Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 7 Episode 1 "Are You..?" (Spoilers within)

• 30-09-2012 3:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭

Season 7 kicks off tonight at 10pm in the US (available from the usual sources a bit later).

Can't wait for it.

From the trailer I'm really excited at the direction it's seemingly going to take in this series.

Synopsis:
    After witnessing her brother kill Travis Marshall, Debra attempts to reconcile with Dexter while struggling to cover up their involvement with the murder. Meanwhile, Detective Mike Anderson has an unfortunate run-in, Quinn and Batista begin to make amends, and LaGuerta finds evidence that causes her to re-think the closed Bay Harbor Butcher case.

Verdict? 58 votes

A knife to the heart
    0% 0 votes
    A stomach wound
    62% 36 votes
    A kick in the nuts
    24% 14 votes
    A stubbed toe
    12% 7 votes
    A paper cut
    1% 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Excellent episode! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Bloody brilliant episode. I can't wait for the rest of this season.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I liked it, it's a good start to the season. Thought it was stupid the way Deb bought his story at the beginning, it was ridiculous. Also, what are the chances that 2 minutes after leaving a murder scene where one serial killer has killed another serial killer that you just happen to run into somebody who has just killed someone and then they end up killing you. With luck like that and living in the serial killer hotspot of the world I'm surprised he made it to his first birthday let alone this long.

I'm glad Deb discovered Dex is a serial killer. I was worried that it would they would drag that out for the guts of a season, thankfully they didn't. Wasn't expecting LaGuerta to be on the case as well. Don't know what weird, computer guy is up to. He looked pretty freaked out when Dexter seen him. It's possible he stumbled onto something, more than likely Dex's porno stash and not the nice stuff. It looks like he found the really freaky shít with donkeys and midgets and shít. That's probably why he cancelled Dex's credit card, stop him buying more filth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Just downloaded this.

Been a long ****ing wait!!

Woohoo! Will report back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

Won't get to see it 'til this evening so I too will report back later! :) Can't wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Holy crap that was very good.

Had a little chuckle at the line "Dont even think about it Dexter"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Epic.

That was incredible!

I don't think it was the case she bought the story at the start, rather with so much going on and the shock of it all she didn't know what else to do but go along with Dexter's plan.

Pretty much straight away she was questioning him and thinking about it the parts that don't add up.

Wonder what Louis is up to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Don't know what weird, computer guy is up to. He looked pretty freaked out when Dexter seen him. It's possible he stumbled onto something, more than likely Dex's porno stash and not the nice stuff. It looks like he found the really freaky shít with donkeys and midgets and shít. That's probably why he cancelled Dex's credit card, stop him buying more filth.
    he knows dexter is a serial killer, he bought the hand with the nail polish off yerone that stole it from evidence and then posted it to dexter, he was on his computer getting his credit card info so that he could **** with him by cancelling his cards,

it will be nice to see what happens with the ukrainians will they send someone to find yerman, and will they find out dexter killed him, im kinda disappointed they killed off that new cop, he seemed like he could have been a good character, but i suppose he was far to straight and smart to be working at metro:D,

and la guerta taking the slide after she heard doakes was the only other person known to use the slides, so she obviously gonna try reopen the bay harbor butcher case and clear doakes name and reputation,

i was dreading them dragging out deb finding out about dexter so im glad they pulled the trigger on that one, next weeks episode should be good, i wouldnt mind a nicerecap on the previous 6 seasons as dexter explains things to deb,

all in all its looking like it will be a good season, lots happening:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

there is one immediate problem with the show..

it was so bloody good im gonna be up until 3am watching it every single week! what an episode...

part of me is devastated were coming to a close with these two seasons but at the same time, they have initiated probably one of the best thought out climaxes to a series ever.

Bravo. Roll on next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Prowetod

Can someone put a poll up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Really enjoyed the episode.

As others have already said I thought they would drag out Deb finding out the truth about Dexter over the whole season so its good they done it all in the first episode, it will interesting where they will go with the story now.

I wonder who much La Guerta will find out in her investigating into the slide. I have a feeling she will find out about Dexter and Deb will end up killing her to protect him.

It seems like Louis (computer guy) knows about Dexter, I wonder how he knows? I hope he's not another relative.

Looks like it will be a good season.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭The Browser

Loved the final scene!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Enjoyed that episode and glad to see that they didn't drag out. But one thing that is beginning to annoy me is that Dexter is becoming more and more average as an actual killer. Five years ago, he wouldn't have taken the risk of killing someone in an airport of all places but he doesn't have any issue doing it now. :eek: It strikes me as bad writing more than anything.

