Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are you aware ...

• 29-09-2012 9:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭

That phone companies can read every text message you send and receive? They can also record a phone call if they wish. They know who the phone numbers belong to because you sign up and give your name for free credit. They know your whereabouts by what phone mast your phone is using. Facebook have most peoples phone numbers. Every website you look at also knows your ip address and where you are. They know your friends, interests ... Basically instead of paying spies we simply give over the info ourselves.

Obviously this isn't new information, nor the result of vast research. But ... it makes me uneasy.

How do you feel about it? Are you perfectly ok with it? Are there any other forms of mass surveillance you can think of?

Has anyone got a lend of some tinfoil? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,649 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

You're one in a billion you are!

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Beckles

I just googled 'how to make scones'.

I'm sure they're keeping tabs on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Are you aware of pay as you go unregistered disposer phones? That you use and then junk?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

For a minute there I thought run to the hills had started a thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

If they want to keep tabs on my texts/internet searches, they're more than welcome. It's their own time they're wasting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Did you know that text messages cost the phone companies nothing as the texts piggyback on other transmitted data?

Basically we're being screwed.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

Yeah I get the sense of what you're saying OP.
    I was dumb enough to register my name with my phone co for a pay as you go. Apart from that my mobile links in with my email account, which is a google email account.
    Not only that but the apps I use on the phone have a condition that they can access my location.

So effectively Google can know who I am, read my email, know my location, know my searches and my name and home address and phone number.

Not that it probably means anything....but it kinda just feels a little bit like going commando....i imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Everyones life is hacked. It's almost like some conspiracy theory. Except it's not a theory.

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭ArseLtd

Rigol wrote: »
    Yeah I get the sense of what you're saying OP.
    I was dumb enough to register my name with my phone co for a pay as you go. Apart from that my mobile links in with my email account, which is a google email account.
    Not only that but the apps I use on the phone have a condition that they can access my location.

So effectively Google can know who I am, read my email, know my location, know my searches and my name and home address and phone number.

Not that it probably means anything....but it kinda just feels a little bit like going commando....i imagine.

Exactly, it's not getting in the way of any of my huge bank heists, but its not right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Pottler wrote: »
    Are you aware of pay as you go unregistered disposer phones? That you use and then junk?:)

Unregistered Pay as you go phones are very easily traceable through triangulation and voice recognition software. The authorities can also tell if two phones are carried by an individual through triangulation and cooperation between service providers.

If someone is using a standard unregistered phone and they don't want it traced they should switch it off and remove the battery or place it in a Farraday signal blocking wallet before they get near their destination.

Most smart phones can be accessed by remote access if required just like an laptop, this includes switching on the camera and microphone turning it into a bug or accessing all its content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There was a time when I was a bit freaked out by the idea, but when you consider that everyone's communications can be intercepted it makes it less of a big deal. I, like 99.999% of others; probably aren't of any interest to anyone other than advertisers.

The trade-off of course is that we get some pretty neat technologies and services in return, which is okay by me. You can always decide to get off-the-grid if you're not comfortable with it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

pointless, I got infracted (no such word)for **** like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Unregistered Pay as you go phones are very easily traceable through triangulation and voice recognition software.

Obviously what everyone needs to do is practise their Brian Cowen impersonation for planning smuggling mass amounts of cocaine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

I'm fooked. Feels like...Minority report stuff...I'm fooked....If I say anything else I will incirminate myself before the fact...jesus, I can't win now...

• Registered Users Posts: 9 chopchopchop

Are you afraid of the dark?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Facebook pretty much functions to aggregate data and they've a poor record with peoples information.
    None of it freaks me out considerably though, what did weird me out was when I got my new phone, it has a forward facing camera so while I'm looking at the screen it's pointing right at me. I had an Enemy of the State moment. If I ever get too weirded out I'll have to put some tape over it, I'm not that bad though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Use encryption (high strength or very obscure) if yer worried. Mobile phone companies are scum, google are scum, they are all scum trying to make money for their shareholders but there are ways around the big brother aspects of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

The OP must think he's living in America..
    This is Ireland, the Meteor worker had enough trouble trying to find where to put the sim card in my phone never mind trying to triangulate my exact position in the world

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

With every advancement in technology there is undoubtedly another way information is obtained from us without our knowledge. It's an invasion of sorts but what can we actually do about it. We won't stop using technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I noticed that on porn sites, there's always a pop up saying 'Meet up tonight in (the county i live in)'

The OP must think he's living in America..
    This is Ireland, the Meteor worker had enough trouble trying to find where to put the sim card in my phone never mind trying to triangulate my exact position in the world
    :DHah, that's why I love Ireland. "Soo, you want us to triangularise the location of this perpretrator Guard? Well, Willie does our triangularising, and he's off till tuesday week, but I think the yoke he uses is broken, sure leave it with us and I'll ring ya. What did you say your number was? Ah, sure no point writing it down, I'd only lose it!" The way it should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Taxman sure knows all about my payslip :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Im fecked if they decide to get me. Curiosity often gets the better of me on the interwebs and I google some crazy stuff on a daily basis. My days are numbered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

yes...........and?............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Most smart phones can be accessed by remote access if required just like an laptop, this includes switching on the camera and microphone turning it into a bug or accessing all its content.

I'm going to need a link to back up that claim. Hopefully not from a batshit crazy conspiracy theory site.

Name escaped me but that guy who killed is wife in North Dublin got nailed by evidence about his mobile phone.

