different ways a situation can go wrong even when it'll probably fine.

The latter type ends up refusing someone for 'no reason' because something about them triggers some type of subconscious memory of a time when something went badly and someone caused trouble.

To give an extreme (silly) example, a scumbag comes to a club wearing a red tie, causes trouble, gets thrown out. The next week a normal guy comes wearing a red tie - the good bouncer can tell hes sound lets him in, the bad bouncer subconsciously thinks 'uh oh red tie - that was a problem before' and denies.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 ehmjay

"Not tonight lads"
    "Ahhh, why?"
    "Don't recognise you"
    "We were here last week"
    "Not tonight lads"

OP when I was your age even in a group of 6 or 7 we'd walk up in 2's or 3's, get talking to girls in the queue if there were none with us, we weren't scobes, we were well-dressed, slightly intoxicated and sometimes for no reason we'd be refused. Move on to another club, get in and enjoy our night, try the same club we were refused from the next week and get in. There were 40 of you out together and you weren't enjoying yourselves? Anyway, from the point of view of the bouncers your friend was spilling drinks on the dance-floor and falling over, reason enough to kick him out. And why did you take a picture of your friends drugs?

The comparison was meant relatively, seeing as at a guess there would be 3- times as many people out as there are bouncers. This figure is a complete estimate and only intended to illustrate a point.

I could draw you a pie chart but I can't be arsed, sorry.

Rephrase melions question.
    The percentage of drinkers acting the ass will be far lower than the percentage of bouncers acting the ass?

It's somewhat amusing how quickly some people are to cry about "generalising bouncers" yet they would defend a bouncer's decision to ruin somebody's night because they've decided to generalise males, or those under 21 or without an AgeCard.
    The percentage of drinkers acting the ass will be far lower than the percentage of bouncers acting the ass?
    Alternatively, read my post again.

Well, let's say there's a club with 50 people in it and 2 bouncers.

In my experience usually half of clubgoers are drunken idiots acting the ass. Also in my experience, at least one bouncer will be a dick/make a poor decision on the night. It only has to be one out of the two working to make the percentage of annoying clubgoers and annoying bouncers equal.

So there's two ways of looking at it - there's a lot more drunken idiots acting like twats than there is bouncers being dicks. But proportionally, they're the same - or more leaning towards bouncers in my experience

It's somewhat amusing how quickly some people are to cry about "generalising bouncers" yet they would defend a bouncer's decision to ruin somebody's night because they've decided to generalise males, or those under 21 or without an AgeCard.

Males start more fights than women, thats a fact, not a generalisation.

Legally you have to carry a passport and/or an age card until you are 21. If someone hands me a passport and i dont believe its them in the picture, i will ask for the age card, if they dont have one then i will ask for another form of I.D,even a bank card will do me. If they dont have one then they are not getting in.

In the example above - the original post. Where exactly did the bouncers generalise anyone/anything?
    The vast majority of the 40 18 year olds got into the club.
    10% didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

Im quite happy going to work earning more in a night than a lot of people do in a week.

Did you work for the late Alan Ryan?

The OP was in a place that had "about 8" security for "70-80" patrons. So each 10 patrons were dropping enough money there that night to be able to cover more than a lot of people's wages for a week.

Good man yourself. Did your boss tell your that...
    "Hey Melion, I'll give you 100 Euro for a night. Yeah, that's more than most people make in a week. Yeah it is. Trust me"

Evidently you don't understand the concept of percentages.

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

In my experience usually half of clubgoers are drunken idiots acting the ass. Also in my experience, at least one bouncer will be a dick/make a poor decision on the night. It only has to be one out of the two working to make the percentage of annoying clubgoers and annoying bouncers equal.

So really, 50% of people are d1cks? Case closed. :)

yore wrote: »

Did you work for the late Alan Ryan?

The OP was in a place that had "about 8" security for "70-80" patrons. So each 10 patrons were dropping enough money there that night to be able to cover more than a lot of people's wages for a week.

Good man yourself. Did your boss tell your that...
    "Hey Melion, I'll give you 100 Euro for a night. Yeah, that's more than most people make in a week. Yeah it is. Trust me"

Can someone please explain any part of this to me?

You need to go to some better places if half of the clientèle are "acting the ass". In fact I would say even Melon here would tell you that's complete bollocks as it would be absolute chaos on a nightly basis.

In fairness to bouncers (well not really), they are given remit to do whatever they want. If a club-goer acts the bollocks they get thrown out, maybe roughed up along the way and barred. If a bouncer acts the bollocks he gets a pat on the back from his buddies and the night goes on. A young person with drink taken has absolutely zero chance of being taken seriously by the Gardaí. I've seen this happen as a barman and as a club-goer.

