Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's midnight, I've been woken up again.

• 01-10-2012 12:12pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭

I'm renting a house with three lads in New Zealand, two of which seem perfectly normal. One not so much, I'd rather not go into details about him but every night around midnight I can hear him SCREAMING and shouting "get the **** away from me", "I'll kill you" and a LOT of cursing and then he proceeds to sleepwalk around the house banging into things and generally making a lot of noise. The shouting generally goes on for about a minute and is loud enough to wake me up.

It sort of started out as a joke, I'd say it to him in the morning and we would laugh it off. But I've just been woken up again tonight to SCREAMING and he's sleepwalking again because I can hear him walking around upstairs (he sleeps downstairs).

The last day I mentioned this to him he told me "I wouldn't mind but the man I'm screaming at is dead" and then the next thing he said was "I didn't have to leave Ireland in a hurry" ...Now he could be joking but I'm seriously worried.

What does AH think, should I be worried? Should I invest in a lock for my room? I've got to stop typing because he's standing outside my door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Midday over here!

Invest in an exorcist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

hey FD, you have 2 options:

1/ Yeah, lock the door and jump out the window.

2/ Open the door and floor him with a dig!

TBH, it's the only way!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

He's not a ghost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭bazza1

Kiss him goodnight! He will then stay awake all night worrying about you and you can get your sleep! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭MusicalMelody

If i were you i'd invest in a lock. Just the thought of him strolling around asleep after having a violent dream freaks me out! He could do anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

You should definitely buy a gun and keep it loaded under your pillow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Invest in a lock for his room, and don't give him a key! It'll guaranteee the safety of everyone in the house.
    Just leave some emergency rations under the bed in case you ever forget to leave him out in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Where's Duggy with some advice....?

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Youssef Chippo

Crikey! Fire up the barby, that'll teach the flamin' galah.

G'day mate

• Registered Users Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

Put his hand in a bowl of water while he's sleeping, oh wait no that does something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

A quick rearranging of furniture as soon as he's asleep that will lead him out the front door while sleepwalking is the only way to go. After waking up outside on a few occasions in just his jocks might knock the crazy out of him. Even better a neighbour might call the cops when they hear him screaming in the street and when he wakes up in a cell beside a big guy called Bubba with a 2kg jar of Vaseline, he'll probably tie himself to his bed at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Invest in restraints and tie him down every night.

Simple and not at all dangerous.

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

FearDark wrote: »
    I'm renting a house with three lads in New Zealand, two of which seem perfectly normal. One not so much, I'd rather not go into details about him but every night around midnight I can hear him SCREAMING and shouting "get the **** away from me", "I'll kill you" and a LOT of cursing and then he proceeds to sleepwalk around the house banging into things and generally making a lot of noise. The shouting generally goes on for about a minute and is loud enough to wake me up.

It sort of started out as a joke, I'd say it to him in the morning and we would laugh it off. But I've just been woken up again tonight to SCREAMING and he's sleepwalking again because I can hear him walking around upstairs (he sleeps downstairs).

The last day I mentioned this to him he told me "I wouldn't mind but the man I'm screaming at is dead" and then the next thing he said was "I didn't have to leave Ireland in a hurry" ...Now he could be joking but I'm seriously worried.

What does AH think, should I be worried? Should I invest in a lock for my room? I've got to stop typing because he's standing outside my door

Just move out and get a new place, problem solved!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Find out what this 'dead guy' looked like and dress up as him. Next time he sleep walks, jump out in front of him shouting something like 'revenge is a whore boy' and frighten the bejaysus outta him.

Or you could be boring and put a lock on your bedroom door.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Mansized Wreath

Move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I've got to stop typing because he's standing outside my door

Invest in an ipad....he won't be able to hear you type, and we'll be able to hear the story as it unfolds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Your room mate has a sleep disorder that can be fixed really quickly. His body doesn't paralyze itself when he sleeps so he acts out his dreams. Tell him to go to his GP and he will be referred to a sleep specialist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Lock your door or prop a chair against the handle, and tell him to p*ss off to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Your room mate has a sleep disorder that can be fixed really quickly. His body doesn't paralyze itself when he sleeps so he acts out his dreams. Tell him to go to his GP and he will be referred to a sleep specialist.

tie him to his bed

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I'd rather not go into details about him but....

....I'm happy enough to start a discussion about him in a public forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Get alf Stewart on the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Wait till he's asleep, then march around the house yelling "I am King Billy, I am!" Do this every night until he agrees to get some professional help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Sleeping pills that will keep him quiet!

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭Eriopis

I had a neighbour who did this. She lived in the apartment next to ours, and we'd hear her waking up around 3 am, nearly every night, screaming her head off as if she were being horribly murdered. She'd have no recollection of it the next day. We were pretty disturbed until she actually came over one day and said "uh, sorry if I'm waking you up at night, I have night terrors". It was still pretty disturbing after that, but at least we weren't worried about her being abused or something.
    My advice, invest in some ear plugs, and a lock for your room. The guy can't help it, and is probably harmless when he's in that state, but sometimes it can go wrong :eek:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,608 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I can hear him walking around upstairs (he sleeps downstairs).

Do you live in the movie Labyrinth?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭maameeo

did you ask the other two guys what they think of it??

i def would lock yer door though, what if he thought you were the dead guy hes shouting at?! eeek!

benwavner wrote: »
    hey FD, you have 2 options:

1/ Yeah, lock the door and jump out the window.

2/ Open the door and floor him with a dig!

TBH, it's the only way!

Now, when you say it's the only way, which one do you mean?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

maameeo wrote: »
    did you ask the other two guys what they think of it??

i def would lock yer door though, what if he thought you were the dead guy hes shouting at?! eeek!

Fitting a lock today!

The other two guys don't hear it because they're in the other side of the house. They have heard it though and just laugh... I'm just worried I'm going to get a knife to the face in my sleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭Eriopis

Fitting a lock today!

The other two guys don't hear it because they're in the other side of the house. They have heard it though and just laugh... I'm just worried I'm going to get a knife to the face in my sleep.

Your sleepwalking mate might want to invest in a smoke alarm, and a very good lock to the house door that he can't open at night (one of my aunts apparently sleep walked and tried to jump out of an upstairs window at night because she dreamed the house was on fire).
    Good luck to ye anyway, thank god the worst I have to endure is the other half snoring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Leave some lego outside his bedroom door so he stands on it and wakes up if he goes walkies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I'd ask him about the dead fella. Definitely.

I'd also look in to moving if it is really freaking you out. Sounds like he's having recurring horrific nightmares and has made a comment about a dead guy and clarifying that he didn't leave in a hurry....whyyyyyy would you let that comment go without enquiring about it!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Now, when you say it's the only way, which one do you mean?

Open the door, punch him in the face, lock the door and jump out the window.

...It's the only way :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Move.

Bitch