Networks and their towers able to track his movements and build up a timeline of the day

Evidence that was clearly good enough for the jury

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Google, Facebook, etc want as much info on you so they can sell those stats to companies who want to sell you sh!t you don't really need. And that's pretty much it.

Pottler wrote: »

:DHah, that's why I love Ireland. "Soo, you want us to triangularise the location of this perpretrator Guard? Well, Willie does our triangularising, and he's off till tuesday week, but I think the yoke he uses is broken, sure leave it with us and I'll ring ya. What did you say your number was? Ah, sure no point writing it down, I'd only lose it!" The way it should be.

"Ah sure we'll do it for you no problem Garda, I'll get you the exact position or your perpetrator give or take about 50 miles, actually hold on *looks out window* ah I'm sorry detective it's raining out I'm afraid we won't be able to send the oul satellite up today"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Sometimes when I read after hours it's like I've stepped into a time machine and arrived somewhere way back in the past, the ignorance of people to how computers, the internet etc works

this for example.....
    mikemac1 wrote: »
    Name escaped me but that guy who killed is wife in North Dublin got nailed by evidence about his mobile phone.

Networks and their towers able to track his movements and build up a timeline of the day

so what, hardly uncommon

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

mikemac1 wrote: »

Joe O Reilly is the name that escaped you. In cases like that it's great that people can be caught in a lie.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It's not so much that they can spy upon you. It's that our government insists they store the data for far longer than the EU asked them to.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    the ignorance of people

Nice :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8 bhdfa

how to make scones'.

Yep they are - that's the FBI bombmaking site

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

And that's why the Youtube adverts always relate to my recent google searches.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

And that's why the Youtube adverts always relate to my recent google searches.

The phone companies have reached the internet?! Is nowhere safe?!!

We are Anonymous. We are Legion.
    We do not forgive. We do not forget.
    Expect us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Can they fcuk tell my location. Not one of the ads for Adult Friend Finder has told me there are women waiting for me in Carlow. Not one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

People often make the mistake of assuming that anyone gives a flying fcuk what text messages you send or what you look up on google.

They probably have computer algorithms running to flag messages that relate to terrorism though.

No harm done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

If you use a service, you agree to their terms and conditions.

If you don't want to agree to their terms and conditions, then you don't have to use their service!

It's not rocket science.

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    People often make the mistake of assuming that anyone gives a flying fcuk what text messages you send or what you look up on google.

They probably have computer algorithms running to flag messages that relate to terrorism though.

No harm done

Yeah, just be careful not to include words like al-Qaeda, Obama and bomb in the same message...

If you don't want to agree to their terms and conditions, then you don't have to use their service!

It's not rocket science.
    Nor is it that simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Meh. It's very easy to hide yourself if you know how.

Bomb. Aeroplane. My good friend. AK47. Semtex. Allah Uh Akbar. Western pig dogs.

That ought to keep them busy for a while. Ps, the above are all bad things, never type them, breathe their name or even think them, apart from the "Allah" bit, and really, that's just someone elses name for "God".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

humbert wrote: »
    Yeah, just be careful not to include words like al-Qaeda, Obama and bomb in the same message...

Ironically this comment has probabably been flagged. :pac:

It's not rocket science.
    Nor is it that simple.

Yes it is?

I don't use Facebook for example because you have to agree to let them use your data in any way they see fit, so therefore I use other means to keep in contact with friends and family. I want to use the services of my mobile telecoms and broadband providers so I have to agree to their terms and conditions.

It's a trade-off between how much you value your privacy, and how much you want to use a service. I could quite easily live "off the grid" if I had to (in fact I plan on doing so when I retire!), but for now I don't want to.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 bhdfa

Did you know that text messages cost the phone companies nothing as the texts piggyback on other transmitted data?

Basically we're being screwed.

The CEO of vodafone got burnt a few years back for admitting text messages were a "license to print money". Those 180 characters are limited for a reason!

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    Ironically this comment has probabably been flagged. :pac:

What makes me smile is that anyone reading this thread is in exactly the same boat.
    Yes it is?

I don't use Facebook for example because you have to agree to let them use your data in any way they see fit, so therefore I use other means to keep in contact with friends and family. I want to use the services of my mobile telecoms and broadband providers so I have to agree to their terms and conditions.

It's a trade-off between how much you value your privacy, and how much you want to use a service. I could quite easily live "off the grid" if I had to (in fact I plan on doing so when I retire!), but for now I don't want to.

The telecommunications industry is government sanctioned and legislated. As capt'n midnight mentioned there are EU laws on what data is kept and for how long, then there is what our government has legislated which is worse. There are of course also laws on your access to that information and what they can do with it.

It is not a completely private service that you can take or leave it's part of the country's infrastructure and as such people have the right to expect privacy.

What makes me smile is that anyone reading this thread is in exactly the same boat.

The telecommunications industry is government sanctioned and legislated. As capt'n midnight mentioned there are EU laws on what data is kept and for how long, then there is what our government has legislated which is worse. There are of course also laws on your access to that information and what they can do with it.

It is not a completely private service that you can take or leave it's part of the country's infrastructure and as such people have the right to expect privacy.
    I see you said "expect", not "receive".

I'm not sure I get where you're coming from humbert? Genuine question but can you dumb it down a small bit, just so I can understand you a bit more clearly?

As I understand it- any company looking to provide a service must abide by the laws in that country, and the EU allows for a certain amount of leeway within member states to make their own laws? This is one of the reasons Facebook fell foul of the Irish Data Protection Commissioner, and why the EU has decided to adopt the Irish approach-

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/0927/1224324469715.html