So there's two ways of looking at it - there's a lot more drunken idiots acting like twats than there is bouncers being dicks. But proportionally, they're the same - or more leaning towards bouncers in my experience
    If 50% of all bouncers acted the prick to the extent that many are saying here, there wouldn't last p1ssing time in a job.

You need to go to some better places if half of the clientèle are "acting the ass". In fact I would say even Melon here would tell you that's complete bollocks as it would be absolute chaos on a nightly basis.

In fairness to bouncers (well not really), they are given remit to do whatever they want. If a club-goer acts the bollocks they get thrown out, maybe roughed up along the way and barred. If a bouncer acts the bollocks he gets a pat on the back from his buddies and the night goes on. A young person with drink taken has absolutely zero chance of being taken seriously by the Gardaí. I've seen this happen as a barman and as a club-goer.

Perhaps I'm just getting too old for clubbing :pac: When I say "acting the ass" I don't mean they're all causing trouble, I just mean they're being drunken idiots. I don't mean that 50% of people are doing something worthy of getting kicked out.

If 50% of all bouncers acted the prick to the extent that many are saying here, there wouldn't last p1ssing time in a job.

Why not? You get dicks in every job and they don't get fired for it. There's no job field that is 100% free of assholes. Unfortunately most of the time you just have to deal with them. A bouncer isn't going to get fired for refusing a few people a night for no reason

Why is that? Quite frequently I see bouncers exert far more violence, sorry 'force' than is necessary. To the point where bystanders stop laughing at the young fella getting pasted and start telling the bouncers to cop the f*** on. And what happens? Maybe the bloodied young fella stops some passing Gardai and drunkenly tells them how he was assaulted, the Gardai tell him to cop on or they'll arrest him and drive on.

The last fight I wintessed between 'doormen' and a drunk person was less violent and more hilarious really. One pretty small guy was in a bit of a wrestling match with a bouncer a fair bit bigger than him. The bouncer was trying to take him down by kicking his legs away, which is fair enough, but he couldn't do it for love nor money. Eventually he got him down on the floor and the two of them basically sat next to each other exhausted until his back-up arrived. While the other bouncers went to eject him, this bouncer (now with his breath back) marched back over and started pulling the boy's hair. Hilariously pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Jesus you must be rock hard :rolleyes:
    No, I'm older and wiser, but yes, yes I was. You can take the mick all you want with your sarcy eyes, like you know feck all about me or mine, but like I said, some bouncers are dicks, but theres always a bigger dick out there Mr Mellion. Anyway, I'm going back to posting my usual sh1te, keep warm on those doors. The big money will keep you happy.

Can someone please explain any part of this to me?

Not too good on the oul' maths eh?

The first part refers to Alan Ryan. Recently deceased at the end of a handgun. Allegedly head of the Real IRA who extortion rackets in Dublin. Also "controlled security" in a lot of pubs around the city.

The second point is your claim that you make more in a night than a lot of people do in a week. For that to be true, the premises that you are working for must be making enough money to pay you. If a pub/club has 70-80 customers and 8 staff it means they must make enough money from the 80 people to pay the wages of the 8 security staff for the night (forgetting about all the other staff costs). You'd have us believe that those 8 staff are getting paid a total greater than the equivalent of 8 weeks wages of a lot of people.

Why not? You get dicks in every job and they don't get fired for it. There's no job field that is 100% free of assholes. Unfortunately most of the time you just have to deal with them. A bouncer isn't going to get fired for refusing a few people a night for no reason

He wont get fired but he will be taken off the door and put inside the club if he is doing it for no reason.

The only ones who get "roughed up" are those that strongly resist the efforts of the bouncers to get them out of the place. They might think they are getting roughed up, but if they did what they were told there may not have been a necissity for the bouncers to use as much force.
    As I said, been ejected any number of times (falling around in a mess more than anything else) - never been "roughed up". Seen guys start fights literally dragged out of the club, they probably had a few bruises as there was no way they were leaving "easily". That's not "acting the bollox" on the bouncers behalf in my book. That's doing your job.

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

I was back in Galway recently, visiting a once famous nightclub which is now some sort of giant beer garden. Myself and my two friends had drank two pints of porter each. On approaching the door, one of my friends was heard laughing out loud by the door crew. Kinda wirey bouncer goes "have you much drink taken?". My friend says, "nah we just had a couple of pints before this", and after some coaxing we were allowed in. I was last one through the doors and I just turned to the guy passing and said, "he's just in a good mood cause he submitted his thesis this afternoon", and he gets right in my face and says, "keep walking now if you want to go in". :pac:

This is my typical image of interactions with bouncers. They're not mostly dicks, but a lot of them are obsessed by control without squeaking out so much as an ounce of politeness.

Some other well known establishments in Galway have a policy about the type of characters they hire, and have a good name for having polite, professional and fair bouncers.

yore wrote: »
    Not too good on the oul' maths eh?

