Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish Times employs Dub Howiya to write headlines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

This just in...

"Obama warns Iranians to Leave it Fookin ou"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

Obama at the UN according to the Irish TImes: Here mohammed ill bleedin batter you ill fookin bate ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Ha ha, knew it. 69% of stats are made up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭a fat guy

HAH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

"Osama Bin Laden brown bread"

"Unemployment rises in capital, culchies stealing jobs blamed"

"War in the Middle East, Coddle prices soar"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

How do you reckon it was a "howiya"? Did it use the word 'scarleh'?

Everyone [in Dubbalin] knows the howiyas can't write...

Damn spell check must have changed scarleh to scarlett

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

......most rural white Americans irish would vote for President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad ahead of Barack Obama Enda Kenny. FACT.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

"War in the Middle East........."

Kildare?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Does anyone ever read the letters page from the Irish times? Some of the dross they publish is a joke.

Look, I even found this example just now on the subject of Trinners and UCD merging. There's always stuff like this with awful puns.
    Sir, – The students of a joint university would be very happy. – Yours, etc,

GRAEME GUTHRIE,
    Kilmeena,
    Westport,
    Co Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

......most rural white Americans irish would vote for President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad ahead of Barack Obama Enda Kenny. FACT.:pac:

Well at least Ahmadinejad would never be Merkel's bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

MrMatisse wrote: »
    Apparantly an Iranian news agency has been left scaaarrrrrleeett by the Onion:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0929/breaking20.html?via=mr

Jaysus

They haven't just decided to use the colloquialism for no reason as you seem too think, it's a play on words referencing the scarlet revolution (google it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Well at least Ahmadinejad would never be Merkel's bitch.

Wheresmedinnnerdad wouldn't put up with her crap:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

strobe wrote: »
    They haven't just decided to use the colloquialism for no reason as you seem too think, it's a play on words referencing the scarlet revolution (google it).

Ah here, that's a bit too high-brow for AH.

strobe wrote: »
    MrMatisse wrote: »
    Apparantly an Iranian news agency has been left scaaarrrrrleeett by the Onion:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0929/breaking20.html?via=mr

Jaysus

Jesus you would be some craic at a party.

Its called humour mate. Welcome to After Hours