Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What's the sickest you've ever been?

• 29-09-2012 11:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭

Well I remember when I was 9 or 10 I was struck down with Meningitis, it was awful, I was in hospital for a few weeks and remember having a constant headache and fever. The dreams at night time were the worst.

I was also in a car accident when I was 3 and broke my 2 legs but thankfully don't remember a thing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭cml387

In bed with my sister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Jelly 292

A lot of bad stuff and drink. I'm a clean boy now. Never again.Good night tho.

cml387's sister was pretty rough tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Glandular fever in 2006 led to me needing to get my tonsils, adenoids and half of my thyroid cut out. It's still causing problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I'm living with a chronic kidney disease. But the worst I felt was pneumonia when I was about 14 for 3 weeks. Horrible feeling, could barely breathe at some stages.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I'm actually already dead.

WOOOoooooOOOoo......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

The stickiest ever was....oh...:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Worst I've had was the flu. Hope I don't jinx myself with this post and get gravely ill now :pac:

**** I feel bad for joking already. Never been Ill and Im 37. Plenty of time yet I suppose.

Yup. And as you get older, they'll hit you much, much harder.

But you'll probably be fine.

Probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

The 5 days following each chemo-upon waking spewing bile relentlessly, only relief each night with sleeping pill to get 6-7 hours sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

2 years ago this november i had cellulitis (nothing to do with cellulite). it was awful. think of a bad flu and multiply it by 10. it gives you flu like symptoms and the part of your body you get it in (usually the leg) goes solid, very hot and swells up.
    it can be fatal if not treated. every now and then i get pains in my leg where i got it and pray that its not coming back because the doctor who treated me said once you get it you are nearly guaranteed to get it again

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Libadour

Got swine flu back when it was going around a couple of years ago. Absolutely awful experience. Had glandular fever too actually. Bit of a sick note I am!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

emergency brain surgery in beaumont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

Colitis. Ive **** blood everyday for the last three years. Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭sarahbro

I had swine flu 2 years ago. I genuinely thought I was going to die. Never felt so ill in my whole life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Never been bad thank God but 3 years ago I got an abscess in my tooth, it was the worst pain I ever felt woke up in the night crying it was so bad! Lasted about 3 days, painkillers could only help a small bit.

Could have been so much worse though, I've heard awful stories about illnesses others had, thankfully I've never experienced anything like that yet and please God I never will

Had labyrinthitis this year too actually, wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy only was really bad for about a day though thankfully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Pneumonia, twice. The fact that I was left sitting on a seat for about 4 -5 hours waiting to be seen in the hospital with absolutely 0 strength didnt help. I couldnt even sit myself, I keep falling over and genuinly was so physically and mentally weak and unwell that I just wanted to die or pass out completely. Needless to say I never went back to that hospital again.

Around 1986/87 I had a chest infection which almost killed me. I don't remember anything about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

efb wrote: »
    emergency brain surgery in beaumont.

despite what people say about beaumont, you are in good hands there if you have any wrong with your head

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

just tonsillitis i think or could have been swine flu, bad case of it though, bed ridden for three days hallucinating and in and out consciousness with sweats, headaches, limbs aching, no energy. was fecked. Also smelling licking my dogs balls was another sick moment

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

Pretty effin sick brah.

Wasn't the sickest I've been but back ten years ago, was in school and remember feeling sick. I could tell the teachers didn't believe me but they escorted me from classroom anyway to bring me to office so they'd ring my parents to collect me there. I remember just puking me ring up on the way all over the floor of the corridor! Don't know what shocked them more, the fact that I was actually sick or had just puked all over the corridor without warning.

Remember going home and lying down on the couch and RTE radio one was going mad. It was the day Roy Keane was sent home/walked out from/of Saipan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

I love these light hearted Saturday night threads

despite what people say about beaumont, you are in good hands there if you have any wrong with your head

I cant complain. Thank you very much Mr Pidgeon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I once fantasized about Susan Boyle...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I cant complain. Thank you very much Mr Pidgeon!

Jasus, either you have a fair few shecels and great VHI or else you had something aul Chris was interested in:D:pac:

Holy god,Im goin to bed with the fear now. I was half way thru Puss in Boots and in a good mood!!

Fair play to you guys and all the best, Chin up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I had a stroke about 3 years ago.
    about 30 hours of surgery (over two different surgeries) and a year of wafarin later and I'm grand.

Big up's Prof. Tubridy and Mr. Russell in St. Vincent's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭petersburg2002

Sarky wrote: »
    Glandular fever in 2006 led to me needing to get my tonsils, adenoids and half of my thyroid cut out. It's still causing problems.

I got this when I was 26. Would not wish it on my worst enemy. Eating or even drinking was like swallowing glass. Pounding headaches. Every muscle in my body ached and I could barely walk. Spent 6 weeks in bed and had a relapse withing two days of going back to work. Lost over 2 stone in weight and suffered with depression in the months after. Never felt 100% since. And people say kissing is harmless. Yeah right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I had a really bad cold once and because I didn't have kleenex aloe vera tissues my nose was red raw within a few hours. They're making a daytime tv ad for me. I need all the €2 a month I can get... Can you spare it?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Excellent hospital. Lovely staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

4 day hangover :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Subarachnoid brain hemorrhage but can't remember much of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

Sarky wrote: »

Damn son! That's a lot of fiddly procedures. There's no emoticon for the face thinking of post-surgical pain makes me produce.