The first part refers to Alan Ryan. Recently deceased at the end of a handgun. Allegedly head of the Real IRA and ran extortion rackets in Dublin. Also "controlled security" in a lot of pubs around the city.

The second point is your claim that you make more in a night than a lot of people do in a week. For that to be true, the premises that you are working for must be making enough money to pay you. If a pub/club has 70-80 customers and 8 staff it means they must make enough money from the 80 people to pay the wages of the 8 security staff for the night (forgetting about all the other staff costs). You'd have us believe that those 8 staff are getting paid a total greater than the equivalent of 8 weeks wages of a lot of people.

The club i work in has a capacity of 700 people :confused:

I dont know who Alan Ryan is, im not from Dublin.

Pottler wrote: »
    No, I'm older and wiser, but yes, yes I was. You can take the mick all you want with your sarcy eyes, like you know feck all about me or mine, but like I said, some bouncers are dicks, but theres always a bigger dick out there Mr Mellion. Anyway, I'm going back to posting my usual sh1te, keep warm on those doors. The big money will keep you happy.

So you are giving out about bouncers being dicks yet had no problem admitting that you used to like a fight while working on doors? People like you are the problem so climb down off that high horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭0000879k

You sound like right crack on a night out..

The club i work in has a capacity of 700 people :confused:

I dont know who Alan Ryan is, im not from Dublin.

How many security staff on an average night. And how much of that capacity is filled on an average night?

The shooting of Alan Ryan and his subsequent funeral filled the national news for about a week. I heard plenty about it and I'm thousands of miles away from Dublin :rolleyes:

He wont get fired but he will be taken off the door and put inside the club if he is doing it for no reason.

Have you seen this happen? Genuine question. Because there's countless times when I could send a letter of complaint to a club but I'm just not arsed cos I don't think anythings going to be done about it.

Like I said, there's dicks in every walk of life, but I guess the reason bouncers are getting so much stick is that it's more apparent to us the general public because bars and clubs are popular in Ireland :pac: There could easily just be as many dicks in office jobs but I wouldn't know cos I've never interacted with anyone in that line of work.

The only ones who get "roughed up" are those that strongly resist the efforts of the bouncers to get them out of the place. They might think they are getting roughed up, but if they did what they were told there may not have been a necissity for the bouncers to use as much force.
    As I said, been ejected any number of times (falling around in a mess more than anything else) - never been "roughed up". Seen guys start fights literally dragged out of the club, they probably had a few bruises as there was no way they were leaving "easily". That's not "acting the bollox" on the bouncers behalf in my book. That's doing your job.

The problem with this is that most bouncers will look for any opportunity for a person to be "resisting". On the few occasions I have been kicked out for good reason (dancing on a table, scum I know!) I've always made a point of being polite to them and acknowledging that I was in the wrong. Unfortunately this is made somewhat difficult by a big manchild grabbing your neck has hard as possible, shoving you in the back and telling you to shut up and keep walking or he'll "drop you".

Honestly the best way to wind these people up is to be polite and not give them an excuse to 'restrain' you.

0000879k wrote: »
    You sound like right crack on a night out..
    I'd say he is, since most bouncers get absolutely mangled on their nights out and do whatever they please because their mates on the door won't bat an eyelid. That's another generalisation you can try and prove wrong :pac:

Have you seen this happen? Genuine question. Because there's countless times when I could send a letter of complaint to a club but I'm just not arsed cos I don't think anythings going to be done about it.

Like I said, there's dicks in every walk of life, but I guess the reason bouncers are getting so much stick is that it's more apparent to us the general public because bars and clubs are popular in Ireland :pac: There could easily just be as many dicks in office jobs but I wouldn't know cos I've never interacted with anyone in that line of work.

Yes i have seen it happen. Senior lads with good customer service skills work the front door and most of the time, earn more money. Cant deal with customers, then go inside.

The problem with this is that most bouncers will look for any opportunity for a person to be "resisting". On the few occasions I have been kicked out for good reason (dancing on a table, scum I know!) I've always made a point of being polite to them and acknowledging that I was in the wrong. Unfortunately this is made somewhat difficult by a big manchild grabbing your neck has hard as possible, shoving you in the back and telling you to shut up and keep walking or he'll "drop you".

Honestly the best way to wind these people up is to be polite and not give them an excuse to 'restrain' you.
    I'm being honest here, but I've never had that experience.
    The only people I've seen being "roughed up" are those that have in one way or another put themselves in a position that it makes it impossible to eject them without some form of force.
    Put yourself in the bouncers shoes for a second, it's probably a lot safer for them if they "shoot first and ask questions later" when it comes to ejecting people.

I think the problem in this thread is that Melion is one of the rare bouncers that is actually a decent, nice bloke.

Yes i have seen it happen. Senior lads with good customer service skills work the front door and most of the time, earn more money. Cant deal with customers, then go inside.
    Go inside and deal with.....