Corkfeen wrote: »
    Enjoyed that episode and glad to see that they didn't drag out. But one thing that is beginning to annoy me is that Dexter is becoming more and more average as an actual killer. Five years ago, he wouldn't have taken the risk of killing someone in an airport of all places but he doesn't have any issue doing it now. :eek: It strikes me as bad writing more than anything.

Yeah have to agree with you, I think its down to bad writing. If the guy just shouted when he woke up someone probably would have heard him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Yawlboy

The fact that Ray Stevenson is the new bad guy is an interesting choice, he was excellent in Rome. Also that bracelet that went with over the side with the dead Ukrainian must be fairly important - he did kill the girl for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 350 ✭✭CRM Ireland

Great start to the new season. Ultra pleased they didnt drag out the Deb/Dexter scenario, it wouldve been quite annoying. I want fast paced action with a high body count. I thought the airport scene was poor though, far too risky for someone who has a code to adhere to to avoid capture. It was so risky and uncontrollable, that I was annoyed.

What about the product placement? Razer headphones anyone? The iPhone part where Dexter took the corpses fingerprints by opening an app and placing the fingers on the screen was ridiculous. Im shocked they thought they could get away with that. Most people are fully aware of how a phone works. We all know the touchscreen cant read info like that. I know its only a small thing, but it was one of those things that made me pause the show and exclaim how disgusted I was that the writers saw fit to include it, knowing it would break any sense of realism they had built up.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Great start to the new season. Ultra pleased they didnt drag out the Deb/Dexter scenario, it wouldve been quite annoying. I want fast paced action with a high body count. I thought the airport scene was poor though, far too risky for someone who has a code to adhere to to avoid capture. It was so risky and uncontrollable, that I was annoyed.

What about the product placement? Razer headphones anyone? The iPhone part where Dexter took the corpses fingerprints by opening an app and placing the fingers on the screen was ridiculous. Im shocked they thought they could get away with that. Most people are fully aware of how a phone works. We all know the touchscreen cant read info like that. I know its only a small thing, but it was one of those things that made me pause the show and exclaim how disgusted I was that the writers saw fit to include it, knowing it would break any sense of realism they had built up.

Don't forget the Razer Blade laptop yer man was using when he was cancelling Dex's credit card.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 350 ✭✭CRM Ireland

Don't forget the Razer Blade laptop yer man was using when he was cancelling Dex's credit card.

Yeah I saw that. I wasnt sure if it was the laptop, I remember reading about the new Blade laptop, so I was looking for a funky section on the keyboard, but didnt see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

Awesome episode - can't wait for the rest of the season :)

Yeah I saw that. I wasnt sure if it was the laptop, I remember reading about the new Blade laptop, so I was looking for a funky section on the keyboard, but didnt see it.

I'm pretty sure it is, the touchpad is to the right hand side of the laptop beside the keyboard. That is the only laptop I've seen that on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,553 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Poll added. :D

Cracking episode. Loved how Deb put it all together. The promo for the rest of the season wasn't great though.... hopefully it'll be better than it looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Found it a great episode. Will be interesting to see where they go with the Ukrainians. Felt bad for Debra stuck drinking Budweiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

First of all, I kinda liked Anderson.
    Second..... HOLY CRAP!

Great episode, 6 years leading up to that scene.
    Iwonder where they are going to go with the Deb/Dexter relationship now. He let out a sigh of relief when he finally admitted to Deb the truth, like a weight had been lifted, but I can only be bad news now, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,054 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Jaysus... that was a damn fine start to the season.

Probably better than the whole lot of season 6 tbh!

Was sure it'd end with the whole final scene (with Deb and the slides, knives etc.) being a dream sequence.. thank God!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

I haven't read the thread yet, wanted to be unbiased by others views.

Gave it the 2nd best mark.

Very good opening episode.

Fair play to the writers , I thought at the beginning Deb was gonna fall for "it was a one off moment of madness" bs - great another season before she finds out who he really is , but no - bang great ending.

Mike getting killed - pissed me off I liked him, was hoping he was shaping up to be the next Doakes- mind you , who needs a Doakes now with Deb knowing??

Gonna be an interesting season with the Ukrainians , they seem to be big fish and this guys disappearance will be huge problem for Dexter.

End of this season something huge is gonna happen, I reckon Deb will get it, he has been straying further and further away from "the Code" since S2 or so ... about time he made the ultimate mistake.

Now to read through the thread ... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Fantastic episode, hopefully its a sign they're returning to form after last season. As others have said really glad they didnt drag out Deb discovering the truth :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yawlboy wrote: »
    The fact that Ray Stevenson is the new bad guy is an interesting choice, he was excellent in Rome. Also that bracelet that went with over the side with the dead Ukrainian must be fairly important - he did kill the girl for it.