Smidge wrote: »
    Jasus, either you have a fair few shecels and great VHI or else you had something aul Chris was interested in:D:pac:

emergency hydrocephalus surgery.

I literally owe the man my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

emergency hydrocephalus surgery.

I literally owe the man my life.

Good that you are well now:)

Ah explain what the diseases are when you're posting. The most of us aren't doctors! :P

hydrocephalus - water on the brain (not literally water- excess cerebral spinal fluid)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

Just over two days in observation in a Spanish hospital; following someone spiking my drink in a club. Complete blank of the lead-up to it and came to on the pavement outside the A&E; cash and phone gone, but they had the decency to leave my passport and leave me near a hospital.

About two years back now; and to this day, even if in a friend's house I wouldn't let a drink out of my hand or let anyone prepare me one.

hydrocephalus - water on the brain (not literally water- excess cerebral spinal fluid)

Sounds a bit like meningitis? God, that must've been terrible. I shudder at the thought of getting any type of illness :/
    -
    I do have chemical gastroenteritis for a few years now. Nothing terrible. It just means I puke every morning and can't really eat until about half 12 in the day. Not nice but I'll take it over the other things in this thread any day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I got whooping cough when i was about 21, i used to wake up coughing in the middle of the night and run to the bathroom thinking i going to be sick, then i would collapse on the ground gasping for air, it literally feels like your lungs have collapsed and you're only swallowing air. This went on for a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

My brother died from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Was never majorly sick. I once had a temprature so high I did start to hallucinate though. Calpol and a visit from the doc in the middle of the night and I was grand.

Also once woke up and begged my mother not to send me to school, complaining of weakness and pains and aches, she thought I was faking and got the doctor out to me, thinking she would be able to send me in after he gave me the all clear, turns out it was a silent pneumonia! I don't remember much about it but apparently I was off school for 2 weeks being tended to by a very sorry mammy. :)

1210m5g wrote: »
    My brother died from that.

sorry to hear that and sorry for you loss.

Mr. Boo wrote: »
    Damn son! That's a lot of fiddly procedures. There's no emoticon for the face thinking of post-surgical pain makes me produce.

I also had to have my right ear drum pierced because the damn glands had swollen so much there was fluid trapped up there and I couldn't hear properly. Having a hole in your ear drum is not something I'd recommend. The tube sticking in it did, of course, get infected, and antibiotics would only shift the infection in the flesh, leaving the plastic alone, so I had to massage ointment into it from the outside. I wouldn't recommend that either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Food poisoning... only ever had it twice in my life, and both times I would have preferred death. The last bout was only about two months ago, missed a job interview over it, was just lying in my bed either boiling and sweating or frozen. In and out of the toilet to either throw up or suffer a bout of sulfuric acid boiling out of the other end... agony and no possibility of getting any rest at all, as bouts of puking would come at least once every half and hour, so no chance of sleeping. And if you do fall asleep you will puke (or worse) all over yourself. It's horrible.

Urinary tract infections are another one; you are literally pissing razor blades. It always seems to be joined by balanitis (inflamation of the foreskin), which makes it equally unpleasant. It is literally like experiencing red hot needles in one of th most sensitive, delicate and important parts of your body. There's also a good chance of blood in your urine... horrible. Also comes with a boiling fever, sweats and a sheer feeling of horrendous discomfort, as you can never shake the feeling of needing to pee, and when you do, a few agonising drips leak out and nothing more, yet you still need to go. You cannot sit still or get comfortable with this. Horrendous stuff.

Kidney infections. The worst backache ever, coupled with blood in your urine, extreme pain on urination and the sinking knowledge that two of your most important organs in your body are infected and are not working properly.

The equally awful thing about the last two ailments are that doctors are inclined to look towards a sexually transmitted angle. There is also the awful process of having to be examined down there, swabs taken, tests done, etc. Has to be done, but is horribly unpleasant.

A broken cheekbone/eye-socket. That is hell. Happened to me doing Tae Kwon Do about 8 years ago. Can still feel uneven bumps along my right cheekbone when I rub along it. Nothing doctors can do with it really, apart from manipulate the bones a little (OUCH!) and give you painkillers and tell you to let it set.

I have, thankfully and touch wood, never had to stay overnight in a hospital. I have never had a seriously threatening illness or injury. I look around at peers my own age, and the amount of them who have had to go to hospitals for serious illness/severe injury or who suffer from chronic illnesses that need constant medication or even those who are prone to minor illness fairly regularly... I'm damn lucky. I don't take painkillers, I don't go near doctors all that often and I detest medical mumbo-jumbo. But if I need it, I will go to them!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Tonsillitis that went to sepsis (high fevers and massive doses of pain medicine are fun!). Luckily caught it very early and just required a short hospital stay.

Asthma attack in school that led to 9 days in ICU and another 9 days on regular ward. Oxygen Sat levels were down in the 70s and had to have regular blood gas draws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Looks like I've had it easy so far compared to some!
    For me it was when i was pregnant i had chronic "morning" sickness, all day every day for basically the whole nine months, ivs instead of dinners most weeks and lots of 7up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I had an abscess in my nose and didnt realise what it was. I was in bed at home sick at for a week. At first i thought it was a spell of man flu but then i started to hallucinate, could hardly sleep and my nose was swelling up. When i finally went to hospital they said if I had of left it a few more days i would have died as the contents of the abscess were leaking into my blood system and brain and that was why i was hallucinating.