Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sirens for the past 10 minutes non-stop Summerhill/North Circular Road/Drumcondra

• 01-10-2012 7:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭

Im a student living in Summerhill and for the past 10 minutes (19:35 - 19:55 or thereabouts) all I have been hearing is sirens passing the house NON STOP...

They came up Summerhill and Im not sure if they went straight on towards Fairview/Cloniffe Rd direction or turn onto the North Circular and went towards Dorset St.

I went out to check and a few of the neighbours were out having a nosy aswell...but nobody knows what happened...

Has anybody else heard these?

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭PaurGasm

and there goes more sirens around the mountjoy area...

bloody hell, something crazy must have happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Guards getting in the nightly take away?

haha...but honestly though...it was crazy!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I'm delivering food in the area. 20 mins ago there were about 25 garda cars at the junction of north circular and belvidere ave.

there is a bmw 5 crashed against a house.

as I was going by all the garda cars were scattering and racing around the area.

there must be some serious stuff going down.

the last time I saw this many gardai the queen was here

I'm delivering food in the area. 20 mins ago there were about 25 garda cars at the junction of north circular and belvidere ave.

as I was going by all the garda cars were scattering and racing around the area.

NO WAY!!!...Where about was the house?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

You're delivering food to the the Gardai at the scene aren't you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Scrappychimow

Theres someone on the roof with a sniper rifle, taking the head off students

mattjack wrote: »

You're delivering food to the the Gardai at the scene aren't you ?

the house is next to the modern apartments on sherreard street upper.

I wish. they tip well and would tell me what happened.

just saw a garda car on the back of a truck !

some garda are racing around the area and some undercover cruising.

will provably be on Adrian Kennedy later

garda helicopter just overhead drumcondra now.

Are you serious? haha

PaurGasm wrote: »

Are you serious? haha

deadly serious.

Gannons recovery at scene pulling the bmw out of the wall.

very few garda know the scene.

took a pic and short video ( very bad though )

deadly serious.

Jesus your a legend...any chance you could upload the pic and the video somewhere?

PaurGasm wrote: »
    deadly serious.

Jesus your a legend...any chance you could upload the pic and the video somewhere?

later when I get home I will.

I'm in custom house square and there was a garda car sitting at the side of the road talking te people on the street when it suddenly ripped off around the corner to Seville place.

crazy indeed

later when I get home I will.

I'm in custom house square and there was a garda car sitting at the side of the road talking te people on the street when it suddenly ripped off around the corner to Seville place.

crazy indeed

Cheers man... Will you drop the pic and the link in this thread!

crazy haha

I put the video recorder on n rear the scene and ended up wjtv a bit and driving behind the gannons truck with the car on the back !

got info of one the drivers I work with.

two young fellas in a stolen car was all.

gardai chasing and the lads lost it and hit the building

they also got away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

they also got away

Thats what the helicopter was for.

Its a pretty common occurance, Car takes off from Gardai, plenty of cars join the chase. Car crashes, lads leg it and Heli gets called out to use the thermal imaging camera to find them. Looks spectacular at times, but in reality its nothing special or that out of the ordinary.

mmcn90 wrote: »
    Thats what the helicopter was for.

Its a pretty common occurance, Car takes off from Gardai, plenty of cars join the chase. Car crashes, lads leg it and Heli gets called out to use the thermal imaging camera to find them. Looks spectacular at times, but in reality its nothing special or that out of the ordinary.

agree.

just because its ireland and we dont get that much action.. apart from the odd night club fights nothing to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

Did they have any luck catching them?

dunno

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

I was talking to a Guard friend of mine, they got the guy alright. The crash was at the corner of Sherrard St and North Circular Road.

From what I seen afew hours after it all settled down, the car went right into the front railings of the georgian house and levelled them, along with wrecking some of the steps and the wall that the railings were attached too! I was told the car thief tried to run from the crash but obviously had no luck with half the cops in town after him!

• Registered Users Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

Heard all that last night, Nothing unusal about that in Dublin, They must have been chasing it for at least an hour, The heaps of junk the Guards drive would not have a hope against a BM....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

I'm surprised they crashed must not of had DSC in that beemer.

Inbox wrote: »
    I'm surprised they crashed .

I'm not, wreckless driving like that will end in tears 99% of the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

I heard same thing last night, I live on mountjoy square and I see a gardiner street clearly, saw cars racing from side to side all the time. Thought it was some guy racing down and up the gardinier street, guess I was pretty much correct.

Just to add to this, apparently the guys were arrested, not confirmed, just what I heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

How come nothing of this is on news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

arleitiss wrote: »
    a stolen car isnt news

arleitiss wrote: »

Because there aren't enough hours in the day to report crimes like this, far too many of them.