Tracking device?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭TheStook

Great episode, the last scene had me glued to the screen.

I'm upset Anderson(?) died, I thought he was an interesting character the way he went about his business, they never properly developed him though.

The computer nerd guy is slowly becoming more and more interesting, He definitely knows what Dexter is and it'll be interesting to see what he does.

Can't wait to see how Deb reacts, I'd love it if she came round and joined him along with Computer nerd and they became super vigilantes but that ain't gonna happen! She might leave him be though, since he is doing it to criminals.

I loved the line "Compassion does not fit me" also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

The last season was the worst (by far) though I thoroughly enjoyed the other seasons.

I didn't like this episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

irish son wrote: »
    As others have already said I thought they would drag out Deb finding out the truth about Dexter over the whole season

I was worried that was the way they were going, but thankfully they got it over and done with in episode 1. Hopefully that's the end of the Deb wanting to bang Dexter weirdness that was going on last season. She's annoying enough as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Maybe a lot of you are just pleased its back but it really annoyed me him killing that guy in the airport. Cameras everywhere.

Apart from that it was good, I hope this wrecklessness is in relation to a slow decline for Dexter. That would be pretty good.

Think deb will accept it and use Dexters insights and hunting to solve cases rather than let him kill them.

Ukraine guys and Lewis sets up the season nicely. I enjoyed it but can't get over that f&cking airport thing.

TheStook wrote: »
    Great episode, the last scene had me glued to the screen.

I'm upset Anderson(?) died, I thought he was an interesting character the way he went about his business, they never properly developed him though.

The computer nerd guy is slowly becoming more and more interesting, He definitely knows what Dexter is and it'll be interesting to see what he does.

Can't wait to see how Deb reacts, I'd love it if she came round and joined him along with Computer nerd and they became super vigilantes but that ain't gonna happen! She might leave him be though, since he is doing it to criminals.

I loved the line "Compassion does not fit me" also.

That would be awful!!!

Dermighty wrote: »
    The last season was the worst (by far) though I thoroughly enjoyed the other seasons.

I didn't like this episode.

Really ? I thought season 5 was the worst, season 6 got slightly better again... but still far off ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Tazzer

great first ep! agree totally that we were not left hanging for the whole season with the "will she wont she find out"....and hopefully that ends the weirdness of Debs attractions to Dexter. That did freak me out a bit!
    I presume that the next few episodes will deal with the lies and the realisation that he (and her dad) have been lying to her her whole life. The fact that she now knows his secret and LaGuerta will go looking into clearing Doakes name, it looks like a the season is shaping up nicely for me.

Is this the last / 2nd last season did anyone hear? Thought I heard a while ago, but cant remember!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Corkfeen wrote: »

That annoyed me too. It wouldn't take a genius to find out that this guy had checked in for a flight to the Ukraine but never made it, and it's not like airports are short of security cameras!

But great episode overall. They really setup the whole series in that one episode and it has some serious potential. Roll on next week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Tazzer wrote: »
    great first ep! agree totally that we were not left hanging for the whole season with the "will she wont she find out"....and hopefully that ends the weirdness of Debs attractions to Dexter. That did freak me out a bit!
    I presume that the next few episodes will deal with the lies and the realisation that he (and her dad) have been lying to her her whole life. The fact that she now knows his secret and LaGuerta will go looking into clearing Doakes name, it looks like a the season is shaping up nicely for me.

Is this the last / 2nd last season did anyone hear? Thought I heard a while ago, but cant remember!

Season 8 will be the last.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

Really wasn't impressed with that episode. There were just way too many plot holes for my liking - the entire airport scene being my main problem! How could someone possibly get away with checking in for a flight, bringing a passed out man into unclaimed baggage, murdering him and somehow getting out of the airport without being noticed? Is it that easy to get out of departures without raising any alarms??

Delighted they moved so quickly with Deb realising what Dexter really is though, and the flashbacks were great! Was terrified they were going to show that puppy reaching a bad end after we saw the way child Dexter looking at him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,054 ✭✭✭✭Basq

whitewave wrote: »
    How could someone possibly get away with checking in for a flight, bringing a passed out man into unclaimed baggage, murdering him and somehow getting out of the airport without being noticed? Is it that easy to get out of departures without raising any alarms??
    Nothing strange there really..

.. he paid $2000 for a ticket (using cash which the woman at the ticket desk seem to think was strange but covered it with "the dogs"), looks like he took him before security (though can't be sure) and the "injection into the wheelchair" was foolproof enough.

