Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish Etiquette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭The Mulk

Of all the outbreaks of infectious diseases over the years, none have caused as much sickness as 'a draft'.

Person A-"I won't be in work today, I think I sat in a draft last night"

Person B- "Mind yourself, that happened to my Da, it went into his ear, was out of work for a month"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

If an Irish person reponds to a request with the double affirmative "I will, yeah", this in fact means "I most certainly will not and it humours me to think you thought I would"

For example:
    Person 1: Will you clean up that mess in the back yard
    Person 2: I will yeah!
    Person 1: You're a bollox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

A beast of a man

Nope, not someone who will slaughter you in your sleep, but actually talking about the physical attributes and strength of a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

If an Irish person reponds to a request with the double affirmative "I will, yeah", this in fact means "I most certainly will not and it humours me to think you thought I would"

For example:
    Person 1: Will you clean up that mess in the back yard
    Person 2: I will yeah!
    Person 1: You're a bollox!

For a less subtle effect you could go with

"I will in me arse!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

If you want potato crisps, don't ask for 'chips'.

When filling in the census, it's your patriotic duty to claim to speak Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Strawberry Swan

"I'm grand" - It means the person is ok not that they are massive as in the grand canyon!

'Heading' somewhere means 'going' and not something naughty.

'Your wan (one)' is a generic reference to a man or woman whose name is unknown or forgotten. You can also say 'your woman' or 'your man' but they definitely do not belong to them.

"Get out of here" - not an order but a statement of surprise (see F**k off)

I'd advise any incoming tourist to watch Fr. Ted to get a decent feel of our ways ;)

Oh and big smiles and 'have a nice day' don't really exist in our service industry. That'd be just weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭Ormus

'Your wan (one)' is a generic reference to a man or woman whose name is unknown or forgotten. You can also say 'your woman' or 'your man' but they definitely do not belong to them.

"Yer wan" is female only. "Yer man" is the male version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

This thread is now famous I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Funglegunk wrote: »

i feel like i've been robbed! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

I feel violated, used and dirty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I just got Facebooked it as I made the cut. I'll keep an eye on the post for my royalty cheque...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Boards.ie, the go-to site for stuck journalists right before deadline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

kylith wrote: »
    Boards.ie, the go-to site for stuck journalists right before deadline.

As it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be...

It's good they gave the usernames as credit

bluewolf wrote: »
    It's good they gave the usernames as credit

i dont see my name on it and it was my bloody idea! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Jaysus, they quoted me talking about talking about the weather. How boring I now appear to be...!

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

We can be terrible sloppy joes, but our aim is true so do say hello back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

The word c*nt has many different meanings and is generally acceptable in any circumstances or situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭shampooman

I was in Mauritius and an Indian fella came up to me and was all chatty and friendly. He began to tell me a story of how some of his family have moved to Ireland and I instinctively said " go waaaaaaaaaaaay" as in expressing mild shock to his tale..he looked at me with such a sad puppy dog face and said "ok" and just walked away. By time it dawned on me what happened it was too late and he was gone. That was 8 years ago...still haunts me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Jaysus, they quoted me talking about talking about the weather. How boring I now appear to be...!

Just living up to part of your username I suppose, you nerd...

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Just living up to part of your username I suppose, you nerd...

:( I guess so! Ironically, it actually really annoys me that everyone starts conversations about the weather!

Think she may actually be lazy journo no.3:
    This morning, the Irish Sun compiled an etiquette guide for modern Ireland, based on online advice found on boards.ie.

Sorry, I was too lazy to read the entire...er...thing.

Think she may actually be lazy journo no.3:

any of the users get a mention in the article?

davet82 wrote: »
    any of the users get a mention in the article?

No idea, I don't read the Sun!

your loss ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

B0jangles wrote: »

"I will in me arse!"

or the more romanticised;

"I will in me hole."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭genie_us

If sitting in a doctor's waiting room, either you have man flu or actual flu or you're basically dying of something horrific. Your neighbour Mary just walks in..

Ah howaya Mary, how are you doing?
    Ah grand Joe, not a bother on me. And yourself?
    Great, great not a bother on me, grand altogether. Cough, splutter.

Pedestrian lights in Ireland have 3 colours. To you, these may mean "stop", "go" and "get ready to stop". In an Irish person's eyes, these mean:

Green: Cross.
    Orange: Cross quicker!
    Red: There are cars coming, but if you feel like the challenge, cross anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭GalwayGirl00

Acting the maggot....messing around
    He hasn't hands to wipe his arse....he is useless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

No matter how bad the service and food you've had in a restaurant when asked by the waitress:

'Was everything allright for ye?'

you must reply with:

Grand, thanks.

You must always invite visitors to your home back no matter how much you dislike them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Leaving Mass at Communion is grand

Saying "Jaysus that's a grand healthy country smell" when nearly floored with the smell of cow shit in the country

Miming along and pretending to know the words to the national anthem is grand

Asking favours in the negative: "you wouldn't lend me a tenner would ya?"

Ordering multiple drinks each when it's closing time.

Saying "there's a grand stretch in the evenings" once January 2nd comes

Saying "feck" is totally fine even in front of a priest because it's not a swear word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

You must always be dramatic about the weather.
    As weather is such a common conversation piece it must be as throughly dramatized as possible.

It's absolutely lashing out of the heavens.
    Raining cats and dogs.
    Sure it's only a day for the ducks.
    There's a wind out there nearly blew me away.
    Sure that breeze would cut ya.
    Sun is splitting the rocks.
    It's fierce mild.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

We're famous!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

"known to the gardaí" = the local scumbag

You'd hear it on local radio. National news too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

A compliment on your clothes

Response 1: This old thing
    Response 2: Pennys

or

That;s a lovely dress you have on

Response: Do you like it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

There is protocol about the acceptable balance of drunkenness at Irish weddings, with sobriety and near sobriety being almost as frowned upon as as complete intoxication.

The only acceptable state at midnight is being 'nicely drunk', except for those who are pregnant or on medication.

I've never thought about it before but there is a classification of drunkeness here in Ireland

1: "One or two" (Not a bother)

2: "Had a few" (social amount and not the least bit drunk)

3: "Merry" (a few more than I thought I would have before I went out)

4: "Tipsy" (starting to find it difficult to count the money at the bar)

5: "Messy" (starting to stumble upon trying to go to the loo and telling stories you shouldn't)

6: "Plastered" (head down on the table in the pub)

7: "Scuttered" ( the clue is in the name:D)

Feel free to do your own amendments:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

This thread was also mentioned in the tv3 womens panel show thingy that i have no idea the name of.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Boombastic wrote: »
    A compliment on your clothes

Response 1: This old thing
    Response 2: Pennys

or

That;s a lovely dress you have on

Response: Do you like it?

So true. Me and my friends were actually doing a take on this one night we were quite 'merry'. We were saying how it is now ironclad in Irish etiquette that if anyone compliments your clothes you must say 'Penneys'. No other answer is acceptable. So we were saying people will eventually just say Penneys to everything whn asked where they got it

So it was the running joke of the night, some-one would say love your new flat Ciara 'Penneys' love the car John 'Penneys'.

One of these days I'm going to break the mold screaming and go 'tHANK YOU, IT WAS QUITE EXPENSIVE FROM A NICE SHOP!!!!!'

A lad that's a bit of a trouble maker but from an otherwise respectable family is said to have

"fallen in with the wrong crowd" or "was lead astray"

Never their own fault :pac:

Its common to read in the court reports in my local paper.

Irish people like to 'go down to' belfast, donegal or derry for the weekend despite heading 100 miles north :confused:

maybe a dublin thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

davet82 wrote: »
    Irish people like to 'go down to' belfast, donegal or derry for the weekend despite heading 100 miles north :confused:

maybe a dublin thing?

Nope.

We used go down to Limerick the whole time....
    When living in Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Balmed Out wrote: »
    This thread was also mentioned in the tv3 womens panel show thingy that i have no idea the name of.

Why were you watching that dirt?

MJ23 wrote: »

more importantly, what were they saying? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Saying someone is "not well" followed by a knowing look means they are suffering from depression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

One of these days I'm going to break the mold screaming and go 'tHANK YOU, IT WAS QUITE EXPENSIVE FROM A NICE SHOP!!!!!'

If you try that, you'll have to leave the country

All the jealous, begrudgers will be on you case:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭deisebibo

"Sure look" is a perfectly valid answer to anything that you don't really know what to say.

Friend 1: "I can't believe i shifted him last night"

Friend 2: "Sure look"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

deisebibo wrote: »
    "Sure look" is a perfectly valid answer to anything that you don't really know what to say.

Friend 1: "I can't believe i shifted him last night"

Friend 2: "Sure look"

As is the "shur wha' harm?" variant.

Friend 1: "I got pissed last night and texted the boss and told him what i think of him!"
    Friend 2: "Shur wha' harm?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

MJ23 wrote: »

I wasn't but they showed a clip discussing it on an add for the programme