The fact he killed him in a practically empty baggage hold bothered me a little.. but hey, you need to suspend a certain amount of disbelief.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

Basq wrote: »

.. he paid $2000 for a ticket (using cash which the woman at the ticket desk seem to think was strange but covered it with "the dogs"), looks like he took him before security (though can't be sure) and the "injection into the wheelchair" was foolproof enough.

The fact he killed him in a practically empty baggage hold bothered me a little.. but hey, you need to suspend a certain amount of disbelief.

We saw him go through security (when the asked about the syringes and he said it was for diabetes).

I can see how he got him into the wheelchair without people noticing, but managing to kill him and get the body out of a busy airport just seems too much. Compared to earlier seasons, the writers seem to expect the viewer to just suspend a bit too much belief IMO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭Staplor

Dexter got him after security, they checked the syringes. If he could have got as far as he did before he needed a ticket he just wouldn't have bought it.

I reckon the Ukranians will twigg who he is, using the computer nerd as a hacker, leading to Dexter exposing the Ukranian mob/people trafficking (Wire Season 2). He'll bring down the gang, but they'll give the evidence they have against him, leading to a Prison Break Season 2 style final season. With Miami Metro being a specialist Dexter hunting force.

jester77 wrote: »

I'm hoping they're trolling us and that this is the last one, unless they have a LOT of material for one more season then I'd rather they put it all into this one than flesh it out.
    Was sure it'd end with the whole final scene (with Deb and the slides, knives etc.) being a dream sequence.. thank God!

This! It felt so surreal, I was expecting a wake up at any time!
    whitewave wrote: »
    We saw him go through security (when the asked about the syringes and he said it was for diabetes).

I can see how he got him into the wheelchair without people noticing, but managing to kill him and get the body out of a busy airport just seems too much. Compared to earlier seasons, the writers seem to expect the viewer to just suspend a bit too much belief IMO!

The scene was absolutely ludicrous and the only stain on an otherwise brilliant episode. best episode in season IMO. They STILL insist on spooneeding the extra dumb members of their audience instead of trusting the viewers to be intelligent enough to put things together. Dexters monologue has largely become a recap for the dummies to keep them up to speed.

I suppose it being the unclaimed baggage section meant that it wouldn't have been necessarily stacked to the ceiling?

jester77 wrote: »
    I'm hoping they're trolling us and that this is the last one, unless they have a LOT of material for one more season then I'd rather they put it all into this one than flesh it out.

rating were up 10% from last years premier, so it was a record debut for season 7, making it dexters highest rated episode yet, so the show is getting more popular, they might even commission a 9th season if the trend continues:D:D:D

season 2 of homeland also debuted to record numbers, but came in below dexters ratings, but some of the new audience homeland has gotten from all the awards might have stuck around for some dexter

it wasnt practically empty, it was empty, it was also a rather odd kill, he bludgeoned him and then packed him in a surf board bag and didnt bother chopping him up,

he said it throughout the episode that he really needed to feed his dark passenger, hes all over the place with deb on his back, and he obviously twigged someone else is ****ing with him since all his credit cards were rejected at the petrol station on the way to the airport, so he is a bit freaked, and that kill was the result of the stress hes feeling,

don ramo wrote: »
    it wasnt practically empty, it was empty, it was also a rather odd kill, he bludgeoned him and then packed him in a surf board bag and didnt bother chopping him up,

he said it throughout the episode that he really needed to feed his dark passenger, hes all over the place with deb on his back, and he obviously twigged someone else is ****ing with him since all his credit cards were rejected at the petrol station on the way to the airport, so he is a bit freaked, and that kill was the result of the stress hes feeling,

Perhaps the reason for the unorthodox kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,553 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

don ramo wrote: »
    rating were up 10% from last years premier, so it was a record debut for season 7, making it dexters highest rated episode yet, so the show is getting more popular

Oh God, not you too.... :o

Mr E wrote: »
    Oh God, not you too.... :o
    ah come on now i dont be on them rating sites at all, hitting F5 every 5 seconds:p,

They STILL insist on spooneeding the extra dumb members of their audience instead of trusting the viewers to be intelligent enough to put things together. Dexters monologue has largely become a recap for the dummies to keep them up to speed.

Yeah like the slow motion close up of the blood slide falling, I dont think anyone was surprised that it was found.

irish son wrote: »
    Yeah like the slow motion close up of the blood slide falling, I dont think anyone was surprised that it was found.

Didn't LaGuerta sneak it out from under Vince's nose after being told that Doakes was the only one who used to use those at crime scenes?
    We'll probably discover in the end that more than one person at Miami Metro knows what Dexter's been up to all along, and have just let him get on with it